Email Red OxxRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on InstagramPin it on Red Oxx PinterestJoin Red Oxx on facebook.Red Oxx on Google Plus

Red Oxx Market Tote Grocery Bag - shown in Forest. Choose from 12 colors.




Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (71 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Great Grocery Bag
By Salli, Indiana, December 6, 2008

I just got the market totes I ordered yesterday. Took them on their first grocery shopping trip today. Two totes held all my groceries for 2 weeks. With the handles going all the way around they were really sturdy holding all the weight. The lady behind me in line commented on how much better they were than the freebie one she was using. The best part was on the way home the hot dog package sprang a leak and the coating kept the juice from leaking through the bag onto the back seat of my car. This bag is definitely better than all the plastic bags.
 
 Amazing
By Ken S, NH, USA, September 21, 2008

For such a simple thing, it works so well. The baggers at the store are afraid to fill it, but if you do it yourself it will hold a ton of items and make you feel so much better about not using plastic!
 
 Great shopping bag, go green!
By Anonymous, Northern Ca, July 25, 2008

My wife and I love these bags, bought one for her and left one in the car for those unexpected shopping stops. These bags hold a ton! 2 of them are good for a weeks worth of groceries, and we wont be missing the accumulation of plastic grocery store bags that once kept piling up in the pantry. She also uses hers for carrying books to class, a true multi use item.
 
 Tote bag
By Mary, Virginia, July 12, 2008

I originally bought these tote bags because the description said they were the same size as the brown paper grocery bags, and I'd been looking for just such a bag for a long time. I love these bags! They really do hold a lot of groceries, and they're so sturdy that I can load them up with lots of heavy stuff and not worry about a blowout. I also take them to other, non-grocery stores, and have gotten many positive comments from the cashiers there, too. I had way too many plastic bags piling up at my house, but no more. These bags are so well-made, I expect to use them for a long time to come.
 
 World's Greatest Tote
By James, Seattle, WA, May 29, 2008

I got my order about three hours ago. I noted the rugged construction. The strapping used for the handles and bag support is one piece - wrapping beneath the bag, extending for the handles, and meeting with the other end in a secure stitch. Yes, you can swing little ones in this thing.

Took it out for a trip to the grocery. Noted that the handles are long enough to put my arm through and hang the bag from my shoulder. Convenient and out-of-the-way.Coming back from the grocery, I noticed that the bag is large enough to hold a lot of stuff. The bag carries a little above the ground, which is perfect. When stopped, I can let the bag rest on the ground while still having a loose hold of the handle straps. I'm 6' tall.My order included a Sky Train bag. I see that I can store the tote flat in the zipped compartment with the backpack straps - an easy no-loss stash spot.

I've only had it a few hours, but I'm already attached to it. It's well designed and well constructed. Can't go wrong here. I'm glad I got mine.
 
 The talk of the Store
By Jolene Verlanic, Colstrip, March 26, 2008

I just got my market totes yesterday and took them with me when I went to the store. The bag boy was amazed by what they could hold and wanted to know where he could get one. It was really rewarding to be able to tell them Red Oxx in Billings MT and that they are made there. All of the checkers were amazed by the quality of them as well. Thank you for another great product.
 
 Go Pick Some Other Traveler!
By M Alana Bell, , January 13, 2007

Tote arrived just this week, and I'm already raving about it. See, I was at the airport with a packed Air Boss and my Gator, which wasn't a problem until I shopped for water airside to drink on the flight! Whoops, no more room for all those bottles plus lunch. When I was at the gate I received lots of glares from the gate attendants because of that bag of water bottles. Yep, I was over the carry-on allowance. I knew I'd hear the dreaded words 'gate-check' since the flight was packed. I was the sacrificial 3-bagger, and they were staring right at my Air Boss.

Wait, I thought. What about dumping the Gator's contents into the tote, and cramming the empty Gator on top? I quickly found there was no need to dump the Gator; with the end pockets empty, and the bellows pockets mostly flat, the Gator slid into place like the two bags were meant to be used together. Had enough room for the water bottles on top, and lunch too. Poor gate people had to pick on other travelers to get the gate-check items. My bags were smaller than theirs were. Thanks, Red Oxx, I'll never leave town without this tote again!

Or without my Travel basket, but that's another review...
 
