Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Rail Yard Junction  > Rail-King-Railroad-Rucksack

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“A NEW RAIL KING IS BORN!”
Red Oxx Rail King II Railroad Grip Rucksack. Our largest, toughest bag.

Rail King Railroad Rucksack $375.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


ALL HAIL THE NEW KING!

Now available for order, ready to ship.

Our friends down at the train yard are thrilled we redesigned the Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack. All hail the Rail King II, with new upgrades to roll down the longest mile in style, for quite a while. We listened and went to work. The new Rail King II has everything that you've been asking for.

DESIGNED EXCLUSIVELY FOR LONG RANGE RAIL RIDERS.
Just like our popular Railroad Grip, the Rail King II is still hand-built in our factory in Billings, Montana. It still comes with our famous no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty. It still uses the same tough Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon materials.

WHAT'S NEW?
A cleaner bottom, gone are the hated coat straps. No more dumping your bag down and muddying your coat. Pencil and pens can now be stored in the top lid in a new "stuff" pocket. We replaced the useless flat side pockets with our popular proprietary gusseted pockets, borrowed from our Gator, Metro and CPA Briefcases, complete with the ever-handy one handed snap lid and hidden slip pocket. A brand new slip pocket adorns the raised front pocket and we moved the laptop notebook slip pocket out of the main compartment to the front pocket for easier access to your computer. Lastly we removed the unused fastex buckles at the top front. Still the same great Railroad Rucksack, only now with lots more useful pockets! Long live the King!

Back in 1992, local Rail Engineers helped design our original Railroad Grip. Seems since then, they're packing more personal stuff, taking longer trips like the "xtra board" and there was also a need for a grip bag that could carry winter gear along with the typical lamp, radio and GCOR rule book.

WHY A BACKPACK STYLE RUCKSACK?
All this could be thought of as becoming pretty heavy for a Grip. Rather than convert a larger bag such as our Sherpa Jr. Outfitters Expedition Bag, the decision was made to spread the weight across your back evenly and keep the compartmentalized features railroaders like so much by creating an enlarged rucksack.

COMFORT AND STRENGTH.
Upgraded durable Uni-Suede padded articulating shoulder straps for carry comfort cinch down with Mil-Spec A.L.I.C.E. hardware. Every stress point is double box stitched for peace of mind. Beware, the Rail King II is our LARGEST Rucksack Backpack. Now you can ride the Red Oxx Hi-Ball on the roll by!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
You buy it, we'll build it! We encourage you to place your order today to get your Rail King II Rucksack on our factory production schedule. In other words, the King is not usually a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new rucksack on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in 7-10 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 14 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 9"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches - including external raised pockets.
Weight: 5.6 pounds

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual side zippered pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
  • Exterior dual side gusseted snap slip pockets: 3.5"H x 7"w
  • Exterior front pocket: 15"L x 12"W x 5"D
  • Exterior front zipper flat pocket: 10"W x 9" H
  • Exterior zippered flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Interior slip pocket inside front raised pocket: 18"H x 12"W

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Rail King Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quarterly email newsletter. Your email address is always secure.

Every great rail rucksack needs Railroader accessories.

Personalize it. An embroidered Ruck is a respected Ruck.
Order an Embroidered Monogram Patch (located on top zipper panel).

  • Three initials for only $7.50
  • Up to ten characters for only $10.00

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogram Patches adds an additional 2-5 business days before shipping.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Rail King II Rucksack include:

  • Riggers Rucksack Backpack - tough enough for any oil rigging job
  • Trucker cargo ruck - great for tools and travel gear
  • Roughneck backpack - If you work a big tough job, this is your bag
  • Horse tack knapsack
  • Rodeo ruck
  • Roping ruck
  • Halter rucksack
  • Trainers rucksack

UPDATED
Free Printable Railroad Rucksack PDF Brochure Download (3.7MB)
Free Printable Railroad Accessories PDF Brochure Download (3.4MB)

Write a Review

4.77 Average Rating
 (98 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 Nice Bag
By Jim , Indiana, April 17, 2015

Love the durability of the bag but I need more Interior pockets and loops for my keys and such. Very roomy but the lack of interior zippered pockets compared to my old grip has forced me to keep using the old one for now.

----------Thanks for the review Jim. We sell a Pin Mount Key Clip that allows you to mount your keys any where you like. We are also going to be selling packing cubes that will allow you to organize your items. Stay tuned.
 
 love it
By kevin, tn, April 16, 2015

I thought it was pricey at first but when I got it .... nothing but pure American quality . Built to last . I love it .
 
