Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Rail Yard Junction  > Rail-King-Railroad-Rucksack

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Your new home on the rails.”
Red Oxx Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack. Our largest, toughest bag.

Rail King Railroad Rucksack $325.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


A Railroad Rucksack on Steroids. Ready to ride the rails.

The undisputed King of the Rails.

Our friends down at the train yard are thrilled we've done our final testing on the new Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack and it's riding the rails. Bigger, badder and ready to go down the longest mile in style, for quite a while. Just like our popular Railroad Grip, it's hand-built in our factory in Billings, Montana. It comes with our famous no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty. It uses the same tough Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon materials.

DESIGNED EXCLUSIVELY FOR LONG RANGE RAIL RIDERS.
Back in 1992, local Rail Engineers helped design our original Railroad Grip. Seems since then, they're packing more personal stuff, taking longer trips like the "xtra board" and there was also a need for a grip bag that could carry winter gear along with the typical lamp, radio and GCOR rule book.

WHY A BACKPACK STYLE RUCKSACK?
All this could be thought of as becoming pretty heavy for a Grip. Rather than convert a larger bag such as our Sherpa Jr. Outfitters Expedition Bag, the decision was made to spread the weight across your back evenly and keep the compartmentalized features railroaders like so much by creating an enlarged rucksack.

COMFORT AND STRENGTH.
Upgraded durable Uni-Suede padded articulating shoulder straps for carry comfort cinch down with Mil-Spec A.L.I.C.E. hardware. Every stress point is double box stitched for peace of mind. Heavy-duty compression straps on bottom of the Rail King Rucksack stores your jacket, blanket or bedroll out of the way. Beware, the Rail King is our LARGEST Rucksack Backpack. Now you can ride the Red Oxx Hi-Ball on the roll by!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
We encourage you to place your order today to get your Rail King Rucksack on our factory production schedule. In other words, the King is not a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new rucksack on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in under 14 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 21 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 9"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches - including external raised pockets.
Weight: 5.6 pounds

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual side zippered pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
  • Exterior dual side zippered flat slip pockets: 8"H x 7"w
  • Exterior front pocket: 15"L x 12"W x 5"D
  • Exterior zippered flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Interior slip pocket: 18"H x 12"W

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Rail King Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quarterly email newsletter. Your email address is always secure.

Every great rail rucksack needs Railroader accessories.

Personalize it. An embroidered Ruck is a respected Ruck.
Order an Embroidered Monogram Patch (located on top zipper panel).

  • Three initials for only $7.50
  • Up to ten characters for only $10.00

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogram Patches adds an additional 5-7 business days before shipping.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Rail King Rucksack include:

  • Riggers Rucksack Backpack - tough enough for any oil rigging job
  • Trucker cargo ruck - great for tools and travel gear
  • Roughneck backpack - If you work a big tough job, this is your bag
  • Horse tack knapsack
  • Rodeo ruck
  • Roping ruck
  • Halter rucksack
  • Trainers rucksack

UPDATED
Free Printable Railroad Rucksack PDF Brochure Download (3.7MB)
Free Printable Railroad Accessories PDF Brochure Download (3.4MB)

Write a Review

4.78 Average Rating
 (86 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 Just what I wanted.
By Kim, Wisconsin, March 22, 2013

I been Railroading 15 years. I've had many grips and backpacks in that time. They all had one thing in common: They could not stand up to life on the rail. Do yourself a favor and buy a Grip from Red Oxx. The last grip you will ever need to buy. Built to last a lifetime on the Railroad. Thank you Red Oxx.
 
 Amazing grip
By Brad B, Minnesota , March 12, 2013

This grip is amazing plenty of compartments to put everything you need for the road and then some. The quality is second to none and its made in the USA. Very impressed, I was a little leery to spend that much money but now I wish I would have bought it sooner. Great product highly recommend it.
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, , March 7, 2013

A great bag for a rail. I used to use the duffel but needed more space which this provided. My only small criticism would be I prefer the layout of the duffel more, seems easier to access but the space of the railking can't be beat. I have been using it for two months now without issue. I would like to suggest a sternum and/or hip strap for it
 
 Very useful
By Jeremy, Minot, ND, January 24, 2013

When I fist hired out on the BNSF I bought a under armor duffel bag as a grip. For the first year I worked out okay but as you can imagine it was not big enough. This grip held everything that my previous duffel bag did plus now I can put my bibs and carhart jacket in my grip instead of carrying it. I can now carry my: rulebook, mothers helper (track book), lantern, extra battery, clip board, winter jacket, bib overalls, rain coat, full sized thermos, toiletries bag, extra change of clothes, and still have tons of extra room if I can find anything else I need. Over all this grip is defiantly the grip for a conductor.
 
