Email Red OxxRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on InstagramPin it on Red Oxx PinterestJoin Red Oxx on facebook.Red Oxx on Google Plus

Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR5.5 Duffel Bag. Pictured in Khaki. Available in 12 Colors.




Write a Review

4.8363
4.83 Average Rating
 (63 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
55
 GREAT Bag
By , Pittsburgh, PA, February 1, 2012

Great bag, top quality. I'll definitely be back for other products in the future. This is totally worth the price. Mine was on back order and Red Oxx said it takes about two weeks to get the order filled. Almost two weeks to the day, it was at my door. Great service. By American, buy from Red Oxx. You won't be disappointed.
 
55
 Safari Beanos PR5.5
By , Bothell, WA, December 29, 2011

I was impressed with the overall quality of the product. The zippers were heavy duty and the stitching and workmanship were best quality.

Its a very useful bags for 3 day business trips and can also be useful as a range bag for a sighting in afternoon.
 
55
 PR 5.5
By , West Virginia, July 28, 2011

I recently went on a 9 day excursion through Greece. This bag was amazing. I easily crammed everything I needed into, plus a bunch of stuff I didn't. Very sturdy and dependable, and I had no problem taking it as a carry on. Overall an amazing bag I would recommend to anyone, especially an over packer like myself!
 
45
 Super bag
By , Washington state, July 12, 2011

This bag compliments my Air Boss making travel easy. It's bult to last, stylish, and designed to pack it full. I do however have one issue. The main compartment when closed & lock at zippers to D-rings, is still accessable by simply undoing the turn locks on the end of the flap and reaching into the main compartment. With the exception of overly large items, the main compartment could be emptied quite easy. Maybe the turn locks could have holes in them for cable lock?
 
55
 Impressive Tough Bag
By , NY, June 23, 2011

Tough bag with impressive hardware, great zips with the monkey-fist knots. You can get a lot of gear into the bag. Crammed 10-days worth of vacation/hiking stuff, including a summer sleeping bag yet the top-flap closed easily. The only downside is that all that packed stuff then makes the bag a bit heavy!
 
55
 Rock solid construction
By , Wisconsin, June 23, 2011

The Safari-Beanos Bag PR 5.5 is built like a tank. It's constructed of super tough cloth and the hardware, particularly the zippers, is the best I've seen. The workmanship is excellent as well. We need more top quality USA-made products like this. I highly recommend this bag or any of the other sizes.
 
15
 Tough Bag
By , NY, June 19, 2011

Tough bag with impressive hardware, great zips with the monkey-fist knots. You can get a lot of gear into the bag. Crammed 10-days worth of vacation/hiking stuff, including a summer sleeping bag yet the top-flap closed easily. The only downside is that all that packed stuff then makes the bag a bit heavy!
 
55
 Practical and tough
By , France, December 30, 2010

My Safari-Beano is perfect for my style of travelling. I am very impressed by the heavyweight zips and multitude of exterior pockets. I'm just off on five weeks travelling in India and Burma and am looking forward to putting it through its paces.
 
55
 Greatest Bags on Earth
By , Vernal, Utah, December 7, 2010

I purchased the Safari-Beanos Bag PR 5.5 in March of 2010 for business travel. I have traveled to various locations in the Middle East, in and out of Europe several times, various locations across the United States, and South America. It does not show any signs of wear on the corners, zippers or other parts of the bag.

While traveling on one trip the slider on a zipper was pulled off by airport luggage. I returned the bag to Red Oxx who repaired it and had it returned to me in less than one week. This has been the toughest and best bag I have ever owned.
 
55
 An Excellent Travel Solution
By , Dallas/Ft Worth, TX, August 17, 2010

Purchased black variant along with an Air Boss for 3 weeks in Europe. Excellent carrying capacity, sensibly thought-out design, well-built and in combination with the Air Boss and a Maxpedition backpack it held everything needed (formal suit to shorts and flipflops) for 20 busy days in 7 locations in 3 countries, plus train, air and vehicle travel. Only beef was the ease with which all the zips not backed up by turnbuckles undid (too easy to "happen accidentally" during baggage handling - now fixed with a local modification). I bought it because my battered British Army battle bag was falling apart, and the PR 5.5 has proved to be far superior - also easy to recognize on the carousel thanks to the logos. Built like a parachute pack, it looked as good on my arrival home last night as it did out of the box - in contrast, my wife's more expensive high-end rollaboard in in the trash, thanks to the ham-handed handlers of Heathrow, Gatwick, Inverness, Bordeaux, Paris, Chicago and Dallas! I recommend this bag highly; next stop, India...
 
