Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Safari Travel Luggage  > Safari-Beanos-Bag-PR5

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I am famous for more than my huge zippers.”
Red Oxx PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Gear of the Year! Travel without fear.

Outside Magazine's Luggage Award-Winner.

WHY A DUFFEL STYLE CARRY-ON BAG?
This is as big a duffel style travel bag as you can legally use for carry-on bags (both domestically and internationally). Avoid rising checked bag fees – and simplify your life-- pack it all in one bag.

It's amazing how much stuff you can cram into our PR5 Safari Beanos bag! Pack it up for a long weekend out of the city or load it up with all your goodies you don't want damaged on the flight home. Featuring a generous top loading main compartment (18"L x 10"W x 10"H), you can load most anything you'll want to carry.

BEST GEAR OF THE YEAR.
Outside Magazine recognized the Safari Beanos PR5 Safari bag as one of 2004's 15 best outdoor products.

James Glave, editor for Outside Buyer's Guide, said:

"Winning products must offer cutting-edge design and be really rugged. Our testers dragged it with a car down the sidewalk and threw it off the second-story balcony and tried to destroy it. We really place enormous emphasis on rigorous testing."

As does Red Oxx! The proof in the pudding as they say.

Read the review about this outstanding carry-on bag, voted best by Outside Magazine. Also endorsed as an ideal safari travel duffel by professional safari hunter and outdoor writer, Craig Boddington, from the sportsman TV series "Tracks Across Africa" and Safari Spokesman Ivan Carter on "Hornady's Africa with Ivan Carter".

WHERE DO MY BELONGINGS GO?
Set up with the same layout as its little brother the PR4, this award winning duffel features three rectangular storage compartments for maximum space efficiency. Dual end pockets have zippers that zip halfway down the sides for easy access to packed items.

The opening for the main compartment flips back out of the way for unrestricted access to the entire compartment. Twin turn locks keep the lid secure and anchored D-rings allow locks to be attached to the zippers for extra peace of mind while traveling as checked baggage.

The zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport or reading materials handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket.

HOW TO CARRY THE BAG.
Includes the famous Claw No-Slip Shoulder Strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this strap hardware will endure any abuse imaginable-- quickly detaching for storage inside.

Why not join the carefree carry-on crowd with an award winning PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag today?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Safari-Beanos PR5 on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H (legal carry-on measurements)
Capacity: 2,400 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 3"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 16"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 16"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 10"W x 18"L x 10"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.91 Average Rating
 (116 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
 Another Railroad tough bag!
By Brian H., Massachusetts, January 27, 2014

As a Locomotive Engineer for a commuter railroad, this bag has fit my needs well. The full size Red Oxx Railroad bag would be way too big as I don't have to stay overnight on the road. This bag is the perfect size. The side pockets on the ends hold all my track charts along with my keys, safety glasses, gloves and all my other loose railroad gear. The center compartment holds all my rulebooks, bulletins and timetables with plenty of room left over for a fleece, lunch/dinner and a thermos. I've had the bag about two months now with it being used 6 days a week. No complaints. Love the strap that doesn't slip and all of the hardware is Heavy Duty. Great bag!
 
 Durable
By Dr. T, Dallas, TX, January 13, 2014

The hardware and materials are very durable and well-made. And it looks great!
 
 As reliable as a good friend.
By Wayne Ruffner, Michigan, December 20, 2013

This bag is replacing another bag I've carried around the world a few times, and I can't see that this Red Oxx bag will ever need to be replaced - it's as solidly built as a bag can be.

The ergonomics of the bag are almost ideal, and far better than its predecessor.

My only additional desire for this bag (as my gizmo carry-on), is that there be some extra way to organize/sectionalize the large interior. For instance, I carry an Ultrabook standing on edge, and it's always flopping over onto the other stuff. Some sort of Velcro divider system (as an option?) would resolve this "problem" for me. This is not a complaint though, the bag rocks!
 