 One Helluva Bag
By Anonymous, Wisconsin, April 6, 2015

Well the bag lives up to all the hype. Has been dragged, dropped, kicked and partially run over and it still looks flawless. Everything is built to last and I doubt I'll ever use the lifetime guarantee. Shipping was super fast and customer service top notch. Embroidering is high quality. Guess the only complaint I have is now I carry 25lbs of additional 'stuff' I never needed before , but the bag holds it so 'why not'. Great product, no real complaints, recommend this for anyone never wanting to buy another bag again. Perfect for railroading, actually has the perfect space for the ever expanding USOR,GCOR,CORA manuals and all the freaking updates, plus track charts and manuals. BUY IT YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
 
 Rail King Back Pack
By Bob Foster, Morrill Nebraska, March 27, 2015

This is one great bag. I like it because it is big enough to carry everything I want to carry. Other Rail Roaders I work with saw my bag. I told them where I got it and I am seeing more of them where I work. Caution, get your monogram put on it so you tell it apart from the people you work with. I got in the wrong bag because I didn't have my initials put my bag.
 
 Fantastic Bag
By Will Muncy, , March 21, 2015

Fantastic bag!!! Well thought out for railway conductors. Can carry all my signal book, clothes for 5 days and my food for 5 days . Then the weight is evenly distributed . Constructed strong and Red Oxx backs it up. Can't go wrong with this bag.
 
 Perfect Bag for the job!
By Anonymous, Missoula, Montana, February 27, 2015

This bag is amazing. The perfect bag for the job, and it has a lifetime warranty!
 
 Very good
By Bobby Blair, Rawlins, Wy, February 26, 2015

The highest of quality! I wish there were additional pockets on the back of the grip. This being said, I would buy it all over again as is.
 
 The Perfect Grip
By D. Sanchez, Los Angeles, CA, February 15, 2015

When I first opened the box to this bag I was a little overwhelmed by the sheer size of the bag. When laid down flat it looks gigantic and I couldn't even imagine filling it up or where to place my gear. I've placed everything I could imagine needing into it and am only about 3/4's the way full and that's including a slim lunch pail to carry cold food and drinks. Maybe next road trip I'll bring a small camp stove for some real home cooking.
 
 great bag
By C. Ehrhart, York Pa, January 15, 2015

Great bag, looks like it should last forever
 
 What a bag
By Greg Raymond, Gillette Wy., January 7, 2015

I just wanted to say thank you for such a great product and the customer service to back it up. I called customer service to see if I could reroute my bag because I was working in another state when I made the purchase. The bag was shipped and I received it the very next day. Thank you so much, I can't wait to get it on the rails for real use.
 
 Two and a half years...
By Spruce, Schreiber, ON, January 5, 2015

I've been using this bag for over two years now and it has exceeded my expectations. The construction is excellent, and there is more than enough room in this bag for just about anything you would like to bring to work. The bag itself still looks brand new and I get compliments on it often. The only issue I've had to date is half of one zipper tooth came off one of the outer pockets although it has not affected the use of the zipper at all. I would definitely recommend purchasing this item if you want a rucksack that will hold up to lots of use and abuse. I also purchased the Nomad Shave Kit and it fits perfectly in one of the side pockets. Red Oxx customer service is also second to none and my items were delivered very quickly.
 
 Great Grip
By Mike, Nebraska, December 26, 2014

Great Grip, more room than you would ever need. Very well made. Last Grip you will ever need. Really like it but needs pockets inside.
 
 Super Happy With My Rucksack!
By Mike Roll, Gilette, WY, November 3, 2014

Christian,

Just want to say "Thank you so much" for the service I've received with Red Oxx. When I joined the railroad about 10 years ago I bought the Railroad Grip and really enjoyed it. The grip started eventually showing some wear with a zipper breaking,one side finally blowing-out and the Gator shoulder-strap wore out. I've been seeing the good-looking Rail King Railroad Rucksacks floating around the depot so I thought one of these would distribute the weight more evenly on my back so I ordered one. I love it !! It's worth the money. But wait it gets even better... I sent my 10-year old Railroad Grip back to utilize the Red Oxx's 'No-Bull Warranty' and within 3 days I received a 'new' Railroad Grip !! I'm telling you, Red Oxx is absolutely 'Outstanding' in quality and customer support!!

Best Regards,

Mike Roll

From the Wild West

Gillette, Wyoming

BNSF Railroad

 
 Roomy and comfy
By Alan P., St. Louis service unit, October 23, 2014

Very roomy and so far very durable. It almost holds more that I can carry. The negatives are just a few. First, the draw string on the expansion compartment is broke and I have never even used it. And as I have read before, there needs to be more sewn straps up high for d clips for hanging heavy railroad switch keys and glasses and such. And last, expansion straps for securing rubber winter boots when not in use. Our Superintendent looked at one in the crew room and is so impressed, she is purchasing one and giving it away as a prize.
 
 Worth Every Penny
By Bill Warren, Amarillo, TX, September 28, 2014

I have yet to fill it up!!! Outstanding craftsmanship containing more compartments than I know what to do with, which is a great plus when you carry your life with you in a bag and you have to live out of that bag. Now you can arrange your life/stuff!!!
 
 needs some redesign
By Daniel Clarys, Mandan ND, September 25, 2014

needs a female coupler for the long straps on the back so you can tie on a jacketor sweater or coveralls who wants to put them on the bottom when you set it on the floor of the engine. Also needs some loops higher up on the bag so you can hook a d-ring in them tohang glass cases, keys excetera.the only loops on the back that are there now are way too low and anything you hook on them drags on the ground when you set it on the floor of the engine
 
 AWESOME!!!
By Chris, LaCrosse Wi, September 25, 2014

The title says it all big enough to hold everything, comfortable enough to carry long distance, tough enough to last. And an unbeatable warranty!! At first I thought it was really expensive but once you have one you will not regret spending the money, its worth every penny!
 
