COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers and conductors, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers, conductors and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work Grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your Red Oxx Nomad Shaving Kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag. Smaller items like pens and pencils should be stored in a pencil case so they don't knock around in your bag.

Our no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail Grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched. The double XX being the source of our brand name, Red Oxx.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors' bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the Grip. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors' grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand for our Grips, you're encouraged to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. In other words, the bag is not a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new Grip on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in under 21 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only. Because there are so many Grips now with personalized embroidery, it's a great idea to think up something a little more personal than just your name or initials. For example, think about a favorite nickname, TV show, band, game, animal, hero, car, team, aircraft and so on. Something entirely unique to you.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

PLEASE NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramming your grip adds an additional 5-7 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (304 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Great bag
By Anonymous, , March 7, 2013

Really well built bag. Would recommend to anyone who wants a really great bag for anything. Also love the lifetime warranty. Built to last if the company is willing to make an offer like that. Would recommend to family and friends. Would buy another bag from redoxx.
 
 Superior Grip
By Anonymous, St. Wendel In, March 7, 2013

Excellent grip! Made withthe railroader in mind. Fits through cab doors with no problem. Small enough to not be a hassel, yet large enough to fit all my grip inside. Excellent choice of bag if you are looking for a RR grip.
 
 Not worth $200
By Notch8, Washington DC, March 6, 2013

Very disappointed. Designed for someone who only caries one very small rulebook; not someone who carries rulebooks for 4 different railroads like myself. Wish the bag had a hard bottom and sides to stand on its own. Main compartment needs dividers for those who have to use it for books ect.
 
 What can I Say??
By Duane Taddei, Eugene Oregon, February 28, 2013

What can I say about the Red Oxx Railroad Grip that hasn't already been said about the wheel, penicillin, or the iPhone.. this is one of the greatest inventions of all time. Made in the U.S.A. and carries a lifetime, NO-BULL warranty... I wish I could hug the designer of this grip and thank them for everything they have done for railroaders across the country.... No, seriously!!
 
 Well worth the cost!!!
By Anonymous, Pennsylvania , February 28, 2013

The railroad grip is great! It made of high quality material and the quality of the zippers are amazing. It has more than enough space for all of my work supplies and more. I was hesitant to spend the money on it but it as well worth the cost and with a lifetime warranty you cannot go wrong with this railbag.
 
 AMAZING GRIP
By MRL, St Paul, MN, February 22, 2013

After hanging out in the yard for a few years, I decided it was time to spend my last 2+ years out on the road. Problem was my old grips were just flat worn out. After seeing these grips showing up all over the place and conversations with my many friends in Montana who already own these and swear by them I decided that I'd buy once, cry once and have a grip that would last me until well after retirement.

After 3 weeks of use, I'm very impressed with how much this bag can swallow. When I opened the shipping box, my first thought was "I paid 200 bucks for this?" It seemed so small and insignificant all folded up. Once I got my necessities loaded into it, I still had loads of room left over for extra clothing (I'm a big guy so my clothing takes up a lot of room), a pair of walking shoes, reading material and whatnot. This grip will expand to take in whatever you need to carry. You'll get it too heavy to handle before you exceed the capacity.

Love the heavy duty zippers and the Monkey Grip shoulder strap. This thing will pull your shirt off before it slips. Just what you need when manhandling a heavy bag up a set of steps and maneuvering through the zigzag on the new GE nose doors.

Best of all, it's made in the US of A by a company started by a veteran with a vision.

I'll try to remember to write a followup review when I retire. I don't think I'll have any complaints based on what I've seen so far...

 
 Best Railroad Grip I've Seen !
By Murray, British Columbia, Canada, February 14, 2013

With only a few years left until I pull the pin I was hoping my company-issued "Safety Award" grip would carry me through even though it was starting to show some pretty serious wear. However, I noticed a lot of our new hires were sporting these Red Oxx grips and was impressed with the degree of quality in the material, design and construction. I am now a proud owner of a Red Oxx grip and can't wait until a "Weed Weasel" climbs onto my unit for a look at my rule book and cards. The way this Red Oxx grip is built I'm sure it will still look brand new on the day I turn in my reversers and keys.
 
 All rails need this grip
By Seth thomas, Boone, Ia. , February 12, 2013

I laid off this weekend and used my work grip instead of my civilian one. My grip got stolen Fri. night by some knuckle dragging moron and I'm pissed off that whoever did it probably doesnt know that the grip is worth more to me than anything I had in it. Odds are my grip is in a river or crick or in a ditch someware. I wish I could catch the SOB who stole it. Its not what was in it, its the fact that after all the years on the railroad carring crappy grips I found my true love- the Red Oxx.

I only hope that if its in a crick that some beaver is lucky enough to find it and repair his dam or lodge. I cant say enough about how rugged and hard working these grips are! Oh, by the way. I only had mine for a few months. It was virtualy brand new and now some Jackass that probably loves "Made in China" more than this country has got it, or has thrown it out after going though my stuff. Damn!

Now I'm going to have to order another grip just as soon as I finnish my tirade. Also my shaving kit was in the grip so I know what else Im ordering from Red Oxx. The only problem I have now is I have to use my old "Brand X" grip untill the new Ox gets here.

