Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Adventures  > Adventure Journals  > Mini Ruck Successfully Tours Disneyworld  > Roadster-Mini-Ruck-Rucksack

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I come with everything except a ripcord.”
Red Oxx Roadster Mini Paratrooper Rucksack in Safari 2-tone. Choose from 12 colors.

Roadster Mini Ruck Rucksack $245.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Small is Big! Small is beautiful.

Mini on the outside, wide open on the inside.

The Roadster Mini Rucksack is the scaled-down version of the classic Airborne Military Style Rucksack (like our C-Ruck). All the same great features, only smaller (narrower by two inches). Load up the Mini Ruck Rucksack for a day of shopping or hiking on the trail in the mountains.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
You want pockets? The Roadster has handy exterior zippered raised pockets (6"W x 7"H x 2"D on the front and 12"H x 6"W x 2"D on each side) to give you plenty of room and keep your belongings organized.

In the spacious main top-loading compartment you could pack your plentiful picnic, the raised side pockets holding your wine, spirits or soda bottles and glasses and the front pocket your cheese, appetizers or dessert and the top flap pocket your silverware. Attach your blanket with the buckled loop compression straps on the bottom.

WHAT ABOUT MY COMPUTER?
This durable CORDURA® Nylon Rucksack has an interior slip pocket that holds your Notebook laptop safe against the thick interior Volara back padding. After a great day at the market, tighten down the second drawstring at the top of the rucksack (10" x 6" x 4") and safely tote all your goodies home.

WHY THE BIG STRAP O-RINGS?
The Mini features upgraded durable Synergy Performer Suede padded articulating shoulder straps for carrying comfort. Using articulating straps makes it easier to put on, and take off, your Mini Rucksack. Then you can easily cinch down the straps using the tough Mil-Spec A.L.I.C.E. hardware.

Heavy-duty compression straps on bottom of the Mini Rucksack store your jacket, blanket or bedroll out of the way. When a full-sized Military style Rucksack is too big, or if you are lean in frame and build try the Red Oxx Roadster Mini Rucksack.

A MINI RUCKSACK BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around rucksacks that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a rucksack, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the ruck.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors rucksacks that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the shoulder straps attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport, hiking a trail or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your rucksack break down?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Roadster Mini Rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior dimensions: 17"L x 10"W x 6"H.
Capacity: 1,020 cubic inches (1,896 cu. Inches with exterior pockets).
Weight: 3.35 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior zippered side pockets: 12"H x 6"W x 2"D
  • Twin exterior zippered side flat pockets: 6"W x 7"T
  • Front exterior zippered pocket: 7"T x 6"W x 2"D
  • Top zippered flap pocket: 9"W x 9"H
  • Interior laptop slip pocket: 9.5"W x 13"D

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Roadster Mini Ruck.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quarterly email newsletter. Your email address is secure.

Every great rucksack needs cool luggage accessories.

Mini Rucksack Trivia:
Rucksack is German for Backpack. Der Rücken refers to the back part of the body and translates as "to move". Sack means "pack". To move a pack. Surprising similarities exist in other European languages such as Rucksack is Rygsæk in Danish, Rugzak in Dutch, Ryggsäck in Swedish, Ryggsekk in Norwegian, and Rugsak in South Afrikaans. A Ruck Sack is also commonly called a Haversack, Knapsack or Packsack.

Write a Review

4.61 Average Rating
 (51 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Favorite Red Oxx Bag
By dave, Minnesota, September 15, 2011

I now own both this and the larger rucksack as I couldn't decide which to get and ultimately decided between my wife and I we could find a place for both. These are such versatile bags with a huge middle compartment and huge side and back pockets. Just like all the other Red Oxx bags, you will find a way to fit more stuff that you could possibly imagine both because the compartments are spacious and because they are so well built you almost dare your stuff try to break the zippers. This bag is just cool- nice size, great space and great looking. I have a Red Oxx bag from almost every line except the briefcases and the sherpa's, and this is the most useful of them all. The regular ruck is nice too- just a little bigger all around, but this is a better balance for most of my uses. Great stuff no matter what bag you choose.
 
