Skip Navigation LinksSafari-Beanos-Bag-PR6

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm an organized Gear Hog.”
Red Oxx Safari-Beanos PR6 Duffel Bag - shown in Safari color

Safari-Beanos Bag PR6 $220.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Holds up to 70 pounds!

That is, if you need to carry that much!

OUTFITTER'S DUFFEL BAG.
This bag can hold everything you need it to, and then some! Outdoorsmen love this bag for week long hunts in the cold mountains here in Montana. It's big enough to accommodate boots, pants, coats and everything else you'd need to keep warm for a week while hunting.

Handy touches like the end pocket zippers that zip halfway down for easy digging and the flip top lid that gets out of your way while packing and unpacking. And every zipper is paired with our fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots making unzipping a pocket so easy a blind monkey could do it.

PAIR IT WITH A ROLLABOUT.
Packed to the brim with innovative features like the unique pass-through panel docking sleeve located on the back of the bag. Got wheeled luggage? Pair it up with the PR6 by unzipping the two zippers on this pocket and then slip the bag by its pocket flap over the telescoping handle.

NO SLIP STRAP.
Still, the Safari Beanos PR6 is designed to be shouldered, so the rubber padding on the Claw Shoulder Strap is molded directly to the webbing. This strap will never slip off your shoulder and the welded nickel plated hardware is the absolute best you can buy. Never will it rust, break or bend. The PR6 duffel is the original LARGE in the Beano's Safari Series travel bags and can hold up to 70 lbs of gear. If you need more, perhaps you should stay home!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your PR6 Duffel bag on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 31"L x 12"W x 12"H.
Capacity: 4,464 cu. inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual zippered end compartments: 11"H x 12"W x 4"D
  • Dual zippered flat end pockets: 11"H x 12"W
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 20"W x 9.5"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass thru pocket: 20"W x 10"H
  • Main compartment: 22"L x 10"W x 12"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.89 Average Rating
 (38 Reviews)

 
1 2 Next > 
 A great piece of luggage for extended trips!
By JM, Tennessee, March 8, 2012

I am very rough on my luggage when I travel. I purchased the Safari Beanos PR4 and 6, along with a Tri-Fold Shave Kit, and Rigger wallet for dedicated luggage to take on hunting trips, and I am, so far, very pleased.

The storage space that you get in these bags is not apparent until you pack things in it, and then it really shines. There are also plenty of separate, storage compartments which give you plenty of distinct, and easily accessible areas to place various items.

The build quality is very rugged, and ought to hold up to years of use....and abuse by the airlines.

As far as the PR6 is concerned, I would have no qualms about recommending it as a checked bag for extended (i.e., week-long) trips.

The only complaint I have, if you could call it that, is the price, but for the quality and features you get, so far, it appears to be a great value.

Great job guys! I'll definitely by more luggage from Red Oxx when I need it.
 
 Safari Beanos PR6
By Pierre Allard, California, January 19, 2012

I have owned and used dozens of this type of bag. They tend to wear out quikly when a lot of plane rides are involved. The PR6 has proven to be extremely strong and capable of carrying a full load on an airline, from California to Africa, New Zealand, China ... and back, and still in one piece.

The only issue so far has been the lack of a fully zippered top . The clips that close the top are convenient if you are in a truck, giving quick access to your gear. But checked bagage needs to be locked, and the PR6 does not lock. TSA handlers are bad enough, but left unlocked my bag was rummaged twice by bagage handlers with easy access to the content. You need to make the top fully zippered, and add a locking feature to the zipper ends. Same for the end pockets, add a locking hole to the zipper ends. This is just about the only improvement i would make, other than creating this same model in a wheeled bag (option). Wheels sure are nice when you are crossing an airport to checkin, and have a rifle case and a carry on with you (also Red Oxx by the way!).

Thank you!
 
 Safari bag PR^
By Allison, NE, January 7, 2012

Bought this for my son-in-law who works for the rail road. Love the lifetime warrenty.
 
 The perfect hunting bag!
By Lou Wickas, Gallipolis, Ohio, November 22, 2011

I originally purchased the PR6 for hunting in Alaska. Traveling throughout Alaska has taught me you need good quality tough gear. Especially when you need to travel on small planes. This bag is extremely tough and no matter how small the plane, you can always find a space to stuff it in without damaging it. I plan to buy other pieces for my Africa hunt.
 
 Opinion on Safari Beanos Bag PR6
By G, Switzerland, August 26, 2011

I was looking for a resistant duffel bag (without wheels) to go for a 2-week surf trip to Costa Rica.

