Skip Navigation LinksSky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on!
On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a hybrid backpack and carry travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for lost luggage--it's with you all the way. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Think flexible-- this bag can be carried three different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle.
2. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag.
3. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

Grab loops on the sides help make stowing the bag in the overhead bin a snap. Fits the luggage boarding size restriction box.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Sky Train on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal statement from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (227 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Born in the USA used worldwide
By Bernie, England, October 22, 2013

Just love my Sky Train. It was quite expensive especially when you add the cost to deliver to the UK and the customs duty that has to be paid but it has been great value. It is so versatile - I can use it on short or long haul flights and I can store enough clothing for a week and take all my electronics too. Best of all it is always stored away as cabin luggage which means I can get in and out of airports far more quickly than I used to able to.

The versatility of the different carry options is unsurpassed - carry by hand or by shoulder or best of all as a backpack. Best of all though is the sheer pleasure and satisfaction I get from owning such a great piece of quality workmanship - it never lets me done. Only wish there was a distributor of Red Oxx in the UK
 
 Love It!
By Irene, Boulder, CO, September 26, 2013

Have owned this backpack in a different color and order a second because everyone in the family loves it. It works great for around the world travel when you don't want to check backs or roll heavy suitcases. Makes travel much easier and enjoyable.
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, Houston, September 26, 2013

Great carry on bag! I took it to Budapest for 10 days. Lufthansa has a strict one bag carry on policy and 8 kg (18 Lbs) max. Because I was carrying it on my shoulder they didn't check weight. The fabric construction also let me cram it into an overhead bin around other bags.
 
 Fantastic Product and Customer Service
By Emile Daigle, Boston, MA, September 26, 2013

I wanted this bag for a multi-leg trip I had coming up in three weeks. The lead time on this popular product would have put the delivery date too close to my departure, so I contacted their customer service. They were very accommodating and set aside one from a sooner production run so I could travel in the pinnacle of functional style.

The bag itself is great. I love the shoulder strap's grip for throwing it on while sprinting from the security gate through the airport, and the backpack straps for the long haul after I land. Construction is rock-solid.
 
 Sky Train - great item
By Don C, Arizona, September 26, 2013

Great product. Purchased two for my wife and my trip to Europe. Almost everything was perfect. Would recommend that you consider adding a caribiner clip in the inside of the outer zip pocket to allow you to clip your keys and travel flashlite - instead of having them tumble around in the pocket - with the potential of them getting lost over the trip. Otherwise, simply a great product
 
 Happy with the Sky Train
By Christy P., , September 16, 2013

Used this as my primary bag for a 2-week trip through 4 European countries that involved both work and recreation. Easily carried everything I needed with the backpack straps and no struggling to wheel a bag over cobbled streets or on stairways. I would prefer smaller backpack straps as an option. For my size of a person (5'5" woman) I had to cinch them all the way in and then daisy-chain up the extra so that it didn't catch on things.
 
 Awesome bags
By Anonymous, San Francisco, California, September 5, 2013

These are awesome bags. We have five, one for each family member and each in a different color. We took them on family trips over the summer on safari to Africa and in the USA for river rafting. They are sturdy, easy to use, come in many colors to keep separate, are comfortable holding via either of the handles or as backpack. I would bias more towards the darker colors because when checked as luggage the lighter colors get a bit dirty. I would also suggest the option of smaller backpack straps so younger kids can use them more easily. Overall, these bags are strong, easy to use, well organized, elicited many compliments from other travelers. We look forward to many years of use. We also got a bunch of the nomad shave kits which was a great way to keep organized. What an awesome company. Way to go!
 
