Skip Navigation LinksAirborne-Carry-on-Ruck-Sack-C-Ruck

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm a history lesson carried on your back.”
Red Oxx Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack - shown in Olive. Chose from 12 Colors.

Airborne Carry-on Ruck Sack (C-Ruck) $255.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Paratrooper Tough!

C-Ruck: the do-it-all carry-on legal rucksack.

WHY CARRY A RUCKSACK?
Rucksacks were used by WWII paratroopers. Comfortably molded to their backs they did not add hassles to their already perilous days. Our modern version of the rucksack works just as well--without the added weight and bulk of an internal frame.

Called the "C-Ruck" for carry-on travel use, the Volara foam padded backing on the main compartment cushions your back. The deep and wide main compartment will hold more than enough belongings for a dawn to dark hike.

This rugged rucksack features an interior slip pocket that will safely stow your CamelBak, laptop notebook computer, or tablet. Underneath the C-Ruck pack, we've added Fastex straps to hold your jacket in the middle of your day hike, or your yoga mat when you're heading off to class.

EASY ON, EASY OFF.
No more squirming for the straps--soft UniSuede articulating shoulder straps provide surprising all-day comfort, rotating freely at the base of the shoulder. Far stronger than stitching into the bag. The rings provide a keen workable solution to the weakest part of a backpack, the shoulder strap seams, and are much stronger than stitching into the bag.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
Loaded with plenty of daisy chain loops on both the ruck itself and both straps, you'll never be short for hanging keys, flashlights, iPods, smartphones and anything else you may need quick access to.

Double drawstring top closures and handy external front and side zippered pockets add almost another 1,000 cubic inches of carrying capacity making it easy to organize your belongings. All external pockets feature our tough #10 YKK zippers that conveniently zip halfway down the pocket sides so you can dig deep if you need to. These tall pockets are also the perfect size for wine, spirit or soda bottles (or a package of a dozen eggs) in case you plan to pack for a picnic.

A RUCKSACK BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around rucksacks that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a rucksack, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the ruck, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BOUND INSIDE / BOUND OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive dime a dozen rucksacks that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the shoulder straps attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport, out on the trail or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your rucksack break down?

TESTED TOUGH.
Use the C-Ruck as your vehicle bug-out bag loaded for bear and ready to ramble. Since this is a fairly large knapsack, smaller framed folks might try the Roadster Mini Ruck.

Tested across the European theater by our Red Oxx Roughneck Bag Testing Crew, the C-Ruck knapsack loaded on and off trains and intercontinental flights without a hitch (and flagged a few taxis along the way). Packing a week's worth of clothes left room for souvenirs and the external pockets kept our goods organized.

BUY IT ONCE, BUY IT FOR LIFE.
Because Red Oxx backs our bags with our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty, you won't feel guilty about filling up your local landfill with cheap imported junk every season. Buy it once, own it forever, and pass it on. Join the "pack" and buy a military inspired, combat-tough rucksack and stand out from the ordinary backpack crowd.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your Airborne C-Ruck order now to get your rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

If you're a railroader, we recommend our larger ballistic nylon Rail King Rucksack.

Exterior Dimensions: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: 1,428 cubic inches (2,400 including external raised pockets).
Weight: 3.7 pounds.

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual raised side zippered pockets: 12"H x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior dual raised side zippered flat slip pockets: 7"W x 6.5"H
  • Exterior raised front pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior zippered flat slip flap pocket: 10.5"W x 9"H
  • Interior slip pocket: 14.5"H x 11.5"W

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quartly email newsletter. Your email address is always secure.

Every great rucksack needs cool luggage accessories.

Rave Reviews from the Pros: About.com's Go Europe travel advisory gives the C-Ruck Rucksack a smashing 5 stars. Check out his Rucksack review.

Rucksack Trivia:
Rucksack is German for Backpack. Der Rücken (Ruck) refers to the back part of the body and translates as "to move". Sack means "pack". To move a pack. Surprising similarities exist in other European languages such as Rucksack is Rygsæk in Danish, Rugzak in Dutch, Ryggsäck in Swedish, Ryggsekk in Norwegian, and Rugsak in South Afrikaans. A Rucksack (or Ruck Sack) is also commonly called a Haversack, Knapsack or Packsack. We call it the Airborne C-ruck because it's airline carry-on legal.

