Skip Navigation LinksSky-Train

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I just say no to checked bag fees.”
Red Oxx Sky Train Convertible Hybrid Backpack Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Sky Train $255.00


X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Carry-on! On your back.

Our Red Oxx Travel Testers call it awesome! Imagine, a convertible hybrid backpack and carry-on travel bag in one.

Your idea of carry-on perfection? The Sky Train meets your desire for hands-free, easy-on, easy-off boarding of planes or trains. Specially designed for the leisure traveler going to Europe or beyond. Keeps you moving. No waiting for late or lost luggage--it's with you all the way. A bag built for mobility. Once your Sky Train is on, you're gone!

DESIGNED BY TRAVEL EXPERTS.
In 2007 Red Oxx teamed up again with web author and travel expert Doug Dyment of OneBag.com fame to develop this carry-on backpack travel bag. Doug called it the "quintessential dual-purpose bag". Think flexible-- this mobile carry-on bag can be carried five different ways:

1. Carry like a suitcase using the Euro handle on the side.
2. Vertically using the Euro handle on the top of the bag.
3. Over your shoulder like a messenger bag using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
4. Cross body, carried like a messenger bag, again using the Claw Shoulder Strap.
5. Or pull out the retractable backpack straps from the smugglers pocket and travel in hands-free comfort.

The grab loop Euro handles on the sides also help stowing the bag in the overhead bin. Fits continental airline luggage boarding size restriction box. Includes an adjustable sternum chest strap.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The Sky Train Carry-on features two main interior compartments and one full-length outside zippered flat pocket. The main compartment tie downs cinch down to the closed cell Volara foam, securing your clothing. These tie downs help keep your slacks and dress shirts wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel. Easily holds three pairs of slacks and three blouses with room leftover for a light jacket.

The secondary compartment has a foam stay and a small pocket for stashing personal items (9" x 12") and is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, shoes, or workout gear... The rigid sewn-in Volara foam padding protects your belongings, but is still flexible enough to shove into a cramped overhead bin.

HOW TO PACK IT.
Follow this link to learn Doug's bundle wrapping technique. Fit more in your Sky Train airline carry-on bag. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a handy printable PDF Sky Train Packing Diagram. It covers how to "bundle wrap" for the Sky Train, your ideal backpack hybrid convertible travel bag. Or watch the packing video in the videos tab where professional travel guide Kasey Austin of Austin Adventures demonstrates some of her awesome packing tips. Don't like bundle wrapping? Build you own custom Red Oxx Packing Cubes Kit. Our made in Montana cubes are designed to work in conjunction with the Sky Train. Ladies, check out the Meerkat Packing Tube, a tube cube sized just right for hair care products.

FIVE REASONS TO OWN RED OXX SKY TRAIN

1. A CONVERTIBLE CARRY-ON BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, Sky Trains are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

2. BOUND AND BAGGED TO NEVER FRAY.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

3. WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

4. MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper we can find, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for all the world to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Traveling with a Sky Train Convertible Backpack bag, you'll know it won't bust apart and break you down.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches.
Weight: 4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 38 Liters
Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Our bags will fit!

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered full length side flat pocket: 13"H x 19"W
  • 3/4 open flat zippered side compartment: 13"W x 19"L x 1"D
  • Interior side compartment zippered flat flap pocket: 11"W x 9"D
  • Main compartment with adjustable twin tie downs: 19"L x 13"W x 6.5"D
  • Exterior zippered full-width flat smugglers pocket: 13"W x 19"L (Note: this pocket is for storing the backpack straps. Since it has holes in the bottom for steel o-rings to attach the straps to the bottom of the bag, the pocket is only useful for flat magazines, newspapers and storing the straps).

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Sky Train.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

Sky Train Trivia: A common European and Asian urban passenger train that rides on raised rails over inner city traffic.

Sky Train is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

 

Write a Review

4.81 Average Rating
 (250 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
 very happy
By Taig, london, August 10, 2010

Received my bag very speedily to the UK. It has more than lived up to my expectation. Extremely well made.I was after strength and practicality so was not bothered about the look of it. But surprisingly it looks great too! ( coal colour)

Will be ordering another very shortly.

