Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and may have spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally eveloped as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest flexible textiles made.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week or more worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them several competitors bags in a year.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: stronger than Armstrong.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 30 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (272 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Durable grate product
By Michael, Texas, July 13, 2014

Strong and durable awesome for any one that need a durable grip for any occasion.
 
 Best grip ever
By travis s., Missouri, July 4, 2014

 
 Railroad Grip
By Jimmy Knight, Little Rock, AR., July 3, 2014

Best bag I have owned!
 
 buy 1 and be done
By Josh S./csx, ny, June 27, 2014

this is a great bag, It is a little pricy but well worth it. the heavy material really lasts while your climbing on and off engines, dragging it around on the floor, in and out of the yard jeeps, so on and so forth. The heavy duty zipper never binds and theres plenty of side pockets to keep all your rule books, bulletins, notebooks, air gauge, radio, batteries, you name it. In love with this bag and would deffinatly recommend to any coworker, friend, or anyone in the market to buy the last bag they'll ever have to buy.

REDOXX OR DIE!
 
 railroad grip
By George G., Chicago, June 19, 2014

I went thru at least 3 grips before I purchased my red oxx, money well spent!
 
 Great Grip
By g weber, Cumberland Md, June 12, 2014

Great grip well worth the price seams to hold up well
 
 Great Grip!!
By Dave, Saskatoon, Sk Canada, June 12, 2014

 
 Railroad Frio
By Eric, Vacaville, Ca, June 6, 2014

Really like this grip. Looks like it will hold up. Should have done this 10 years ago
 
 Great grip!
By Anonymous, Ohio, May 22, 2014

What a great grip! I should have bought this years ago. I would have saved money by now by not purchasing other bags!
 
 Awesome Bag
By JB Case, Peru, IN, May 17, 2014

Wow what an amazing bag, I replaced my sears sit stand and tote box with it. and I actually have more room for stuff as I been able to carry tennis shoes, bino's and extra clothes, for the small stuff like tooth brush, carmex, clippers I used tupperware container for it and it goes in the side. Looking to find a bag for my cpap and I am going to get it at RED OXX.
 
 awesome
By Andy, Mactier, ON, Can, May 15, 2014

Awesome bag, well worth the price. Extremely durable, Quality is quite evident. Is able to handle a lot of weight. A few guys have even decided to buy after seeing mine.
 
 RR grip
By Anonymous, Ohio, May 5, 2014

awesome bag. My only complaint is that I didn't order it years ago if so it would have already paid for itself with all the other grips I have bought.
 
 You've got to get one
By Mark Hammett, Saskatoon, May 3, 2014

This bag is the absolute best bag I have purchased - with 7 years and several bags and layouts - I wish I had known about this bag earlier. Tough - durable - and sturdy - and built for the rigors of railroading. And like previous comment, when not needed for work - it's washed and air dried - and packed for a weekend getaway back home. Well worth the wait and the money.
 
 TOUGH+American Made!
By David Blackmore, Kansas City, MO, May 2, 2014

This bag is EXACTLY what they advertise. Strong, durable and I love the heavy duty zipper tabs. Anyone that has owned a railroad grip knows that this is a problem area (even with so-called "tough bags"). These tabs are built to last. The ONLY!!! complaint I have is the +/-30 day wait but I can tell you that the wait was definitely worth it. You get what you pay for brothers and sisters and this baby is guaranteed for life!
 
 Bad *ss bag!!
By Denny, Athens, TX, April 19, 2014

I've been wanting one of these bags for a long time. It took some convincing my wife to let me spend the money. She just couldn't believe that a company would have a lifetime warranty without the "fine print". Best purchase I've made in years. I've even convinced several of my coworkers to get one. Quality is unbeatable!! 100% satisfied!!
 
 somewhat heavy when loaded
By Anonymous, chicago, April 18, 2014

its a very sturdy bag well built but i would have preferred a smaller model. it becomes quite heavy. the monogram is great. the company seems great as well.
 
 Outstanding grip
By Edward Stewart, Abingdon, MD, April 17, 2014

This will probably be the last grip I ever need to buy. It is better made than any others I have tried. I get a lot of questions and interest in it, in fact, I think without my initials monogrammed on it, I might find my belongings in a grovery bag and my Red Oxx bag gone!
 
 Great bag
By Jerry Beaty, Diana, Texas, April 17, 2014

This is a great bag . Its has enough pockets and spaces for everything I need when I go to work.
 
 "Alll a baggg!"
By Todd D Henley, Grand Forks, ND, April 10, 2014

Have had the bag for a month and a half now. Awesome! Typically use it for the rails but just recently it doubled as a travel bag for a trip to Africa as well. Bag is practically bulletproof and more than enough room for day to day railroading as well as extended stays! Buy Now!!! Thanks;)
 
 Railroad Bag
By Anonymous, "On Wisconsin", April 4, 2014

Great bag though would be nice to have some slots to hold pens and highlighters. Also some slots for holding license and such.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use that helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.