Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

VIEW 360º

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated airline carry-on legal shoulder bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light:

  • freedom of movement -- mobility = power
  • less of your time wasted waiting in baggage and boarding lines
  • never any lost luggage
  • easy and quick access
  • overall travel simplification
  • lighter load = less fatigue
  • arrive fresh
  • no wheels to break or get you dirty
  • fits in the overhead bin
  • hands-free carry

Don't believe it? Peruse over 700 customer reviews right here from satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel lite bag for you.

Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous carry-on one bag travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of fame to develop this all-in-one inclusive mobile carry-on bag.

Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need, and nothing you don't, in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized and happier traveler. Thanks to guidance from, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss. Not into bundle packing? Now you can pack and still be organized when you build your very own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit.

Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered slip pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, and an outside sleeve pocket for magazines, files, or a tablet. Inside the Air Boss are two outer compartments that each have buckled adjustable tie-downs inside to keep your belongings, or packing cubes, held in position and wrinkle-free until you unpack at your destination.

The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

Includes detachable padded nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab where Red Oxx Ambassador Kasey Austin from Austin Adventures shows how to best use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one.

However, please be aware that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this! To accommodate the extra weight try adding a second Claw Shoulder Strap and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder). This can help offset the added load. See Photos tab for how this is done.


Our fans like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a soft sided carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched for unbreakable strength - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our experience as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings from casual theft; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for everyone to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your favorite carry-on travel bag bust apart and break you down?

Looking for a similar capacity carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps for hands-free carry? Try our other popular airline travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the mobile Air Boss!

U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 35.7 Liters.
Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Our bags will fit! Currently in stock, all colors, ready to ship.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS Ground Shipping in the U.S.A. is $13.00 (orders up to $260.00).
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. Australia and New Zealand is $55.00. All other International orders are $50.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

The Air Boss Carry-on bag is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (717 Reviews)

... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Guatemala proof!
By Bob, Utah, November 10, 2011

This bag traveled first class by air and then went to the mountains of Guatemala 14 hours by bus. It kept my gear clean and bug free in a jungle environment. I especially like how two Eagle Creek organizing bags fit perfectly side by side in each compartment. Would suggest adding a key clip in the small compartment.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you. We also sell a Pin Mount Key Clip you can mount anywhere you like.
 Made my trip
By Iain, London, UK, November 10, 2011

Ordered on Sunday for international shipment to the UK. Arrived as scheduled Friday lunchtime, packed and boarded the plane 4 hours later on Friday afternoon just as the carrier was refusing any more roller cases as carry-ons. Brilliant, thanks Red Oxx, made my trip!
 5 Year Check In
By Derek, Atlanta, GA, November 8, 2011

It's been over 5 years now with my AirBoss and it's still holding up strong.

I fly every week for work, usually 140+ flights a year and my AirBoss has held up very well, shows almost no signs of wear.

Because I want flexibly in my travel schedule, I never check luggage and the few times I've boarded the plane and they're out of room for 'other' bags, my soft-side AirBoss is welcomed aboard and tucked in a cozy niche somewhere. I will never use another bag.
 Excellent Bag...with a few suggested enhancements
By Steve C., Houston, TX, November 4, 2011

Perfect bag for quick trips. I pack light, but have been able to accomidate enough for a 5-day trip (plus a separate carry-on). Quality = A+. Design = A+.


1. I'd recommend swapping out the heavy metal strap fasteners with something lighter (and equally as strong).

2. The ID carrier is a nice touch, but I'd also suggest figuring out a way of making it lighter.

Highly recommend!
 Best Bag Ever
By Washington, UK, November 4, 2011

I just love this product. I've tried so many bags in the past and non off them have even come close to the quality. And the service of your company has been amazing.
 Air Boss works!
By Bret, California, November 4, 2011

Overall, a good buy! Just got back from London. The Boss held up well as a carry on and as a checked bag. Expandable, and easy to carry. I'm satisfied.
 I love it too
By Paul B., NYC<->LHR, October 31, 2011

I love it. I know thats what everyone else says, but I feel the same way. I think my favorite part is that the center compartment holds a laptop. That means that at the end of the week when I fly straight from the client's office back to home I can leave my briefcase and just use the red oxx. crucial for keeping weight down.
 Just like it was adverstised
By Anonymous, Alaska, October 30, 2011

This is an excellent bag that provides a business like look and provides enough room for quick business trips and week-long vacations. The price seems expensive, but when I look at all the pieces of luggage that are broken, torn or I threw away this is worth it. I'll pay for quality and this clearly fits the bill.

