Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red Oxx.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand for our Grips, you're encouraged to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. In other words, the bag is not a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new Grip on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in under 21 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are so many Grips now with personalized embroidery, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example, think about a favorite nickname, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

PLEASE NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 5-7 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (300 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
 the best
By ja lindsey, GA Division, December 29, 2011

This is the best grip out there. I did my research before buy. A lot of guys at my job had the bag. So i decided to get it even with such a high price. Well worth it
 
 Awesome Grip
By Kevin Stouffer, Regina,Saskatchewan,Canada., December 29, 2011

Finally, a grip that looks like it will last the test of time. Iam so glad i stumbled across redoxx. Also a special thanks to Lisa Miller who pointed me in the right direction, thanks again.
 
 Wonderful
By Sandra, Virginia, December 22, 2011

Very impressive bag that remind us of the old RR bag my husband's father carried when when worked for the C&O first as a Fireman then as an Engineer. As my hubby said..."no wonder they last a life time... so well made and sturdy and US made at that!" I know my Engineer son-in-law and Conductor son-in-law will be so pleased with these bags.
 
 Best Railroad Bag for this industry
By Randy HandleySpring, Spring, Texas, December 22, 2011

I have gone through a lot of different travel bag for our industry. We are very hard on out luggage. Lots of them just fall apart on the first trip. This bag is so well made that I will probable have it as a travel bag well after I retire. Thank you.
 
 Premium grip
By Steve Matheny, Macon Ga, December 16, 2011

Ive had all the others and they didnt make it a year.Finally found RedOxx and Im a believer now.Real tuff stuff they make it out of.
 
 !st thing a new hire should buy
By Joe Johnson, Peoria IL, December 15, 2011

I have been getting some student conductors and one of my first recommendations to them to save money and aggravation is to order a grip from Red Oxx. I spent a lot of $$ on several grips that just did not hold up well on road travel and needed replacing after just a few years. Get this one and be DONE.
 
 Stop looking, buy it.
By D. Foster, Michigan, December 13, 2011

There's no question, it's worth the money... after seeing trainman after trainman toting these around, I decided to ditch my old backpack and get one... No regrets.

Big enough to hold whatever you could possibly need, and the last time I saw something this tough, it came out of my mom.

Good work, RedOxx.
 
 First Class Grip
By Scott Wiesemann, Stockton, CA, December 12, 2011

I have over 31 years of service as a locomotive engineer on the BNSF Railway. Needless to say I've gone through my share of grips in a variety of designs. When I opened my birthday present and pulled this grip out of the box I turned to my wife and asked " do you want me to go back on chain gang?"

This bag huge! It is well made of quality materials. The workmanship is perfect. It looks, feels,and is a first class grip. Well worth the price.
 
 Quality Gear
By Roger, Spokane,Wa, December 10, 2011

Have been using my grip for only a few months now, but have already figured how to store too much stuff in it! As the ad says, all of my safety gear and rule book fit perfectly in the roomy compartments leaving plenty of room for cold weather gear and personal items-well worth the money!
 
 Railroad Grip Bag
By Becky Wittig, Minnesota, December 8, 2011

Bought this as a gift for my son-in-law who's a conductor and has been wishing for one for years. Bag is awesome and can't wait to give it to him for Christmas. Think it will make packing for his road trips much easier with large main garment area and numerous, sizable zippered pockets for rule and reg manuals.
 
 Better than expected
By Justin, KC, MO, December 2, 2011

I didn't realize how incredibly spacious this bag would be until it showed up at my house (way earlier than expected I might add) and I started to load it up.

Best grip I could have ever dreamt of owning.
 
 Outstanding Service
By Tristan, Wisconsin, November 10, 2011

Ordered the Redoxx bag after my old grip started to tear on the shoulder strap I decided it was time to order a new grip, after seeing so many other co workers use this grip I asked what they thought and all the answers I got were very positive.

I can't be more happier with the Redoxx rr grip , it holds everything for out of town trips.

Defiantly best grip I have ever bought
 
 Built tough
By Anonymous, Pa, November 10, 2011

I only had for a little while now. But I think it will last a very long time. The end pockets are bigenough to fit the big Csx timetables in. And plenty of room in the main compartment for other things . I wish it would have a place that had the little loops to put pens in. But not mandatory . I would recommend this bag for anyone who worked on the railroad.
 
 Built tough
By Anonymous, Pa, November 10, 2011

I only had for a little while now. But I think it will last a very long time. The end pockets are bigenough to fit the big Csx timetables in. And plenty of room in the main compartment for other things . I wish it would have a place that had the little loops to put pens in. But not mandatory . I would recommend this bag for anyone who worked on the railroad.
 
 Strong like OXX....
By Ace Bogue, Atlanta, Ga, November 7, 2011

Was looking for the old aluminum tackle box style RR grip when I came across yours. I'm glad I did, this is, by far, the best built, (American Made), grip for the money. This bag is tough, made for the rough life rail roaders put their equipment through.. I strongly recommend this grip, you Red Oxx folks rock..
 
 last grip ill ever buy
By Avery, east tennessee, November 3, 2011

Ive been thru many grips trying to find the right one but this is it. Everything i pack fits perfectly. Im proud of this bag, its a real winner.
 
 Better then Best
By Michael G Flynn, United States, October 27, 2011

The only problem I have with my new bag is that I did not order it sooner. The bag far exceeds my expectations. The Craftsmanship and materials are bar none. Could use a special pocket for your Hand Held radio. I would highly recommend this Grip to all my co-workers.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Robert, Washington State, October 20, 2011

This is my last purchase for my Railroad career (12 more years) and Traveling needs, as I attend several labor Conferences a year, I enjoy the options I have with the Red Oxx bag, having spent money every year on cheap bags, I will be pleased to end the constant hunt.
 
 About time for a real "Grip"
By Scott G., SE Oklahoma, October 2, 2011

I used to go thru grips about one every 6 months. I had a High Sierra bag that lasted about a year and a half & this is replacing it. Poor zippers & non-skid on the locomotives are the Achilles heal of grips by my experience.

What do I think about this grip? I think it's built like a tank & worth every penny. Everything to do with the railroad industry is heavy duty & someone finally got it & made a grip to last. All of the hardware is big & tough, zipper is what I would call industrial, and I love the way the shoulder strap is made...nice touch. Only reason that I gave it 4 stars is because it doesn't have anywhere for small stuff like pens, ear plugs, cell, & so on. Would be a nice touch on the side somewhere.

I recommend putting your rule books in the bottom to keep bag from "taco-ing".

Yes, I do recommend this grip to anyone. The warranty alone is worth it...

Scott

Engineer
 
 railroad grip
By B, Illinois, August 30, 2011

have only made two round trips with this bag but can already tell it was well worth the extra bucks to purchase. well built and will hold everything. rule book, flashlight, gloves, reflective vest, reverser and keys in one end pocket. shaving bag and change of clothes in other end pocket. leaving plenty of room for whatever else in main compartment. the only thing i wish it had was a loop to keep ink pen in, so you don't have to go fishing to copy gbo or something. love the bag.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.