COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“When a little extra is more than enough.”
Red Oxx Safari Beanos PR5.5 Duffel Bag. Pictured in Khaki. Available in 12 Colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR 5.5 $205.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Larger than Life! Go ahead, pack it as full as you can.

A duffel that easily holds up to 50 pounds.

This size in the Beanos Series Safari Duffel Bags was developed after the new weight restrictions limited travelers to 50 lbs on domestic flights. This is the travel duffel bag to take out into the world for your 7 to 10 day trip!

LARGE POCKETS.
The large end pockets can hold your hiking boots on one end and your Tri-fold Shave Kit along with your flip flops in the other. A zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip the panel over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket. See the photos section to see what this looks like.

NO SLIP STRAP.
Think lightweight, forget those clumsy wheels and telescoping handle that waste space and add weight. This is not technically a legal carry-on bag, per se, but if packed light and carried by a larger person, you might be able to sneak one on board. Speaking of carry, the sturdy detachable and adjustable padded no-slip Claw shoulder strap is the perfect blend of reliability and function.

TOUGH ZIPPERS.
Easily zip open or closed any compartment or pocket with our exclusive proprietary Monkey Fist Zip Knots and the toughest, biggest zipper for duffel bags available: the #10 YKK auto-locking nylon zipper.

EASY ACCESS.
Handy flip open lid allows unencumbered access to the spacious main compartment. Stainless double turn-snaps secure your gear. With such a roomy main compartment, you can pack all you'll need for your much needed vacation and still have room to bring all of your souvenirs home. When a PR6 is too big and a PR5 is too small, the PR5.5 fits the "travel light" philosophers ticket.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your bag on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 27"L x 11"W x 11"H.
Capacity: 3,267 cu. inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 4"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 17"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 17"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 11"W x 20"L x 11"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (43 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Very impressed
By Hoges, SW Turkey at the moment, May 1, 2014

We live on our yacht so luggage needs to be foldable/squashable to be put away when not needed, and at the same time strong and durable.

This stuff works!!
 
 Quality
By Frank, Utah, January 30, 2014

Theirs no doubt you get what you pay for. I got the best and I'm going to enjoy it, as well as my grand kids will when I'm long gone.
 
 Follow Up
By Doris, Iowa, August 6, 2013

Our family of four just returned from a two week trip to London. We each carried a 5.5--to the airport, on the rail system, through the Tube, in hotel elevators, a rental car, and up B&B stairwells. Can't speak highly enough of these bags. Now we're thinking about getting a set of four 5.0 bags as well, for trips when we don't want to check luggage or don't need so much space.
 
 Got me through London, Dublin and a whole lot more
By Phil from Mass, Medway, MA, July 18, 2013

I was hesitant at first to purchase the Safaru 5.5. A duffle? I heard myself say. I haven't used one of those since PeeWee Hockey and dragging my smelly hockey equipment from the rink decades ago. I thought luggage needed wheels and retractable handles. Au Contraire!

The RedOxx bag was delivered quickly and was surprisingly light. When packed (I rolled everything) I had it pretty full (2 pairs of shoes, 2 pants, 5 t-shirts, 2 polo shirts, 5 pair underwear, 5 pair socks, PJ bottoms, bathroom diddy bag full of meds/shave cream/razor/toothpaste/brush and other accoutrements, etc), all the electronic charging cords, maps, travel books).

The good news was I also had quite a bit of room for gifts and mementos from the trip including the mandatory British chocolates and the Irish Whiskey. The bag strap was comfortable while waiting in line at the airport for a cab and the bag was sturdy and easily seen on the luggage carousel. All in all it is a solid investment and I plan on using it again in a few months when my wife and I head off to China!
 
 Great bag
By Anonymous, Oklahoma, April 4, 2013

Has a very durable feel - great quality. Very comfortable to carry. I would highly recommend this bag.
 
 Suggestion for product improvement
By One World, world traveler, February 23, 2013

This bag could definitely benefit from the addition of a set of end handles.

I bought this bag several months ago and have been using it while traveling around Asia.

It is a wonderful bag. But the one drawback is that it is optimized for air travel. Whereas a lot of the travel around Asia in by bus and/or train.

This bag could definitely benefit from the addition of a set of end handles. This would make it a lot easier to retrieve from overhead bins on train and undercarraige storage on Greyhound buses.

