Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

VIEW 360º

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated airline carry-on legal shoulder bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light:

  • freedom of movement -- mobility = power
  • less of your time wasted waiting in baggage and boarding lines
  • never any lost luggage
  • easy and quick access
  • overall travel simplification
  • lighter load = less fatigue
  • arrive fresh
  • no wheels to break or get you dirty
  • fits in the overhead bin
  • hands-free carry

Don't believe it? Peruse over 700 customer reviews right here from satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel lite bag for you.

Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous carry-on one bag travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of fame to develop this all-in-one inclusive mobile carry-on bag.

Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need, and nothing you don't, in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized and happier traveler. Thanks to guidance from, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss. Not into bundle packing? Now you can pack and still be organized when you build your very own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit.

Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered slip pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, and an outside sleeve pocket for magazines, files, or a tablet. Inside the Air Boss are two outer compartments that each have buckled adjustable tie-downs inside to keep your belongings, or packing cubes, held in position and wrinkle-free until you unpack at your destination.

The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

Includes detachable padded nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab where Red Oxx Ambassador Kasey Austin from Austin Adventures shows how to best use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one.

However, please be aware that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this! To accommodate the extra weight try adding a second Claw Shoulder Strap and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder). This can help offset the added load. See Photos tab for how this is done.


Our fans like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a soft sided carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched for unbreakable strength - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our experience as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings from casual theft; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for everyone to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your favorite carry-on travel bag bust apart and break you down?

Looking for a similar capacity carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps for hands-free carry? Try our other popular airline travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the mobile Air Boss!

U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 35.7 Liters.
Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Our bags will fit! Currently in stock, all colors, ready to ship.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS Ground Shipping in the U.S.A. is $13.00 (orders up to $260.00).
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. Australia and New Zealand is $55.00. All other International orders are $50.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

The Air Boss Carry-on bag is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (718 Reviews)

... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 The "One Bag"
By Mick, Melbourne, Australia, October 21, 2010

I bought this bag for a 13 flights in 12 days trip around the world. We had a carry-on's only rule for the group travelling and so after some time reading on I bought this bag.

It was great and performed as advertised.

The bag carried all I needed for meetings in the depths of winter in the US and Europe with room for my Shorts and Crocs for use in India.
 Pretty, But Heavy
By Nesha C., St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands, October 14, 2010

At first glance the bag is beautifully constructed. Sturdy zippers and great pockets. However the mechanisms for the handle make me weary of carrying it for long distances. The strap would just not be sufficient to provide comfort for a long haul.
 Air Boss
By Rachel , Australia, October 14, 2010

* Prompt delivery

* Amazing functionality

 Long time on the road with this puppy
By Nathan, texas, October 13, 2010

I bought this bag based primarily on feedback from a frquent traveler forum (flyertalk) and have been very pleased. Because I use it for 6-14 day trips requiring me to pack a variety of types of clothing I found the "wheels free" option worth investigating. Each time I see people lugging those wheeled cases up and down stairs as I whiz on by I am happier with my decision. I wanted somethig that fits in the overheads and holds the maximum. I believe this is it.

I have purchased numerous bags in the past and this is the one I use the most. I fly and travel a lot.

I did replace the strap with a beefier one with more padding as I routinely get a lot of weight and carry it a long way.
 Great Bag - Lots of Compliments
By Bill, Huntingdon Valley, PA, October 8, 2010

I bought this bag for a 5-day trip to Oktoberfest in Germany. It was my only bag and the first time I've traveled so lightly, so I was fearful that I wouldn't have what I needed.

Let me tell you, the Air Boss performed its duties admirably. I packed a spare pair of shoes, 5 dress shirts, 2 pairs of pants, 2 sweaters, 4 t-shirts, socks, underwear, and toiletries. I had way more than I needed, but still fit everything in the overhead bins on the planes with no problem.

When getting ready to leave, one of my travel companions saw my bag for the first time and was shocked. "That's all you brought?!" I gained a lot of cred as a seasoned traveler and light packer, even though I'm really neither of those things.

