Skip Navigation LinksRailroad-Grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand for our Grips, you're encouraged to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. In other words, the bag is not a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new Grip on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in under 21 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are so many Grips now with personalized embroidery, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example, think about a favorite nickname, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

PLEASE NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 5-7 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (297 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
 Happy Grip Owner
By Shelley, Fullerton, california , July 17, 2011

I waited six months to get this bag it was the only one I could find online that made me want it. All the crew reviews convinced me it was worth buying and now I believe it. Ok I'm not a railroader but I love talking to railroad engineers I'm a local fixture at our station and I am very very hard on bags. I've bought enough bags in my day to know I' already love this one! The d rings and fasteners are heavy weighted and are awesome! I love all the pockets and the heavy duty zippers. The only problem is I don't know if I can fill the bag it is so spacious. My room mate told me not to worry, I would. We'll start tomorrow. Really do love the tough quality of the material and the customer service was excelent, even saved me a few dollars in shipping I thought that was exceptional. Bag goes out with me tomorrow on its first adventure. Cant wait to show it off. TEGIRL
 
 Railroader
By David S., Waterloo, Il, July 2, 2011

By far the best bag I have owned. Everything on this bag is so heavy duty.I know it will last me for years of use on the railroad. Great customer service, great all american product, great worry free warranty. Well worth every penny you can spend.
 
 so far, very pleased
By Anonymous, buffalo, June 25, 2011

easily the toughest bag ive had. should have a contract with the military. one letdown was the pockets being too small to accept larger ec-1 and rule books. they do fit easily in the main compartment, but was hoping for a seperate storage area for this. have had it for a few trips and havn't been able to "test" it yet, but have seen others with theirs 6 months old look brand new. black is great, but how about a color choice? they are getting popular at work, and have to start reading the names so i dont take the wrong one!
 
 Absolutely worth it!!
By Michael Summers, Conneaut, Ohio, June 3, 2011

I just wanted to say that I received my Engineer's Railroad Grip bag in the mail on June 1st and I'm thrilled with it and it's already well worth the money I spent on it! I'll be letting everyone know who makes the most insanely tough bags so expect more orders from the northeast Ohio area soon! Thank you!
 
 QUALITY GRIP
By LC, Oregon, June 2, 2011

The quality of this grip is unbelievable. Great design and workmanship. Still not quite big enough to get all my railroad stuff and overnight clothing into but still a great bag nevertheless.
 
 2 weeks with new grip
By Bruce, Wisconsin, May 29, 2011

I got my new red oxx grip 2 weeks ago fit and finish is great. Everything fits in the bag . I'm told by others that red oxx stands behind the product that is what really counts. they did charge me for four letter monogram when i only got three. thanks.
 
 Awesome Grip Bag
By Chester, Gillette, Wyoming, May 3, 2011

This is a fantastic bag! The craftmanship is top notch. I have travelled all over the world and I have some great bags. This bag is among the best I have seen for half the price. This grip looks and feels like it will last me a very long time. If you are looking for a grip bag that will stand up to the punishment of a career on the rails then this bag is a purchase you will be very happy with.
 
 railroad grip
By T. L .DILLON, DETROIT, May 2, 2011

Awsome grip, had it a few weeks now, and i can tell it will out last anyother bag iv owned. plus with a no b.s. life time warrenty, im sure the cost of the bag will pay for its self when i was going through a grip every 8-12 months. very happy with this, well done boys !!!!
 
 Almost 3 years & still the perfect RR grip
By Link, Charlotte, NC, April 28, 2011

I've waited about 3 years to write this review and I can say this is the best bag /grip you will ever own. My bag is in perfect condition; just like the day I got it. There are no holes, rips, tares, failing hardware or loose threads. This bag is indeed built like a tank & will take whatever you can throw at it day in & day out. I cannot say enough positive things about the bullet proof construction of this bag. Everything you can read from the reviews & the technical specifications on the website are spot on. Heavy duty THICK nylon, double stitching, oversized sturdy metal hardware, the claw shoulder strap (that won't ever slide off your shoulder,) those huge zippers & money knots that never get bound up or jammed, yes this is the ultimate grip for any railroader.