It is only a minor drawback. But one that became increasingly obvious as travel drew on.

 
 All I hoped for and more!
By Michelle, St. Croix Falls, Wiscsonsin, February 14, 2013

I had unreasonably high expectations when I went duffel bag shopping. Imagine my surprise when a product that exceeded those expectations arrived at my door! I wanted a product that was made in America, had a well-thought out design, and was of durable construction with lots of smartly placed pockets.

As a bonus, there was a great selection of colors and the product was delivered in a timely manner. Also, since I did do some shopping around before I decided on this item, I can safely say that I did not have to pay an outrageous amount of money for all this goodness, relative to what was out there.

I do a lot of traveling for work and a lot of traveling for my own enjoyment. In the couple of outings I have had with this product, it has performed well. Recently, I fit everything I needed for a 3 day work trip, including my giant work laptop with its travel bag, work out clothes and shoes, food, etc., easily inside of this bag. If I was just packing for a normal trip, I could easily pack for a week or more with this monster.

Red Oxx did a great job describing the size of this bag; I feel like I was prepared for what applications this bag would best be suited. My last endorsement for this product is that I have never, ever written a product review in my life. The last thing I want to do when I get home from work is to turn on the computer (ask my friends and family- I hardly ever check my personal email), but I was so impressed by this product that I felt compelled to rave about it.

Dear Shopper, Look no more, you have found the perfect duffel.
 
 PR 5.5
By Carmella, NC, February 7, 2013

I ordered a black bag because the patch stood out instead of blending in with the bag. The bag is well built and worth the money. I love the zippers, should last forever.

Thanks for a quality, American made product.
 
 Bought four--very pleased
By Doris, Iowa, January 7, 2013

In December I bought one for each member of our family--myself, my spouse, and our two daughters--in four different colors for ease of identification.

As everyone else says, they are extraordinarily sturdy and beautifully constructed. My spouse is an "over-stuffer" who has a bad track record of destroying zippers and ripping seams on suitcases and backpacks. Ha. In this bag he has met his match! Ditto for the kids, for that matter. No more bickering with my 11 year old fashionista about how many different outfits she can bring along for visits to the grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.

As for ease of use, I didn't hear any complaints while we were gone. We definitely all liked the double-zip opening at the top, as that made it much easier to find items inside. The end pockets provide plenty of space for shoes, (multiple) toiletry bags, even squishable jackets. Sure, a boxy suitcase still generally makes it easier to find stuff, but these bags are so much more versatile and durable.

That said, because the PR 5.5. are relatively heavy for bags without wheels, I'd be quite hesitant to use them for a trip where we would need to lug them on our shoulders for very long. But for driving trips such as one we just took, it is great to be free of even heavier and bulkier wheeled suitcases (which is what these bags are replacing).

As for the size, obviously you'd have to buy the bag in every size to have the perfect option for every possible kind of trip. Since we mostly anticipate using these for extended car trips rather than air travel, we opted for the 5.5 to make sure we each had plenty of room to pack shoes, fleece jackets, and so on, without having to stuff things in. The 5.0 carry-on size probably would have been big enough, frankly, but it's nice to have that extra space available to accommodate gifts and that sort of thing. The 5.5 is huge when fully stuffed; the 6.0 when stuffed would probably be more than I myself could even lift.

I should also express gratitude for the speedy service. When I placed my order one of the colors we wanted was listed as "out of stock." I included a note mentioning my desire to get the bags before we left on the trip, and within either 24 or 48 hours of placing the order, they had all been shipped. Thanks!
 
 Super piece of kit
By Christian, China, November 30, 2012

Dear Redoxx,

thanks again for the super speedy service to China. I already have the PR5, and now with the PR5.5 my kit bags are complete. I have used the PR5 on various safari hunts; the best bags I know of!

Hope you will have some new products soon!
 
 Good bag
By Jim L, Atlanta, GA, November 2, 2012

Very nice bag. Heavy duty but not too heavy, good size for weekends. It lacks a rigid bottom panel, which is a plus for storage (and stuffing into the trunk) but a minor minus for packing ease and when carrying via the shoulder strap, as it tends to flex a bit. In a larger bag this may be a problem but not so much in this size. My wife is already coveting this one so I suspect I'll be buying another one soon.
 
 Almost perfect but....
By One World, USA, October 30, 2012

The one problem with this bag is that its a "tweener".

