Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (718 Reviews)

... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
 Hot dog !!
By dan k, san diego, April 15, 2010

Colorful Saffron stands out in a crowd. Now I am a one bag traveller as my Air Boss hlds a lot in safekeeping. Heavy duty zippers, well designed for papers, clothes, computers. It even holds an extra pair of shoes in left over space. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. Now my wife wants one in a different color.
 Incredibly versatile
By D. Cipolla, Philadelphia, PA, April 12, 2010

If you're in a long-distance relationship (like me), and make a lot of trips to see your significant other (like I do), you may just find that the Air Boss will keep your relationship alive! Granted...I do think that other factors have kept my girlfriend and I together other than my suitcase, but there's no denying that the Air Boss has been a big help to me during my travels. I head from my home in Philadelphia to her home in Mexico to see her every 4-6 weeks, and the Air Boss has been my trusty companion for the last 9 months. I got it because stuffing my old duffel bag full of clothes was keeping me looking like a wrinkled mess once I got to Mexico, and naturally I wanted to look my best when I'm out on the town. Thanks to the Air Boss and the bundle-packing method, I now arrive wrinkle-free and with plenty of clothes (both dress-up and dress-down) for my stay. I really love this suitcase; you can fit an incredible amount of stuff into it, and it stays well-organized. It's perfect for both business and personal travel, and I've lived out of it for over a week at a time with room to spare. The Air Boss really an impressive piece of engineering -- light, stylish, and built like a tank. After buying it I realized why Red Oxx gives them a lifetime warranty -- I can't see anything on this beast ever breaking, even with heavy usage. Worth every penny. Excellent.
 Unbelievable-Great Product
By JR Bole, Colorado Springs CO, April 9, 2010

I love reviews with good information about products I'm about to spend a sizable amount of money on, but there is no reason for me to be redundant. My goal was to find the "perfect carry-on" so that I wouldn't have to check my bags anymore. This bag is it, though I have to trust what others have said about it fitting on all aircraft because I have yet to FLY with it. I have traveled with it in our travel trailer and to hotels. It packs easy and holds at least a weeks worth of well thought out outfits (my mother might disagree but she always checks many bags when she travels - no wonder she hates flying). I had room for a hairdryer, flat iron, make-up bag, two sweat shirts, six tank tops, one light weight sweater, two swim suits, five pair of pants, four tee-shirts, pj's, undies, and an extra pair of shoes (flats). On the advice of another customer I purchased packing cubes and a folder which helped A LOT. We have a large family and limited space in our travel trailer. We have always wresteled duffle bags in and out of the storage closets. The Air Boss was much easier to maneuver and because of the three compartments clothes were easier to find. Spend the money, you won't regret it.
 Solid and Well Made
By A. Smith, Australia, April 5, 2010

An excellent, well-made bag. Very solid and capacious. Well thought out. See the many reviews here for more details.

I put coats and heavy gear in the outer pockets, and packing cells in the middle. Haven't used mine for air travel yet, but it's been great for car trips.

My one area of concern: my other luggage has zips that can be padlocked together. For the Air Boss you will need to use the 'cable lock' accessory (not really a lock), or run a padlock through the zip handles (rather than the zip bodies, as on other luggage). In fairness, the zips are visible in the product pictures and it didn't put me off buying the bag.

For car trips and unchecked luggage this is not a problem and I am otherwise very satisfied with this excellent piece of luggage!
By Chris, Chicago, USA, April 2, 2010

I read a lot of reviews and semi-reluctantly, I took the plunge and moved from a traditional wheely to a duffle bag...and I'm not looking back. Coupled with the packing style on onebag, this bag is incredible. I just returned from 4 solid weeks on the road and each time the bag was a champ. Even fully loaded, my brief case weighs more so I usually opt to carry the Red Oxx by its handle. Thanks guys for one incredible piece of equipment!
 Like Jesus in Silk Pajamas.
By C. Anderson, Phoenix, AZ USA, March 29, 2010

Although pessimistic at first, I decided to purchase the Air Boss for an upcoming international business trip. Over the course of five days, I was in Malaysia, Singapore, Taiwan, China and Japan for business meeting. I was amazed at the versatility, ease of use and capacity of the Air Boss. I was able to fit three suits and five sets of dress shirts, undershirts, socks, ties and other essentials with ease. Added value was the ability to put the Air Boss in the overhead on each of my flights. This ability allowed me to travel much more efficiently and decreased the amount of time that I spent at the airport. To top it off, at the end of the trip I was able to fit an 18year old bottle of scotch in the center portion of the bag, which has to be checked on my last flight because of a connection thru LAX.

