Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Rail Yard Junction  > Railroad-Grip

Email Red OxxRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on InstagramPin it on Red Oxx PinterestJoin Red Oxx on facebook.Red Oxx on Google Plus

Red Oxx Railroad Grip Duffel Bag - shown in Black Ballistic




Write a Review

4.88371
4.88 Average Rating
 (371 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
55
 One Tough Grip
By , Minnesota, June 30, 2016

I felt uneasy at first on the cost, until my partner grabbed both our Red Oxx grips and set them on the ground in the path of a locomotive. I thought for sure the bags would be destroyed only to find them completely unscathed just a a little dirty. So if you are questioning will the bag last? Take it from me anything that can survive being run over by a locomotive is worth every penny!
 
55
 Best bag I have ever owned!
By , OH, June 16, 2016

The way this bag is built is made to last and can withstand the toughest terrain and weather. This is one bag I will never stop using. Best to keep it for the next generation.
 
55
 top notch
By , Pennsylvania, June 13, 2016

by far the best bag i've ever owned. with a job that ends up spending extended time in the hotel, i always pack for the worse. this bag will fit everything i need...and STILL HAS ROOM! and talk about tough. this bag is made to take the harsh demands of the railroad and boy does it. i highly recommend this bag to anyone looking for a new grip. best investment ever. thanks Red Oxx. i'll be back.
 
55
 Best grip I have owned to date
By , Fresno ca, June 9, 2016

This grip should be the last one I purchase for a long time the material is tough and withstands the rough nature of railroading. The compartments is what i really like i have room for all my travel needs. Thanks red oxx. Another happy customer.
 
55
 Never leave home without it!
By , Arkansas, May 5, 2016

I have only been using my red oxx for a couple months but can tell that this grip is very durable. I'm hard on my grips and needed something that will last. Thus grip WILL get put to the test and have no doubt it will sustain. And if not it has a lifetime guarantee. That tells me a lot.
 
45
 There isn't a tougher bag made!
By , Pasco, WA, April 29, 2016

This bag is built stout to last. If you're on the road there is no better product. My only suggestion would be to make some smaller organizers in the larger bags so everything doesn't get jumbled up ie. pens, notepads and other small things that you use while on the road. Awesome product other than that though!
 
45
 There isn't a tougher bag made!
By , Pasco, WA, April 28, 2016

This bag is built stout to last. If you're on the road there is no better product. My only suggestion would be to make some smaller organizers in the larger bags so everything doesn't get jumbled up ie. pens, notepads and other small things that you use while on the road. Awesome product other than that though!
 
55
 AWESOME!!!!!!!!
By , Missouri, April 21, 2016

very pleased with the quality of this bag. looks good, feels good, money well spent. glad to be a happy owner of a RED OXX bag! And its made in AMERICA!!!!!!Thank You!!!!
 
55
 Best purchase ever!
By , Colorado Springs, April 14, 2016

I have been through many bags and back packs but I honestly couldnt be any happier with my bag that I purchased through this website. The railroad has put a beating on this bag and it holds up like a champ and I definitely recommend this bag to everyone. Keep doing what you are doing because this is high quality material!
 
55
 Great Quality
By , Northeast, March 24, 2016

Quit buying multiple bags over time, just buy the red oxx. After getting it and using it, I realize I should have gotten one much sooner. I highly recommend any railroader to get a red oxx bag if they want something that lasts. Great quality.
 
55
 The perfect grip
By , Missouri, March 19, 2016

After 20 years of carrying a railroad bag, I finally have one that is truely the perfect grip! It has plenty of room for year round packing and seems to be very well made after 18 months of use! I recommend this grip to any railroader!
 
55
 Been 4 years of abuse and still like new
By , Prince George British Columbia , March 7, 2016

Worth every penny! Took 4 years to write a review but best bag I've purchased, almost used every day. Fully loaded the bag gets tossed on and off the units, hotels and taxi's Redoxx lived up to their reputation. 4 years of nonstop abuse and still as good as new
 
55
 Railroad Grip
By , Missoula, MT, March 1, 2016

Flawless, indestructible bag with a lifetime unconditional warranty...worth every penny and more!!!
 
55
 
By , Ligonier, IN, February 26, 2016

Excellent product with exceptional quality!
 
55
 Rail Road Grip
By , Laramie, WY, February 22, 2016

100 % satisfied. Best built grip I've ever seen. Should have bought this one years ago. Live and learn I guess.
 
55
 Excellent Product!!!
By , Rome GA, January 28, 2016

I've wanted a redoxx bag for some time, my wife surprised me with it and I couldn't be more happier with it. Well worth the money.
 