 A "surprise lightening strike"
By R. Shaffer, Florida Panhandle, September 1, 2013

Used my "SkyTrain" on two one-week trips; it largely lived up to suggested expectations. However, "bundling method" of packing on one occasion was a drawback when a waitstaff member dumped a plate of food on me (before my destination and before my "SkyTrain was unpacked, un-bundled and hung on closet hangers). UN-"bundling" to expeditiously retrieve an entire change of clothing (and then re-packing) was an unfortunate and difficult restroom process to say the least. Having learned the "roll method" of packing while in the military, I suspect I will lean more towards including that method to make expeditious emergency clothing retrieval a more simple process (and include 'packing cubes' where possible) in the event "lightening strikes twice"...
 
 Awesome
By Anonymous, Kansas, August 28, 2013

great backpack for travel; easy to organize; pack and it holds a lot of stuff easily. There are

only a couple things could have made it better for me: the chest strap was way too big--would have been perfect had there been more adjustability. and wheels--there were times it just would have been great to have been able to roll it. It held up great all over Greece--happy I had it!
 
 Japan Adventure
By Gearóid Ó Chaomhánach, Ireland, August 23, 2013

Well, here we go;

myself and the boss had Japlanned the trip of a lifetime; just over three weeks traveling the length and breadth of Japan. After considerable research (helped by Doug Dyment) we arrived at Red Oxx. I was stunned by the level of craftsmanship. I was also impressed by the design factors taken into account for each bag but most of all I loved the company ethos and the confidence they had in their product (life guarantee!!!). I dillyed and dallyed over the Air Boss but eventually decided on the Sky Train (for the back straps).

The trip was going to involve some hiking (on Hokkaido), a lot of city time (Tokyo, Osaka) and most of all an awful lot of train travel - think Sapporo to Tokyo in one night (1200km), multiple shinkansen trips, lots of buses, cable cars (we stayed in a monastery on top of Koya-san), and plenty of different hotels/guesthouses/hostels.

We also wanted to buy as much Japanese stuff as we could (we had to send our hiking gear home by post to make room).

This bag is a thing of beauty, a work of art, a labour of craft.

Every tiny thing that would annoy me about another bag was fixed here.

The zips are heavy duty, the stitching is heavy duty, the fabric, the straps, the carabiners.

Things that seem small, like the ease with which the straps can be tucked away or removed, the pouch that's perfect for passports, the thickness of the padding on the straps, were life-savers on busy subway trains.

The claw strap is sensational and has no drift - my only negative is that my shoulder became slightly bruised from using this side carry - but bear in mind I had 3 weeks of gear in my bag, including hiking boots.

The compartments are so useful and brilliantly designed.

Stats - I'm 6ft tall and weigh 180lbs - the bag was adjustable within my range.

Colours - I bought the silver/grey bag and it's super in real life - not as nice as the yellow my partner bought but still great.

Customer service - we were ordering a bit closer to the trip than we should've been and considering the bags had to ship to Ireland we were slightly worried. We called the company who assured us that they'd ship the next day (even though the yellow was out of stock - they even reallocated us a yellow bag) and we had our Sky Trains with a week to spare.

For people with a backpacking mindset - this bag isn't expensive - it's a large purchase but pays for itself every minute of your trip.

If you are into traveling without hassle - staying in hostels, catching trains, making snap decisions to take overnight buses, getting caught in typhoons, never stressing that your bag will bust open - this is the bag for you.

 
 Perfect travel companion
By Anonymous, Australia, July 30, 2013

I have owned the Sky Train for about a year now. I prefer backpacks for travel but was frustrated with always having to unpack and repack to access stuff at the bottom and I also didn't really like looking like a 'backpacker'. I did a lot of research looking for a backpack-style bag that opened like a suitcase, and decided on the Sky Train.

I have used it as a carry on for domestic flights and it was also my main bag for a 2 month trip overseas. In that journey, the Sky Train took a real beating - pulling it on and off an adventure bus storage bay countless times onto gravel roadsides; shoved around long airport queues; used as a seat in stations, etc. I was able to pack enough clothes (using a rolling method) for 2 months away, in radically different climates, though part of that trick is packing clothes that can be worn wear in layers, and mixed around, rather than bulky jackets, etc. The Sky Train was filled to the brim by the end of my trip but held up through all the abuse and still looks new and the seams and zippers and fabric are still perfect. (apart from minor scuffing from aforementioned gravel roads).