PS I did not get charged any customs duty:) Unlike some other countries in Europe from reading past reviews.
 
 It fits much more than I ever imagined...
By Matt, Vancouver, Canada, August 4, 2010

When I first opened the box, I thought "This is it? There's no way I can fit anything in this".

Several people who saw the AirTran challenged me to pack for a week, with the implication that it simply wouldn't be possible.

To my own delight, with the bundle wrapping technique I was able to go for a 7-night trip to Costa Rica, as well as a 5-night trip in Montreal without any problems. It's simply AMAZING how many pairs of pants, shirts, and sweaters one can stuff into the bag. Each time I also took along at least two pair of shoes, a toiletry kit, book, magazine and iPad.

The downside is that I've been used to a roller suitcase. When full, this bag gets heavy. Walking with it for anything more than 15 or 20 minutes gets tiring very quick, but it's generally not a problem when going from home -> airport -> taxi at destination -> hotel.
 
 Excellent
By Peter Austin, Devon, UK., July 29, 2010

Will be used in a few weeks for a two month trip around Australia. There will be a lot of planes, buses and trains to catch. I am very confident the Sky Train will perform well.

China Airways has a carry on weight limit of 7 kilos so I am working to that limit using my bathroom scales. I have found that every gramme counts, including the shoulder strap which I think weighs 200 grammes. If weight becomes an issue, I will put strap in my pocket.

Suggestions: Instead of the dangly name tag, it would be good to have a small window sewn to the bag.

Also, it would make a little more contiguous space if the internal zippered bag was sewn to the short side of the case rather than the long side.
 
 Absolutely the best!
By José Kirchner, NorCal, July 23, 2010

So, my SkyTrain arrived, I packed it and headed to Godzone (("God's own country" - AKA Australia). My roundabout route (to save money) meant regional jets, narrowbodies, a 747 in First (maybe my Red Oxx helped me get the seat courtesy op up?), an Airbus A380 in Business, more regional jets - total 7 flights, 5 airports, two cities overnighted, sprinkled liberally with some buses and taxis, packed with everything needed for a week's travel from hot summer US to cool winter and subtropics, plus one small "personal item".

The Sky Train fit even in the regional jets' (Embraer RJ145 and Bombardier CRJ700) skinny overhead compartment! The rubberized strap never slipped and was comfy on the shoulder, and easily removable for the day I may have to valet check the bag. The covered multiple handles allowed easy handling and positioning in aircraft overheads.

The pack straps were invaluable for the Sydney domestic - international terminals (across the airport from each other!) and city treks, as well as LAX Customs to departure domestic terminal.

Carrying the Sky Train allowed me to save amazing time - neither LAX nor SYD required waiting for baggage delivery and being pushed into lengthy Customs queues due to the wait, nor other queues to recheck baggage onward. 30 - 60 minutes saved!

Big pluses: "Clamshell" opening to extract jacket or jumper / sweater for climate changes; comfort and flexibility; durable materials and snap links; not hading a hard-sided case for baggage sizers. Qantas agents overlooking the "small carry-on" - though they only permit 7 kg / 15 lbs, my bag weighed 9.8 kg / 22 lbs, they never made a move to get me to check it in and it fit the sizers.

Negatives: Absolutely none I can figure - and I previously have flown with a rollaboard and have, let's say well over a half century, of worldwide travel. Great job, Red Oxx!

 
 Very good bag
By Anonymous, Germany, July 22, 2010

Very well designed, strong bag. It can take a lot of stuff although not very big .

I also own a MEI and Patagonia bag of the same size category but I think I will now use the Red Oxx as my regular travel bag.

Only "problem" for European buyers is the import tax which was around EUR 100! (outrageous!) in my case and you just cannot argue with the customs guys! Other than that I am happy with the buy.
 
 Fantastic
By Anonymous, Los Angeles, CA, July 22, 2010

The bag is fantastic. You can immediately tell how well designed it is and how good the material is. It feels very sturdy, and I feel like this bag can handle a lot of milage. I'm about to go on a three week eurotrip and this bag is enough for all my clothing. True, I am packing relatively light, but 3 weeks is a long time, and this bag fits all the necessities. Awesome bag. Great buy!
 