 Best Bag I ever owned
By Scott, Dallas, TX, July 14, 2011

I found out about Red Oxx by doing some research for a new bag to travel with on a trip to Scandinavia. My wife bought it for me as a birthday gift, and ever since then I use it for every trip I go on. I've enjoyed it so much that I "had" to buy one for my wife, and recommend it to anyone that I talk to about traveling. It did take at least one trip to get used to the differences between this bag and the usual backpack that we've all had since school, but it didn't take long to realize how much better it is in comparison. I now have my eye on the Air Boss to complete my carry on set.

The quality of Red Oxx is top notch, and I really appreciate that they continue to design and manufacture in the US so that we don't have to worry about quality issues. Thanks Red Oxx!
 
 Excellent but could use a few minor improvements
By BD, Illinois, May 4, 2011

I have used this on 4-5 trips now and overall this is excellent. It is also a larger pack than what you might think when you read 'mini'. This is as large or larger than most packs you would normally buy so if you are considering this pack vs the regular Rucksack look at sizes carefully. I agree with most of the positive comments in these other reviews so I won't repeat but to say this pack is very well built!

But there are a few improvements that could be made:

1. The top loop carrying handle could be thicker/more material and padded with rubber. I think it will hold buy when my pack is heavily loaded this seems a bit flimsy.

2. The computer sleeve should be padded on the bottom (or padded more).

3. Add a flap at the top of the internal main compartment so the internal area stays dust/critter free and water resistant. This seems like an easy fix.

4. Add a key holder somewhere.

5. The bottom straps should have a place to clip onto or something when not in use.

6. Just cosmetics but the brass gromlets in the main compartment should be nickel to match the hardware on the straps.
 
 great American Made Product
By M. E. Hawkins, Columbia City, IN, March 5, 2011

I found the product on a website promoting American made products. I am so pleased with the product. I have traveled 3 times in the last few weeks. The bag is great.
 
 Often my personal carry on item
By Garry HALL, Washington DC, February 26, 2011

Over the past 4 years I have purchased an Air Boss, Gator, Safari Beano PR5, Sun Chaser and the Mini Rucksack. During this time I was a senior active duty Naval Officer traveling the world on business. With these bags I could always find a combo that would allow carry on only. When traveling for two weeks with a business suit and full dress uniform the Air Boss and Mini Rucksack combo gave the greatest versatility.

I've never been questioned by airline personnel about the rucksack as my personal item. The Air Boss goes in the overhead and the Rucksack fits under the seat. I have circled the globe traveling with only Redoxx gear and my bags are worth every dollar I spent on them. (I bought the Sun Chaser only after my college son "borrowed" my PR5. This has become his only bag for travel.)
 
 Outstanding Mate for a SkyTrain or AirBoss
By Dave, Arlington VA, January 15, 2011

...or traditional wheeled luggage like Tumi.

I am a die-hard Tumi user, but the Mini has essentially replaced my SafeCase brief. I still use a 22" rollaboard on occasions, but the Mini Ruck is usually clipped to it rather than the SafeCase now known as the "Alpha" which goes for $350.

The Mini offers adequate laptop protection, but it really excels with the side pockets. I can add a Sigg bottle on one side, which I fill in airline clubs. The other holds electronics or a sandwich.

The design means it fits under all airline seats, and if expanded at the top with say, a pillow or fleece pullover...it still fits.

The main compartment has generous room for files if you need then for business.. The zippered flap pocket is perfect for travel documents.

A basic (non-padded) waistbelt might be a good addition for class 3/4 mountaineering although I already have a pack for that.

The Mini works well with my SkyTrain and if not loaded too heavily I carry one on each shoulder.

A good alternative to the Gator when I'm carrying a bit more than usual.
 
 Excellent
By Russ, San Francisco, CA, December 21, 2010

This bag is an excellent, high-quality version of an old time-tested design. Like all Red Oxx bags, it's sturdy & indestructible with a minimalist, very well thought-out design that shuns all but the most essential elements.

It's perfectly sized to be an airplane carry-on (stuff it full and they still won't make you put it in the sizer!), weekender, day-hiker, or workout bag.

If you want something with an airtight seal, this is not your bag. Following the traditional rucksack design, the main compartment closes with a drawstring and flap. A scree collar gives either more capacity or a tighter seal, but not both -- but your stuff inside _will_ stay clean and dry. A zipper is not necessary, and this wouldn't be a true rucksack if it had one. In fact, one big reason this bag is so good is precisely that it doesn't have a zipper. A zipper would constrain the design and reduce capacity. In practice, the rucksack design is perfect for the vast majority of situations you will encounter.
 