 Wonderful Product
By Cary, Northern California, December 19, 2013

I can add little constructive to what has already been said. I bought this back for weekend trips that require carrying biking or ski clothing in addition to a regular change of clothes. It has worked wonderfully for that. The quality of construction is amazing, for less than what many manufactures are now charging for Chinese made products with short warranties and inferior construction. I am still stinging from my broken Tumi suitcase that I paid twice as much as, had a handle break on the second trip, and they would not repair because it was bought at Costco. I have no similar concerns with by Redoxx bag.
 
 Love this bag!
By Anonymous, Lawrence, KS, December 18, 2013

Very impressed with the construction of this duffel. PR5 fits everything you'll need for a three or four day trip and fits the carry on dimensions. Exactly what I was looking for. Every piece of this bag was well thought out for the traveller and suited me perfectly for a three day business trip!
 
 Perfect Safari Bag
By Bradley, New York, October 24, 2013

We bought two PR5s for our two week safari to Kenya and Tanzania. They held everything we needed with room to spare, easily fit on the tiny park-hopping Cessnas, and they're built like tanks. No flimsy zippers or shoddy construction. Great, heavy, quality manufacturing. We abused them in muddy & dusty environments and they came out without a scratch.
 
 Top Quality & Efficient Weight
By David, Kansas City, October 18, 2013

I used a smaller rectangular duffle bag before the advent of roller bags. For the past 10-15 years I’ve been unhappy with roller bags that do not have enough handle length due to my 6’5” height. With a duffle style bag I used to breeze down aisles, up stairs, and across irregular terrain. It was time to try a duffle bag again and I was lucky enough to discover Red Oxx. Construction and material is lightweight yet durable. Zippers are trouble free, will hold up well and the Monkey Fist Zip Knots are fast and easy to use. The Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 size and dimensions work well with size 14 shoes, packing cubes and camera equipment. After using the PR5 on a couple trips, it has become my preferred carry-on. It fits well in regional jet overhead bins and is more packable and stable in vehicles. Now if I need to check a bag in addition to a carry-on, I opt for a 20” roller board suitcase instead of a 24” suitcase since the PR5 holds so much. Splitting the weight equally between two bags is more manageable and will avoid any overweight checked suitcase charges. The PR5 easily rides on top of the roller board suitcase using the through handle sleeve. I won’t be buying another Red Oxx bag in the near future, because this one will last for years. Although I may suggest friends check it out.
 
 Excellent, Go-to bag
By Nathan S, Atlanta, GA, October 17, 2013

Bought this bag in August '13 and have already taken it as my single travel bag on light trips throughout the southeast US. It will make its inaugural overseas trip in Novemeber carrying (hopefully) 2 weeks worth of clothes and gear to Puerto Rico. If smoothly executed, it will head to South Africa in January for another 2 week stint. Strap does cut into my shoulder when weighed down. Thinking about cutting some memory foam and attaching it to the strap.
 
 Great, but with a fatal flaw
By Jeremy, Seattle, September 26, 2013

The bag looks fantastic and has tons of space and pockets, allowing it ample customizability. It's strong, rugged, well-built, and I like that it's made in U.S. But, sadly, I must agree with commenters who experienced pain or discomfort when using their new purchase. I had read their comments (in relation to the Air Boss, I think) and I made sure to pack less than the bag's capacity, thinking that would spare me. It did not. My suggestion would be to add padding to the shoulder strap and to also further examine that area for ergonomic considerations. I have had several other large bags in my time, and even when toting far more weight than this one, they don't cut into my shoulder like this strap does. In the future, I'll either be stowing only the lightest items in this bag, or I will be carrying it by hand.
 
 Great Travel Bag
By Jim, Toronto, September 26, 2013

I love this bag. It is so well made and looks great and is so functional. It fits everything I need for a week. Perfect for me.
 
 Exceeded expectations
By Catherine, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, September 6, 2013

I had been looking for a sturdy, good quality duffel bag to take for long weekends on our sailboat. The bags I had used previously had regular zippers and were not up to my expected quality. It was not until I did some web searching that Red Oxx came up. After reading some reviews I decided that the price was worth it. I have been using the bag for over 6 weekends now and it is absolutely wonderful! The zippers are heavy duty and the turk's head pulls are great! I like the end pockets; two are definitely better than one, especially because they are so roomy! I am glad that I found Red Oxx. Keep up the great quality!
 
