Red Oxx Railroad Grip Duffel Bag - shown in Black Ballistic

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (350 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
By NW Rail, Seattle, December 19, 2013

My grip is abused daily on the Railroad and has never failed. This bag is true quality.
 Awesome Grip
By Kevin, Ohio, December 15, 2013

Awesome railroad grip. A little expensive, but you get what you pay for. I've had at least 6 grips fail before purchasing the Red Oxx. It is by far the best made with heavy duty materials. Holds rule books and everything I need for round trips.
 Awesome Bag
By George, Northern Virginia, December 2, 2013

As a firefighter most of our equipment takes a beating. This bag is built to keep up with that in mind. I have recieved a lot of compliments from coworkers and look forward to many years "Lifetime" of use.

I was so satisfied that I bought an additional bag, the Safari-Beanos Bag PR5. I'm hooked!.
By Anonymous, Wichita Falls, Texas, November 29, 2013

An outstanding product!!!!!
 Fantastic bag!!!
By Arthur, Chicago, IL, November 28, 2013

The bag came in exactly as ordered and was shipped fast!!!! The monogram looked great and was well worth the additional cost!!! I use it everyday now and couldn't see myself with anything else!!!
 Rail road grip
By BJ Connolly , San Antonio , November 28, 2013

Excellent bag, great for railroad work, but it sure would be nice if there were handles on each end of these bags due to that we have to lift these bags up on the train from the ground, and in an out of vans a lot. The handles sure would help make life a little easier. This bag is amazing and the quality is fantastic. Thank you for the great product.
 Love This Grip
By Jeff, Hobart, Indiana, November 12, 2013

This bag will carry everything I need as a Locomotive Engineer, although it's a little heavier, it's like "one stop shopping" I only need to carry (1) one bag! Love It!!!!!!
 best grip Ive bought
By Agee, Alberta/Canada, November 10, 2013

Awesome grip, I have had 4 over my 7 year railroad career. This one so far performs better, has more pockets, fits my rulebook, tons of clothes. Most of all it looks profesional, with my name on it. I carry it with pride.
By Michael, Arkansas, November 7, 2013

Wow is an excellent word to describe the grip. I work in the oil & gas industry and this bag is above and beyond any other bag. It is extremely well built and is larger than I expected. It is big enough to hold everything I need plus some. Thanks REDOXX!
 perfect grip
By r freeman, south dakota, October 31, 2013

Perfect grip for my needs!
 The Boss of tough bags.
By Heath Young, W.A., Australia, October 31, 2013

The quality is obvious from first glance, heaps of room for all my rule books, tools, overnight clothing and all equipment I need to carry on the locomotive. I have been looking for a good quality bag for years, and this is the best I have seen. The embroided name is of high quality, and worth the extra cost. All zips and buckles are of extremely good quality. I recommend this bag to all people looking for a top notch work bag. If it ever wears out I will get another one!

----------Red Oxx replies: thanks so much for the review Heath. Not to worry, if your bag breaks send it in and we'll take care of you, no need to buy another (unless you want two)!
 The Last Grip I Should Ever Need!
By Eugene Dickson, Eugene OR, October 25, 2013

I recently replaced my old Tuffbag (which I had for about twelve years) with the Red Oxx Railroad Grip. The Tuffbag did fine until the zippers gave out and the cost of replacing them was almost the price of a new grip. When I received my bag, I was very impressed with the quality and attention to detail that went into its manufacture. I only have 15yrs left until retirement and the quality of this bag should easily get me there without having to buy another. Thanks for an awesome product!
 Great grip
By Nick herron, Garrett, indiana, October 10, 2013

Saw May other rail roadworks with the same grip, after talking to them decided to buy one, great decision!

I have only 20 years to work for the rail road and will never have to buy another grip. How is that not a smart investment!!!!!
 All you need
By Rob, Hornepayne, October 10, 2013

Originally thought the bag was not going to be large enough,but it is a great size,with all the pockets you will need. Rugged construction and great warranty its the last bag you will need.
By Navdeep Langotra, Saskatoon, October 9, 2013

Amazing railroad grip. Now I don't have to carry 3 bags on my road trips. Just want to add, a broader shoulder strap would make this product 10/10. Love my new bag.
 Well worth investment
By Kim O, Kansas City,MO, October 6, 2013

Bought this bag for my husband as a gift. He was going through a grip a year due to strap breaking, bag ripping etc. this has been going on for his career of almost 11 years. Best bag ever, durable, smaller and still carries all of his rule books and plenty of enough room for personal items. Well worth the investment.
By Jenny, Atwater, October 3, 2013