If you're debating about this bag, just do it. You won't regret the decision.
 Air Boss
By Anonymous, Texas, October 4, 2010

I've been on a five day boy's trip to DC and a couple of three day business trips with the Air Boss so far. The Air Boss is exactly what I wanted. You can put more in this bag than you want to carry, but even when you fill it sparingly it still holds it's shape and stands up when you set it down at the airport as you wait in line for coffee. In addition to great function it looks fantastic. I got the midnight color and love it. Add a few packing cubes and you'll be on your way to organized, one-bag travel bliss.
 My Search is Over
By Kai, Victoria BC , October 3, 2010

My search is over, and I am now a very happy chappy.

Used the Airboss for 5 trips and countless flights from the smallest commuter to the largest Jumbo, this is IT!.

The packing is easy, you know where things are, and in the airplanes/hotels/motels/busses you are always organized and can find items you need very easy.

Do not overpack as you might have problems getting the Airboss into the overhead bin.

If I ever have to purchase another carry on bag.. guess what it would be?
 Most Excellent
By karynrae2001, Las Vegas, September 27, 2010

Perfect. We packed 2 bags for 3 people for a 10 day Spain trip. Along with 2 Totes, they were perfect. Packing directions helped us arrive wrinkle free, but the most important thing I need right now is allways in the center of my bundle!!They wore well, looked great and carried easy. Plently of room. Very well designed and pretty. I want to reiterate that we never had anyone question the bag as we carried them on the planes.It was always assumed they would fit and they did!
 Great Bag!
By Guy Martin, California, September 24, 2010

An outstanding bag that makes traveling a breeze - partly because even with the cavernous size, this bag forces you to think about the things you want to put in it, since the weight you carry is still there, despite the bag's compact dimensions.

I LOVE the fact that getting the Air Boss into and out of overhead bins is so much easier than watching my fellow travelers struggle to push and pull bulky wheeled luggage into the bins.

Construction of this bag is top notch, with heavy duty components all around. In short, a great bag that helps you learn how to pack more efficiently and makes travel a pleasure. I highly recommend this bag, as well as Eagle Creek packing cubes and 18" folders to make packing easier.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you.
 My other bags don't compare
By Robin, Canada, September 23, 2010

I did my homework before I purchased the Air Boss, so I had high expectations. Needless to say, I was still impressed when I received the bag. The construction is robust and the attention to details is well suited to my obsessive compulsive behavior. I'm planning a trip to Europe and I intend on using this bag with the Eagle Creek Cubes to compliment my Dueter backpack. I'll follow up after to let you know how this bag holds up in the field.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you.
 Does The Job
By Anonymous, Cape Cod, MA, September 21, 2010

Just completed a 16 day trip carrying the Air Boss and a brief case. Filled it up to the 22# Air Canada limit and had it on/off 6 flights. Fit nicely in overhead storage even on some CRJs and sky checked it on some smaller planes. Very happy with the performance. I should not have brought the shoulder strap as I found it more comfortable to carry the briefcase via its shoulder strap and hand carry the Air Boss. Doing this for a fair amount of walking I found the handle on the Air Boss uncomfortable. It flexes and thus tries to loop tightly around one's hand. A bit of padded stiffness in the handle would go a long way toward mitigating this problem.
 Great Carry On Bag!
By Anonymous, Memphis, TN, September 20, 2010

One of the best things about the Air Boss is that, unless its stuffed to the gills, it'll fit in the overhead of the regional jets that are so common today. The flight attendants don't usually give it a second look, so even gate checking it isn't necessary.

My wife & I recently spent a week in Europe and neither of us checked a bag . . . I used the Air Boss and she has a Sky Train. Either bag is highly recommended!
 Air Boss
By Kenneth, Madison, Wisconsin, September 16, 2010

This is my first experience with Red Oxx and attempting to use only carry-on luggage for travel. First, service was great and the product is top-notch. Travelers who normally take lots with them and check luggage should be aware that despite the proclamations that you can get everything into this bag, you will not be able to continue your old habits. Using this bag requires paring back the items you take with you and following a packing methodology such as the one suggested on One Bag. It will take a few trys to get the packing strategy down. On the recent trip, we traveled by train, air and car (taxi). YOU MUST BE AWARE that you will be carrying this bag along with any other carrying items. For most of our trip this worked out OK, though my traveling companion had an injured leg and i ended up carrying this bag along with two others. The really bad scene was at O'Hare where gate changes required incredibly long and brisk walks in congested situations while carrying the bags. The shoulder strap on this bag is not the best, as indicated by other reviewers, and I will likely replace it before my next trip. Also, I will get some kind of collapsable cart for the really long lugs. Overall, I really like this product and can see using it nearly everytime I travel. Just be aware, you are buying a philosophy along with the bag, and you may need to make additional plans to deal with your newfound ways of travel.
 Great Bag
By William, USA, September 16, 2010

This is a solidly made bag. I loaded it up with ~25 pounds of stuff for international travel. The strap can leave a mark on your shoulder if its loaded with weight but it won't slip.