 Perfect tote or baby swing?
By Brad Holcomb, , November 20, 2006

I got this for my wife, and she has been raving about it. She's used it for several shopping trips, and it will pack nice and flat in our luggage to use for shopping excursions while on vacation trips. The Bordeaux color is beautiful.

My personal favorite use of the bag so far: My 21-month-old son likes to sit in the bottom and have me swing him around. The bag is so extremely strong that I have zero concern about the fabric or the straps breaking. Fun times.
 
 The Toast Of Totes
By Cory Utterback, , October 30, 2006

My wife and I have purchased two totes from the folks at Red Oxx--the "older bag" with short handles and a newer model with extended handles. These babies are even handy for those who don't use totes. The reason? You can always find a use for a tote. Here are a few: eco-minded grocery visits; carrying dishes to dinner parties; and hauling gifts to the in-laws for holiday visits--just to name a few. Ballistic nylon and cordura fabric make this bag tough. Visually, this tote puts others to shame; the vibrant colors and stylish logo let people know you mean business. The extended handles are a great improvement, making the bag more..."totable." If you are in the market for a tote, do not waste your time (or money) on any other product. Period.
 
 The Perfect Tote
By Mandi Graham, , July 7, 2006

The Red Oxx Tote Bag is the only tote I will use. It's the perfect size for just about anything and the straps are the perfect length; not too short but not too long! It's strong and durable and easy to keep clean! I use it when I go boating, to the grocery store, for laundry, when going to my son's sporting events, work and just about anything I'm doing!Thanks Jim and Perry! You guys rock!
 
 Much better than the freebies!
By Steve Duncan, , April 7, 2006

This tote bag is, well, a tote bag. But it's better.We've gotten several giveaway bags but they're usually not very robust. They're also not very deep relative to their footprint, so when you put them down things tend to tumble out of them. Of course, a deeper bag can invite the same thing if you overload it but depth is nice for things like 2-liter and wine bottles. This tote bag is deeper, and the handle-straps go all the way around. You won't hesitate to load it up with firewood or bricks if the need ever arises. The thing I noticed about the straps was their softness and suppleness. This makes them more comfortable than the stiffer stuff you always find. The bag is also water proof - water proof enough to carry water in for short distances, like to douse the errant spouse ;-)So, while it might seem a bit excessive to buy a tote bad, trust me - this is way better than the freebies!
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

Can the Market Tote be used for a carry-on personal item?
The Market Tote makes a wonderful carry-on personal item. Since it can be folded flat, one can also pack it into your luggage for local shopping, then bring it home as your personal item carry-on.
 
Why is there no zipper?
A prototype model zippered tote has been designed and is in the testing stage.
 
Why are the handles so long?
The Tote was designed for shoulder carry as well as a simple backpack. Shorter handles wouldn't allow these styles of carry. You can, however, easily shorten the handles by looping them over each other. See overview for a detailed description or refer to the photos tab.
 
This grocery tote is too big for a single person, do you have a smaller version?
We sure do, check out the Red Oxx Mini Tote Bag, a bag for all reasons.
 
How many groceries can the Market Tote hold?
It can hold the same amount as the classic paper grocery bag.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Market Tote contains only one main compartment.
 
Is the opening closeable?
The bag is not closeable.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 
“I am not a tumbleweed!”

Market Tote $35.00


X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Grocery Getter! Tote It.

Montana Made. Sustainable Shopping.

Our Market Tote Bag is THE contemporary reusable grocery bag. Its measurements are the same as the old classic 'Brown Paper Bag.' This is a large tote shopping bag of outstanding quality compared to the typical cheap imported junk they hawk at the grocery store.

STRONG BOTTOM.
Our handles are stitched completely around the sides and bottom of the bag with double box stitching at all stress points. No more worries about the bottom of this grocery bag ever blowing out! Rugged, reliable and tough.

HANDS-FREE SHOULDER CARRY.
Extra-long carry handles allow you to carry the grocery Market Tote on your shoulder. We've seen folks carry the tote like a backpack! And as spacious as this tote bag is, you can use one Red Oxx Market Tote instead of half a dozen flimsy plastic grocery bags that end up around here as modern tumbleweeds! Just remember to keep it in your car so you'll have it once you get to the store. Another great way to remember taking your bag with you is hang it over the front door knob. Can't miss it on the way out the door.