55
 Very impressive bag
By , Texas, June 12, 2010

This is a serious, high quality piece of luggage. It's size is manageable if you want to pack light, or you can pack it full if weight is not an issue. Overall it's very versatile, and a good value. I like Red Oxx, good quality is worth the price.
 
55
 Great bag!
By , Portland, OR, June 3, 2010

Fantastic bag! It is perfect for mid-duration trips.
 
45
 A Must Have
By , TN, March 22, 2010

Outstanding product. For 10yrs I have been trying to find a bag to replace the one I was using. I would buy a product get it home try to use it but they never fit the bill for what I wanted. This bag is the answer!! Construction is great, and pockets galore!! It has pockets everywhere. I have been told I have OCD when it comes to storage and efficiency when packing for a trip. This bag is an OCD's dream.

Thanks.... I am picking out my next 2 bags now.
 
55
 100% Satisfied
By , Auburn, Al, November 26, 2009

Although not technically within airline carry-on standards, it's a soft bag and was not challenged and I'm confident it could have fit in the test cage had I been asked. Safron is a stunning Hawkeye Yellow and there is no mistaking your bag in the sea of black, brown and blue. Sturdy doesn't even begin to describe the ruggedness of this product...

impressed from the second I removed it from the box to the moment I dropped it on the floor back home after my first trip. Once again, first class only costs 100% more, but never leaves you wanting. Outstanding duffle. Thank you Red Oxx!
 
45
 Just did my first trip
By , Phoenix, May 4, 2009

I packed everything I needed for myself and my 4yr old son on a weekend trip. The bag is built well with heavy duty zippers and hardware. I thought I might have issues with the larger 5.5 on the flight...not a problem...the bag compresses in the overhead bin and fits fine. At times I wish it had rollers but then it would pack half what this bag holds. Customer service was great. I'm a happy customer.
 
55
 Top Notch!
By , Calgary, Canada, March 11, 2009

I just received my Safari-Beanos PR 5.5 and Gator Bag in Can't-Miss-Me saffron, and I must say that I am thoroughly impressed with the quality of these bags! I picked it up to replace a rolling duffel that I use to pack my gear for work up in the mines in northern Alberta (that lasted six months), and I fully expect this one to greatly surpass that. My only question is whether I should have gotten the PR 6 instead, as I need to haul a lot of stuff for only ten days, but we'll give it a shot... who knows, I may have to pick one up as well!
 
55
 A NECESSITY!
By , Salem Oregon, December 29, 2008

I have stolen my Dad's for years now and once graduation came around I knew what I wanted. Great quality and made in the U.S. I couldn't ask for anything better or anything that would last longer.
 
55
 Another Railroad Grip
By , La Crosse, WI, August 29, 2008

I've had my Safari-Beanos Bag PR 5.5 for well over 3 years now. It has stood up to whatever the railroad and I could throw at it. Roomier enough to hold my gear, a small cooler and my personal items. Placed side by side with the railroad grip this bag is a bit shorter and narrower, but makes up the inside carrying capacity by being a bit longer. I have found it easy to carry in and out of the older locomotives narrow doors. The choice of colors makes it easier to pick out my grip amongst the rest of the railroader I work with. My many thanks to Red Oxx for taking the worry out of my luggage with making such a durable product.
 
55
 Highest Quality
By , Sugar Grove, Illinois, April 17, 2008

After hearing many horror stories of lost luggage my wife and I decided to try an all carry-on vacation. We decided on this bag for each member of the family. The trip was a complete success!! everyone had a different color bag and no extra bags were necessary. We were never questioned about this size as a carry-on bag. Thanks for making bags that I feel confident will last a life time.Leo BrownNote, Red Oxx makes no claim that you can get away with taking a PR 5.5 as carry on luggage, although some of our taller customers can easily get away with it!
 
