Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and may have spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally eveloped as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest flexible textiles made.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week or more worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them several competitors bags in a year.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: stronger than Armstrong.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 30 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 30 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (274 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Great bag
By Aaron , Mn , November 1, 2012

This is the best bag i have ever used ! It has so much room for my books and clothes for all weather conditions it was worth every dollar ! Great product
 
 Rule book storage
By Craig, Grand Mound, IA, October 18, 2012

I like the bag, plenty of room for all of the rule books we need to carry these days.
 
 Perfect
By MDHart, Ft Worth, October 18, 2012

This bag is exactly what I had hoped it would be. I had thought about buying the backpack but after seeing one I'm glad I didn't. I think its way too big for me to carry on my everyday travels. I'll only wished how to make the to make the purchase.
 
 Awesome Grip
By Keith Dickerson, Fort Wayne Indiana, October 11, 2012

The absolute best grip I have ever owned. I would definitely recommend this bag to anyone that needs tough and durable luggage. I had plenty of room for all my gear and books. Well worth the money!
 
 Duffle Grip
By Anonymous, Indiana, October 5, 2012

Very well built, and even has ample room for everything a conductor needs to carry.
 
 Great Product!!!
By David Williams, Illinois, October 4, 2012

Currently using this grip on the road. Have only had it a few weeks but love it already, perfect for railroaders! I have tried other brands only to find that they wear out easily ( including Tuff Bag, which by the way only has an 18 mo. limited guarantee ) I have laminated my receipt and have no intention of purchasing another railroad grib ever again!
 
 Extremely Functional!
By Anonymous, Alberta, Canada, September 29, 2012

Was due for a new grip, replacing the one I have had for about 6 or 7 years. Saw this grip on the property and was impressed by build quality and functionality. Upon receiving my order I was concerned to see the bag had no bottom support. Thankfully after loading up the grip, the lack of a hard bottom does not seem to be an issue. This grip is built tough, is roomy, and has a lot of compartments to separate and organize your belongings.
 
 Railway Grip
By R.A.Stuart, Winnipeg,Mb.,Can., September 28, 2012

This is an excellent quality grip for any railroader , yes has many of the necessary pockets to carry all of the required stuff , however the American Rule Book must be of different size than its Canadian counterpart , as such can only be accomodated in the main section as none of the pockets will fit in either a vertical or horizontal position. So rules the binder.
 
 Needs an anti gravity option
By Knuckle dragger, Toledo,OH, September 24, 2012

Extremely tough and durable bag! Every railroader knows how hard it is to find the right grip. Being an engineer working between Toledo-Pittsburgh and all points in between. I can load this bag for a 5 day trip (if needed). I haven't had any misfunction as of yet. I would've liked to see a bottom hard liner inside the bag to keep it squared up. That's my only complaint. I receive many compliments on this bag and I'm sure it'll last for a long, long time.
 
 Great grip!
By Anonymous, Flagstaff, AZ, September 14, 2012

I have only had this grip for a short time, but I love it! It has lots of space to take everything I need for a 1-2 day trip. I had fellow railroaders recommend this to me and I'm glad I puchased it, I was tired of buying cheap grips only to replace them every few months.
 
 "Tough As Texas"
By Rick D. Gill, Longview,TX, August 23, 2012

This bag is as heavy duty as Texas, It is Tough as nails, And Roomy, I have everything in here INCLUDING "The Kitchen Sink". This Bag should be my Last!!!!
 
 "Tough As Texas"
By Rick D. Gill, Longview,TX, August 23, 2012

This bag is as heavy duty as Texas, It is Tough as nails, And Roomy, I have everything in here INCLUDING "The Kitchen Sink". This Bag should be my Last!!!!
 
 Lotsa Pockets! More rugged bottom?
By Anonymous, Superior, WI, August 16, 2012

Love all the pockets! Helps me keep everything organized. And it is a lot larger than I expected. Thought it would have a tougher/stiffer/rugged bottom. Hope its stronger than it looks.
 
 Awesome
By Brian Gammon, Saskatchewan, Canada, August 16, 2012

Hey just wanted to say that this is an awesome grip for railroading. Holds a lot of stuff and the shoulder strap is easy on the body.
 
 GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!
By JUSTIN, NORTH LITTLE ROCK AR, August 11, 2012

worked for railroad for 12 years behind my dad that now has 40 years of service. so i did not mess with cheap grips. out of the gate i purchased a TUFFBAG and got 5 years out of it day in, day out. i can not say i did not get my money out of it. after i encountered a REDOXX RAILROAD GRIP and thoroughly inspected it i had to have one. had mine 4 years now and only problem was i wore out the rubber on the shoulder strap. sent it back and warranty replaced. sent back to me in 6 days. like another review said, it is built like a tank. dad says that if he had 10-15 years left he would by one and has told me several times that it is the best bag he has encountered in his career. i believe he's little jealous
 
 Railroad Grip
By Lewis Frazer, Janesville, WI, August 9, 2012

I wish i would of ordered this bag long ago, this bag is great i love all the compartments. Now all my stuff fits in one bag that the straps wont break on. Thanks for a great product that's MADE IN THE U.S.A.
 
 One Tough Bag
By Warren, Cranbrook, BC, Canada, July 26, 2012

This is by far the toughest bag on the market! From the metal strap hardware to the heavy duty zippers it is built to last.

Besides being tough it has more than enough room for all your gear, books and equipment. Its the only bag you will ever need.

If you don't have one, get one.
 
 nice but
By ken, georgia, July 26, 2012

nice bag but kind of pricey not rubber feet on bottom no ring inside for keys ,only couple of weeks old and looks good we'll see for long term
 
 One grip for life
By Doug Smith, Northern Ontario, Canada, July 19, 2012

I am nearing the end of my career now, a mere 18 months to go. I can't even say how many bags I have gone through in the last 35 years, but most would only last a few months. If I was lucky, I got 6 months out of a bag. No one made durable bags suitable for railroad workers. Then I came across a tool bag that was gauranteed to last, and it did, for about 3 years, but it was a wreck by then. I thought of taking it to get repaired, then I met a fellow who had a red oxx bag. I was impressed with the quality and when I got home I checked it out on the internet and decided to order one.

This bag is exceptionally well built. It is light to carry andcomfortable as it has a double adjustment on the shoulder strap, so it does'nt bounce off the back of your thighs when you have to carry it for any length of time. It also has many roomy pockets.

One of my concerns with it was that I may have to sacrifice some of the things I carried in it because of the difference in size from my old bag to this one, but that was not the case. I found pockets and room for all my old things. I also found that there was a significant weight difference between my empty old bag and this new one. So now I carry all my accessories the same as before but with noticeable less strain on my shoulder and back.

Another feature that I like, is the rubber padding on the shoulder strap. It prevents the bag from slipping off your shoulder as you walk and should you have your hands full, such as detraining. This also tells me about the thought that went into the design. Overall, I highly reccomend this bag to any one working in the railway transportation trade. I wish I would have had one much sooner.
 
 Excellent Product!
By J. Knadler, Tamaqua, PA, July 12, 2012

The Red Oxx bag is EXCELLENT! It is well worth the purchase price. The bag is rugged and made to last! I would recommend Red Oxx products to anyone. Plenty of storage space for all of your rule books, radio items, rain gear, and other supplies Railroaders need while on duty. A top notch bag!

Great AMERICAN quality!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use that helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.