I look forward to traveling with the Air Boss on my next trip. I only wished that the Air Boss had cinch straps in the center potion of the bag. That slight modification would have made the bag perfect.
By VALTER RECCHIA, ITALY, March 18, 2010

The best Carry on Bag I have ever had. Create by experts thinking on the real needs of frequent travellers.

Thank you
 Best bag I've ever used
By Tracy Castile, San Diego, March 17, 2010

This is quite simply the best bag i've ever used for traveling. It fits absolutely everything i can pack, and fits anywhere. The construction is top-notch and i will be using this bag for years.
 The bag to end all bags ...
By TomTom_Tom, Canada, March 9, 2010

I selected the Air Boss after overwhelming positive reviews not only here but also on sites like Flyertalk -- and after CATSA began to strictly enforce carry-on size restrictions for flights to the US.

The Air Boss arrived two weeks ago, and after two trips with it, I am very much impressed. The construction is superb and the multiple compartments help with organized packing. I easily fit a week's worth of clothing etc into it, and carried it all over multiple airports, train stations, taxis and hotels -- and, yes, it even fits into the overheads on a regional jet. The convenience of actually *carrying* a bag is amazing after years of dealing with wheeled luggage. There is no going back now!

The one complaint? The claw strap is very grippy but is relatively narrow and when the Air Boss is fully packed, it tends to bite into the shoulder. I switched straps with my laptop bag (where the claw strap works great), and the Air Boss is now much more comfortable with the wider strap. I may yet upgrade to Tom Bihn's Absolute Strap, though.
 The Real Deal
By George, Southwest Colorado, March 4, 2010

I am back to being a weekly road warrior and this bag makes my life so much easier. Fits in every overhead from regional jets to triple 7s. Several times in the past month, I was flying standby, and was able to carry on my weeks worth of stuff when everyone else was forced to gate check their roller bags. You can always find room in the overhead for this bag.

Use the eagle creek pack it system and a weeks worth of shirts/dress slacks travel wrinkle free. Whether I am out one night or six,this bag will handle it.

Given its design, it is easy to overpack this bag, so it has forced me to evaluate what I really need to carry on the road.

Not having a roller bag sure makes shuttle vans, taxis, trains, etc. much easier to navigate.

I will never check a bag again, that alone will allow this bag to pay for itself.

I really did my homework and will say Red Oxx actually "underpromises and over delivers". I can assure you this bag is the "Real Deal".

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? They are designed to fit perfectly. Your Air Boss will thank you.
 Like Mary Poppins Bag
By Madriver, Spokane, WA, March 4, 2010

As advertised! I just kept putting more things into the bag and it kept swallowing them up! Went on a recruiting trip to Bozeman and had to pack nice closes and fishing clothes. All fit wonderfully. It's a quality product and I'm sure I'll add more to my collection. On a side note, I'm somewhat of a "bag-a-holic". I have owned many different bags. I think I finally found the right one!
 Strong Work
By Gus, Kansas City, March 4, 2010

Excellent quality. It is a great joy to get a product that delivers on its promises. Just enough storage for the things I need. Good work.
 A lifestyle choice
By Anonymous, Canada, February 28, 2010

I've used the Air Boss for about one year now.

The first thing one should be aware is that, by buying this bag, you're also buying into a lifestyle. Most of my trips are for periods of one to three weeks so careful preparation using any bag is usually required, and extra-careful preparation using a single carry-on bag is absolutely necessary.