55
 Your First Redoxx Will Sell You Your Next!
By , New Jersey, December 13, 2007

Undoubtedly the best bag I've owned. What a well thought out, high quality product! I chose the 5.5 as a checked bag for 1 week (or so) trips. There's enough room that I end up packing my wife's excess, still with room to spare. Now awaiting (gift) Sky Train as I'll attempt to navigate my way through carry on once again.
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5.5, a step up from the PR5, was not designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5.5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5.5 carry-on legal?
The PR 5.5 was not designed to be carry-on legal.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5.5?
The PR5.5 was designed to hold a weeks worth of clothes, or around 50 pounds. Some proficient packers could stuff it for two weeks. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15 inch and under notebooks should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5.5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The Safari Beanos series is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Safari Beanos series has exterior flat and raised pockets only.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5.5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Which brings us to the next question.
 
Will packing cubes fit in the PR5.5?
We developed a line of lovely packing cubes that were designed to work with all our bags. Many people also like to use our Lil Roy and Nomad Dope Bag as packing cubes. You can color code your belongings and use the handles to hang them in your room for easy access.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It's sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5.5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5.5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5.5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with three main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5-5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
Will the PR5.5 meet checked luggage standards?
Yes, the PR-5.5 is designed for checked travel.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 
“When a little extra is more than enough.”

Safari-Beanos Bag PR 5.5 $205.00

91032-AmethystIn stock205
91032-BlackIn stock205
91032-BordeauxIn stock205
91032-CoalIn stock205
91032-ForestIn stock205
91032-KhakiIn stock205
91032-MarinerIn stock205
91032-MidnightIn stock205
91032-OliveIn stock205
91032-RedOn back order205
91032-SafariOn back order205
91032-SaffronIn stock205

X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Larger than Life! Go ahead, pack it as full as you can.

A safari duffel that easily holds up to 50 pounds.

This size in the Beanos Series Safari Duffel Bags was developed after the new weight restrictions limited travelers to 50 lbs on domestic flights. This is the travel duffel bag to take out into the world for your seven to ten day trip!

8. REASONS TO OWN A PR5.5 DUFFEL

1. LARGE POCKETS.
The large end pockets can hold your hiking boots on one end and your Tri-fold Shave Kit along with your flip flops in the other. A zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip the panel over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket. See the photos tab at left to see what this looks like.

2. NO SLIP STRAP.
Think lightweight, forget those clumsy wheels and telescoping handle that waste space and add weight. This is not technically a legal carry-on bag, per se, but if packed light and carried by a larger person, you might be able to sneak one on board. Speaking of carry, the sturdy detachable and adjustable padded no-slip Claw shoulder strap is the perfect blend of reliability and function.

3. TOUGH ZIPPERS.
Easily zip open or closed any compartment or pocket with our exclusive proprietary Monkey Fist Zip Knots and the toughest, biggest zipper for duffel bags available: the #10 YKK auto-locking nylon zipper. The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can find, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

4. BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around duffel bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a duffel bag, they are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable soft textile materials available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

5. BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

6. RIGGER CHECK.
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we learned from our service as parachute riggers.

7. PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for everyone to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break you down?

8. EASY ACCESS.
Handy flip open lid allows unencumbered access to the spacious main compartment. Stainless double turn-snaps secure your gear. With such a roomy main compartment, you can pack all you'll need for your much needed vacation and still have room to bring all of your souvenirs home. When a PR6 is too big and a PR5 is too small, the PR5.5 fits the "travel light" philosophers ticket.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 27"L x 11"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 3,267 cubic inches.
Weight: 4.05 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 68.6cm L x 27.9cm W x 27.9cm H
Capacity: 53.4 Liters
Weight: 1.84 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 4"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 17"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 17"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 11"W x 20"L x 11"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana US.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Safari Beanos PR5.5.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Safari Beanos PR5.5 is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5.5 Specs Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V rings
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Double box stitching on all stress points such as carry handles
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • US Dimensions: 27"L x 11"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 68.6cm L x 27.9cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,267 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 53.4 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.05 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.84 Kilos

Safari Beanos PR5.5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

Questions? Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top