It is surprisingly comfortable most of the time when worn as a backpack but, being a short female, I did start to ache when it was over packed. I left the claw strap behind but I will take it with me next time, just to give my back a rest. The handles are very comfortable too for carrying the bag short distances.

This is an extremely tough bag and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any one looking for a rugged bag that fits a ridiculous amount of stuff and allows versatility in carrying .
 
 So good, we have 3
By Phil, Duarte CA, July 13, 2013

We like the Sky Train so much that we have 3 of them in our family now. We bought our first Sky Train for my wife because she thought the backpack would be easier for her to handle than my Air Boss. She was right, loved the Sky Train. We recently bought 2 more Sky Trains for our kids (girl age 11, boy age 9). They also love the backpack configuration.

I am trying to train my kids to be responsible for their own baggage on trips, pack lightly, etc. The Sky Train is perfectly suited for this. It was really easy for them to just walk through the airports and down the aisles on the aircraft with the Sky Trains on their backs (both squeeze into overhead bins easily where roll-along suitcases cannot).

The straps and hardware are VERY sturdy. They do add some weight compared to my Air Boss, but the Sky Train is still easy to carry and the cubic inch capacity is very close between Air Boss and Sky Train. Now when the kids go to stay with the grandparents, go to summer camp, or anyplace overnight, they take their Sky Trains.
 
 New travel partner
By Len Dillon, Bassett, VA, July 1, 2013

I pondered this purchase for a very long time. When my SkyTrain finally arrived I was very pleased to find it met all of my expectations. I remained unphased, even after my bride of 28 years exclaimed "you paid how much for that small bag? " I have car traveled once with the bag packed for three days of golf. The SkyTrain performed as advertised. Later this month we travel to Austin, TX for a long weekend. That will be a good test for both the SkyTrain and my one bag packing techniques! If you are on the fence, purchase sooner rather than later. You will not be dissappointed.
 
 watch your fingers
By Brian, Palatine, June 27, 2013

This is one tough bag, but be careful with it. RedOxx melts the edges of the internal tie down edges to keep the webbing from unraveling, and the edges can be SHARP! I was fishing for the tie-down strap under my clothes bundle the second time I used the bag and sliced my index finger pretty good. Lots of blood and several weeks to heal. CS didn't suggest I send the bag in for repair but rather to "take a lighter or soldering iron and melt down that edge".
 
 Sky Train vs Air Boss
By Jay, Los Angeles, June 20, 2013

If you are like me, you have probably spent a lot of time reading reviews and have narrowed your choices down to the Sky Train or Air Boss. As an owner of both bags I can tell you that you really can't go wrong. Both bags have the same rugged construction that Red Oxx is known for and you will be very happy with your purchase. However, there are some differences to be aware of.

I have travelled with the Air Boss for several years. Recently, my wife needed a bag and I went with the Sky Train and that has become my "go-to" bag. I am about 5'8" and I find the Sky Train easier to carry and definitely easier to get in an out of overhead storage on flights. The multiple plastic handles are fantastic and big improvement over the Air Boss snap handle. I almost never need to use the backpack straps but it is helpful to know that they are there. The Air Boss is still my choice when I need to carry a lot of equipment and clothing. At first I found the Sky Train a little more difficult to get into on the run but now I use the large, built in, zipper pouch more frequently for quick access items.

If you are on the smaller side and spend a lot of time on planes or in airports, go with the Sky Train. If you want maximum flexibility and have a tendency to overpack, go with the Air Boss. Thanks Red Oxx for continuing to innovate!
 
