Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Rail Yard Junction  > Railroad-Grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red Oxx.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand for our Grips, you're encouraged to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. In other words, the bag is not a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new Grip on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in under 21 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are so many Grips now with personalized embroidery, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example, think about a favorite nickname, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

PLEASE NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 5-7 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (304 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next > 
 what took me so long?
By Mark Bishop, Rockbridge Baths, VA., April 10, 2011

I had so much trouble making myself by this bag, Most of the guy's that I work w/had one & i just didn't want to spend the $ but after 31 yrs. w/the C&O(CSX) & paying $ for junk that last only a yr. or less. Man do I fill STUPID, glad I did & now I'm telling everyone this is the real stuff. Now the only thing I wish it had was a place to hold my pen's & Hi-liter's. Besides that Thank You for such a GREAT Product.
 
 BNSF
By David, Spokane, April 7, 2011

I love this bag! It didn't look like it could store much when I first got it but my last trip I fit two days of clothes, a computer, two pairs of shoes, a storage clipboard, PPE, rulebook, and still had room for lunch! Thanks again for making a quality bag.
 
 nice
By j b schmidt, houston, March 10, 2011

nice,but needs some smaller pockets,and slotts for easy finding of small stuff,papers,etc,it aint like the old days when we had one book,none of my books fit in the end pockets,sorry not really happy
 
 railroad grip
By Mike Fitzpatrick, Superior, Colorado, March 10, 2011

Love the bag. Built to last. Has all the room I need for personal and job related articles. Could not be happier with the purchase. Thanks
 
 One Tough Grip with a tougher warranty
By Anonymous, missouri, March 3, 2011

I received a Red Oxx grip as a gift about 8 or 9 years ago. The 4 years previous to that I had went through about 2 or 3 grips a year, no matter how cheap or expensive they were, they just didn't hold up. It was the first time that I had ever heard of Red Oxx. A nice looking bag, but I assumed it the would last last 6 months to a year. I looked over the warranty paper work and was blown away. Now 8-9 years later, and it being put through pure hell, I had worn a hole in the bottom of the grip. I did not have a receipt, so I called Red Oxx and they instructed me to send it in. I shipped the old grip in and it was repaired and back within a week. The "No Bull" warranty is 100% accurate. If you are a railroader and do not have this grip, then you have no idea what you are missing and how much money it will save you. This grip will pay for its self with in the first year or two.

One Amazing Grip made by an Outstanding American Company!!!!!!
 
 One year later....
By Cullen, Saskatoon, Sk., February 25, 2011

I waited with great anticipation one year ago for the arrival of my new bag. Shortly after the prompt delivery I received an e-mail asking me to review my purchase. "Wait one year and see how it goes", I said to myself. You see, most bags I previously had lasted one year or were on their last legs and I was searching for a new one. RedOxx can take great pride in knowing that after one year of use my Railroad Grip is showing no signs of wear and appears to be able to continue hauling my stuff around up here in the great white north. Bravo RedOxx, I have no doubt that this bag will last for many, many years to come. If price is stopping you from getting this bag, don't let it. This will last a very long time. Not having to worry about my bag blowing up allows me to concentrate on everything else that is going on during the course of my duties.

Just buy it and be happy.

PS. Get your name embroidered on it.
 
 doesnt get any better than this
By D. R. SMOAK, WICHITA FALLS TX, February 20, 2011

I GOT THIS BAG TO LAST ME THE OTHER 15 YEARS I GOT LEFT HERE SO LEST SEE I IT CAN OUTLAST ME.GREAT BAG. IM ADDING THE MESH BAG WITH IT FOR MY RUNNING SHOES AND CLOTHES THAT I BRING WITH ME JUST TO LIGHTEN UP THIS ONE. I WOULD ADD AN CELL PHONE POCKIT ON THE FLAP FOR EASY ACCESSS. MAYBE EVEN TWO LOOPS ON THE SIDE SOMEWHERE TO SLIDE IN YOUR MULTICELL FLASHLIGHT. AND PUT SOMEKIND OF STUDS ON THE BOTTOM JUST TO KEEP IT OFF THE FLOOR.A HARD BOTTOM MAYBE SO IT DOESNT WEAR THE CORNERS.IM SURE I WILL ENJOY THIS BAG FOR MANY YEARS TO COME.
 
 Outstanding
By Dani, Iowa, January 22, 2011

My fiance has been railroading for a year now. In that year, he's gone through almost 4 bags including a very expensive "Heavy-duty" UnderArmor bag. We got tired of buying bag after bag, and my mother recommended this grip. (My dad is also a railroader.) He's only had it for a few months, but it's paid for itself already.