 MY BOYFRIEND COULDN'T HAVE BEEN HAPPIER.
By Christine Warden, Rancho Cordova, CA, December 30, 2012

My boyfriend already has the duffel bag. He is an engineer for UPR and swears by your product. He wanted nothing but the Rucksack for Christmas. I told him that wasn't possible because they were on backorder (which I thought was the case). I went ahead and ordered and it got here before Christmas. He was so very happy to have it. He swears by your product and the lifetime warranty. I believe a lot of UP railroaders use your product. One time another railroader took his instead of his own. His also has his initials on it for no further confusion. Thanks for making my man happy and an above-average product. Nice to see things are still made with quality these days.
 
 Rail King Grip
By LD ESTEP, Peralta NM, December 22, 2012

I have only used this for about 2 weeks but can already tell it is a keeper. It holds all of my regular gear plus winter stuff also. Working on Amtrak and 3 different railroads means I have to carry more rule books than I did on the ATSF but it still does the job very well. Wish I had bought one years ago!
 
 Rail King Railroad Rucksack
By K. Hayes, Oklahoma, December 10, 2012

Durable. Plenty of room to carry all of my gear. Would highly recommend bag to other railroaders. With the no bull warranty you have nothing to lose.
 
 Love the bag
By Shane, Ohio, September 27, 2012

It would be nice if there was a video that explain all of the features of the bag.
 
 Rail King
By Anonymous, Montana, August 13, 2012

So here goes. I do not usually review products I purchase, but considering the price point I'll provide my thoughts. For what it was designed for, the rail road it will do the job just fine. It is purpose built for all the junk you will have to carry, radio, lantern, rule books, clothing for several days, a large lunch, with lots of room left over for whatever else you decide to cram in there. If you are looking at the Rail King for some other purpose besides travel you may want to look elsewhere. This bag is not designed to carry a load much more than a mile. My previous life as a part of a back country trail crew has turned me into some what of a gear junkie. I spent 7 seasons at approximately 550-700 miles a summer carrying the necessary gear to perform my duties. The Rail King is big but not appropriate for carrying a load any kind of distance. The back panel has some sort of foam that helps the bag retain its shape but does not provide ample support for your back. Most backpacks have some form of frame system to help distribute the load the rail king does not. My other big gripe is there is no hip belt which forces your shoulders to carry the load, which is fine for the trip from the depot to your car, or the hotel but I would not want to carry the 30-40 lbs of crap I carry much further in this bag.

I gave this bag 4 stars because it is mostly perfect for working on the rails. The materials and craftsmanship are superb and it's hard to beat a life time warranty. This is my third Red Oxx product. I purchased the Engineer grip shortly after I hired which is also a great product. I then received another as a gift, my parents were bummed to learn that I already had one. I finally decided it would be easier to carry my stuff in something besides a duffel bag which led me to the Rail King.

Great Montana company with a good product.
 
 The Grip King!
By Jason, Ohio, August 11, 2012

I purchased this grip about a year ago at the start of my railroad career. I wanted to wait to give a review and after using it for a year I can say this is one of the best you can buy. This grip allows you to carry everything you could possibly think of to make the stay in the hotel as close to home as you can. The large deep pockets allowed me to take my two bags and combine them into one. I can even fit my lunch in with everything else. Don't let the price scare you, you will be using this everyday!
 
 One bag instead of two
By Josh, Tulsa, OK, July 1, 2012

I bought this bag to help me make sure I always have all that I will need ready for the road. It was always a safety hazard climbing on the engines with a pack, duffle bag, and lunch slung over my sholders. This bag allows me to just have it plus a lunch box. The weight is distributed evenly improving safety while climbing. It is so large that it is a tight squeeze when entering the locomotive though.

Be warned that if fully loaded the bag gets pretty heavy. I carry my rulebook, track charts, mandatory directive forms, rain gear, lantern, radio, air gauge, gloves, spotlight, a 'lil roy' red oxx with random electronics, a red oxx shaving kit bag with all of my personal items for the hotel, a change of clothes, and my ipad all in this one bag. I have found it very useful.
 
 rail king
By borso, geneva IL, May 14, 2012

I waited to review this product after i bought it so i could test it out for a few months before commenting. I think this is the best bag i ever bought for use on the railroad and that includes the tuff bag i had purchased previously. If i had on critique on the product if would be that the bottom should have some sort of heavier base(some sort of rubberized set) due to the fact as a road engr i often place the bag on the floor of the locomotive and sometimes do not have the ability to put something down first . Maybe even hard feet of some type.
 