 Very good but ...
By David O, Thailand, June 18, 2013

The build quality on this bag is terrific. It will probably outlast me. The well padded straps make wearing as a pack very comfortable. In general, I love everything about this pack except for the two compartment design. When i bought it, I did not have a feel for how the design would impact its use. I compare it to my Rick Steves convertible carry-on with its one large compartment which, to me, is much more packing efficient.

For example, with the smaller Sky Train compartment unzipped, I have to zip it closed before I can flip it open to access the larger compartment. If i don't, the items in the small compartment tend to unpack themselves. With the single compartment, I don't have to do that.

Also, with the single compartment, I have a lot more options and control concerning what I fit where in order to optimize the space utilization. Because of this, I will probable be carrying the Sky Train on shorter trips where space is not as critical and will carrying my Rick Steves bag on longer trips that require more packing flexibility.

What would make the Sky Train perfect for me, especially for multiple month trips, would be this build quality on a single compartment bag like the Rick Steves convertible carry-on. If you guys ever do a redesign like that, I'll probably be at the head of the line to buy one.
 
 Here's my story
By Shelley, Hudson Valley, NY, June 16, 2013

Let's start with the bad news: I overpacked for a 3.5 week trip to Europe (not by much, but every little bit counts), rendering my beautiful purple Sky Train just a bit too heavy for carrying via shoulder strap, and slightly too heavy for backpacking. I had to buy a rolling bag (boo), transfer everything to it, and send my Sky Train back to the US.

Now, let's cut to the good news: This bag is beautifully made, tough, durable, well worth the extra $$ you pay for it, and baby, lookie-lookie at those crazy zippers. There's no way I'm going to part with my Sky Train, and will use it on shorter trips as much as possible.

Finally, the best news of all: Red Oxx staff is personable, knowledgeable, patient, and darned funny, to boot. They underpromise and overdeliver. I'm a fan (you can check out my reviews for other products). Buy with confidence!
 
 High quality bag
By Will, Mississippi, June 1, 2013

Performed a thorough search for a new piece of luggage for a trip to Europe. Decided on sky train. Just got home from the trip. You can use packing cubes and fit seven days worth of clothes no problem. Bag fit in overheads totally stuffed with a little pushing. Easy in underground while other struggled lugging roll on bags up and down the stairs. Tough as nails construction. Interior red makes items easy to see. Love the heavy duty buckles and straps. I would leave the shoulder strap at home. Hope to use it on lots of other adventures. This is a great one bag solution.
 
 What are you waiting for?
By j warner, harrisonburg,va, May 11, 2013

Let's get straight to the point. The Sky Train is very well made and feels very durable, right down to the thick rubber luggage tag! I bought this bag for an upcoming 10 day trip to the U.K. So far I am able to pack 6 pair of pants,eight t-shirts/polos,all necessary underwear,socks,small first aid kit,rain hat and jacket,as well as toiletry supplies. Love the heavy duty zippers and shoulder strap. Can't wait to get going with my new Sky Train. Buy one now!!
 
 The Search Is Over
By Philip, UK, May 9, 2013

I own more bags than my wife. I am an avid fan of one bagging and am almost compulsive about what I take when I travel. In fact, that's a lie. I AM compulsive about it: I have a packing list which is actually a spreadsheet with quantities, weights and volumes. This is because I work offshore and am often only allowed one bag at 10kg (25 lbs) to last me for a 4 or 8 week journey and this has to include a lot of stuff both work related and personal.

Currently my list of most used bags includes: RedOxx Sky Train, RedOxx Air Boss, Victorinox Standard Issue (a more executive looking hybrid with the straps of the Sky Train and the organisation of an Air Boss), a Tom Bihn Aeronaut, a Rohan 50 litre reversible backpack (the whole back reverses to change it from a full on backpack to a duffel bag) and various standard types of duffel bags specifically designed for offshore use.

All of them were good for some stuff and not so good for other stuff.