Amazing bag super roomy I bought it for my husband when he started at the railroad and he is the envy of everyone he travels with this bag is head turning and looks sharp well made!
 The best toughest grip you will ever own!
By D.R. Debban, Nebraska, September 28, 2013

I love it! For several years, I have carried several bags to hold everything! Now it is all combined into one. matter of fact, I have downsized! The ONLY thing I can think of, is a pen holder on the outside. Maybe a little longer! Buy it! YOU will love it!
 Railroad Grip
By SD Stanley, Vermilion OH, September 26, 2013

Love the bag.Enough room for all my required "books" and other things I carry.Fits in locker with no problems.Zippers are heavy duty and large pockets for everything.
 Awesome Bag
By Dana.W, Edmonton, AB, September 19, 2013

I started out in the railroad near 3 years ago and have used a couple different bags upgrading along with my pay increases. I found bags to be either too large or too small without an internal structure so catching and always wearing on seams. I saw a few of these grips that some of the guys had and liked the look and size as asked about it. After I weighed the pros/cons I bought the bag and truly enjoy it. It’s a well thought out bag with the right size end pockets to hold Rule book & forms. It feels tough and the zippers can be pulled all day without a worry of malfunction.

For me my only vise was the shoulder strap and here’s why; the strap I felt was too narrow allowing for greater chance of catching/snaring so with a full grip (20-40lbs) I didn't feel it would hold up. The rubber shoulder portion I appreciated the construction as it was comfortable, wide contact area & vented providing comfort for an extended pack time.

For me this was a wise investment as I felt my belongings are going to be where I put them day in & day out. Buy a Red Oxx and you won’t regret it for a moment.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black, which is also the best color to hide oil, dirt and grease stains.
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and trainman lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Red Oxx Packing Cubes and building your own custom personal packing cube kit. Or try organizing your stuff with a Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with our factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked Lifetime Warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Do you offer a loaner bag while my Grip is in for repair?
Sorry, we don't send out loaner bags. Generally turn around time is less than 72 hours.
Do you ship your Grip to Canada and how much does that cost?
Certainly, we ship to Canada for a fixed UPS Expedited or USPS Priority International shipping fee of only $30.00. All disbursement fees due on delivery are the responsibility of the buyer. Other International orders are $50.00, except Australia and New Zealand for only $55.00.
Can I write off my Grip on my taxes?
Certainly, we recommend that you keep your paper receipt which is included in the package and obtain IRS Tax Form 2016. Contact your income tax accountant or read here for more information on deductions for employee expenses here.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“Tell the weed weasel I have my company bible”

Railroad Grip $225.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks. In stock, ready to ship (embroidery adds 2-3 days).*

Red Oxx began hand building this duffel style Grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana in 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made trainman bag that could survive the rough rail life.

Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub (Montana's largest), it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK). Originally developed as a flak jacket fabric in World War II, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book or tablet in one end pocket, your "Shiner" trainman lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. Speaking of clothes, check out our hanging and shoulder carry Laundro Bag for storing your dirty laundry. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the duffel. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

No skinny tiny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time, in every kind of weather, in any temperature. Easy to close, easy to open.

Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military veteran parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red OXX.

When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our Grips. Just check out over three hundred (300) product reviews from satisfied engineers, conductors, and trainmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags within a single year. Includes The Claw, our no-slip rubber padded adjustable shoulder carry strap.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' Grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard sharp edges that cut and rip a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

Is a duffel style Grip not quite large enough for all your winter gear during a long haul? Try our Rail King II Railroad Rucksack. Too big? Need a shoulder carry backpack style bag that is more in tune with traveling light? Try our Rail Runner Railroad Rucksack.

Because an embroidered Grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are many Grips out on the rails with owners names embroidered on their bags, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example: perhaps a favorite nickname, pet name, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car or truck, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

*NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Because Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

UPS or USPS Priority International Shipping to Canada is $30.00. More information on International Shipping click here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd in Montana who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a U.S. Military Veteran owned and operated U.S. Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond 7 working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is secure.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
Capacity: 65.1 Liters
Weight: 2.13 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman and his bag needs Railroader accessories.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo saddle bag
  • Rope bag
  • Halter bag
  • Horese Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miner's Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag
  • LE range bag
  • LE Patrol car bag
  • SWAT gear bag
  • Law Enforcement Patrol bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a train case bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.


  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in U.S.A.
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip, Rail King, and Rail Runner only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top