Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and may have spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week or more worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them several bags in a year.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: stronger than Armstrong.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Grip on our production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 30 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monograms add an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (253 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
 Waited 18 months to review this bag
By Brian, Sapulpa, Oklahoma, December 16, 2008

As the title says I waited 18 months to review this bag and this thing still looks like new. There are no worn spots anywhere and the color has not faded. I sat down with a six pack of Corona with lime and my debit card trying to muster up the gumption to spend a little over a days pay for a bag and at number 4 I hit enter and hoped that I had not made a mistake. I found out that it was well worth what I spent and when it came time to purchase a new bag for my laptop 6 months later, I came straight back here and purchased the CPA bag this time without the 4 coronas! These two bags have all the room in the world for whatever you think you may need. If you think you might not want one of these grips think about it like this, I had 26 years left to work until retirement and with the lifetime warranty the cost of these two bags end up costing me around $2.75 a month. Can you get a wal-mart or L.L. Bean bag for that? I think not.
 
 Everything that I expected, then MORE!!
By Ryan Kircher, Manteno, Il, December 10, 2008

There will be no disappointments with this bag. I knew it would be a high quality product, but I had no clue how nice these products really are. They are very well constructed, tough, and they look great. I'm amazed by all of the separate compartments, and total room overall. I was a little worried about storage capacity, but I will always have enough with this particular product. Im very glad I made this purchase. Red Oxx products are the best!
 
 THE ONLY ONE HE WILL EVER NEED!!!!
By Emma McClanahan, Mountains of Colorado, November 11, 2008

WOW!!! Where to start, my husband works for the railroad (UP) an has been through a lot of "grips"!! He seen a fellow worker with one of your Railroad Grips an they began to talk bout it. Came home an we looked it up online. found what he was lookin for an i order it for Christmas of 2007. Gave to him..... oh my goodness you would have thought it was the only thing he has ever gotten!! HE LOVES THE THING!!He says it is easy to get on an off the engine with! easy to load an unload stuff in it! pack for weeks! What can we say! an thanks for the easy orderin you guys have !! will be orderin again soon! your friends in Colorado!
 
 Best bag ever
By Chris, Van Buren, AR, November 10, 2008

I went through two other bags in three months due to tears and broken zippers, I finally asked some of the guys about their Red Oxx bags and was told that if I bought one I would never have to buy another bag and that they were the best. I will have to agree!! My RedOxx bag holds everything I need it to with room for more and is as tough as nails, I wouldn't own anything else now, I am 100% satisfied and would recommend them to anyone who needs a tough reliable bag!!!
 
 WHAT A WARRANTY!!!!!
By Gene, Havre, MT, November 7, 2008

I have owned one of these grips from the first day I became employed by the BNSF. After almost 6 years of dragging it to work, I had broken a couple of the zippers and wore a hole in one of the corners. When I took it to Red Oxx, I expected to pay for the repairs as I felt the damage was normal wear & tear. They said no problem they would get it fixed up. Guess what, they sent me a NEW GRIP. Talk about people that back up their WARRANTY. Now I'm looking at some of their other products, with a warranty & a company that backs up what they have..how can you go wrong.
 
 The Ultimate Grip!!
By Chris Gardner, Oshkosh, Wisconsin, October 31, 2008

I'm an engineer with the Canadian National Railway out of Stevens Point, Wisconsin. I absolutely love this grip! It holds everything I need to get the job done! I pack the inside with a pair of sneakers, change of clothes, 1 quart coffee thermos, shaving kit, rain jacket, sweatshirt, sandwich and a couple of canned drinks. Since I run into Chicago, I am required to carry the huge CORA (Chicago Operating Rules Assoc.) book. This easily slips into one of the end pockets. I carry the United States Operating Rules (CN's rule book) in one of the opposite end pockets. In the smaller end pockets I carry a Metra Timetable, Haz Mat guide, safety glasses, earplugs, etc. I even carry a full size Bible in one of the end pockets. This grip has so much room! Two big side pockets on either side easily hold extra gloves, binoculars, aspirin, hand cream, cell phone,switch keys, extra batteries, and a Leatherman tool--If you can stuff it in there, it will hold it!! This bag is tough as nails and super easy to carry. I haven't tried it yet, but I think you could get a smaller laptop computer (14.4" or smaller) in there somewhere as well. The quality of this grip speaks for itself. Everything is heavy-duty. Nothing about it feels cheap. The bag looks nice too. I have received numerous compliments on this bag. I would recommend it to anyone who works road trains. As we all know, the hardest part of the whole trip is getting on and off that locomotive! This grip makes that task a whole lot easier!
 