As a lifestyle choice, the ability to use the bag as carry-on cannot be underestimated. You never loose your bag and the time gained in bypassing luggage carousels is a decisive advantage in any trip in which you would have to wait for checked luggage.

The major advantage of the bag is its soft shell, which gives it the versatility to deform or bulge, particularly if little or extra clothing is carried on a specific trip. The outside compartments will easily hold one week's worth of clothes. The bulk of the weight most likely will come from non-clothing items (laptop, papers etc) that are held in the middle compartment, or in either side compartments (closed and open). A full bag can get quite heavy (mine can weight up to 12.5kg) and may be cumbersome for some if carried on multiple-stage trips.

Unlike some others, I actually like the open pocket with the snap-on button. It is easy to stuff in there all kinds of items that need to be easily accessed: liquids and gels, inflatable pillow, wool socks, boarding passes etc.

I also like the snap-on handles and their cross-bag extensions, which allow the bag to squeeze in shape when it is held by the handles.

Overall, the rugged construction and general practicality make this product an excellent buy.
 Around the world with one AirBoss!
By Jim, Connecticut, February 26, 2010

I'm a frequent (weekly) traveler and am committed to doing whatever it takes to get through security and on/off planes with the least amount of wasted time - I just don't feel like wasting my remaining life minutes in lines. The Air Boss has become my one bag since I bought it for myself for Christmas. It's great for 2 or 3 nights - but then any bag this size is probably good for that. But, an around the world trip, that's another story. The Air Boss was my one bag for a recent trip around the world in 8 days - 4 countries. I did have a very lightweight nylon drawstring bag I ended up pulling out for souveniers but that was on the final return leg. I could have fit those in the Boss if I hadn't overpacked my bag preparing for the lack of potable water, possible food issues, and of course my very own soft TP :-)

I use all of the pockets (even the snap one on the side) and Eagle Creek cubes to keep everything in its place. My packing list is setup by cube (different colors to keep track of the contents -- 1st Aid in a red one, electronic cables & power supplies in a black one, etc.) and pocket. Easy to remember where things are and get to them fast without having to root around in the bag. Even TSA (Thousands Standing Around) agents seem a little more respectful when they open the bag to look inside (and that after excising my luggage of all liquids & gels! I don't get delayed by them often, perhaps they just want to check out my Air Boss?).

I'm usually early off the plane and always just breeze by the baggage claim. On my last trip that was key to reducing a lot of stress as I navigated foreign airports without problems - getting to immigration & customs quickly made getting through them fast too. This was a big deal in Nagoya where my flight stopped for refueling and they made us all get off with our carry ons, thru x-ray security scanners and then to a line...where all the passengers from a 747 had their luggage hand searched and then patted down. Being in the front of that line kept me sane.

I have made a couple of changes to the bag that I'd recommend to anyone trying to use it as their one bag - I put a slice of 20"x5"x1/2" closed cell foam from a camping pad on the bottom of the main compartment. This gives my laptop some cushioning when setting the bag down (my laptop goes in the center along with most of my packing cubes). I also added a 2" strip of Velcro (industrial adhesive version) to the inside of the main compartment (up against the zipper) using the fuzzy Velcro so it wouldn't scratch anything...then I added a matching strip of the hook portion of the Velcro strip capturing a D-ring with a small caribiner that I use to attach my keys as I lock my car at the airport - they stay attached for my whole trip and I know where they are when I get off that last plane and head to the car, no more searching trying to remember what I did with them.

I love this bag and the standard strap (doesn't slip). Pretty near perfect design.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? They are designed to fit perfectly and come in our exclusive 12 vibrant colors. Your Air Boss will thank you.
 Amazing Product!!
By Jon , New Jersey, February 25, 2010