Write a Review

4.85 Average Rating
 (89 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 C-Ruck Does it all
By Hank Blake, Woodstock, GA, March 31, 2011

I bought the C-Ruck for daily and overnight use. I had been using a Swiss Army computer backpack but it did not fit the bill for overnight travel. I always had to carry an additional bag.

The C-Ruck fit the bill, it carries all my daily stuff (computer ,etc.) and still has plenty of room left. The exterior pockets are great! They hold all my small stuff where I can easily find and get to it. With so many exterior pockets I can organize my small stuff and group them for easy and quick to find access.

The bag is sturdy and tough, well made with heavy duty grommets for the sack draw strings. The zippers are strong and open and close like a real closure, you know when you've opened and closed them.

I'm taking a trip to the Dominican Republic with my church this summer and am looking forward to taking my C-Ruck. I know it can hold all my gear for a week. The bag does not look huge but it seems to swallow up everything I put into it.

I also own a Sky Boss, and figured when I was looking for a versatile backpack that if the C-Ruck was built anything like my Sky Boss that it should hold up. I was not disappointed!

If your looking for a versatile daily pack that can hold all your gear plus some, then the C-Ruck is your bag.

I'll write back when I get back from DR and tell how it did for week long trip through the countryside.
 
 =)
By Anonymous, , February 19, 2011

I'm in love with these beautiful bags. Top marks RedOxx. 5 stars!
 
 The Bag!
By Michael Perry, San Francisco, February 17, 2011

What can I say that has not been said about this bag? I own a whole fleet of RedOxx gear yet this one does it all for me. Weekend trips? Pack it up with the large packing containers. No checkin luggage ever. Trips around for work? Its all good. I did buy Bihn vertical brain thing for pens and a few small bags to stick things into. The only less than stellar comment is that the large pockets really don't provide adequate organization for smaller items and you need to invest in some kind of protective bag that will fit inside.

Traveling though is a piece of cake. I pack this with laptop, cables, and clothing. It stows in the overhead. Then I take my trusty gator with kindle, archos music player, ear buds.

I'm down to a significant few things to take and I like it.

Cannot say more. Planning a weekend getaway for a conference in Los Angeles.

Thanks RedOxx! Consider including some kind of vertical organizer in the future for pens, papers, etc.
 
 Nice, Not Great
By WS Lee, Toronto, January 27, 2011

So, after a trip where my twenty-year old backpack was soaked all the way through I decided that it was time for a replacement. I wanted something that could hold my MBP and yet not look like a notebook bag and can be used for other purposes such as groceries, carry-on, day-to-day usage, etc. Basically a versatile, all-around bag that I didn't have to worry about. Hey, my last bag lasted 20+ years and I didn't see any reason why the next one shouldn't either.

After doing a lot of online and offline research and dithering about I finally decided to order the C-ruck. Ordering was dead easy and it arrived right on time.

Within a week, it was on its way with me for a short jaunt to Jakarta. How did it perform? The good news first, it's capacious - it looks big but it fits exactly the carry-n frame. The internal sleeve fits my MBP perfectly and I don't have any worries there about the protection given by the C-ruck. And, yes, it did look as classy as I had hoped it would - sometimes you can't really tell these things unless you have the item right in front of you.

The bad news? It's a heavy bag. The specs says it's over 3 lbs and it's easy to dismiss that until you have it in hand and realize how much that will cut into your carry-on allowance. The weight is also a factor in that this is a "hot" bag, meaning that the weight of the bag, the weight of your items along with the padding in the back may have you overheating pretty quickly. It's not a problem if you're in temperate climes but it can be unpleasant if you're slogging through a tropical city such as Jkt. The straps are also very long and I suspect that the bag is sized for someone who is closer to 6 ft than my 5'8". I'll probably get them cut shorter and restitched when I get the chance.

So, do I feel that I am getting value for my money? A qualified yes. It's a well-built, over-engineered (this is a good point!) bag that looks great and will do all that I want it to do. Unfortunately, there are a couple of niggling points that were not mentioned in other reviews and holds me back from giving it 5 stars.