 Perfect bag
By Tim Khaner , Edmonton , September 5, 2013

Bought my 3rd Redoxx to take my sweetie to England. All we needed for a week there fit into the PR5. I liked it so much I bought a PR4 just for me as soon as I got home. Fantastic quality gear.
 
 Excellent on Safari
By Jill, Boston, MA, July 23, 2013

We were skeptical that a bag of this size would take care of us for two weeks in Botswana but it really held everything we needed and then some. Side pockets hold lots more. We'll get plenty of use out of these bags for years to come.
 
 Dandy PR5
By Scott, Central Oregon, May 5, 2013

The PR5 is a quality build for travel. I've packed the Beanos since December, waiting to review til a few miles got put on it. I keep it at 38 - 49 lbs of clothes and tools on most trips and it has no wear signs yet through 6 checked airline luggage trips. The monkey fists are real handy. Just a tug and the zipper pulls open even in the desert dirt. Two adjacent zippers can also be semi secured for checked baggage travel by inter-twining the monkey fist ball through one another or into a D ring and back into itself. I can also say that this bag readily allows being over stuffed and zipped far easier than roller case luggage. The material takes shape as needed allowing you to work with it, rather than fight it. I added two Nomad kits for additional hand tools and am pleased with the level of organization, room and durability Red Oxx bags have to offer.
 
 Safari-Beanos
By Ken Boyan, Kernersville, NC, May 2, 2013

I bought this bag for a gift for my College Age son who will be going to China for 10 days in May. He wants to see the world what better way to go than with a Red Oxx bag, that will last a lifetime. I know he will test it out. Thanks Ken
 
 a pleasant surprise
By Luis Reyes, Rochester, NY, April 25, 2013

At first I was under the impression that it was too small. Boy was I wrong. Everything fit with room to spare. I'm very happy with my purchase.
 
 PR5
By Mike C, New York, April 22, 2013

This bag is great quality and made in the USA. It's worth paying a little more for something of this build quality and supporting american workers doing the right thing.
 
 Great Product
By James Jendro, Great Falls,Mt, April 6, 2013

This is a great bag,very sturdy and looks great.This won't be the last RedOxx bag i buy.I like the fact this is hand made in the great state of Montana.
 
 Bag that makes you want to travel
By Chad, Missouri, March 26, 2013

First I must say some how I accidently ordered the wrong bag. I meant to order a PR7 but someone ordered this one. So, the bag is a little smaller then I would like. About two days worth of items is all you can get in it. It is a super strong and sturdy bag and the straps rubber is very nice. Just looking at this bag makes you want to travel. This wasnt my first or my last Red Oxx product.
 
 First use...
By Todd W., Destin, FL, March 21, 2013

This bag arrived on Monday, Tuesday morning I am out the door on the road for a few nights with it. When I first unpacked it, I thought it was a bit small. I was wrong. This was a short trip, and the bag can easily hold two days worth of clothes, but then pack in the gear I needed for the job (hard hat, steel toed shoes, etc.), and you STILL have room. This is my second bag from RedOxx. It will likely not be my last. I am again impressed. It's a prefect carry on that could easily hold 5 days worth of clothes for me.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5 Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel for use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.3 Liters

Sarari Beanos PR5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5, a step up from the PR4, was designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5 carry-on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal.
 
Will the PR5 qualify as a personal item?
The PR5 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. It's too big to be a personal item.
 
What's the difference between the PR5 Carry-on Bag and Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom with reinforced ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5?
The PR5 was designed to hold up to a weeks worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for 10 days. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15" and up notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR Safari Beano's series of duffel bags is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Can the zippers be locked?
Yes, you can us any TSA approved lock or our simple inexpensive Cable Locks. Be aware that soft sided bags can be cut open with any sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Use our luggage packing diagram (Pdf file). Which brings us to the next question...
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the PR5?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with 3 main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.