 Amazing Quality
By David Pitts, Bossier City, LA, November 29, 2010

If this bag was sold at your local store, it would put Jansport out of business. This backpack will definitely be the last one I will ever buy. You will not find a better bag than this, I guarantee it! Forget the imported stuff, this is quality you will only find in America. Parents buying kids new packpacks every year just became an option instead of a requirement. Not even a kid could wear this bag out. Buy one, you wont regret it.
 
 Superb Backpack
By Kenneth Lee, Singapore, October 29, 2010

I have recently ordered a black roadster mini rucksack and simply love this product. The size, quality and functionality of it are found superb. It is definitely value for money. Thanks Red oxx.
 
 Almost just right...
By TL, PA, August 11, 2010

I bought this pack without a specific purpose in mind, other than carting stuff around on day trips to various places, but I found I have used this much more than I expected. I have taken it on several weekend getaways (with my Beanos bag) and even a business trip to the UK (with my Air Boss) where I was in a different location every night for five nights. I agree to an extent with other reviewers that it could use a key loop and that the top not zippering could pose a problem for some, but I still give this a 5-star rating simply because it is based on an old design that they stayed true to, and it's built incredibly well. One thing I can say is that I'm 6'3" and I like my pack tight to my back, so this bag sits a little high. When I have my 15.4" laptop (that weighs a lot) it actually fits in the computer pocket, which surprised me. I like how the top of the bag expands, and the double drawstring and flap work well for me since I'm not out in the sand with it. The size is nice, I struggled over which bag to order. There have been a few times I wished I got the C-Ruck, but I will probably end up getting that too some day and use whichever one fits my stuff for that trip. I can see overloading the C-Ruck, because this bag holds a lot and can get heavy, but if I didn't have a 9-lb. computer this wouldn't be nearly as much of an issue. The padded straps make the load easy to carry though. Overall I'm very happy with this bag, as I am with all my Red Oxx products.
 
 Another excellent bag
By David, Massachusetts, August 8, 2010

I just returned from a two week sojourn in France and Germany, a combination of work and vacation. That combination required that I carry both work and leisure clothes, as well as a laptop and various files. Inspired by onebag.com and my commitment to ultralight backpacking, I took along only two bags: the Mini Rucksack and the Gator Carry On bag. Amazingly, everything fit, and I sauntered from airport to train station to Paris Metro to hotel, and never once felt burdened. These bags are designed and built exquisitely, they are comfortable to carry, and they expand to accomodate items of all shape and size. With a little discipline and a willingness to wash a few garments every few days, the Mini Ruck can carry your gear for almost any trip.
 
 Think outside the "Oxx"
By Brix, Nomadic, March 1, 2010

Well thought out, The only change I would make ia a little loop of fabric Identical to the ones at the zipper track ends so I can loop my Red Oxx dog tag through it to hold keys on the inside of one of the pockets.

The scree collar is not truly dust proof, but for me, OK.I just put a bandanna overit and tighten the duffle over it. a previous commenter noted the flap might make the bag look bigger than it is, but to get around that, so it fits under the seat, is to take whatever out of the front pocket, put it inside the main bag, and strap the flap to the buckle underneath the bag. it wraps it tight. Then you have a package that looks and is, neat. Tuck excess straps, and/or cut them to the length you prefer. Heat seal the ends. Just be careful, you cannot add length easily! THANK YOU Red Oxx for not putting sternum straps or a waist belt on your rucks or other products, they can be bought after market, and are really not necessary for primary baggage.

My Nomad Shave kit holds a safety/first aid/ survival/ toiletry kit, and slides well into the bottom of the Mini Ruck, which gives it a good frame that will sit the bag upright. I could go on and on about this bag.
 