When I received the Airboss I was extremely surprised of the quality, it exceeded my expectations. I had a flight scheduled for that night so I got to pack this thing right away. I travel for work at minimum 100k miles a year and have been on a "quest" for the past 3 years to find the ultimate carryon solution. I have more carryon/roller bags than any one person should have lol. I stumbled upon last year and loved the idea of the Airboss, after toiling over the price (and purchasing several other bags in the mean time costing well over the price of this quality bag) I finally bit the bullet and made the purchase. I wish I would have just bought it when I found it last year and saved myself some aggravation and money. Anyway, on the details of the trip and bag....I was comfortably able to fit 4 days work of casual business attire and workout clothing/sneakers as well as my 17'' laptop without a problem. I was concerned about the fact I would be carrying the bag instead of rolling it but, it really wasn't a problem. I love the fact I have both hands free to carry my coffee and send emails on the BB. It's normally a juggling act with a roller. Fits nicely in the overhead and the quality is certain to last me a lifetime. Great buy for anyone who travels for business, simplifies the traveling experience.

Thanks guys.
 Glad I bought it......
By Scott , RI, February 25, 2010

I bought this bag for a 4-day trip to Texas, and I'll never travel without it again. It carries everything I need for up to a week and gets me in and out of airports without any baggage hassles. It's easy to pack, easy to carry and easy to stow in overhead compartments. It's by far the best carry-on luggage I've ever owned, and well worth the price.
 Great Briefcase too!
By Jeff L, North Carolina, February 24, 2010

Wow! $255 bucks for a suitcase I might use only 5 times per year!? I'd love to able to travel with only one bag, but how can I justify the price? Think Man Think!

After much deliberation I decided to use it not only as a suitcase for flying but also a daily briefcase for work. I have used it for this daily for the past 2 months to carry all my other 'stuff' I need when working from home at night. I've stuffed it with over 20 lbs of books, binders, portable scanner, etc. The bag has held up without a hitch, and is a joy to carry over the shoulder even with this amount of weight! Now I just have to figure out what to do with all my 'stuff' when I need to use it for a carry on...

Psst.... Hey Jim... you wouldn't happen to have another Air Boss just laying around that you'd like to rid of would ya?
 A great bag
By Dan Barwick, Dansville, NY, February 20, 2010

I'm reviewing the bag because it's so darned interesting compared to what it's competing against, and because it works so well. I've used the bag on seven or eight trips, and the main advantages of the bag are the ones that have to be experienced to really appreciate: the extremely light weight, the ability to fit in every overhead bin I've shoved it into, and the remarkable attention to detail on the bag. Unlike others, I prefer the supplied strap to the Tom Bihn, because I think the supplied strap "bites" better on the shoulder and stays put. I think that this bag underscores that there is no perfect bag for business travel (one person's "too formal" is another person's "not formal enough," and there's no way that a single bag can accommodate all of the variables that a traveler might need, like length of stay, climate of destination, electronic or paper needs, etc), but that thoughtful design allows for the greatest utility and versatility. If this bag doesn't work for your short business travel, then I think it's safe to say that your needs are outside of the norm - not a bad thing, but that's not the fault of the bag.

After reading the reviews, I feel obligated to do the traditional nitpicking, which is kind of like telling Angelina Jolie how to improve her appearance, but here goes:

1. The cross straps on the inside are needlessly bulky for their function. I think that they should be a flimsier material (perhaps mesh) with flimsier buckles to save weight, and then the material should widen where it attaches to the bag, which would minimize the distortion in the bag's shape that occurs when you cinch down the straps.

2. I don't have a good solution for this, but I think the fabric that snaps the handles together is more trouble than it's worth. It works great when it's closed, but is inconvenient to close and to open and is in the way when it's open.

3. A customer survey would find out for sure, but I think the large outer pocket with the single snap closure in the middle probably is used by the minority of customers. It's basically useless for everything but a newspaper or magazine, because of the shape and the lack of secure closure along the top of the pocket. Also, the snap is murder to close if the bag is packed and closed. removing the snap pocket would save weight. If the pocket is retained, I would place both sides of the snap on a short length of fabric, so you can get your fingers behind it when fastening.