 Love it!
By Dan , Klamath Falls, Or, September 23, 2014

I waited about 3 month to do a review for this bag. I wanted to use it for a while, get it out on line and see what I like and dont like about it. There are a lot of positives to this bag and some negatives. First off, this is the first "true" grip I've ever owned. I went through 2 Dakine backpacks and a Burton boarding backpack before taking the plunge. The 3 previous bags lasted roughly 3 years total and didnt last. Straps broke, the bottoms wore out, and with all 3 I had to carry an additional duffle bag to accommodate all of my necessities. I looked into another popular railroad grip company and noticed the lack of durability throughout. I worked several times with a hogger who has the Rail King Rucksack and everytime I saw it, it caught my eye. He has had his bag for 5+ years and it looks brand new! I did a lot of research and it was a no-brainer, this was the bag for me. The first things I noticed when I opened the box was the attention to detail. From the packaging to the craftsmanship of the bag. This bag is a work of art. It is sleek, functional, and aesthetically pleasing. I pack a lot of stuff on line and this bag still has room. In the Rail King Rucksack I pack my Lil Roy bag (filled), Nomad Shave Kit(filled), Red Oxx tray, tennis shoes, two days worth of clothes, iPad, rule book, radio, lantern, PPE, Macbook, Igloo Cooler tote bag, various trinkets including my knife, leathermen, stanley thermos, stanley soup thermos, and a rain suit. I probably carry too much, but this bag handles it all with room to spare. The cost of the bag is a non-factor when considering the benefits of top-notch customer service, lifetime guarantee and quality.

The only a couple negatives I have found about this bag were previously brought up. There is a lack of small pockets for pens/pencils etc. I bought a pencil pouch which easily took care of this problem. The bag tends to get a little top heavy which can lead to tipping while stowed on the ground. It also gets to be extremely heavy which my own fault. The plastic clips arent the most impressive part of the bag, but they have proven to be very durable. The shoulder straps are extremely comfortable and provide comfort even fully loaded. All-in-all I love this bag. I can't image working whiteout it. If you decide to buy the Rail King Rucksack, go into it knowing its very large. Its very durable, well designed, and well worth the money.
 
 Big enough for the kitchen Sink, and strong enough too.
By Dustin Ohman, NWE Division, September 19, 2014

This was my gift (to myself) for passing the BNSF Conductor's exam. I was looking forward to having it, because I've see so many other trainmen using Red Oxx gear. Made strong and durable, as well as light weight and full of space, my pack carries everything that I need/want, with extra space. The bag does not give a saggy look, as other large bags I've seen. This is made of a stiff protective material that keeps everything together. Expensive, yes, but worth it. I've been told by other trainmen that the Red Oxx company has impressed them by repairing their old bags, while also replacing things they though didn't need replacing. I look forward to many-many years of using this bag. Thank you Red Oxx, for making a U.S. product worth owning.
 
 Heavy Duty
By ADP, Capreol ON, August 28, 2014

Really good. heavy duty but also heavy. more space and compartments than any other bag for sure! Somewhat expensive but if it continues to perform as it has so far it is totally worth it
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft black nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Dual set of Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop with rubber Euro-handle - DO NOT lift the bag using the top flap!
  • Mil-Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • 4 lb. closed cell foam padding in back
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • Available in Black Only
  • US Dimensions: Main Compartment 13"W x 20"H x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
    Front Pocket: 14"H x 13"W x 6"D
    Flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Metric Dimensions: Main Compartment 33cm W x 50.8H x 17.8cm H
    Side Pockets: 35.5cm H x 17.8cm W x 10.1c m D
    Front Pocket: 35.5cm H x 33cm W x 15.2cm D
    Flap Pocket: 30.5cm H x 30.5cm W x 7.6cm D
  • US Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches
  • Metric Total Capacity: 92.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 5.6 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.56 Kilos

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Rail King II Rucksack, the Airborne C-Ruck, or Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Rail King II is made with a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Ideal for Railroaders and the harsh rail lifestyle.
 
Can I get one in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is only available in black.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon that can handle hard use and the black color helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Rail King II was specifically designed to hold this exclusive railroader gear. GCOR rulebook in the front raised pocket, radio and lantern in either side pockets.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Roadster? What size laptop?
The Rail King II Rucksack has a special slide pocket inside the front raised pocket that will accommodate Laptops up to 17 inches.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Rail King II Rucksack. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each product we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull," no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one railbag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a railroad rucksack that will not fail.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag on your bag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Do you ship your Rail King to Canada and how much does that cost?
Certainly, we ship to Canada for a fixed UPS Expedited or USPS Priority International shipping fee of $30.00. All disbursement fees due on delivery are the responsibility of the buyer. Other international orders are $50.00, except Australia and New Zealand for $55.00.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.