Very satisfied.
 Down Under Demon
By kogvos, Sydney Australia, September 12, 2010

Another awesome purchase from Red Oxx. Very impressed with their international service. I've only had the bag for about a month but it's already travelled the length and breadth of Australia. Absolutely perfect for a week-long or multi-week trip with room to spare. I don't actually carry-on as I fill it to the brim and it's then a bit too big and heavy for most of our airlines and their carry-on restrictions but I knew that when I purchased and I didn't buy it to carry-on (and I didn't want to become one of those annoying people that seem to drag half their house as carry-on onto Australian planes!).
By Fred, Ohio, September 9, 2010

The AIR BOSS functions as advertised and reviewed. Six day business trip to Europe with the AIR BOSS and a briefcase. I had room to bring back presents for the kids. Easy to carry from airport to rail stations and from rail to hotels.
 Perfect bag
By Anonymous, NC, September 7, 2010

This bag is perfect. I am currently on my honeymoon in florence, italy, and this bag was spectacular to travel with. I am a student, so, this bag plus a backpack for my books and laptop was perfect for my 10 day vacation.

Highly Recommended!
 Better than advertised
By Thorsten, Switzerland, September 7, 2010

Just received another order from Red Oxx (an Air Boss for an envious friend, Travel Baskets, PR4, PR5...) na dthought it's about time I tell the world how good these bags are. Ok, the world seems to know, but adding to it can't do any harm, I guess.

The Air Boss took (almost) all my clothes I needed for our summer holiday, plus the photo gear, plus the Macbook Pro, plus all those cables and stuff - and a few books. Admittedly, I did not take a suit, left the shoes in our shoe bag and packed my shirts elsewhere. But still, I was thoroughly impressed - as was the guy in the hotel who volunteered to carry it... :-)

Add to this the incredible friendliness and customer orientation of the Red Oxx team, I can only recommend this company.

Another thing that became important for me in recent years: These are real guys producing real products and have a real life besides. Nowadays it's almost a political statement not to buy a Chinese product - well, so be it.
 Perfect Carry On Bag
By Vince, Los Angeles, CA, September 5, 2010

This bag was all that I expected, having read the great reviews. I just returned from a week-long business trip to South America. I packed one suit, four shirts, toiletries and casual clothes. I even included a spare pair of shoes. I had plenty of room to include a few gifts that I picked up along the way. The bag is incredibly durable yet reasonably light-weight. I never had any problem carrying it on - or fitting it into an overhead bin. This was true even on a previous business trip to Mexico where I managed to fit it in a crowded economy class overhead bin. While roll-aboard bags wouldn't have been as versatile, this bag was the perfect solution. My suit arrived reasonably free of wrinkles thanks to the tie-down straps inside. Just a really well thought out bag. It is my new international travel companion.
 Outstanding bag!
By Otterlady, Bloomington, IN, September 2, 2010

This bag is unbelievable! Worth every penny! As one reviewer said, it's too easy to stuff it to the point you can't lift it! I've carried enough stuff for 10 days with no problem. I've just purchased an Air Boss for my husband for Christmas so he won't have to lust after mine!
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers: #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull tabs
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most continental jet airlines. Our bags fit!
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
We recommend you build your own packing cube kit. If you're not into cube packing, the bundle packing method is handy. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download a printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book and is carried by a shoulder strap.
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
If it will fit, you can go ahead and cram your Air Boss under the seat, just be sure to slip the Claw Shoulder Strap inside the bag so it won't get caught on anything, (or anyone).
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Skip the cheap imported packing cubes and create your own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the logo patch colors for you.
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the red patches black.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. In the interest of simplicity, there are no internal pockets.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top