4. I'd put some lightweight wear runners along the bottom.

Overall, a truly great bag, and I'm enjoying using it. When you pull the thing out of the overhead with no effort, and carry it light as a feather up the isle while everyone else is struggling with unwieldy bags, you really appreciate it.
 Just Adding New Experiences To My Reviews
By Ed Parker, Dallas, February 13, 2010

I got caught in snowlapoluza of 2010 and my 3 night business trip turned into 5 nights. Needless to say, I had to acquire some additional clothes and things for the extra two nights and was just hoping that the Air Boss could take on the extra cargo.

I'm happy to report that the Air Boss easily swallowed my extra provisions for the unplanned extra days. I knew that I had some extra room, but not that much. I added more shoes and clothes with no problem.

You have to love traveling with soft sided luggage. It can mold and adapt to changes as you travel. Give me the Air Boss any day over those roller 'me too' bags. I need performance in my luggage and Air Boss delivers!
 Terrific Quality
By Chuck, Northern Virginia, February 13, 2010

I had been eyeing the Air Boss for awhile and had read most of the reviews on it. My wife bought one in midnight for my birthday and I've now used it 3 times. Yes, it's a wonderful bag. It's not perfect, but closer than anything else I've used (and I'm a luggage addict). It is extremely well made, holds much more than it looks like it would, and fits easily in almost any overhead. Love the robust zippers and the Monkey's Fist pulls. I've heard some comments about loaded weight, but I don't mind at all. Negatives? a few small nits. Interior of the main compartment should be lined in red as well - gets dark down in there. Should be some small compartments somewhere for keys, watches and stuff when in security lines, and so forth. Also a pen sleeve. Not a complaint, but I also wonder about the durability of the bottom in heavy use. I know it's canvas, but I've worn out a Tumi computer case on the bottom even with wear strips. Anyway, great bag and it gets lots of looks and comments as well.
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most continental jet airlines and many international ones as well. Our bags fit!
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
We recommend you build your own packing cube kit. If you're not into cube packing, the bundle packing method is handy. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download a printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book and is carried by a shoulder strap.
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
If it will fit, you can go ahead and cram your Air Boss under the seat, just be sure to slip the Claw Shoulder Strap inside the bag so it won't get caught on anything, (or anyone).
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Skip those cheap imported packing cubes and create your own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the logo patch colors for you.
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the red patches black.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. In the interest of simplicity, there are no internal pockets.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”

Air Boss $255.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated airline carry-on legal shoulder bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light:

  • freedom of movement -- mobility = power
  • less of your time wasted waiting in baggage and boarding lines
  • never any lost luggage
  • easy and quick access
  • overall travel simplification
  • lighter load = less fatigue
  • arrive fresh
  • no wheels to break or get you dirty
  • fits in the overhead bin
  • hands-free carry

Don't believe it? Peruse over 700 customer reviews right here from satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel lite bag for you.

Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous carry-on one bag travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of fame to develop this all-in-one inclusive mobile carry-on bag.

Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need, and nothing you don't, in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized and happier traveler. Thanks to guidance from, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss. Not into bundle packing? Now you can pack and still be organized when you build your very own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit.

Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered slip pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, and an outside sleeve pocket for magazines, files, or a tablet. Inside the Air Boss are two outer compartments that each have buckled adjustable tie-downs inside to keep your belongings, or packing cubes, held in position and wrinkle-free until you unpack at your destination.

The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

Includes detachable padded nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab where Red Oxx Ambassador Kasey Austin from Austin Adventures shows how to best use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one.

However, please be aware that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this! To accommodate the extra weight try adding a second Claw Shoulder Strap and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder). This can help offset the added load. See Photos tab for how this is done.


Our fans like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a soft sided carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched for unbreakable strength - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our experience as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings from casual theft; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for everyone to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your favorite carry-on travel bag bust apart and break you down?

Looking for a similar capacity carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps for hands-free carry? Try our other popular airline travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the mobile Air Boss!

U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 35.7 Liters.
Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Our bags will fit! Currently in stock, all colors, ready to ship.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS Ground Shipping in the U.S.A. is $13.00 (orders up to $260.00).
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. Australia and New Zealand is $55.00. All other International orders are $50.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd here in Montana who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

The Air Boss Carry-on bag is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.


Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers: #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull tabs
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top