 Rail King Railroad Rucksack
By robert osborn, United States, March 29, 2012

This is an awesome grip, dont get me wrong but for me it is just too big and wish i would of been able to see it before spending $325 on it... Quality of the grip is second to none and is very well made and im sure in the long run the $325 price tag will be worth it with the lifetime warranty...
 
 Big and tough
By Anonymous, Savannah, GA, March 28, 2012

If your looking for one bag to carry it all and dont mind it being a little heavy then this is probably your best bet. This bag is VERY big. My only complaint really is getting the bag on and off your back but soon as you have it on it really isn't that heavy even when it's loaded down. A little on the pricey side but considering it could be the last grip you buy it's worth the money. This bag seems capable of holding up to the normal wear and tear and everyday railroading. Plenty of room to pack for 2-3 days and hold all your rule books. I can fit my lantern, radio, extra battery and gloves in one side pouch and pair of shoes and flip flops in the other. The front is plenty enough room for all of your rule books and a laptop/tablet. The middle(biggest) area holds 2-3 days of clothes, the Red Oxx shaving kit and the "Lil Roy". The top pouch holds my pencil kit, safety glasses, vest, and a few other things. I stay gone longer than the average railroader and I can fit everything in this one bag. I hope to get several years out of this grip and my next purchase, if necessary, will be another Red Oxx product. Thanks.
 
 Rail King Rucksack
By S.M.Mullen, Denver CO, March 27, 2012

I've been working for BNSF now 15 years both as an engineer and conductor. I've gone through many different work bags and spent at least $1,000.00 on them throughout the years. I had seen a few of these around and asked many questions about how they hold up day in day out on the railroad. I did my re-search before buying and can only tell you it is by far the best bag I've used to date. It holds everything you could need and is tough as nails. I love the piece of mind knowing that it is backed by a lifetime warranty and if you should have any problems with it, Red Oxx customer service is there to help. I believe 100% in the reviewing of products as it truly gives the consumer the edge and informs them prior to spending their hard earned money. I'd reccomend this item to anyone on the railroad, or to anyone who is looking for "The last good bag they will ever buy"
 
 Rail King
By Donald Fay, Gillette, Wyoming, March 17, 2012

I had a jumbo military style patrol bag. It was huge. My new rail king holds so much more it isnt even funny. I had to fight getting in the train doors with that bag. This one is even bigger, but built completely different. I can walk right thru the train doors with no problem, I dont snag and get hung up trying to get on or off the train. Its wonderful. And it is so spaceous, that I carry a small cooler inside of it. It also has plenty of room for me to carry my electric blanket for the cold nights in the crew complex down south. I have a camping/stove, cup, for making coffee and it all fits in one side pocket. Fuel canister and all. I can hang my bag on the coat hooks on the train and have immediate front access to my GCOR Rule book and all of my folders, and my radio. The other side pocket houses my boot grips, stocking cap, gloves, and lantern. And after my little cooler, clean clothes, shave kit, slippers and blanket, I still have a 1/3 of the interior main compartment space left. The straps are padded and seriously comfortable. The top flap compartment is always easily accessible, so I put my orders in it before departing the depot and they are always easy to get to. The zippers are heavy duty and easy open and easy close. The pull strings on the zippers are heavy duty and have "monkey fists" on each of them. That is what they were called in the Navy. The buckles at the bottom of the straps are metal, not some plastic crap. The top of the straps are held on by huge sturdy metal O-rings. The monogram initials are big 1" letters and are easily identified, I also had a dogtag made up and put it on one of the little steel cables included with the bag. And all of this with a lifetime warranty. I am retired US Navy. I lugged a seabag around for a lot of years. Wish I had this Rail King Pack back then, it is Great, I can NOT find even one complaint or problem with this bag. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Rail King to anyone serious about their job. It is amazing. And 1 more thing, once you get yours, you will see what "made in America" means. This bag will easily make 20 years until I can retire again. Thanks RedOxx, I am now a lifelong customer.