I agree with others, that if you over pack and have to carry it a long distance it does get heavy.

I just finished a two week vacation with the family and we did it all with carry on. I'm sold this is the way to go.

No regrets on this purchase. It's not cheap, but the value is outstanding.
 Happy with it
By Tero Toikka, Helsinki, Finland, October 30, 2011

I got the Airboss about a month ago and now had done two trips with it. First a four night conference and second was one week in Asia.

The bag is actually bigger than is needed for my clothes, PC and accessories. This has proven useful since having new materials and souvenirs from the distant location.

I am able to pack all clothes on the side compartments. Then running shoes and other things in the middle top loader compartment. From there it is convenient to take out PC for screening.

I also use a light weight PC sleeve on the location. If would need to gate check then collect all important items on it. The shoulder strap feels indestructable and I use it for the PC sleeve on the location.

I would consider another bag only if it would be even lesser weight.
 The Best
By Peter Liron, Melville Western Australia, October 27, 2011

I have had many carry on bags over the years. At last I have the best one ever. I have just given my Air Boss a shake-down trip to Vietnam for eleven days. It carried everything that I needed and still had some room. I resisted the temptation to add more, keeping some space for souvenirs.

I purchased four Eagle Creek quarter cubes of different colours to stow all of my loose items and used the colours to identify what items were in which cube.

I put the cubes in the centre compartment, easy to get to, perfect!

I cannot complain about the shoulder strap. For me it was fine given the short distances that I had to carry the bag through airports. There are always trolleys available at airports if really needed.

The Air Boss is one tough bag and will easily see me to the end of my travelling days. It will be handed down to some lucky friend.

Business trips excluded, my next big trip is to South America next year. Would not consider going with anything other than my Air Boss. That's it, done deal, no Air Boss, no trip. and that's final.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Mix and match in our 12 vibrant color system. Your Air Boss will thank you.
 Air Boss Shoulder Strap
By Anonymous, Los Angeles, CA, October 27, 2011

Great bag, made things very easy, of course lot's of space for someone who is 6'4'. My wardrobe is a bit larger. I bought the red one in which is made t much easier to spot in the baggage claim area.

The only thing I would like better would be a broader shoulder strap, the weight of the bag made it dig in while walking with it.
 Excellent Build Quality
By Rich Shadrin, Walden NY, October 27, 2011

Along with the shave kit I purchased the AIRBOSS to compliment the many rollaboards I've accumulated over the many years I had traveled for business.

Though skeptical about losing my wheels, I learned 2 lessons. Firstly the claims made about the bombproof construction is true and finally resist overpacking. The latter was a good lesson as I traveled outbound using all the folding techniques and a few tricks of my own and the back was light and well within its recommended packing dimensions. On the way back, loaded with too much 'stuff' I was still able to overhead rack it, but schlepping it across terminals at O'Hare made me wish for wheels. Mea culpa.

Lesson learned is pack much lighter than you need. Learn to be agile and since the whole world has gone casual that task has bccome easier. KI just had to learn the hard way. So pack, smart, light and use the AIRBOSS - I'm a convert.
 Great Buy
By Chandler, Colorado, October 27, 2011

I got this bag anticipating a trip to China. And I am sure glad I decided on it. I was able to get a month of travel gear into it.

My trip was supposed to be Denver > Seattle > Tokyo > Shanghai > Zhengzhou

But it ended up being:

Denver > Seattle > San Fran > Taipei > Shanghai > Zhengzhou

So I am sure glad I didn't have to figure out checked luggage at the same time. I would of sure had a bag get lost. Also I was bumped off my flight in Shanghai and had to hit a hotel. But I had everything I needed with me.

