Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

Red Oxx Railroad Grip Duffel Bag - shown in Black Ballistic

Write a Review

4.88 Average Rating
 (349 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Reddox RR Grip
By A V Hagen, Saratoga, NY, January 3, 2015

I purchased this as a gift for my son who is a railroader. My entire family, including myself, have a railroading history. My son is very pleased with the product; the bag was personalized and shipped within a very timely fashion and received prior to the Christmas holiday. I am please and would recommend this to anyone who uses this type of item for their work.

 railroad grip
By Matt Carter, Jamison ala., December 29, 2014

The railroad grip is worth every penny! I can fit all my rule books, bulletins & all of my over night gear in one bag. And knowing this is the last bag I'll ever have to buy makes it priceless to me. Thanks redoxx,

Engineer, M. Carter
 Still The One, Really
By Shelley, Anaheim Fullerton, soon moving to Wichita Falls, December 25, 2014

Bought this bag for my birthday three years ago and it's still my favorite bag. I'm not a railroader but I know a few and one purchased it on my reccomendation. I have used this for groceries, clothes, a day bag with food and everything else...bluetooth keyboard, and, hey, even a cat carrier. I have a cat who loves it! It goes with me to the train station...on the bus, it protects persona. space...I put it over my shoulder, adjust it on my lap, it's just perfect and, hey, just because it holds a lot doesn't mean I have to overpack overpacks well...I love this bag.
 Well worth the money
By steve, cincinnati, December 21, 2014

The quality and durability of this bag makes it perfect for a railroader. Well worth the money for the product received.
 Best Grip Ever
By Trainman, Iowa, December 5, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this. I carry two days of clothes, the nomad shave kit, gym clothes/shoes, tablet and a small shave kit, and there's still plenty of room left. The shoulder strap stays put, the embroidery looks great, and not like a kindergarten project like some other grips around. $120 box store bags lasted me a year, so this will pay for itself in 3 years. Definitely an investment worth making.
 Wish I would have found this grip earlier
By Gascan, Northern Ontario, November 20, 2014

Great grip, tough and lots of room for everything I would need on the road. If you are a railroader, do yourself a favor and invest in this product. You won't regret it.
 Great Grip
By Kevin, Alabama, November 13, 2014

I travel extensively for my job and this bag will fit everything. It's just a bit too big for some overhead compartments on aircraft; however, the shoulder strap is comfortable and its rugged construction will hold-up to anything. The embroidery adds a nice personal touch so all those who've admired it can't take mine. Great bag.
 Best Bag I've Ever Bought
By Josh, Saskatoon, Sk, November 3, 2014

I'm fairly new to the railway, still in my first year, and before this bag I used to carry around a Duffel Bag, Backpack and lunch kit. This bag stores everything I had in those bags, with room for my lunch and extra clothes or shoes, etc. It's heavy duty, and holds up to all the abuse it takes. Will buy this bag again in a heartbeat should it all of a sudden break.

----------Red Oxx replies: thanks so much for the review Josh. Not to worry, if your bag breaks send it in and we'll take care of you, no need to buy another (unless you want two)!

 Railroad Grip
By Garth Dawson , Australia, October 31, 2014

As a Locomotive Engineer and spending hundreds of dollars over the years trying to find the ideal crew bag that will last...Well I've found it !! Thanks to Red Oxx where quality is not compromised and designed specifically with the Railroader in mind 10 out 10.
By Anonymous, Fort Frances, October 30, 2014

So happy I picked this bag up, easy to carry and fits all the things you need
 Almost perfect
By Nick, St Paul, MN, October 29, 2014

This bag is dang near perfect. I have been in the military for 10 years and am a pretty big gear snob. I have owned many bags, and worn many of them out. The second I picked up the bag, you can tell that it is built to last. The stitching on it is exceptional and hopefully, over built.

I'm a switchmen so I usually end up in GP-38s and other yard units. When using the shoulder strap, the bag gets snagged on a lot of stuff since it is longer than most doors are wide. It's not a fault of the product, but it is a nuisance. A smaller bag or back style may be better suited for yard crewmen.
 the best.
By Jimbo Jones, saskatoon, SK, October 24, 2014

I really like this grip. It's built to last. Period. I needed to bring two grips with me before on my trips, but now I can pack everything into this big grip with no problems. As mentioned from another reviewer, a little inside compartment for small things would be a little helpful, but all in all, loving my new grip!
 worth every penny
By Anonymous, Ohio, October 10, 2014

I wish I would have bought this when I first hired out. Plenty of room and tough as nails. Last grip you'll ever buy.
 A little short
By Gary, Pennsylvania, September 29, 2014