If I had known about those niggling points it would have made me dither a lot longer than two months!

P.S. I had sent an email asking about sizing and it was suggested that I purchase the mini-ruck but that item would not hold my MBP in its sleeve.
 
 Top Notch
By TL, PA, November 2, 2010

I own lots of Red Oxx bags, including the Roadster Mini Ruck. I suspected a time would come that I needed a bigger ruck, although the Roadster is great for day trips, etc. With two great chances to test this bag out, Red Oxx quickly got me my order for the C-Ruck in Safari. Talk about two opposing uses, the first was a family trip to Disney World. It hauled my usual air travel gear (netbook, chargers and adapters, Bose headphones) plus a bunch of kid gear (juice boxes, snacks, diapers & wipes, change of clothes, toys, books). This would have been too much for the Roadster, AND is still fit under the seat in front of me. Then the next week I loaded it up with 40 pounds of ammo and other gear for a big 3-gun match. I was still comfortable, thanks to the cushioned straps and the quick-adjust metal buckles. It served well as a rifle rest shooting prone, too! The C-Ruck didn't even flinch under all the weight and being moved around all day. The choice between the Roadster and C-Ruck is not an easy one, so I'm happy I now have both.
 
 Easy Company would have LOVED this!
By Roger J, Damascus Syria, October 15, 2010

To continue my re-reviews of all my Redoxx purchases along with suggestions:

I have set aside my CPA Safari Briefcase in favour of my Olive C-Ruck.

At 63, I have some back issues from a non-regretted life of sports activities. For a year I've been working standing up at my project office desk (average 7 hours/day) and at my apartment desk ( 1- 2 hours per day).

I find a rucksac with twin straps better than over-the-one-shoulder carry for the main/heavier gear.

The C-Ruck has performed admirably. I can still carry other gear, which includes a 19" external monitor in its 'case' packaging 'case' and every other day my Market Tote with over 10kg of water and/or sodas or beers (weekends only!).

The main compartment holds one helluva lot, those side pockets also.

I've just ordered three Nomad bags, one of which will have my portable scanner which should fit into a side pocket on the C-Ruck, if not, then in the main pocket.

Suggestions: C-Ruck = move top zipperred compartment UNDER/INSIDE flap, have slots on top flap or behind side pockets for folded paper eg boarding passes (like on CPA and Gator external pockets).

Rigger Wallet, which I don't yet own: strong loop strap so that wallet can never fall out of one's pocket - I have a Lafuna wallet like this, VERY handy.

NEW PRODUCT? Packing cube to handle papers and files to protect/corral them when inside other bags.
 
 wonderful product!
By hg, north america, September 26, 2010

great product - sturdy, a very practical size, both for university and light traveling. i will be definitely coming back!
 
 Fantastic Rucksack
By Eric_R, Northern California, September 2, 2010

This is a great rucksack.

At first blush, it seemed a bit large for my needs, I'd used a "NATO style rucksack" ( http://www.fatiguesarmynavy.com/store/item/FA1940/NATO_Style_Rucksack__Military_Backpacks_ ) for years before finding this one and was nonplussed by how large the C-Ruck really was. As much as I've always needed to increase the luggage carrying capacity of my motorcycle or bicycle has been, it seemed like the C-Ruck was *so* much larger than what I needed on a day-to-day basis that I would have to trade it in for the Mini Ruck.

Then I discovered that clipping the top flap to the bottom straps cuts the size of the Ruck in half. It's still the amazingly large(yet carry-on sized) bag it is, but not "oversized" for a normally light load. I now have backpack-able luggage for all seasons and reasons AND as noted by the preceding reviews, luggage that just may last the rest of my life.

Thank you RedOxx. I wish you built more of the things I need in life.
 
 Very Satisfied
By Mark, Rhinebeck, NY, August 19, 2010

This bag is extremely well made and can hold more than an average back will be able to carry. I have packed a picnic for six people with two bottles of wine (the side pockets hold a bottle of wine so perfectly, I'm thinking the designers must have been sipping a Cabernet at work)) and still had plenty of room for a blanket and two towels. Although I prefer the Sky Train for packing my clothes for dressier trips, I will probably use this bag for beach trips other casual outings. It holds more than enough for a week long trip. I hate writing a review where I can't have at least one complaint, but I can't find any with this great bag.
 