I got great service, bag is very well made and it was a perfect buying experience.
 I've used it once ...
By Dave, Colorado Springs, October 25, 2011

I have tried a variety of bags for traveling. I hate most of them. The one I've kept coming back to is one that I got 20 years ago for free for answering a survey at a conference. It's 16x12x7, quite a bit smaller than the Air Boss, two zippered pockets on one side and a large open pocket on the other. There is one main compartment that unzips only about halfway. Its handles are uncomfortable on the hands and its shoulder strap is not much better. But it is convenient. It easily fits under the seat or in the overhead even of the miniature airplanes I frequently find myself on. I can pack clean business casual clothes for a week using it.

I read about the Air Boss on I told my wife I wanted it and she and my daughter bought it for me for Father's Day. I haven't used it yet, but I've looked it over. It is assembled very well. It looks rugged.

I like the way it opens all the way so it won't flop closed when trying to use both hands putting clothes in. I like the tie-downs in the clothes compartments to keep my clothes tidier especially for a short trip when the bag is only lightly packed. I like the center compartment where I can stash my electronics; computer, GPS, iPod, headphones, chargers, etc. and get to them without opening the whole bag. I like the snap-wrap on the handles to give my hands some relief when carrying it. We'll see how the shoulder strap works, but it's fine when the bag is empty. :-)

It's bigger than I'm used to, so I'll need to be careful not to overpack.

OK. I've waited to post this review until I had actually used the Air Boss. I just completed a four-day business and pleasure trip. Once I had packed I weighed the bag and found that it was just under 23 pounds, but all I was taking was in one bag. This was four days worth of business casual attire (including shoes) plus netbook, GPS, camera and battery chargers for all.

My observations (YMMV):

I found the shoulder strap awkward, but it might improve with practice. I was wearing a jacket, but not zipped. The strap would start to grip lower on my shoulder than I wanted and it was difficult to get situated where it was comfortable and not pulling the jacket shoulder off of my shoulder.

Carrying the Air Boss in my hand was less comfortable than I'd hoped. I found that if I used the grippy part of the shoulder strap as a cushion my hands were happier.

I would lose things in the Air Boss's many pockets. I dropped my cell phone into a pocket before TSA and it took me ten minutes to find it again after screening. I still need to figure out where to put things so that I can easily locate them again.

Packing and unpacking are as easy as I had expected. I pack shirts, pajamas, underwear and socks in an Eagle Creek Pack-It Folder. It allows me to neatly fold and compress my clothes. I put the folder into one side and strapped it down. Then I folded pants, put then on the other side and strapped them down. The center section got shoes and the detritus of business travel plus the quart zipper bag of liquids and gels. There was still much more space ... I *was* trying to travel light. I could have packed for a week or more, but I'm not sure I would have been able to lift it. (When I got home I found that my local Costco store has a "personal hand truck" that weighs 7.5 pounds, can carry 150 pounds and folds flat for $20. Bungy cords from Lowes completes my set-up.)

Earlier I said the Air Boss is larger than the "free" bag I've used for 20+ years. It fits under the seat in front of you, but barely. All of my flights were completely full so there was no overhead compartment space. I'm a pretty big guy; 6'2", 250+ pounds. This cramps my foot room. I need to figure out how to deal with my computer and other high-value gear so that I can gate check the bag when needed.

So far I'm pleased.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and the compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you.
 Nice overall; one caveat
By E.H., Minnesota, October 24, 2011

I like the "Air Boss" design, and the construction seems top-notch to me. My only area of disappointment was the strap.

I can't shorten the strap as much as I like. The bag hangs near my butt or lower, not up on my lower back.

Also, the rubbery shoulder padding is too(!) grippy. My clothes get pulled around and bunched up every time I try to adjust the position of the bag.

I've been entirely happy with the bag itself, and would still strongly recommend it (although I may replace the strap).
 The Best Bag!
By Dan V, Bossier City, October 22, 2011

By far the best bag I have ever owned. You can pack everything you need for a long trip and still have room for the running shoes and shaving kit.
 A worthwhile investment
By E. Cardinal, San Jose, CA, October 21, 2011

First off, the bag is expensive but I believe in paying for quality that will last -- and so far I think this bag will be with me for a long time to come. My wife was originally quite unhappy with the cost but is now a fan as well.