 Needs work
By Gary Fischman, Northern NJ, February 22, 2010

I just got finished putting the Mini-ruck through its paces on a two week jaunt through Costa Rica. It was used in every type of situation I am ever likely to encounter:

- Airline carry-on

- Day pack for the beach

- Hiking through jungle and rainforest

- Bouncing around dusty trails on an ATV

- Out on a boat with less-than-hospitable beach landings

First, the good:

The size and shape are perfect. Not too big. Not too small. The exterior compartments are ideal - any more would make it difficult to remember where my stuff is. Compartment sizes were perfect and addressed every situation I encountered. The long side pockets were great when I zipped off my pant legs and stuffed 'em in there. The bottom straps were perfect for carrying rolled up wet towels after a day at the beach without getting the inside compartment wet. Balance was good and comfortable. I also like the way the main compartment expands - perfect for carrying an extra rain jacket. The laptop pocket easily handled my netbook.

Now the shortcomings:

1) The drawstring and flap on the main compartment is not sufficient. It does not close the main compartment, making it easily susceptible to dust and small critters. It also isn't as secure as a zipper. The main compartment needs a zipper.

2) The flap over the main compartment is a nuisance. Its too long to close tightly unless the pack is overstuffed. So it always sort of flops around. It also gives the *appearance* of being larger than it really is. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue. But it raised the concern of the pilot on the small plane, and I had to convince him that the pack was really smaller than it looked so he would allow me to carry it on board without having to check it as an oversized piece.

3) It needs an internal loop inside one of the exterior pockets to clip keys.

4) The laptop flap needs a snap in the middle to hold it against the side and keep it from puffing out into the main compartment.

5) A useful addition would be a strap similar to the one on the tri-fold shave kit allowing it to be strapped to a tree limb to keep it out of the sand (which easily enters the bag because the main compartment doesn't secure well at all.)

Overall, its not a bad pack, but the inability to really close the main compartment is a major flaw.
 
 Great pack! Just a couple shortfalls...
By Jay Baker, Rochester, NY, February 4, 2010

After looking for a great bag that's made in the USA, I think I found it in the Roadster. While I haven't owned it for long, here are my impressions of the product so far. If I have more, I'll be sure to update.

First, this is a seriously solid bag, made from heavy material and serious hardware. I doubt that longevity will be an issue. If it is - LIFETIME WARRANTY! I LOVE that the inside is bright red so that you can easily see everything in the bag. I had my doubts about the shoulder straps when I first got it, but now I think they're just right and help center the weight of the pack on your back. I have really gotten used to having a chest strap as well, though, and I think that would be a worthwhile addition to this pack. The main compartment is cavernous and fits a dopp kit and a few days worth of clothes quite easily. I haven't tried it with a laptop yet. The side pockets are equally as cavernous, with lots of space for things to which you want easy access. The bag also sits upright on its own much more naturally than other packs I have, even when loaded down; it's very well balanced. While I bought this bag with full disclosure that it did not have this, I find myself now really wishing it had a key hook in one of the side or front pockets so that I don't have to hunt to the bottom of them for my keys.

When I first bought this pack, I intended for it to replace my daily carry backpack which I use to bring paperwork, sometimes a laptop, a daily organizer, my lunch, my iPod, as well as lots of small accessories back and forth to work. I'm reconsidering that at the moment because of two things this bag lacks: the chest strap and a hook inside one of the pockets for keys. When the weather's cooperating, I walk 2.5 miles each way to work, and my current bag has both of these things which I think are essential to me for this kind of daily packing.

Overall this is a great bag. I can see myself traveling with it, taking it on camping trips, holidays, etc. I'll also be recommending it to anyone who wants something similar, and argue that you most definitely get what you pay for, and support products made in the USA. I've also got my sights set on an Air Boss or Sky Train when my current piece of luggage wears out. Keep up the great work guys!
 
 Excellent Product, Bigger than Expected
By Anonymous, California, December 10, 2009

I used this bag when I went to London for a few days in October. It was small and compact, yet it held a lot more than I thought it would. I did need an extra bag to carry home the goodies I got. I had to carry it most of the last day in London and I liked the size because I didn't look like someone traveling just someone with backpack. The only problem is the straps. I'm pretty short so I had to adjust the straps and had a lot of the strap leftover. It snagged onto the screening machine in Heathrow and was tangled. Luckily the nice security screener was able to untangle it. I was prepared to cut it if they couldn't get it off.

My other problem was the price. It was so expensive, but I'm sure it will last forever, so it just might be worth it.
 