Thanks Don.
 
 great bag i mean great
By jj, il, March 8, 2012

this is the best bag i have bought. as a road conductor this is just the right bag. big enough for everything i need or want to carry. sets great on my back and doesnt hurt my shoulder like my last grip. with 25 yrs. left best purchase ive made in 8 yrs of railroading. would like some smaller pockets on front but overall doesnt matter. great bag ive told everyone i know to get one.
 
 Worth it!
By C Willingham, Some where in Texas, February 28, 2012

Got this bag Dec. 2010. and just now giving a review. This bag is still going strong! Well worth every penny! I can fit every thing I need into this one bag. No more carring two bags! Have been carrying this back pack with just one strap. Most of the time. And it's still just as good as new. No rips! A little hard getting in the doors of the engines but I can deal with that! I know this will be the very last bag that i buy for my rail road career. And I've got alot of years left. And If you want your job. then help out others here at home keep there's! It's made right here in America!
 
 yeah a 4...
By Mark, Winslow Az, February 23, 2012

No doubt about it this is a great bag!!! The side pockets are large enough for your radio, gloves, orange vest, flash light and whatever other incidentals you want to carry... and that's just one side pocket! We get the smaller rule books over here so they fit in the other pocket. The top pocket that was designed for the rule book will hold a couple of the tuperware type containers keeping all of the little things organized and handy. A change of clothes, shoes and a rain suit all fit in the ruck sack with room to spare. And theres still the front pocket where I keep a track warrant book, track and time, form a, weather restriction and all the various other forms you never know if you are going to need, with room left over!!! The only thing I didn't like about this bag is the jacket straps on the bottom, the tiny pockets on the sides of the side pockets and the slip pocket inside. The interior slip pocket needs something to keep it shut. It likes to open when I'm putting stuff in the bag, causing me to stuff something in it and then having to pull it out and try again to hit the main compartment. The compression straps on the bottom are useless unless you like having your jacket on the floor to protect the bottom of your bag. I bought some webbing and clips and fashioned my own cinch straps to the loops on the front. And last of all the tiny side pockets are a waste of zippers. This would be a great place for work orders and general track bulletins but the zippers shred the paper putting them in and pulling them out. Overall this is a great bag just add some containers for organizing the smaller stuff. I'm looking forward to getting many years of use out of this bag. When you get tired of carrying those two bags you have been replacing every couple of years get yourself a rail king.
 
 OK
By Andy O, Dilworth, MN, February 16, 2012

Quality construction as all of the Redoxx merchandise. The problems are that you cannot fit through a doorway of a SD,GP,SW engine with it on your back. It also gets heavy and the weight is so far off your back that it pulls you backward, I seen 1 conductor fall on his back when climbing on the engine and another tip over backwards when he put the grip on in the yard office. You can surely pack lots of gear in this grip but the compartments are so large that it ends up being a disorganized mess, Id like to see smaller pockets and more of them. My last issue is that Id like to see it have some sort of a backbone to the grip, loading the large compartment is difficult because the bag collapses like a gunny sack so I have to try to hold it open with 1 hand and put my food and gear in with the other hand. It is made tough and it is large but not the bag for me. I also have a Redoxx duffle bag and I went back to that, I think it is a much better design with how the pockets are set up. I reccommend the duffle bag NOT this back pack.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft black nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Dual set of Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop with rubber Euro-handle - DO NOT lift the bag using the top flap!
  • Mil-Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • 4 lb. closed cell foam padding in back
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • Available in Black Only
  • US Dimensions: Main Compartment 13"W x 20"H x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
    Front Pocket: 14"H x 13"W x 6"D
    Flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Metric Dimensions: Main Compartment 33cm W x 50.8H x 17.8cm H
    Side Pockets: 35.5cm H x 17.8cm W x 10.1c m D
    Front Pocket: 35.5cm H x 33cm W x 15.2cm D
    Flap Pocket: 30.5cm H x 30.5cm W x 7.6cm D
  • US Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches
  • Metric Total Capacity: 92.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 5.6 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.56 Kilos

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Rail King Rucksack, the Airborne C-Ruck, or Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Rail King is made with a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Ideal for Railroaders and the harsh rail lifestyle.
 
Can I get one in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is only available in black.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon that can handle hard use and the black color helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Rail King was specifically designed to hold this exclusive railroader gear.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Roadster? What size laptop?
The Rail King Rucksack has a special slide pocket inside the back main compartment that will accommodate Laptops up to 17 inches.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Rail King Rucksack. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each product we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull," no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a railroad rucksack that will not fail.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.