Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Rail Yard Junction  > Railroad-Grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my company bible”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip Duffel Bag - shown in Black Ballistic

Railroad Grip $225.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks. In stock, ready to ship (embroidery adds 2-3 days).*

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this duffel style Grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made trainman bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK). Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your "Shiner" trainman lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. Speaking of clothes, check out our hanging and shoulder carry Laundro Bag for storing your dirty laundry. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the duffel. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time, in every kind of weather. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red OXX.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our Grips. Just check out over three hundred product reviews from satisfied engineers, conductors, and trainmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags within a year.

BOUND AND BAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' Grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and rip a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

NEED SOMETHING DIFFERENT?
Is a duffel style Grip not quite large enough for all your winter gear during a long haul? Try our Rail King II Railroad Rucksack. Too big? Need a shoulder carry backpack style bag that is more in tune with traveling light? Try our Rail Runner Railroad Rucksack.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered Grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are many Grips with owners names embroidered on their bags, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example: perhaps a favorite nickname, pet name, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car or truck, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

*NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

UPS or USPS Priority International Shipping to Canada is $30.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond 10 working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman and his bag needs Railroader accessories.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo saddle bag
  • Rope bag
  • Halter bag
  • Horese Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miner's Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag
  • LE range bag
  • Patrol car bag
  • SWAT gear bag
  • Law Enforcement Patrol bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a train case bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (341 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 The bag to end all bags..
By Anonymous, Edmonton, AB, Can., July 24, 2015

This is the single greatest bag i have ever owned- it's been dropped in the mud- and stayed dry, dragged over and around numerous locos and not ripped. It fits everything I need and more- and not busted a zipper/ seam/ or snapped a strap. Best. Purchase. Ever.
 
 
By Carl Krumm, Chicago, July 18, 2015

Excellent grip. Perfect size fits my laptop and clothes for my away from home terminal. The construction of the bag is flawless and looks very durable. I can carry this grip and a backpack at the same time. Would definitely recommend.
 
 RR Grip
By Howard, Ohio, July 16, 2015

Outstanding! Very heavy duty construction. Holds everything and then some. The grip will last a career, get one.
 
 Great product
By Wernham, Alberta, June 30, 2015

This is a great grip, durable yet light weight.

Everything goes in this from clothes to lantern to tablet, great for usage on the road trips as it holds everything and still fits through the engine door. I would and do recommend this to friends and family. 5 stars all day everyday!
 
 The Everything Bag
By Hal Smith, Searcy, Arkansas, June 19, 2015

I call this the "everything bag" because it holds everything I need for trips lasting up to a week -- boots or shoes, shave kit, computer or iPad, accessories, hairdryer, laundry in space bags, etc. etc.

The design is perfect; all the items I need fit easily into the multiple storage areas.

The quality of the bag is superb, from the ballistic nylon to the tough zippers and built-to-last hardware.

I can't imagine traveling without this bag; just wish I had discovered it years ago!
 
 "No Bull" Warranty
By Amritpal, Vancouver, BC, Canada, June 1, 2015

Proud owner of two Railroad Grips. 1st one bought in 2010, 2nd 2015. Long lasting. Bought them after going through 4 cheap quality bags in one year. These bags are built for heavy duty stuff.

1st one had couple cuts and few loose threads from heavy usage. Sent it recently for "NO BULL" warranty. Amazing folks at Redoxx amazed me by sending me a brand new bag instead of just fixing the old one. Unbelievable. I am recommending this to all my railroad friends.

Thanks Redoxx
 
 THE Best
By Andy, Arizona, May 28, 2015

These bags are hands down, the best product avaialable on the Planet,Period.
 
 This Bag Right Here!?
By Chris S., Indiana, April 30, 2015

Best bag I've ever bought. Heavy duty. Strong. AND a life time warranty? Definitely worth the price tag. I'll never need to buy another dufflebag again. I was a little concerned about its size when I was looking at the pictures online but it's got plenty of room to haul just about anything you could want. Took a little over two weeks to get here but totally worth the wait.
 
 excellent quality!
By Jeff, United States, April 23, 2015

As they say you get what you pay for! Excellent quality and if something ever does happen to it it's guaranteed for life! They stand behind their stuff like very few other companies do these days. Only thing I regret is waiting so long to buy it!
 
