Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Cool Luggage Accessories  > Monkeys-Fist-Zip-Knot

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I help you get a grip on your inner chimp.”
Red Oxx Monkey Fist Zip Knot

Monkey's Fist Zip Knot $0.75


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Monkey's Fists and a fist full of Fair Trade.

How a little knot's making a big difference...

A monkey's fist is a type of knot, so named because it looks somewhat like a small bunched fist. The monkey's fist knot is most often used as the weight in a heaving line on ships. Our version is used with all Red Oxx zippers. The Zip Knot makes it easier to grab the zipper pull, even with bulky gloves on. Use them on you favorite coat or ski jacket or as a key chain!

Each knot is hand tied by our craftsman in the highlands of Guatemala. The work is carried out in the spirit of Fair Trade. Each year I visit the village and check on our workers. The impact of this business has been tremendous for the village. By purchasing Monkey Fist Zip Knots you're keeping families together and helping maintain the proud craftspeople of Guatemala.
Jim Markel
CEO and Co-Owner, Red Oxx Luggage

Available in Black / Gray only.

COST OF SHIPPING
Red Oxx will adjust your shipping costs for Monkey Fists down before we bill your credit card. Since UPS in our cart checkout will only calculate one pound and above, the shipping shown is disproportionately high compared to actual shipping cost. Shipping will be $5.85 using a USPS Priority flat rate box inside the US, outside of the US, shipping costs can go up quite significantly, perhaps $18.00 or more. This shipping cost is the same for just 1 Monkey Fist, on up to what will fit into a flat rate box.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quarterly email newsletter. Your email address is secure.

Write a Review

4.95 Average Rating
 (80 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Unobtrusive and functional
By Ivo, Switzerland, August 1, 2011

This is one of the products being so simple that you don't think of it normally. I've replaced all similar ones of my BMW motorcycle jacket with monkey fists.
 
 So Simple, So Good
By Watchoverya, Aledo, TX, March 17, 2011

Who knew how hard it would be to find a simple zipper pull.

The Monkey Fist is so simple and so good. Works great (unless one's zipper is smaller, then getting the cord thru is a challenge) and looks good.

Whether you are nautically inspired or not, if you can't get a grip on your zipper, this is the product for you!
 
 Monkey Fist Zip Knots
By Robert T. Bruce, Valparaiso, IN, March 17, 2011

Makes finding & working zippers with no problem!
 
 Simply Perfect
By Pete, Scenic NJ, February 24, 2011

I swapped out the pulls on my waist bag and then it seemed like the right thing to do for all my bags.

Offering a slightly longer version as multi-tool and knife lanyards would be great.
 
 First-rate
By John, Geneva, Switzerland, February 10, 2011

Like so many things in life, simple can be best. Excellent product...but perhaps worth also producing it in a smaller version. These are just slightly too big for some zips
 
 Addictive
By John, Virginia, January 2, 2011

These monkey fists are addictive - I think by now I've ordered at least 60 of these over the years - they're useful everywhere. I have them on bags, jackets, keys, you name it. They never wear out and really make getting something open with gloves on much easier. Thanks Red OXX!
 
 Nifty Little Thing
By S.H., IA, December 30, 2010

Replaced my fussy handbag zip pull with the monkey fist zip knot.

It'd be great if a monkey fist zip knot could be made of finer/thinner cord to fit tighter/smaller openings.
 
 monkey fist zip pull
By tony, fong, October 15, 2010

I wud feel that if a thinner cord was used then it will fit more zippers.
 
 More than Needed
By Kenneth, Madison, Wisconsin, September 16, 2010

Bought these because I thought I needed them for my new Air Boss but bag came equiped with them. They work great on the bag. I am sure I will use the extras for something else.
 
 Muli-use
By DR, FL, September 10, 2010

Loved them. Use them on zippers but they work surprisingly well instead of wire ties. Keep your electrical cords, headphone cables etc together with one fist or multiples!
 
 Muli-use
By DR, FL, September 9, 2010

Loved them. Use them on zippers but they work surprisingly well instead of wire ties. Keep your electrical cords, headphone cables etc together with one fist or multiples!
 
 What you'd expect
By John, Maryland, August 26, 2010

Exactly what you would expect. They work great and are easy to find & grab.

I put them on a small day bag that I use inside my Air Boss.
 
 Tight!
By Dufus, Gilbert, AZ, August 8, 2010

Ordered 5 of these with I ordered a bag. Very nice. I added three of them to my new Tom Bihn laptop bag.
 
 Sweet
By Scott B., Chicago, July 1, 2010

I bought these pulls for the zippers on the soft top of my Jeep. They make zipping the windows off and on a breeze! Highly recommended for all your zipping needs!
 
 Love These!
By TL, PA, April 30, 2010

How can something so simple be so great? I put these on every zipper I can find. The make opening the bags crazy easy and are far and away better than the pulls with those plastic grips. Excellent product.
 
 Versatile, outstanding, simply the best!
By Matt L. , Staten Island, NY, April 29, 2010

The monkey fists are the best. They are on my bags and on my key chain. I use them on the zippers for my luggage and carry bags and I have my Weight Watchers 25lb tokens (3 so far) strung on a monkey fist wrapped on my keychain. The monkey fist is just a byte sized serving of joy. I'm glad I didn't deprive myself. :) Red Oxx rocks! :)
 
 Simple and effective!
By Jordon Ostermiller, Idaho, April 23, 2010

There is not much to say about this product. It just works. If you own anything with a zipper, I am sure you do, buy some of these. I love them!
 
 Love them
By Corey, Pitttsburgh, April 22, 2010

Love these things. I bought a number of them and have been putting them on all sorts of luggage/bags. Makes everything much easier to open/close. Only request is that there should be smaller ones to put on jackets/vests, etc. I would buy plenty more of them if they were offered in smaller sizes.
 
 monkey Knots
By TJ Hendrickson, MN, April 8, 2010

I purchased the monkey knots for lugage... then I relized it would work great for my 2 year old and his coat zippers.... that got me thinking about the Disabled students, at the school that I teach at, and the difficulties they have with getting dressed... so we have now tried them with them... what a rush to see students smile and become more self sufficent... the things we take for granted.
 
 Simple and effective
By BLT, CT, March 4, 2010

Love these monkey fists! I have them on most of my luggage, backpacks and fleece coats. They make it so easy to find and pull the zippers. Great product and cheap!
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

  • American made Mil-Spec Parachute Cord
  • Hand tied in Guatemala
  • Each fist approximately 2" long with loop
Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Are there other colors available?
To keep the cost down, we only offer the one color combination, black and gray.
 
Where are these made?
Our Monkey's fists are hand-tied by our craftsmen in the mountains of Guatemala. The parachute cord itself is made in the U.S.A.
 
What is a Monkey's Fist Knot?
This is a special knot that when tied a particular way, looks like a fist.
 
What is it used for?
Originally used to secure sails, our Monkey's Fist can be used for all sorts of ideas, from pulling zippers on bags, coats and jackets, to a key chain and so on.
 
Can I order multiple quantities?
We encourage you to place a large order as you'll find all sorts of uses for the knots. Red Oxx will adjust the shipping costs to reflect the lower cost of shipping them before charging your card.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.