 The Last One
By Anonymous, Louisiana, October 16, 2008

I have had this bag for almost 2 years and I have waited to review this bag until I was sure that it would stand the test of time and I'm here to say that it will and has. I was buying 2 sometimes 3 bags per year and know that I have the Red Oxx I feel very confident that I have bought my last one. If you are looking for a new grip I would have to say that you just found the only one you should consider. Thanks Red Oxx for everything.
 
 Buy the best
By J.A. Stone, Tucson, September 28, 2008

This bag is made of military grade or better cloth and zippers. I've had mine for more than a year and show no wear even on the bottom. I destroyed a bag about every 6 months before I bought this one. I wish this model came in different colors.
 
 Why buy any other bag?
By Anonymous, NE Kansas, May 1, 2008

I bought me this bag way back in 2000 or 2001. I'm still using this great bag, with no complaints. It has enough room to carry everything we need, plus food for at least 12 hours. I've seen many a rails who have bought cheap Wally World bags that fall apart after a week or 2 with the stuff we have to carry. The only wear that my bag has suffered was a slight encounter with a sidewall heater! Plenty of pockets, padded strap, metal clips and rings, and a lifetime warranty, why would you buy any other brand bag?
 
 JUST BUY ONE, YOU DESERVE IT!
By Anonymous, Missouri, November 29, 2007

Just buy one, you won't regret it. Best grip I've ever had, period! Don't let the price keep you from doing it. After you get one, I bet you'd wish you bought one sooner, bottom line. Plus, ITS MADE IN THE USA.I also bought the RedOxx backpack to go along with it, the two work great together for us railroaders.The boys in the other reviews are telling the truth.
 
 Excellent Excellent
By Anonymous, Centralia Illinois, November 12, 2007

I bought this bag following a recommendation from a fellow worker about a year and a half ago and it was the best purchase I have made. It has been drug around the floors of many a engine and still doesn't show any wear at all. It has been abused beyond belief because of the rigors of work. It has so many great qualities I don't know where to start. I have recently ordered a cell phone holster and look forward to getting it. I know it will hold up to everything I can put it through work or play with confidence that it is also back for lifetime. When other guys ask about my back I usually whip out the laptop and show them the site and more times than not they order a bag also. Thanks for a great product and you can count on me as a customer for life.
 
 Get a Grip!
By Anonymous, , November 21, 2006

If you're looking for a great bag for work this is the one for you. Spacious, tough, stylish and well designed for men and women, the guys at Red Oxx have hit the "bull's eye" with this bag. The main compartment has plenty of room for a change of clothes, shave kit/makeup bag, & extra shoes with room to spare. The end pockets are great for holding magazines, books or even a laptop and the side pockets are perfectly proportioned for holding your wallet, cell phone or PDA. The possibilities are truly endless.
 
 Tough as nails.
By Troy Hiser, , November 20, 2006

The title says it all. I have held out on reviewing this bag until I could put it through the rigors us railroaders put our grips through. We live out of our grips, and inferior grips quickly show their flaws. After a year on the rails (and A LOT of miles), this bag shows no wear. NONE. It looks like the day it came out the box. Look at your inferior grip, can you say the same?I have had the cheap grips. Those tiny zippers split open, the material wears through, and soon you find yourself shelling out another 60-100 bucks for another. Why waste your money on disposable grips? Do it right the first time. The hardware on this bag is second to none. The material is tough, the zippers look like they could swallow up a small mammal (they're huge, and I dare you to split one, I bet you can't) and the storage space allows me to use one bag for all my gear, and still have room for more. All this, coupled with a simple lifetime warranty (it breaks, ever, we fix it, how nice is that?) makes this the last bag you will ever buy to haul around. Don't settle for a grip made for your grandmas undergarments, get a real grip.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking, self healing
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use that helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.