I've always bought good, name brand luggage with a warranty to carry with me to work. However, the zippers would usually wear out & the D-ring would tear on either end after a little over a year or so. The materials were ok, but in reality they were not even in the same ballpark as The Engineer's Grip. There is a Tough Bag & Autumn Creek crowd out there, but even those guys are envious of my Red Oxx Engineer's Grip. Those other bags have thinner nylon, aren't stitched as well, and the hardware is cheap by comparison.

Our railroad gave us "grips" (if you could call them that,) about the same time I got my Red Oxx Engineer's Grip. Mine is still in the plastic it came in. Everyone who has carried these Chinese made garbage bags has watched them disintegrate. Zippers that don't work, cheap, thin nylon that has holes & tares in it, a shoulder strap that doesn't stay on your shoulder. .And they were so wide, one couldn't get them through the doors of the locomotive or up & down the ladders without getting hung on something. I laughed at the people who carried these things. All of them admired my sturdy Red Oxx bag, some questioned the price and my sanity for foregoing a free bag. These days my bag is still going strong like the day I bought it, and the other folks, well, they now understand what a quality made in America product I have.

I'm an engineer for NS & I recall getting this bag & wondering if all of my stuff would fit in there. It did, with plenty of room to spare! I'm not a light traveler and have weighed my bag at 65 pounds fully loaded. The end pockets will easily swallow NS's rule book, the gray bible, (and CSX's rule books too) and the other deep end pocket can easily host a radio, lantern, spare batteries and or raingear. The cavernous interior compartment is deep, holds a change of clothes, jacket, food, large shaving kit, huge 14 cup thermos, & shoes. The end pockets are great for gloves, pens, keys, flashlights, PPE, & other smaller items. The long side pockets have plenty of space for whatever you want to stuff in them too. The design is slim such that you can easily get on & off the ladders of the locomotive without getting caught on anything. Plus, it easily slides through the narrow doors of the older engines on your shoulder and won't catch on anything there either.

This is a bag designed for railroaders by railroaders, how could you possibly go wrong? The price didn't bother me, don't let it bother you either, it's worth it at twice the price. And how about that no bull lifetime warranty? No BS, no fine print, no disclaimers, no exceptions, no gimmicks, no questions - just amazing that a company will stand behind its product in this way. Even if this bag had only a 5 or 10 year warranty, I'd buy it. And when you buy these Red Oxx products, you're getting a quality made in the USA product (not some low dollar Chinese crap,) from a small company in Montana that is easy to do business with & stands by their product.

I also got the dog tags & cell phone case flip from Red Oxx. They are of the same durable construction & I'd recommend those to anyone. The dog tags are great since your info is on there, but not easily seen. I'm sold on Red Oxx & I'll be making all my future luggage purchases from this company.
 
 Railroad Grip bigger than it looks
By Todd Burg, Stevens Point, WI, April 28, 2011

I was not sure if I wanted the grip even though almost all the conductors at work were raving about it because I thought it would be to small for all my things. Wow, I'm blown away by what it will hold. It has 6 pockets that are just the right size, which actually makes it hold more than you'd think. This grip is the best I've ever had in 20 years of railroading. It is beyond what I expected and the warranty is unbeatable. In my opinion any other grip is a waste of money. My thanks to Red Ox for producing an awsome product that's built in the United States, a true US Product is hard to find these days and this one represents the quality of US Products as well as any product could. Couldn't be happier!!!
 
 Awsome.
By Huw Winston, Illinois, April 21, 2011

Can't beat the materials and durability of the construction. The design could use an additional smaller pocket and some enclosed pen/pencil loops. Overall a fantastic product.
 
 cant beat this deal
By mike, amsterdam ny, April 21, 2011

i had to save the pennies to buy the bag, but its was well worth it. this will be the last bag i will ever own.
 