 Amazing....
By Jim, Portland, OR, July 8, 2010

I'm amazed. The first use was a 4-day trip for my wife. EVERYTHING she needed fit into this bag. I still can't believe it...neither can she. Next up? Two weeks in France.
 
 my son stole my bag
By Dotty, Cincinnati, Ohio, June 30, 2010

I was immediately impressed with how well-constructed this bag is. I was looking forward to taking it on my 2-week trip to Europe when my son claimed DIBS on it for the same trip. I'm hoping to get it back from him some day...
 
 Great bag
By Patricia , Indiana, June 12, 2010

I have found this to be the perfect sized bag. I usually take a long weekend a couple times a year to visit my sister in another city (by car). The main compartment tie-down keep everything in place. I have not tried to fly with this yet. I liked my first one so well, I just bought one for my husband.
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, Dallas, TX, June 10, 2010

Bag is extremely well constructed and utilitarian. The backpack strap option is easy to utilize and I found the straps quite comfortable. The only room for improvement I would suggest: Compression straps on the outside of the bag. On recent travel, even though my bag was not overpacked (weighing only 11 lbs packed), I couldn't keep the contents of the secondary pocket from settling at the bottom of the bag.

The clothing compartment has compression straps and kept the clothes in place and therefore evenly spaced in the compartment. In my secondary pocket, I had light, but somewhat bulky items, which made the bag fairly wide at the bottom, where the items settled. As a small female, I think this made me a target at the airport. The bag looks oversized on me, even though it is not. At the gate, I had to slide the bag into one of the baggage size boxes, and it didn't fit because it was too wide.

The dimensions were well below the 45" overall, but apparently the bag still has to fit in the sizing bin, which means a maximum of 9" wide. Airline personnel would not let me maneuver the bag around to get it to fit (I understand this is a new trend--no pushing the bag down). I remedied the situation by pulling out a collapsible sack I was carrying in the outside pocket and off-loaded some items into the sack (I wasn't carrying a purse, so the collapsible sack became my "personal item"). While I avoided having to check the bag, this was somewhat stressful and counter to the ease I want in carrying one bag.

BTW, my bag easily fit underneath the seat in front of me, and my travel companion was not asked to place his carry-on in the sizing bin and his bag was much larger than mine. So, I think this issue is probably particular to smaller people, but it would be nice to have a method for keeping items in the secondary pocket evenly distributed so the width is not bulked up.
 
 Great bag!
By Naomi, Redondo Beach, CA, May 30, 2010

I have several Red Oxx bags, including the Air Boss and the Sky Train. I travel quite a bit for my work as an attorney, and I must be presentable. I typically pack suits and business casual clothing for a week. I find I can hold more in the Air Boss, but the Sky Train is good when I plan on walking any distance with my luggage. I recently took at trip in a CRJ 700 on United, and I had no problem fitting my Sky Train in the overhead. It would have also fit under the seat in front of me, but I was sitting in the front row where there was no underseat storage. As many others have said, the Sky Train holds an incredible amount of stuff, and I have no concerns about damage to the ST or its contents. The colors are fantastic, and the customer service is the best! Thank you, Red Oxx!
 
 Great Bag!
By Gudrun, Vienna, Austria, May 27, 2010

First compliment: I received the bag 6 days after I had ordered it - great service!

Second: It really holds a lot of stuff - used it for an overnight train trip to Budapest with a friend (and her trolley) and I was happy about the backpack straps - there are a lot of stairs and very few escalators in Budapest! Last week I had to go to Hamburg by plane: the skytrain was the perfect companion as a hand luggage bag and sturdy enough to survive the rough treatment of the baggage handlers of the airport on the flight back. I didn`t even fill both compartments - the big one was sufficient (I used a packing cube and made "garment rolls"). I took: 2 pair of jeans, shoes, 6 polo shirts, underwear, toiletries, a book, an ipod + cables, a huge folder with 200 pages educational stuff..everything fit in the bag nicely and was easy to carry.