 The Perfect Pack
By Wes, Broken Arrow, OK, August 15, 2010

I bought this bag specifically for a trip to Mexico. I carried it through airports, on an excursion to Chichen Itza to see the ruins, on an ATV trip, and through the streets of Playa Del Carmen wearing it for hours at a time. I'm a large man with broad shoulders and i found the ring attached shoulder straps to be very comfortable. It's easy to get on and off and it holds a ton of gear. I personally packed: one change of clothes, Professional SLR camera with multiple lenses, EDC gear, first aid supplies, travel books and information, hat, and sunglasses and still had more room for more. It was the perfect size carry on bag for the plane as well.
 
 Awesome Bag!
By Anonymous, Charlotte, NC, August 3, 2010

I got this ruck after a lot of research for a high quality multi-use bag, after finally swearing off of checking bagage. This bag is great. I am a big guy (6'3") and the pack fits well and holds enough for a week long stay at the beach, it should be perfect for my upcoming series of weekend trips by air, without parting with my bags.
 
 Superior Pack
By Scott, Colorado, July 29, 2010

Purchased this pack about a month ago for the Colorado camping season and couldn't be more pleased with it. I have owned a Sky Train for several years so I'm familiar with the quality and craftsmanship of Red Oxx products.

The Price is high but the fact is that these products will last a lifetime. It's nice to see an american company with the ethics to make a product with such durability and longevity.

The specs rate this pack as 2,400 cubic inches but the genius in the design allows it to hold much more. It's safe to say that this bag can easily swallow 3,000ci of stuff thanks to the double top drawstrings and huge top flap.

The only complaint I have about the C-Ruck is that the front pocket seems small given the size of the bag. I would like to see it extend across the entire width of the bag to take better advantage of potential space available. This is a minor issue and really doesn't impact the overall appeal of this pack.

Highly recommend this pack for anyone looking to invest in a lifetime product.
 
 Ruck sack
By Stan, Illinois, April 24, 2010

This is truly a well made, high quality, back pack. The materials and construction are top notch. The main compartment is cavernous and the side pockets are much bigger than I expected. I like to travel with my laptop and a bunch of camera gear. This pack takes all of that and more - much more. I just got back from a weeklong driving vacation and this pack was very handy. I'm looking forward to using it as my carry on bag later this year when we fly to Europe.
 
 Excellent Safari Gear
By Bob, Oklahoma City, April 13, 2010

Just got back from a 10 day safari in South Africa. The C-Ruck performed flawlessly. It is rugged, well thought-out, and the attention to detail is excellent! It will be a lifelong traveling companion from now on.
 
 ruck sack
By arlen tackett, wisconsin, March 25, 2010

i bought this ruck sack about 4 years ago....

the best ruck sack i have ever owned....

and i have had them all since the 60`s.....

and this one from red oxx by far is the best....
 
 A College Student's Opinion
By Ryan W, Nebraska, February 7, 2010

About a Year ago I received this backpack as a gift from my grandparents. My old jansport had served me well for two years, but it had rips and tears in it. It was time to retire the old gal.

In its stead the C-Ruck has done fabulously. The one thing that has bothered me in backpacks is having too much separation in the main compartment. Even with two main zippered compartments it felt as if i never had enough space. With the Rucksack design it seems that this problem has been solved, and it is really easy to find everything that i need to find for class. (although this may just be my personal preference for a ruck over a traditional backpack). The laptop sleeve has proved useful. I store my 15.4" screen laptop in it, albeit I also have it nestled in a neoprene sleeve to protect it a bit farther. The other great thing about this bag is when I travel to home over the weekends it holds all of my clothes and books in one bag, then I throw it in the back of the truck and head home. This brings me to build quality. The quality of the backpack's construction is one thing that has continually astounded me. I think i could tow this behind me on the highway filled with sand and it might have a few frayed threads; it is tough as nails. The one gripe I have with it, is that because I am a larger guy (6'8" 240 lb) and I often carry a heavy pac k for school (about 30-40 pounds average) the straps seem to be a little on the narrow side. If I get them perfectly balanced it is not too much of a hassle, but I constantly lose that perfect balance by accidentally stepping on a strap and picking up the bag at the same time. So wider straps would be nice, but its not a huge necessity. All in all, this is a wonderful bag and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a backpack, including college bound students. It is the last one you will ever have to buy.
 