No, it's not the cheapest bag. But it's definately the best. And it still cost less than that UnderArmor bag that lasted 3 months. It has room for his overnight travel supplies, his GCOR book and everything else.

My only regret is that we didn't buy it a year ago.
 
 PERFECT
By TA Rowe, UT, December 31, 2010

Super high quality, better than any grip I've ever owned. Size is perfect, can go in and out doors with no problem. Wish I would have bought one years ago. Way to go Red Oxx...finally a perfect grip!
 
 The best grip I have ever owned!
By Jason , Central Indiana, December 23, 2010

This bag is awesome!! It is very well constructed and is very versatile.
 
 More durable than the CSX GRIP
By Nancy Meeks, Auburn, IN, December 18, 2010

This grip was purchased for a conductor who has gone through several bags over the last few years. The material used for this bag is very durable and looks to be worth every dollar spent.

Many people agree that it has plenty of room. However, I must agree with Norm, the main compartment could be about 6" longer. Perhaps it is because my railroader is very tall and needs a little extra room in his grip for the extra material of his clothing, especially in the winter months. Overall it does have room and the compartments are great.

I enjoyed the review done by Pete, on July 20, 2010 I suggest reading it.

I would definitely recommend this grip for ALL railroaders. Their job is so tough on their grip and with this Red Oxx you will never need another one.

Thank you Red Oxx, I appreciate well constructed items that I can buy to support a company that offers something made, right here, in America.
 
 GREAT GRIP! GREAT SERVICE!
By Anonymous, SPOKANE WA, December 16, 2010

I BOUGHT THIS GRIP FOR MY HUSBANDS BIRTHDAY AND I DIDN'T THINK IT WOULD BE HERE ON TIME AS I WAS LAST MNUTE BUYING. NOT ONLY WAS IT HERE FOR HIS B-DAY BUT IT LIVED UP TO IT'S HYPE. MY HUSBAND LOVES HIS NEW GRIP AND THE OTHER RAILROADERS DROOL OVER IT! :) I LOVED SUPPORTING A LOCAL CO AND APPRECIATE GOOD QUALITY MERCHANDISE AND SERVICE. THANKS!!
 
 Railroad Grip
By Jay Nedds, Willard, Oh, December 15, 2010

I like the bag, enough stuff was already written on how good this bag is, so I tried to think of how I'd improve it. The only thing I can think of, maybe make one of the end pockets about 1 inch longer, so if you have any gear that won't fit in one end it may in the other. (I'm talking about the big end compartment, if you're not sure.) How about adding a pocket on the top flap, about 4X8 inches, big enough for pens, cell phone, wallet,ect.
 
 pocket
By Don Gardner, Conroe Tx, November 28, 2010

This bag is great, just needs a pocket that dosen't have a zipper for easy access for pens etc. Still a great bag.
 
 Great Grip
By Norm, Waseca, MN, November 17, 2010

This has been the best grip I have owned over my 32 years of railroading. I would and do highly recommend this to my co-workers. I am going to be one of the weirdo's that actually wish it was about 6 inches longer in the main body.
 
 Last Railroad Grip I'll Ever Buy....That Good!
By Jeffro, Clovis, October 28, 2010

This is the BEST grip I've ever owned, by far. Large enough to hold all the my gear. My favorite feature is the end pockets.... large enough to hold my RR rule book. Super heavy duty construction. Superior product without a doubt. Well worth the money. Wish I would have bought one of these years ago. Last thing.... THIS BAG IS MADE IN AMERICA.... Thank you. Stay safe everyone.
 
 Best bag I have ever owned..
By Gary, NW Indiana, October 27, 2010

I think this bag is stylish and totally functional. It also helps that it is tough as nails! I carry this to work every day. It will no doubt get me to retirement!
 
 Don't Wait like I did!
By Happy Hogger, CN/IC down South, October 21, 2010

I only wish I'd done this a few years ago. Plenty tough, plenty of room and already getting stuffed, tossed and abused! NO PROBLEM!!!
 
 great grip
By Sean, buffalo, ny, October 20, 2010

great grip, seems to hold everything i need,very well made. Ed said buy it and so I did. thanx for a great product.
 
 plenty of room
By Gayl, North Dakota, October 7, 2010

The grip has plenty of room for all the stuff I carry and looks to have room for my winter gear, too! I only wish the strap were a little wider. I am really happy with this gift from my wonderful family!!
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.