The only drawback: the crazy sum of taxes I had to pay - over 80 Euros :-( . I keep thinking about buying another bag but as long as there is no European subsiduary this will have to wait until I or a friend make a trip to Montana and buy it there directly.
 
 Best Bag Ever!
By GaylM, Canada, May 20, 2010

I bought this bag last year and it has never joined my other bags in the basement because it's too busy being reused time and again.

I even managed to make it my only my only bag for up to 4 weeks of travelling this spring. Unfortunately, I still have to usually take a computer bag for my other 'stuff'. But on my latest trip of 4 days I even managed to fit the 15" laptop & my 'Lil Roy bag packed with gadgets into it, such that I could easily take them out for security. Loved it!

Granted, using this bag can take some discipline in learning how to pack lightly but it's fun discovering new ways of travelling with less (who knew I'd learn to love travel underwear so much?). And it can help keep your souvenir budget in check because there's not a lot of extra room to pack it (still not sure if that's a pro or con for this bag - *grin*).

Last but not least, there's the 'bag envy' I get from people when they find out this is all I am taking on my trip...just how much I have fit in the bag...how long I'm going for...what a great color it is (olive)...quality material, zippers & metal bits...and the way people eye my bag - I know they wish they had one.
 
 No more checking bags!
By Sandy, Pennsylvania, April 29, 2010

Recently bought an Air Train and used on a 4-day trip. I am a 54 year old woman who was concerned about giving up my wheeled luggage when connecting flights necessitated crossing large airports. The design of the air train allowed me to carry the Air Train on one shoulder and the Gator on the other, while freeing my hands for my coffee, open doors or carry a book. Even packed full, it fit in the Southwest luggage sizing frame. I did use the backpack feature when walking from the gate all the way to the car since I had heavy binders and packed it unusually full after a conference. I am surprisingly happy with the abillity to fit everything in, the excellent design and quality of the bag. I did not miss my wheels as I thought I might and thrilled to be able to take what I want yet not check luggage. I dont recommend for anyone with shoulder or elbow issues. Otherwise it is a great purchase and very versitile. The Bordeaux is a great and classy color.
 
 Excellent quality
By Cindy O., Brookings, SD, March 26, 2010

I got the bag shortly before my trip to Italy and I packed too much into it starting out. Even with it stuffed full, it fit into the overhead compartment and was easy to handle on buses and trains. I checked it flying back and the bag held up well. I like that the bag opens fully for packing and unpacking and also that when you set it upright, you can just zip open the top and stuff more things into it. One drawback is that it could be lighter if it had plastic instead of metal for the clips and rings. I realize it's made that way for durability, but my husband has a bag he's used for years with plastic and that has held up remarkably well. Unfortunately, that bag isn't made anymore. I also left the shoulder strap at home in order to lighten the bag. For future trips, I'm going to resist the temptation to take so many clothes -- just because the bag will hold more, doesn't mean I need more!
 
 Superb quality bag
By Sally M, Racine, Wisconsin, March 23, 2010

Combining Sky Train and Gator bag reviews in both places:

I purchased the Sky Train and Gator Bag after months of reading reviews on this website. I've just returned from a 10-day guided tour of Italy where I put them to the test. I took only these two bags. It's astounding how much (too much) that I could stuff into the Sky Train. Not an atom of space left for purchases. I would advise against packing them this full. They are superb quality bags that got bashed around a lot. I had planned to carry it all on my back, but at the last minute checked the Sky Train. If I were younger, I probably could have managed it, but as a 69-year-old , 5'2", 120 pound gal, it was too much weight for me to use the backpack straps. The type of tour we were on was one of those whirlwind, different-hotel-every-night, bags unpacked and repacked every night which became tedious.