 An Excellent Pack
By David, Massachusetts, November 26, 2009

I'm a professor and a forensic consultant. My forensic work takes me far afield, very frequently, so I am constantly running from my university to the airport, and then back. Over the years, I have learned to pack light. Very light. I'm also a backpacker, so I began looking for backpack that I could use as my single piece of luggage for trips of 2 to 5 days. A pack that would also fit in the overhead compartment of the airplanes I fly nearly every week. I looked at packs that were rugged but too small; rugged but way too heavy; big enough but not rugged enough. Then I found my way to the Red Oxx web site and began staring at this pack. I enlarged the photographs and kept staring. I thought, this might be it. So I ordered one and began using it immediately. After less than 2 months I have taken this pack on 7 trips, including using it on 2 day hikes in the Grand Canyon. It is a superb pack. It is built like a tank but because of its materials it is not overly heavy. It is intelligently designed -- the side and front pockets are large but not so large that they imbalance the pack. The main compartment is huge (to my eyes). I routinely pack into it my laptop, files, toiletries, and clothing for up to 5 days. My electronics and other gear go into those side pockets. The upshot is that I now run from the university to the airport, and from gate to gate in airports, with a single piece of luggage, and its on my back, leaving my hands free. And for any other light packing fanatics out there, I can report that a fully loaded C-Ruck will fit (just) in the overhead compartment of those awful but ubiquitous Canadair regional jets (the 200 series). My knees won't fit between the seats, but the C-Ruck will fit overhead.

To sum up: this is a great pack, and I'm delighted that it is being built here in the U.S. To Red Oxx, I implore you: keep your manufacturing here. If you have to raise your prices to do so, fine; just tell us your reasons. I for one will understand. Thanks.
 
 Great for short business trips
By Lee Hawley, Wayne, New Jersey, November 24, 2009

I travel about 50% for my job, mostly on Southwest Airlines (great airline, by the way). After using the Carry On Ruck Sack for a year now, I can report that my experience has been excellent. It can easily hold two or three days of clothes in the main compartment plus most anything else you need in the pockets. If it is full, it still readily fits into an overhead (even on commuter jets). If it is not full, it can go under the seat. It has held up without any damage so far. The fact that it is a backpack makes it efficient as there is one less thing that you have to carry. Altogether, I highly recommend this product from using it on at least 20 trips this year. The only thing I would suggest improving is the little lock thing on the drawstring on the top of the bag.
 