I'm trying to be a "One-Bag" traveler. The Air Boss holds a lot for its size, especially without the superstructure required for wheels and handles. It looks terrific (I got the Safari colors) and it looks and feels tough and well-made. I never had any trouble getting it into an overhead bin.

One goal this trip was to minimize the number of different individual items on the TSA conveyor belt, to prevent 'disappearing' or forgotten items. In the center section the Air Boss held my 15.6 laptop (inside a sleeve) 5 days of socks and underwear in a small bag, and a CPAP respiratory medical device, which is approximately 7x7x5". (The hose and mask went in the outside zipper pocket.) This made it a snap to pull out the laptop and the CPAP out for TSA inspection, then re-zip and drop the bag onto the conveyor.

Shirts, trousers, and sundries were distributed between the sides on the way down, but all were packed to one side on the way back to accommodate 10 Lbs. of Costa Rican coffee and other gifts :-)

Carrying the Air Boss held lengthwise in front of me down the airplane aisle was easy because of the comfortable handle. I like not being a rude passenger dragging my slightly too wide wheely-bag down the aisle smashing the arms of all the seated passengers.

Unfortunately, the bag was a bit too heavy for me to carry without wheels or shoulder straps (particularly on the way back) but that is primarily because I'm in terrible physical shape and ended up crossing the length of Houston airport 3 times to get through customs, etc. In retrospect, I probably should have gotten the Sky Train instead of the Air Boss specifically for the shoulder straps. In the future I think I may distribute some of the load (like the laptop) into a backpack. Heavy as my bag was, though, the "Claw" shoulder strap never slipped an inch and did spread the load so it wasn't cutting into my shoulder.

(On a side note, I also got a Scott-e-Vest Essential Jacket. Twenty pockets held everything I needed under the seat so I never had to get the Air Boss out of the overhead until it was time to disembark. I'm not associated wit them, just a fan.)
 My New Air Boss
By Pete Burres, Addison TX, October 20, 2011

My Air Boss was purchased for my first travel vacation in many years.... a nine day trip to Nova Scotia. The construction of the bag is outstanding and seems like it will be something that one of my kids will carry well into the future. Despite reading many of the reviews, I was still astounded by how well the shoulder strap held the bag on my shoulder without slipping. I used the bundling system of packing and think that I need some more practice at it as the packed clothing settled and there was space that could have been utilized. Overall, I am extremely pleased with my purchase.
 well thought-out and practical
By Bill Leighton, Sydney Australia, October 20, 2011

My new bag hasn't been to the front line yet, but it looks 'the one to have'. The layout of the external pockets and storage cavities has been devised by someone who travels a lot. I packed for a two-night three-day trip and it came in at just under 7 kilos, our official cabin baggage limit in Australia. I was amazed how much clothing and gear fitted into one bag.

This bag will save me a lot of time at check-in and baggage carousels. I can turn up closer to departure time, go straight through security and to the aircraft. Check-in queues can consume twenty minutes or more at peak times, I can't afford to miss planes.

Not the cheapest carry-on bag but money well-spent. It's solid, padded in all the right places and built from quality components. My new travel buddy . . .
 Exceeded Expectations
By Sean, Brooklyn, NY, October 9, 2011

I've owned expensive Boyt and Tumi luggage. The "Air Boss" was even more rugged and better-designed than those companies' products. Following Doug Dyment's ( bundle-wrapping technique my cotton dress shirts, wool jacket & wool trousers are wearable after unpacking without being pressed, so long as they are packed securely but not too tightly. Even fully-stuffed the "Air Boss" fits easily in overhead compartments. Doug Dyment's recommended 2.5 lb. luggage cart even fits in the central compartment. I'll be buying more luggage from Red Oxx and following more advice from
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers: #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull tabs
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most continental jet airlines. Our bags fit!
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
We recommend you build your own packing cube kit. If you're not into cube packing, the bundle packing method is handy. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download a printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book and is carried by a shoulder strap.
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
If it will fit, you can go ahead and cram your Air Boss under the seat, just be sure to slip the Claw Shoulder Strap inside the bag so it won't get caught on anything, (or anyone).
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Skip the cheap imported packing cubes and create your own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the logo patch colors for you.
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the red patches black.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. In the interest of simplicity, there are no internal pockets.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top