 Best Grip Ever
By Riley Fronapfel, Edgemont SD, April 16, 2015

There's a reason there's so many railroaders have this grip. It's a tough reliable bag that's just about the right size. I love mine and I couldn't be more happier with it.
 
 Well worth it!
By John, Missouri, April 14, 2015

Was looking for a grip my tuffbag was getting woreout and i was sick of replacing the zippers every couple months. So i decided to give this bag a shot. I recieved it rather fast considering they said it was on back order so that was great. When i opened it up i was skeptical cause it looked small. Well no it holds all i have and plenty room for more. So far love the bag.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Sarah Wade, Illinois, March 21, 2015

I ordered this bag for my husband on recommendation from other railroad employees. After 3 months of use this bag has been extremely useful for him on his trips. It holds all of his personal items and required railroad gear all in one bag. The multiple compartments make it easy to organize and get at equipment easily. It is made with durable material and we have no doubt that it will hold up though many years of travel. Great purchase for a new railroader.
 
 A+ bag A+ quality
By Anonymous, Saskatchewan, Canada, March 21, 2015

I am a railroader and received this bag as a gift from my company. I used to use a military duffel bad for work and I was able to fit everything that I carried in there into this bag. The zippers are top notch quality as are the strap and the buckles. I can't say enough positive things about this bag and I will be buying at least 2 more bags from red ox.
 
 Best RR Grip Ever Built
By CMSGT K.L. Hutcheson USAF Ret, Indianola, IA, March 19, 2015

Quit wasting your hard earned greenbacks on inferior grips rails. Been a conductor on the UPRR for 10+ years and nobody comes close to Red Oxx quality, features, durability, functionality, and warranty. Any questions,.....good, I didn't think so.

Chief Hutcheson
 
 Railroad Grip
By MKJ, Saskatchewan, Canada, March 19, 2015

I ordered this bag for my husband, a locomotive engineer. We are so happy with the quality of the product and the materials used! A great bag!

 
 Great Bag
By W E, Ont, Can, March 7, 2015

Been a railroader for 37 years and had a lot of bags, some of similar design but none had the quality of this grip. The design keeps everything organized and accessible without having to take 10 other things out to find what you are looking for. Zippers and hardware are all top quality and even though there is a lifetime warranty I don't think you'll need to use it. 1 problem, hard to get through locomotive doors with this bag on your shoulder.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Olen, Texas, March 6, 2015

This bag is great!! I consolidated from two bags to one, and it handles the "pressure" very well. Keep up the good work!
 
 ReddOx Grip
By WE21, Msla,MT, March 5, 2015

Awesome product followed by great customer service! Last grip you'll need. Be SAFE, Be LEGENDS!
 
 The Tank of rail grips
By Tim, Virginia, February 26, 2015

I work for Norfolk Southern as a conductor/engineer this girp is well worth the money I carry insulated bibs, jacket change of clothes shave kit and a large thermos all in main compartment, I put my rule book and air gauge in the end compartment latern, raido, gloves, and safety vest in the other. And I still have room for more. This grip is worth the money.
 
 The Best
By Brandon Lewis, Kansas City, February 22, 2015

This bag is just awesome. Everything that I need to have on the railroad, fits. Including my winter gear such as insulated bibs, over shoes, numerous winter gloves with inserts, etc. Quality built, sturdy, indestructible.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in U.S.A.
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip, Rail King, and Rail Runner only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black, which is also the best color to hide oil, dirt and grease stains.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and trainman lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked Lifetime Warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Do you offer a loaner bag while my Grip is in for repair?
Sorry, we don't send out loaner bags. Generally turn around time is less than 72 hours.
 
Do you ship your Grip to Canada and how much does that cost?
Certainly, we ship to Canada for a fixed UPS Expedited or USPS Priority International shipping fee of only $30.00. All disbursement fees due on delivery are the responsibility of the buyer. Other International orders are $50.00, except Australia and New Zealand for only $55.00.
 
Can I write off my Grip on my taxes?
Certainly, we recommend that you keep your paper receipt which is included in the package and obtain IRS Tax Form 2016. Contact your income tax accountant or read here for more information on deductions for employee expenses here.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 

Take me to the top