 ANOTHER VISIT, ANOTHER BAG
By Roger J, Hereford UK (sometimes), July 11, 2009

As mentioned in earlier reviews, I sometimes pass through the US en route to assignments in Central America, Caribbean etc. On the previous two visits in 2007 and 2009, I bought a Skytrain, then a CPA, Gator and two Lil Roy bags (the two small bags corral various items inside the CPA).I've been very impressed with these, so why did I now buy on my current trip to Nicaragua an Airborne backpack (Olive Green)?As I travel a lot to developing countries where spares and other items are not readily available, I have to take enough in my carry-on bags to enable me to start my work if my check-in case (hard shell Samsonite) goes missing. So my carry-on bags are quite heavy with computers (yes, I carry a small one as a spare!), spare power adapters, external HDD, software CDs/DVDs, portable scanner, assignment and travel documents, notebook (Moleskine medium) etc, plus spare glasses, medication and so on.As I'm in my early sixties, a bit overweight, but in reasonable shape, shoulder bags are aggravating my shoulder joints etc, a reminder of very active sports when younger eg rugby, squash. I even use a collapsible trolley for those endless walks through airports.So I wanted a backpack to distribute the load evenly, but the Skytrain is too big and without easy access pockets on the outside.I took delivery of my new Airborne backpack (along with another Gator for my wife so she doesn't use mine, and two Tote bags, one for me, one for her) this week in Fort Lauderdale after the usual excellent ordering and delivery service from Redoxx (thanks, Amanda and the rest of the team in Billings!).After a few days of use - the flight from Miami to Managua included - I am as satisfied as ever. I am still experimenting with packing efficiency, but the external pockets are the clincher for me as they extend the capacity over the CPA. The front pocket is great for spare glasses, sunglasses, journey medication etc, while those two voluminous side pockets carry all sorts of stuff that I need. The top flap zipped compartment is ideal for travel documents. Although I haven't used the bottom straps yet (I've tied the ends together to keep them out of the way), I can see what a boon they'll be come colder weather.Although the bag does not have a padded waist strap like most backpacks, I have been pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the padded should straps and the way the weight is distributed; it certainly helps to have my Toshiba computer in the internal sleeve up against the back of the bag. My new modus operandi for travel on long-haul flights is:(1) Airborne: Toshiba computer and associated gear (most in Lil Roys), Aviator notebook stand (strips to three pieces), some spare clothes ("A fool and his underpants are soon parted"), essential book(s), notebook, stationery box, medication for entire time away, small torch, spare glasses, Tote bag (for shopping and excess baggage for airport purchases) but no Leatherman or Swiss Army knife (inside shoes in check-in case). In colder weather, my Domke jacket will be rolled up in its own bag and strapped underneath. (2) Gator:Olympus SP 550UZ digital camera (in its own bag), Panasonic SDR S26 videocam (lightweight, in protective case), Moleskine notebook, flight medication, book, reading glasses and sunglasses. Later, I may get a Netbook computer to use in flights, much easier in Cattle Class and this should fit in the Gator.My CPA bag? I will use this when the Airborne is overkill and it can be a nice overnight bag when necessary.So, knowing that I'm probably in an endless quest for the perfect bag, my latest Redoxx bag is nearly there and I now have enough QUALITY Redoxx bags for several situations at home and away.
 
 Reminds me of my military days
By Dave Seibert, Thule, Greenland 76N68W, May 24, 2009

I have to say this ruck is great. The quick release straps are just like I my old ALICE pack - which I still have. It wears nice and is easy on the shoulders.Overall A+
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
Specifications

C-Ruck Rucksack Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding in back
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • US Dimensions - Main Compartment: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 12"L x 7"W x 2"H
    Front Pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"H
  • Metric Dimensions Main Compartment only: 45.7cm L x 30.5cm W x 17.8cm H
  • US Capacity (total): 2,400 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity (total): 40 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.68 Kilos


Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Airborne Rucksack and the Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Airborne C-Ruck's main compartment is two inches wider and one inch taller than the Roadster Mini Ruck. These larger dimensions are also reflected in the side pockets, front raised pocket and cover flat pocket. See the Specifications Tab at left for further dimension details.
 
Will the Airborne meet carry-on legal standards?
Sure, the C-Ruck Rucksack will easily fit in the overhead bins of most airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Airborne?
Since our Rucksacks are top loaders, the most efficient way to pack one is to pack items you may need easy access to in the raised exterior pockets and rolling each piece of clothing. Another option we recommend is to use the Nomad Shave Kits and Lil Roy Gadget Bags as packing cubes. This way you can compartmentalize everything by color coding it. Bundle wrapping would require pulling the entire bundle out to access anything.
 
How many days worth of supplies will fit in the Airborne?
Depends on how good a packer you are. Most people can get a weekends worth of clothes in the Airborne C-Ruck. We'd estimate three to five days.
 
What's the red fabric on the inside of the bag for?
Having a bright color on the inside of the bag helps to see what's inside the bag. It also adds an extra layer of weather resistant protection.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Airborne? What size laptop?
Virtually any laptop with up to a 17 inch diagonal screen and two inches thick will slide into the padded sleeve inside the rucksack.
 
Does the Airborne Carry-on have a belly strap?
Because the C-Ruck Rucksack does not have a built in frame, therefore a belt strap would not help to balance the load.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
There is a notebook / laptop stitched-in sleeve located in the back of both the C-Ruck and the Mini Ruck.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.