After some research on the net, Red Oxx seemed to be the best brand on the market (first time I heard about that brand).

I bought the PR6 and am so far very happy with my purchase (lots of attention paid to little details that makes the use of the bag very easy). :)
 
 Good Rugged Tote Bag
By Kim Wheeler, Bakersfield, CA, March 31, 2011

My husband is a RailRoad Engineer with U.P.R.R. and he needed a large and thick quality tote bag for all of his regulation books and personal gear for his runs back and forth from Colton, CA.

This bag is very good in quality construction and holds just about anything my husband can shove into it. The color of the bag and the straps are very rugged and the zippers seem to be strong enough to handle any type of stress applied to them. I hope it will out last the last bag that he had(13 years). My only complaint is no Monogram to add to the order.
 
 Totally awesome mate!
By Mike from down under, New Zealand, March 1, 2011

I've waited a year to make this review. Things tend to fall apart around this time. The PR6 is the exception that proves the rule.

I was abit nervous purchasing from New Zealand, with a drop off address organised at the Hotel we were travelling to in the States.

THe Red Oxx team were brilliant, purchase was simple and efficient.

I feel the bag is "bullet proof". THe test was coming home. Our bags were full to over flowing due to my credit card happy wife. :)

Our family consists of two little ones, the youngest requiring a fold down scooter to tackle the intrepid day trips around your beautiful country. After packing everything, we spied the scooter still sitting in the middle of the living room. I had to man handle this thing into the top of the PR6. When it was zipped up, you could see the bulging out line of the steel scooter! If this bag is going to blow, then this would be the time. Airport loading staff are generally not gentle with luggage.

Hence to say, the bag arrived home unscathed....and has been doing the business since. Thanks Red Oxx.
 
 ALL RED OXX BAGS
By George Clapp, Brisbane, Australia, January 30, 2011

The construction of your bags is excellent - with one exception, in my opinion - and that is the zips should each have a lug overlapping with its opposite companion, drilled to take a lock shank, so that the zippers can be securely locked. At the moment, without these lugs, putting a lock through the zip handles is questionable and could lead to breakages.
 
 Great Bag
By CB, Idaho, January 16, 2011

I ordered this for an airline trip with my wife, but I can see that this bag will be used a lot. It worked very well for flying as checked baggage, but I can see it will be traveling with me a lot. It will be perfect for throwing in the truck on photography trips, and to take to hunting camp.

This is well designed and thought out to carry a lot of gear. The end pockets are especially well designed-one actually held a pair of size 12 running shoes without any problem.

Construction of this bag is solid, no nonsense and rugged. Typical Red OXX gear-doesn't get any better than that.
 
 Wow...
By Brett Cheek, Missouri, July 24, 2010

I just got back from my first trip with this bag and I love it. 14 days all over Russia and then straight to Jr. High Youth Camp in Missouri, it handled all three weeks of travel perfectly and conditions that ranged from rushing through crowded train stations, camping, rain, wild middle schoolers, heat, subways, international airports, and more... I travel a lot and this thing is going to be a good friend along the way.
 
 It doesn't get better than the PR6.
By David Pitts, Bossier City, LA, February 27, 2010

I'm a conductor with Union Pacific Railroad and must say that this bag is worth every penny. The quality and construction surpass any expectations I had. I can fit a change of clothes, a hooded sweat-shirt, my Carhardt over-alls and winter jacket, rain gear (top and bottom), rule book and other required documents, extra pair of boots, lantern, radio, extra personal protective equipment, extra batteries. I even have room for the RedOxx toiletry bag I purchased. Forgot to mention my laptop and my memory foam pillow fit as well. Every thing I could possibly think of taking on the train with me now fits into "one" bag, instead of two. This is the last grip I will ever buy and if something ever happens to it, I will, be buying another... Can't wait until I can afford to buy my wife and kids luggage sets. Wish I would have purchased this 4 years ago.
 