I have had the Air Boss for about 6 months and it is great, but not quite right for offshore use which I was disappointed about because I love it. It is now used more by my wife for various trips.

The Victorinox is very similar to the Air Boss in layout, but has backpack straps. This also didn't quite work for me and it looks too much like an executive bag. It is excellently made, but just makes me feel like an accountant or something else corporate and distasteful and the zips, handles and furnishings, while very high quality and strong, are a little dainty and sometimes hard to access.

The Tom Bihn Aeronaut is also an excellent bag and the end compartments are great for shoes/toiletry bags, etc. But it leaves an internal central compartment that is makes accessing certain things in transit not that convenient, especially electronics and the like.

The Rohan 50 litre reversible backpack is great for clothes, but is not great for a mix of all kinds of stuff and is basically a backpack with straps that can be hidden.

Having owned the Air Boss and loving the strong, no nonsense construction I figured that after the last few years of intensive experimentation and investment in bags the best solution for me was the construction principles, materials and quality used by RedOxx but in something with one large compartment but with another full length/width compartment, a couple of extra smaller pockets and detachable backpack straps.

So, despite some groans from my wife, I ordered the Sky Train.

My first attempt at packing it and everything worked easily. I use packing "cubes" and segment all items into smaller lightweight bags within the bag. This adds not much weight but makes overall management a lot easier.

Everything I need for an 8 week trip fitted in perfectly, logically and easily and came to 9.65kg out of a maximum of 10kg. In fact, The bag could easily take another 30% in volume on top of what I have packed before it would start to bulge. Everything feels secure and well padded and protected and the bag has a great balance between structure and flexibility.

The backpack straps (despite not being "curved and ergonomic") are incredibly comfortable with a full load for an extended period whilst walking from one end of a major international airport to another, or waiting by the side of a quay for the ship to dock up, etc. They pack away easily and this makes stowing the bag a lot easier.

Personally, I don't bother taking the shoulder strap with me, but the one provided is built to last a few lifetimes and is now a spare for the Air Boss. We'd only need the spare if we lost one as I can't see them wearing out in the next millennium or so.

All in all it's pretty easy to pack about 20 litres or so into the main compartment and still feel like you could squeeze another 10 in.

In the secondary compartment I have an 11" MBA in a leather sleeve and it fits in sideways at the bottom easily leaving a lot of space. You could probably fit 4 of them in that compartment (2 stacks of 2) without any trouble at all and the bag would not look stretched. In fact, it would probably just look nicely squared.

This is by far my go to bag for travel. This is the one bag solution to beat so far as I am concerned.

For those who want to want to know roughly what I can fit in, my usual list comprises of:

5 pairs of trousers, 4 T-shirts, 2 full sleeve shirts, 6 * underwear and 6 * pairs of socks, thermal vest, thermal/windproof jacket, waterproof jacket, waterproof trousers, 6 handkerchiefs, 1 pair of trainers, thermal hat, thermal gloves.

2 months of daily contact lenses, spare glasses, sunglasses, TSA compliant toiletry set, 11" MacBook, iPod with CLAS -dB and RX Mark III, custom in ear monitors, and then about 1.5kg of cables, adaptors, logbooks and paperwork I need.

There's probably a few other bits and pieces, but all of this fits in comfortably with a lot of room to spare and it is easily and clearly a cabin bag regardless of airline (so far).

I also have an emergency 30 litre packable duffel bag that weighs about 160 grams and I can throw some of the packing cubes into if I am confronted with the check in staff member from hell and this would take me about 10 seconds and drop the weight to under 6kg and all I would lose is half my clothing.

(I get my tough, ultra-lightweight clothing from Rohan.co.uk and if you are a one bagger... you'd be dumb not to take a look).

So, RedOxx for the win!

Sky Train is, in my opinion, the best piece of cabin baggage in the world today.

Thanks guys.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack straps swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has 2 packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
We don't recommend cramming the Sky Train under the seat.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.