 Excellent for Railroaders
By David, Logan,WV, April 10, 2011

I've only had my Grip for about a week. I can already tell i'm going to love it. Very durable construction. The only downfall I have to the bag is I would like to see it made in a variety of colors not just in Black.
 
 what took me so long?
By Mark Bishop, Rockbridge Baths, VA., April 10, 2011

I had so much trouble making myself by this bag, Most of the guy's that I work w/had one & i just didn't want to spend the $ but after 31 yrs. w/the C&O(CSX) & paying $ for junk that last only a yr. or less. Man do I fill STUPID, glad I did & now I'm telling everyone this is the real stuff. Now the only thing I wish it had was a place to hold my pen's & Hi-liter's. Besides that Thank You for such a GREAT Product.
 
 BNSF
By David, Spokane, April 7, 2011

I love this bag! It didn't look like it could store much when I first got it but my last trip I fit two days of clothes, a computer, two pairs of shoes, a storage clipboard, PPE, rulebook, and still had room for lunch! Thanks again for making a quality bag.
 
 nice
By j b schmidt, houston, March 10, 2011

nice,but needs some smaller pockets,and slotts for easy finding of small stuff,papers,etc,it aint like the old days when we had one book,none of my books fit in the end pockets,sorry not really happy
 
 railroad grip
By Mike Fitzpatrick, Superior, Colorado, March 10, 2011

Love the bag. Built to last. Has all the room I need for personal and job related articles. Could not be happier with the purchase. Thanks
 
 One Tough Grip with a tougher warranty
By Anonymous, missouri, March 3, 2011

I received a Red Oxx grip as a gift about 8 or 9 years ago. The 4 years previous to that I had went through about 2 or 3 grips a year, no matter how cheap or expensive they were, they just didn't hold up. It was the first time that I had ever heard of Red Oxx. A nice looking bag, but I assumed it the would last last 6 months to a year. I looked over the warranty paper work and was blown away. Now 8-9 years later, and it being put through pure hell, I had worn a hole in the bottom of the grip. I did not have a receipt, so I called Red Oxx and they instructed me to send it in. I shipped the old grip in and it was repaired and back within a week. The "No Bull" warranty is 100% accurate. If you are a railroader and do not have this grip, then you have no idea what you are missing and how much money it will save you. This grip will pay for its self with in the first year or two.

One Amazing Grip made by an Outstanding American Company!!!!!!
 
 One year later....
By Cullen, Saskatoon, Sk., February 25, 2011

I waited with great anticipation one year ago for the arrival of my new bag. Shortly after the prompt delivery I received an e-mail asking me to review my purchase. "Wait one year and see how it goes", I said to myself. You see, most bags I previously had lasted one year or were on their last legs and I was searching for a new one. RedOxx can take great pride in knowing that after one year of use my Railroad Grip is showing no signs of wear and appears to be able to continue hauling my stuff around up here in the great white north. Bravo RedOxx, I have no doubt that this bag will last for many, many years to come. If price is stopping you from getting this bag, don't let it. This will last a very long time. Not having to worry about my bag blowing up allows me to concentrate on everything else that is going on during the course of my duties.

Just buy it and be happy.

PS. Get your name embroidered on it.
 
 doesnt get any better than this
By D. R. SMOAK, WICHITA FALLS TX, February 20, 2011

I GOT THIS BAG TO LAST ME THE OTHER 15 YEARS I GOT LEFT HERE SO LEST SEE I IT CAN OUTLAST ME.GREAT BAG. IM ADDING THE MESH BAG WITH IT FOR MY RUNNING SHOES AND CLOTHES THAT I BRING WITH ME JUST TO LIGHTEN UP THIS ONE. I WOULD ADD AN CELL PHONE POCKIT ON THE FLAP FOR EASY ACCESSS. MAYBE EVEN TWO LOOPS ON THE SIDE SOMEWHERE TO SLIDE IN YOUR MULTICELL FLASHLIGHT. AND PUT SOMEKIND OF STUDS ON THE BOTTOM JUST TO KEEP IT OFF THE FLOOR.A HARD BOTTOM MAYBE SO IT DOESNT WEAR THE CORNERS.IM SURE I WILL ENJOY THIS BAG FOR MANY YEARS TO COME.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flack jacket material, it's an ideal textile for Railroaders with the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.