Here's what I packed: 3 pairs of jeans, a sweatshirt hoodie, rain slicker jacket, hat, 1 blouse, 2 cardigans, 1 turtleneck sweater, two knit tops, seven T-shirts, 1 vest, 6 jockey camisoles, 1 bra, 10 pairs of panties, 5 pairs of socks, 2 pairs of shoes, 1 pair of flip flops, 2 inflatable hangers, extra plastic bags, envelopes and assorted flat things in the outer long pocket. I bundle-packed, using Magellan's 3 packing cubes as the core, which worked wonderfully for t-shirts and underwear. Everything else (cosmetics. Medications, paperwork, passport, camera, lumbar support cushion, umbrella, 2 pairs of glasses, 1 pair sunglasses, candy, phrasebook, scarves, iTouch, shower cap, Kleenex, expandable shopping bags, soap for clothes washing, and more) all went into the gator.

The gator is a handsome bag, but I found it difficult to get into and look for items-possibly due to its stiffness. It's amazing how much you can put into it. The outside zipper pocket is very tight and not easily accessed. The two outside flap pockets are excellent and useful. In the future, I'll take these bags on shorter trips with fewer items, which will render them easier to use. All in all, the quality of these two bags is definitely as advertised. I love the zippers! They still look brand new.
 
 The one and only
By Max S, Michigan, March 18, 2010

I have the SkyTrain bag from Red Oxx which is the one and only bag I have been using for 99% of my travel over the past 2-3 years, regardless of duration, distance, or occasion (from day-trips to week-long business and family trips). It can be carried by a handle on the side, worn with a single strap over a shoulder, or with the comfortable hide-away straps (which I prefer when wearing a suit). I pack it according to the folding instructions found on www.onebag.com. Despite the constant use, it looks and feels like it did on Day 1. 

If I could make one recommendation, it would be to eliminate the zippered flap pocket in the middle compartment - it just gets in the way. I could see replacing it by a simple (vertically oriented) thin pocket for laptop / files, but even that isn't necessary. (Such a simple thin pocket exists in the main compartment of the Ruck Sack (which I also own), and I find it extremely useful.)
 
 Most Functional Bag
By Anonymous, Mississippi, March 9, 2010

The Sky Train was purchased to replace my beloved Patagonia MLC (the original one, made in the USA, not the "new improved MLC" made off shore in a different country every year). The Sky Train is slightly smaller than the MLC, however a recent 4 day trip convinced me it is a far superior product to the MLC.

I am a big fan of Eagle Creek folders and cubes, and the Sky Train will accommodate the 18" folder w/ease. On this trip the Sky Train was packed with two pair pants, three dress shirts, two sweaters, two pair socks, two pair underwear in the 18" folder; one pair pants, one pair underwear, two tee shirts, one windshirt, one pair gloves, one neck gaiter in a Eagle Creek half cube; one pair dress shoes and belt and toiletry items in the main compartment. A MacBook Pro w/accessories went into the smaller compartment. There was a minimum amount of room left over, but realistically not much more could have been put into the Sky Train.

The backpack straps are functional for sprinting to and from the airport gates, however one must remember that this is not a backpack, and my feeling is that you can overpack the Sky Train to the point that carrying it on your back for more than a short distance will result in an uncomfortable carry in a short time.

The carrying handles are both functional and surprisingly comfortable. Only time will tell if they will "fade" or discolor, but the material appears to be such that it will last as long as the bag.

In my middle age I have become a big fan of buying American made products. Most of the time you pay more, but most of the time you get a much better product, and the Red Oxx products are no exception. The materials and craftsmanship in this bag guarantee that it will be with me for many years.

My wife still has her original MLC which is/was made to the maximum carry-on dimensions. The Sky Train will not carry everything the MLC will, BUT the Sky Train WILL fit into the overhead bins much easier than the MLC.

The is a very good product that I would recommend to anyone who wants a functional carry-on bag.

The Sky Train was given a 4 Star instead of a 5 Star because I believe a 5 Star implies perfection; otherwise it would have the 5 Star. There is always room for some improvement, but right now I just can't think of what it is. You will not be sorry if you buy the Sky Train.

----------Red Oxx replies: thanks so much for the tips. Have you tried a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Comes in 12 vibrant colors to mix and match. Your Sky Train will thank you.
 