 Beanos back to Montana...
By M. Cromwell, New Hampshire, November 11, 2008

Jim, I just got back from Montana where I used my Beano PR 5.5 and PR 6 bags on a 9 day deer and elk adventure. Both bags held up to the baggage handlers, all my gear for the week and the return trip as well. No luck on the elk but I did manage to collect a 6x6 whitetail on the last day. Thanks for for making such a quality product. Now the PR 6 will be off to Africa in May. Best regards,Mark CromwellNew England Custom Gun Service, Ltd.Schmidt & Bender, Inc. USA
 
 AFRICA ARE YOU READY FOR US
By Diane Mattly, Houston, TX, October 28, 2008

Because the bush planes in Africa will only allow you 1duffle bag (no wheels allowed) and no more than 40 pounds, the Safari Beano PR6 was perfect. We had more than enough room for everything we needed for a 19 day trip. We even had additional space for items we added along the trip. The construction was able to withstand airports, airlines, bush planes and safari jeeps. The only thing I missed was a lock. After we checked our bags for a short flight with South African Air someone took items from my bag. It would have been nice to have a compartment that could be locked for semi-valuable items. Right now our problem is we are trying to justify purchasing all the sizes of the Beano.
 
 great bag
By eric, los altos, CA, August 24, 2008

got one of these on short notice (Thx Amanda) and it worked great on my hut trip near Leadville CO, was able to get all my gear in this and a daypack. It gobbles up an incredible amount of gear and like all my Red Oxx bags can take a beating and not miss a beat.
 
 I might be a Tiger but I love my Oxx
By Weagleman, Auburn, June 4, 2008

I'm a student that travels between school and home alot. I was using garbage bags for a long, long time. I also go camping alot and needed a bag that could handle my gear. So I decided to treat myself to a little Oxx Safari-Beanos Bag PR6. Greatest piece of luggage I've ever owned. Pockets for everything. Enough space for my whole wardrobe. Built like a brick shithouse! If it ever happens to wear out, which I highly doubt, I will be purchasing another. I never trip without it! Oh yeah, War Eagle !!!
 
 Home Sweet Home
By Anonymous, , March 2, 2007

Love this bag, so much I decided to live out of it.... kind of, I'm out truckin, over the road coast to coast with my Beanos and am really enjoying it. The quality is superb, the hardware is built tough, and the pictures just don't do the bag justice. It didn't even flinch on a cross country Greyhound trip, while I myself almost didn't make it. Another thing I had to get the bag fast as I was leaving last minute and Red Oxx made it happen so I thank them. I got the Raven color by the way and love it. Highly reccomended, just be warned, if this is your first Red Oxx product your just going to want more after this.
 
 Heavy Gym Gear Is No Problem
By Anonymous, , January 1, 2007

I use my Safari-Beano PR6 to haul heavy exercise gear to and from the gym. As an instructor I require a variety of gear from jump ropes to dumbbells to boxing gloves to medicine balls for 15 to 20 people. This gear gets thrown in and out of the truck two to three times a week. Average gym bags were only lasting a few months before they would rip or come apart at the seams plus they didn't have enough capacity. I now have had this Safari-Beano going on three years now without any sign of it being under stress at all. It is rugged and big enough to carry all my gear in one shot. It works well and looks good too, especially with my company logo embroidered on the side.Thanks Red Oxx!Dave OusleyDave's Boot Camp
 
 Amber Alert for my Claw Shoulder Strap!
By Chuck Long Jr., , November 15, 2005

Ladies and Gentleman:I travel,using one or another combos of three sizes of the Safari Beano bags...and love'em.Unfortunately, yesterday, on the way home from Denver, one of the wonderful people at TSA decided to "inspect" my checked large bag, and in the process either lost or decided he liked, and took, the Claw shoulder strap out of the small zippered compartment I had stored it in for the flight!
 
1 2 Next > 
Specifications

Safari Beanos PR6 Specs Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V rings
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 31"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 78.7cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 4,464 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 73.2 Liters

Safari Beanos PR6 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in Mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR6, a step up from the PR5-5, was not designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR6 is the largest of the dual end pocket duffel bag series. For more information view the video "Comparing the Safari Beanos" in the videos tab at left.
 
Is the PR6 carry on legal?
The PR6 was not designed to be carry-on legal.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR6?
The PR6 was designed to hold 10 days worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for two weeks. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Is the PR6 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The Safari Beanos series is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Can the zippers be locked?
Yes, you can us any TSA approved lock or our simple Cable Locks. Be aware that soft sided bags can be cut open with any sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Safari Beanos series has exterior flat and raised pockets only.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR6?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Which brings us to the next question.
 
Will packing cubes fit in the PR6?
We like to use our Lil Roy and Nomad Dope Bag as packing cubes. You can color code your belongings and use the handles to hang them in your room for easy access.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accomodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR6 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR6 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR6 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with three main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. Only the Air Boss and Sky Train are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Low cut hiking boots might fit and most men's shoes would also fit (7-12).
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR6 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
Will the PR6 meet checked luggage standards?
Yes, the PR-6 is designed for checked travel.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.