Coming from the Navy our "riggers" made sturdy bags like these so I can appreciate the quality of the bag. But for the amount of money I paid I would have liked a couple places to put pencils, pens and other odds and ends in the front pocket. Trying to locate small stuff in the bottom of a grip in the dark is hard enough.Heck $30 WalMart book bags have them. Just saying.
 The best money can buy!
By Chase, South Carolina , September 18, 2014

I had seen these bags a few times, and heard about them from a few other guys at work. I had never handled one or really paid a lot of attention to the pockets, size, zippers etc. I wish I had bought one when I first hired out instead of spending $50+ on cheaper duffels twice a year. I'm a gear guy, and this piece of gear is great for anybody working the road. There is more than enough room for everything you will/ are required to carry. The best part is that it's a one time purchase. You get what you pay for.
 Best ever
By Cooper, Ohio, September 18, 2014

This bag is top of the line. Very well made. It's been tossed around on the engine and still isn't showing any signs of wear. I would recommend this grip to anyone
 Tough As Nails
By Robert Traven, Hornepayne, Ontario, Canada, September 18, 2014

We have some long hauls up here in Northern Ontario. This grip holds everything I need for a 36 hour round trip, with room to spare. So far, so great. Now, just waiting to see how it will hold up at -50 degrees. Great job Red Oxx....
 Railroad Grip
By Tj, Enderlin, ND, September 17, 2014

Best bag I ever bought, It holds more than the tuffbags and is a very sturdy bag the warranty isn't too shabby either.
 Great Grip
By Pierre, Alabama, September 13, 2014

I got this bag at the recommendation of a coworker and am glad I did. It is everything it is advertised as and more. I would highly recommend.
 RedOxx Railroad Grip PR39
By Brandon W, Buffalo, NY, September 12, 2014

I've been with the R.R. for 3 years. I worked in the Albany Yard for 2 years and moved back home to Buffalo. When I moved home I was put on the Road. I seen everyone with this bag and asked where to buy one after seeing the price I retreated from buying one. After 9 months I was sick of carrying a bag and a backpack for books. An engineer told me her guaranteed that it would fit everything without a 2nd bag so I took a gamble and just received the bag today! I can't believe it fit everything!
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black, which is also the best color to hide oil, dirt and grease stains.
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and trainman lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Red Oxx Packing Cubes and building your own custom personal packing cube kit. Or try organizing your stuff with a Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with our factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked Lifetime Warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Do you offer a loaner bag while my Grip is in for repair?
Sorry, we don't send out loaner bags. Generally turn around time is less than 72 hours.
Do you ship your Grip to Canada and how much does that cost?
Certainly, we ship to Canada for a fixed UPS Expedited or USPS Priority International shipping fee of only $30.00. All disbursement fees due on delivery are the responsibility of the buyer. Other International orders are $50.00, except Australia and New Zealand for only $55.00.
Can I write off my Grip on my taxes?
Certainly, we recommend that you keep your paper receipt which is included in the package and obtain IRS Tax Form 2016. Contact your income tax accountant or read here for more information on deductions for employee expenses here.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“Tell the weed weasel I have my company bible”

Railroad Grip $225.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks. In stock, ready to ship (embroidery adds 2-3 days).*

Red Oxx began hand building this duffel style Grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana in 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made trainman bag that could survive the rough rail life.

Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub (Montana's largest), it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK). Originally developed as a flak jacket fabric in World War II, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book or tablet in one end pocket, your "Shiner" trainman lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. Speaking of clothes, check out our hanging and shoulder carry Laundro Bag for storing your dirty laundry. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the duffel. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

No skinny tiny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time, in every kind of weather, in any temperature. Easy to close, easy to open.

Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military veteran parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red OXX.

When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our Grips. Just check out over three hundred (300) product reviews from satisfied engineers, conductors, and trainmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags within a single year. Includes The Claw, our no-slip rubber padded adjustable shoulder carry strap.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' Grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard sharp edges that cut and rip a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

Is a duffel style Grip not quite large enough for all your winter gear during a long haul? Try our Rail King II Railroad Rucksack. Too big? Need a shoulder carry backpack style bag that is more in tune with traveling light? Try our Rail Runner Railroad Rucksack.

Because an embroidered Grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are many Grips out on the rails with owners names embroidered on their bags, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example: perhaps a favorite nickname, pet name, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car or truck, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

*NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Because Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

UPS or USPS Priority International Shipping to Canada is $30.00. More information on International Shipping click here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd in Montana who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a U.S. Military Veteran owned and operated U.S. Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond 7 working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is secure.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
Capacity: 65.1 Liters
Weight: 2.13 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman and his bag needs Railroader accessories.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo saddle bag
  • Rope bag
  • Halter bag
  • Horese Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miner's Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag
  • LE range bag
  • LE Patrol car bag
  • SWAT gear bag
  • Law Enforcement Patrol bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a train case bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.


  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in U.S.A.
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip, Rail King, and Rail Runner only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top