Yeah, I better tell ya what I like about the grips. They are tough as spikes and wont let engine poop soak through. Roomy and lots of pockets. The zippers almost make you cry as they are so tough, they dont jam or break the first month. The only thing I'd add is a couple of top straps. Best railroad grip on planet Earth and I recomend it to all my Brothers and Sisters in all crafts. Buy Red Oxx for the Quality and Crafstmanship, you will not be disapointed
 
 Wish I Had Kids To Leave This Bag To.
By Anonymous, New York, January 31, 2013

I bought this for my Son-in-Law who just became a rr Engineer (after much schooling) as a gift. He LOVES it. Makes his life alot easier. Really well made. He told me he wished he had kids to leave it to because its gonna last that long. Best gift I ever bought!
 
 what took me so long
By Greg, Evergreen Park,Il, January 25, 2013

been through many grips in 30+years on B&O railrod. this is the last. Best grip yet.
 
 New Bag!
By Adrian Littlejohns , UK, January 24, 2013

My second Red Ox bag lives up to my high opinion of my Skytrain. As strongly made as ever and perfect for a couple of days travelling for work. The team in Billings were great when I decided to add and change things on my order and all arrived exactly as I asked. Once again money well spent
 
 Outstanding
By Anonymous, Louisiana, January 13, 2013

Bought this bag for my Railroad bf. He loved the bag and said that it was everything that he needed. He loved the bag so much I'm thinking about investing in one of my own.

Also, the customer service from this company is amazing. I ordered this bag during the Christmas holidays and there was a possibility it wouldnt arrive for Christmas. They shipped it out and I received it on Christmas Eve!
 
 Exactly what a railroader needs
By Rick, B.C., January 10, 2013

Saw a few on the property, and asked a few questions to see how the guys liked the bag. It has everything you need. Lots of space for all your gear, books, clothes, utensils, and whatever else you need to pack. Very sturdy and well built. Not bulky to carry, unless you loaded it that way.....

I look forward to still having it even after I retire, to haul my gear on bike trips! You have made an awesome product that I am very pleased with. Wish I had one of these the first 30 years of my career!
 
 Still the One
By Shelley, FullertonAnaheim, December 30, 2012

Every few months I come and see what others are saying about this bag. I still love this bag! After using it for almost two years I can say its strengh is putting up with all the stuf I put in it. And, the size of the pockets! Every time I think of using another bag, I say...no. this is still the one I want to carry with me because it just simply fits everything. I've noticed others have also pointed out the pockets as a strong point. I like to pack things that I don't need right away. I don't want to open my bag and find them but I may need them so I stash them away in one of the pockets.

I own other Redoxx bags and this one is the one I carry the most. I pack one of my Lil Roy bags with my phone and charger and headset ad stash it in one of the side pockets. I also carry two travel mugs and various clips and flash lights and things stacked neatly in other little organizing bags. The long flat pockets are for wallets, I.D. writing material, keys, and whatever small item I need at the moment. The main compartment is used for jacket, sweater, towels, or a quick trip to the store on the way home.

In a word, it's just awesome! And the zippers can't be beat. Wish I could find a parka with these zippers! And, I love the all around double stitching. The bagt still looks brand new and gets the most compliments and comments from people I meet or my friends. Never carried a bag that got so many comments. Thanks, Redoxx.
 
 Impressive
By R. M. Gray, Brewer, Maine, December 29, 2012

Shipping was very fast. The quality of the Railroad Grip is everything Red Oxx said. Strong, high quality and all my gear fits! Great product!
 
 wow - great bag
By Anonymous, buffalo ny, December 27, 2012

I bought this bag as a gift for my rr engineer husband. I was skeptical because he goes thru bags every other month and these are not inexpensive bags! When I opened the box I was pleasantly surprised...everything about the bag says durable. From the heavyweight fabric to the zippers and stitching! Even empty the bag weighs several pounds. Well he opened it xmas morning and was thrilled..its on the road with him today. He says he'll retire with this one....time will tell.
 
 Outstanding!
By C. G. Vesely, Portage, WI, December 24, 2012

The best grip I have ever seen....period! Worth every penny!
 
 AWESOME
By hard degnan, london, ontario. canada, December 20, 2012

great railway grip. perfect for any railroader. just wish i would have bought one of these 23 years ago when i hired on. durable, tough fits all your gear and looks great doing it. it will definately out last me. great value for the price. good job dudes
 
 Its Guuuud
By Anonymous, , December 19, 2012

Solid Grip, Price was high, but value per dollar spent was worth it.

The bag is nice and tall; but not very long.

It easily fits insulated coveralls, lantern, sweater, jacket, vest, radio, with room for another change of clothes easily.
 
 Great Grip!
By Jeff, Texas, December 13, 2012

I wish I had this grip years sooner. Very rugged as advertised, more than enough room for several changes of clothes. All the extra side pockets are more than adequate for rule books, radio, and all the garb railroaders are required to have. Very pleased with my purchase!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Developed as a flak jacket material, it's an ideal soft-sided bag textile for Railroaders who endure the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon?
Ballistic CORDURA® nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term 'ballistic' takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic CORDURA® nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail and if it does, it will be repaired or replaced at no charge to you.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try fixing it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product, the Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.