55
 Zipper repair
By , Amarillo, Texas, January 21, 2016

I bought this bag in like 2005? I am hard on things and pack it tight. I had to have two zippers repaired and really didnt want to send the bag in. I didnt want to be with out the bag. I sen the bag in thinking this would take like 2-3 weeks.

I was amazed when I got the bag back I think IN less less thank a week. I was even more amazed when I came to realized they had replaced all the monkey knots and put the others in the bag. I also asked that they build a strap like the railroad backpacks have and was even more amazed with the quality of my new strap. What was more incredible was they sent a new original strap as well.

I am so impressed I bought my daughter a backpack for Mission trips and will be purchasing the railroaders large backpack soon. I am so sold on RedOxx that I am starting my collection of their quality products. Thank you RedOxx for putting such care into your products.
 
55
 Excellent!
By , NC, January 14, 2016

Great bag. Much sturdier and more well -made than previous grips I have had. Impressed with the lifetime warranty!
 
55
 Hillsa
By , Australia, January 4, 2016

Top Product,they are everything that Red Oxx Says they are, a lot off money (AU$) But Well Worth It.
 
55
 Great Bag
By , Superior, WI, December 16, 2015

Purchased this bag a little over a year ago when I got a job with the railroad. Talked to several coworkers who had owned and used theirs for anywhere from 1-10 years and they all swore by them. After trying it myself for a year, figuring out what should go where and all that, I can say that it is definitely one of the best purchases I've made for work, right up there with my overalls. Wouldn't go to work without my pants, and now, wouldn't go to work without my Red OXX.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight Ballistic Nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon fabric?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic Nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight nylon fabric designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced Ballistic Nylon is currently only available in black, which is also the best color to hide oil, dirt and grease stains.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and trainman lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Red Oxx Packing Cubes and building your own custom personal packing cube kit. Or try organizing your stuff with a Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with our factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked Lifetime Warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Do you offer a loaner bag while my Grip is in for repair?
Sorry, we don't send out loaner bags. Generally turn around time is less than 72 hours.
 
Do you ship your Grip to Canada and how much does that cost?
Certainly, we ship to Canada for a fixed UPS Expedited or USPS Priority International shipping fee of only $30.00. All disbursement fees due on delivery are the responsibility of the buyer. Other International orders are $50.00, except Australia and New Zealand for only $55.00.
 
Can I write off my Grip on my taxes?
Certainly, we recommend that you keep your paper receipt which is included in the package and obtain IRS Tax Form 2016. Contact your income tax accountant or read here for more information on deductions for employee expenses here.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 
“Tell the weed weasel I have my company bible”

Railroad Grip $225.00

91003In stock225

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks. In stock, ready to ship (embroidery adds 2-3 days).*

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx began hand building this duffel style Grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana in 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made trainman bag that could survive the rough rail life.

Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub (Montana's largest), it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK, and for good reason, colored bags get filthy quickly in the rail yard environment). Originally developed as a flak jacket fabric in World War II, Ballistic Nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available. Rugged, reliable and tough.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book or tablet in one end pocket, your "Shiner" trainman lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. Speaking of clothes, check out our hanging and shoulder carry Laundro Bag for storing your dirty laundry. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the duffel. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny tiny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time, in every kind of weather, in any temperature. Easy to close, easy to open.

Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military veteran parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red OXX.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our Grips. Just check out over three hundred (300) product reviews from satisfied engineers, conductors, and trainmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags within a single year. Includes The Claw, our no-slip rubber padded adjustable shoulder carry strap.

BOUND AND BAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' Grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard sharp edges that cut and rip a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

NEED SOMETHING DIFFERENT?
Is a duffel style Grip not quite large enough for all your winter gear during a long haul? Try our Rail King II Railroad Rucksack. Rail King too big? Need a shoulder carry backpack style bag that is more in tune with traveling light? Try our Rail Runner Railroad Rucksack.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered Grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red capital lettering only (no lower cases) - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are many Grips out on the rails with owner's names embroidered on their bags, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example: perhaps a favorite nickname, pet name, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car or truck, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

*NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Because Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

UPS or USPS Priority International Shipping to Canada is $30.00. More information on International Shipping click here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd in Montana who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a U.S. Military Veteran owned and operated U.S. Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond 7 working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is secure.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
Capacity: 65.1 Liters
Weight: 2.13 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman and his bag needs Railroader accessories.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo saddle bag
  • Rope bag
  • Halter bag
  • Horese Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miner's Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag
  • LE range bag
  • LE Patrol car bag
  • SWAT gear bag
  • Law Enforcement Patrol bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a train case bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in U.S.A.
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic Nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED capital letters only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip, Rail King, and Rail Runner only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos

Questions? Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top