SHORTER HANDLE CARRY TIP IDEA.
Don't like to shoulder carry your Tote? Straps seem too long? Drags on the ground when you hand carry it? No problem. Simply place the bag upright on the ground and drape each carry handle to your left and right. Now grasp each handle and cross them over each other. Next slip each handle under the other and pull the end loops upwards. You can now carry the Market Tote by the crossed-over loops, thus shortening the straps by about a third of their length. See Photos tab for details.

STANDS UP BY ITSELF.
The tough 1000 denier military grade CORDURA® nylon is water-resistant and twice as strong as standard nylon. And of course, you have a dozen vibrant colors to choose from...

The heavyweight 1050 ballistic nylon on the sides helps this shopping tote to "stand up" and keep its shape so you can easily fill it, or empty it -- a handy feature not seen on any reusable grocery tote we know of. Grocery clerks love this handy feature.

The Market Tote Bag has been used for:

  • potlucks (it's large enough to hold a 5 Qt crock pot),
  • as a pool and beach bag,
  • a utility bag
  • a book bag
  • even to and from arts and crafts classes crammed with art or knitting supplies.
  • Great for hauling melons, pumpkins, squash and other large and awkward shaped vegetables or wrapped cuts of meat like roasts, chickens or quarters, and whole fish that would stretch a regular grocery bag to it's limits (and likely bruise your food).

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling and gives a clean finished look. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors grocery totes that brag of "binding" their edges.

CARRY-ON PERSONAL ITEM? YOU BET!
The ladies love using it as a sewing tote, crochet bag or knitting bag. Yoga lovers carry their yoga mats, sweats, and other accouterments in the Market Tote. Then there are those adventurous types who take it with them around the world and use it for more things than we could ever think of. Since they fold flat, packing several Market Totes along as "luggage extenders" means you can carry-on as a personal item and bring home extra goodies and gifts from your travels.

FOR SCHOOL, TOO.
Even students find the Market Tote useful as a college book bag. Its sturdy build and just right size easily holds a laptop, tablet, several large textbooks, writing notebooks and project files. Toss your pens and electronic gadgets such as chargers into a Nomad or Lil Roy and all your lose items are organized. Buy two or more Totes, you'll always find a use for more than one! Think it might be too big? Try our hot little Mini Tote Bag instead.

EASY TO CLEAN.
Totes exposed to food can get dirty quickly. Dirt, vegetable matter, crushed fruit, spilled juices or soda, sticky candy, leaking jars and bottles can gunk up the interior of your Market Tote. Fortunately, it's a piece of cake (pun intended) to clean your Tote. Simply fill a sink, bucket or tub with warm soapy water (we like Dr. Bronner's), grab a nylon bristle brush and lightly scrub your bag clean. Simply turn it inside out to scrub out the interior. Then rinse both sides in warm water and hang up to dry on the shower head or outdoors on laundry line. Never use a machine dryer to dry any Red Oxx bag and always avoid solvents or harsh industrial cleaning agents as they will damage the lining.

The good folks at the Weather Underground seem to think our Market Tote is a great choice for a reusable grocery bag. Read up on their great Farmer's Market shopping tips.

"Go Green, save a tree, recycle some oil, use, reuse and well, reusable forever, the Red Oxx Market Tote Grocery Bag. Sustainable shopping indeed!"

Or as the locals at the Farmer's Market say, "If you turnip, lettuce bear your fruit..."

Dimensions: 16"H x 6"D x 12"W.
Capacity: 1,440 cubic inches.
Weight: 0.85 pounds.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Market Tote.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great tote needs cool accessories.

Market Tote Trivia: Modeled straight from the measurements of the original brown paper sack from the grocery store. The Tote was birthed before stores started carrying those cheap-o imported grocery totes, the kind that start unraveling after just a few uses.

Market Tote is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Specifications

Market Tote Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND hand made in U.S.A.
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • 1150 weight black Ballistic nylon on the sides
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching on all stress points such as carry handles
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 16"H x 6"D x 12"W
  • Metric Dimensions: 40.6cm H x 15.2cm D x 30.5cm W
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 1,440 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 18.8 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 0.85 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 0.38 Kilos

Market Tote Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top