 First Impressions
By Brix, Nomadic, February 28, 2010

Much heavier than i thought it would be, and after seeing other bags torn on latches and other hardware, it was a pleasant note. I have used it once so far, and have not figured how i will configure my gear in it, The Bag is part of a three bag system that will be used every day, i live on the road all year. My luggage is my home. I plan on taking it to India, and found it will handily carry my 17 inch snake boots in it without distortion. My computer fits in the top compartment, with accessories, and for dashing through airports the back straps are fine. THANK YOU for not putting sternum straps or a waist strap on it. If I want those I can buy some after market ones and modify it myself. It shows you really have thought about what is necessary and what is not. Someone mentioned a key strap would be nice, I just took the dog tag that came with the bag and threaded it through the zipper pull on the little inner pouch.
 
 favorite bag
By Rick Sheets, , February 17, 2010

Sorry for delaying my review, I've been traveling with my new favorite bag.

I love the ruggedness of my Sky Train. It takes what I give it and asks for more. I feel, however, there are two areas that could use some improvement.

First, the compression straps are generous in length but seem too far apart. When I use bundle-packing, the bundle isn't long enough to be secured by both straps. I have to compromise and place the bundle in the middle, leaving space at the top and bottom of the bag. Perhaps three

evenly-space straps would provide more flexibility. Maybe changing the buckle design to allow for crossing of the straps if needed. I can avoid the issue with Packing Folders, which fit quite snugly between the straps, but I like options.

Inclusion of backpack straps is the main reason I chose the Sky Train over the Air Boss. Whether hoofing from Concourse A to Terminal Z or

hiking 12 blocks to the train station, they are a God-send. Unlike others, I find neither the strap size nor lack of sternum strap a hindrance. But when the bag is fully packed, deploying and stowing the straps can be frustrating. I think a three-side zippered flap, like the main compartments, would allow for easier and quicker conversions. The straps would pull through reinforced slots above the zipper.

Thank you for enduring my mad alchemy. Keep up the good work.

Sincerely,

Rick Sheets
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 Next > 
Specifications

Sky Train Specs Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Soft Unisuede padded retractable "hidden" backpack straps
  • Dual claw-style 360-degree backpack strap swivel clips
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Detachable adjustable sternum chest strap
  • Dual "Euro" clear vinyl carry handles (top and side)
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior back panel
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • 1"W Zipper flaps on 2 main and strap compartments
  • Thread: Proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 20"L x 9"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 50.8cm L x 22.7cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,340 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 38 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.81 Kilos

Sky Train Convertible Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Sky Train carry-on legal?
Yes, the Sky Train is designed to be carry-on legal on continental flights.
 
What's the best way to pack the Sky Train?
We recommend using our Packing Cubes. They're designed to work with the dimensions of the Sky Train. You can build your own personal custom packing cube kit. Not into cubes? Try the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the Sky Train Packing Diagram.
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise and has two packing compartments whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book with three compartments and is carried with the Claw shoulder strap. The Sky Train was also developed with smaller stature travelers in mind.
 
Will the Sky Train Carry-on fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Sky Train under the seat is not recommended.

Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit?
Why bother with cheap imported packing cubes when you can build your own Red Oxx Packing Cubes Custom Kit designed to work in conjunction with your Sky Trian. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit or makeup organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.

How many pounds will the Sky Train weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Sky Train?
Most folks can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to 10 days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the back compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to secure your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in either compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag. Or try a Nomad or Meerkat Packing Tube.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Sky Train Hybrid bag has two generous internal compartments and one small internal zippered pocket.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Why doesn't the Sky Train come with a waist strap?
The bag was not designed to operate with a waist strap. However, you can use a pair of Luggage Compression Straps to cinch down the bag from the outside. Wrap one straps around the top, about 4-6 inches down, and the second strap further down, about 4-6 inches from the bottom. The top strap, if cinched tighter than the bottom strap, will pull the pack closer to your upper body, relieving excessive weight from the pack on your hips. Another option is to take a belt, any belt will do, and thread it through the holes in the smuggler's pocket at the base of the bag where the backpack straps attach to the bag. While not a very comfortable way to travel, using a belt this way can also relieve some weight off the hips. The best solution however, is to focus on traveling light and not over pack your Sky Train. Use the internal cinch straps to hold your belongings in place and minimize wrinkles.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 

Take me to the top