Its right in-between: too big be a carry-on but not quite big enough to replace my suitcase.

It may fault for ordering the wrong size (misunderstood the dimensions).

On the plus side: it is a MONSTER bag. Extra-super heavy duty!! Wonderfully sturdy fasteners and zipper.

The parallel track main compartment zippers take a little getting used to and I'm not quite sure about the dual upper and lower zippers on the front pouch -- a little idiosyncratic.

All-n-all, a great bag. Just wish I'd gotten a larger size.
 
 Safari-Beanos Bag PR 5.5
By Jim Acchino, Rome, New York, September 13, 2012

I came upon the RED OXX website after spending several weeks searching for a quality duffle. I originally had my mind set on a bottom drop bag but once I found RED OXX I was convinced that this was the one I wanted. No regrets here whatsoever. This is a quality, American made product well worth the price. I would highly recommend RED OXX and would buy from them again. PS - if you ever develop a bottom drop bag let me know.
 
 Perfect Size
By Richard Newgass, UK, September 13, 2012

I have used other Red Ox bags which I have found indestructable. The multitude of pockets makes organising ones kit simple. I have settled on this safari beano in conjunction with the Gator carry on bag as the ideal combination for safari travel. Highly recomended
 
 Hard to fill
By James C. Williams, Albuquerque, NM, August 11, 2012

If I fill this monster I will not be able to lift it without a crane.
 
 PR5.5 Perfecto Mondo
By David Andrichuk, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, July 18, 2012

I've just returned home from a two week vacation of Europe. Color me impressed with this piece of luggage. Initially I thought this bag would be too small, boy how wrong could I be. Managed pack everything I needed, 11kg well under the 22kg limit for the airlines. Very sturdy, and held up well where my friends luggage were torn, dented or missing. Well worth it and sense will be around a long time.
 
 Safarie Benos PR 5.5
By Doug, Austin, July 5, 2012

I am traveling to Kenya & Tanzania in mid- August. So, I won't really test the new bag until then. I am quite impressed with how well the bag is made. The zippers are heavy duty and the seams look extremely strong.
 
 Almost Perfect
By Dick T, Easton, MD, July 5, 2012

I think that I could have put my whole house in this thing! It was the perfect size for a check in case, and probably a size bigger than I needed. Packed, it weighed slightly over 20 lbs., which was exactly what I wanted. Kept finding pockets all during the trip.
 
 Well designed, well built
By C. F., San Francisco, CA, June 14, 2012

I recently carried this and a C-Ruck through Europe for two weeks. The PR 5.5 afforded me all the packing space I needed and kept my luggage weight well below my airline's limit, even after I had filled it with several bottles of booze. I was seriously impressed by the bag's durability, from the fabric to the zippers and clasps. By the time I got home, there still wasn't a scratch on the thing, and I had hardly been gentle with it. If its inaugural voyage was any indication, this product was well worth every penny I spent on it.
 
 Great Bag, Great Service
By Eric Honeycutt, Houston, TX, April 27, 2012

This bag is even more impressive in person, and the service is truly top notch.

We needed this bag for an overseas trip to Africa for the oil & gas industry and Red Oxx was able to make the bags and ship them to us in less than a week!

This bag should set the standard for being made in America.
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5.5 Specs Chart

  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V rings
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Double box stitching on all stress points such as carry handles
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • US Dimensions: 27"L x 11"W x 11"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 68.6cm L x 27.9cm W x 27.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,267 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 53.4 Liters

Safari Beanos PR5.5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5.5, a step up from the PR5, was not designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5.5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5.5 carry-on legal?
The PR 5.5 was not designed to be carry-on legal.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5.5?
The PR5.5 was designed to hold a weeks worth of clothes, or around 50 pounds. Some proficient packers could stuff it for two weeks. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15 inch and under notebooks should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5.5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The Safari Beanos series is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Safari Beanos series has exterior flat and raised pockets only.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5.5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Which brings us to the next question.
 
Will packing cubes fit in the PR5.5?
We like to use our Lil Roy and Nomad Dope Bag as packing cubes. You can color code your belongings and use the handles to hang them in your room for easy access.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5.5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5.5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5.5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with three main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5-5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
Will the PR5.5 meet checked luggage standards?
Yes, the PR-5.5 is designed for checked travel.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.