 Ruck Survives the Desert
By Anonymous, Bozeman, Montana, October 29, 2009

Now that I've had my Mini Ruck for a couple years now I figured it was time for an update. See my first review dated 8-8-07. First of all this pack has been to the desert twice now when I went to the Burning Man Festival outside Reno. In 08 it was more sheltered from the toxic playa dust but this year it took a beating. I'd like to make note that if there's anything playa dust will destroy faster than you can imagine, it's zippers. My tent zipper went kaput in 1 day, my shorts zippers fried out in 3 days. The zippers on my mini rucksack worked all week, despite a daily dusting since I couldn't close up my tent. I love I can store a variety of things in the outer pockets and access them so quickly. So they got used quite a bit. When your hands start to shred or are coated with dust, it's nice to be able to grab onto that monkey fist and yank open the zipper.

Anyway, I survived BM and though the ruck sack was dusted out, I blasted it with an air compressor inside and out and then dunked it in my tub, brushed off what I could get outta the corners, rinsed and hung it up to dry in the sun. You could say, the Rucksack handled the trying desert conditions better than I!

Here's another great feature about this backpack I like. It can: fit 2 growlers in the main compartment and 2 bottles of wine or spirits in the side pockets. A toast to Red Oxx!
 
 Ruck Survives the Desert
By Anonymous, Bozeman, Montana, October 29, 2009

Now that I've had my Mini Ruck for a couple years now I figured it was time for an update. See my first review dated 8-8-07. First of all this pack has been to the desert twice now when I went to the Burning Man Festival outside Reno. In 08 it was more sheltered from the toxic playa dust but this year it took a beating. I'd like to make note that if there's anything playa dust will destroy faster than yourself, it's zippers. My tent zipper went kaput in 1 day, my shorts zippers frigged out in 3 days. The zippers on my mini rucksack worked all week, despite a daily dusting since I couldn't close up my tent. I love I can store a variety of things in the outer pockets and access them so quickly. So they got used quite a bit. When your hands start to shred or are coated with dust, it's nice to be able to grab onto that monkey fist and yank open or close the zipper.

Anyway, I survived BM and though the ruck sack was dusted out, I blasted it with an air compressor inside and out and then dunked it in my tub, brushed off what I could get outta the corners, rinsed and hung it up to dry in the sun. You could say, the Rucksack handled the trying desert conditions better than I!

Here's another great feature about this backpack I like. It can: fit 2 growlers in the main compartment and 2 bottles of wine or spirits in the side pockets. A toast to Red Oxx!
 
 sort of a letdown
By Gabe, Rio de Janeiro, October 27, 2009

Let me start out by saying that I am a Red Oxx groupie. I started out with the Airboss and then moved to the Sky Train. The Sky Train is indispensable, and like many Red Oxx customers, I will be writing the Sky Train into my will if not taking it with me to the afterlife. I have a handfull of Red Oxx accessories as well.

I needed a smaller bag to go along with the Sky Train on flights and also for daily use. Something to carry my laptop in, maybe running shoes, passports, etc. I wanted a comfy backpack with the quality and looks that only Red Oxx can provide.

Well, the quality is definitely there. No question. The look is there, too. the Safari color scheme is awesome. But the comfort is not and the functionality doesn't work for me. The main compartment is a little narrow. Obviously from the reviews this is what people are looking for. I just feel that it could be slightly wider, maybe at the expense of the long side pockets. These pockets don't work for me anyways, they are too deep and small, so that when the main compartment is full you can't really get into them without a struggle.

Also the straps that connect the shoulder pads to the base of the pack are too close together so that they sort of rub into my kidneys when I wear the pack. I am not a big guy (6', 180lbs, 32 inch waist) so this is weird.

Shoulder straps were not all that comfortable when comparing them to a recent Patagonia backpack (sorry, don't know the model - they got it at an Apple store) that a family member purchased for his laptop and schoolbooks. The Patagonia was ergonomically better designed for comfort of the shoulders and back. That Patagonia was less than $100, so that is something to consider. (Of course I would bet my life that the construction quality of the Red Oxx is twice as good. And those big zippers are so amazing). If you are looking for a laptop backpack, you might consider the Patagonia lines for comfort, room, and price.

Overall, if I were asking for the perfect pack, I would want the same overall size as the Mini-ruck (C-Ruck seems too big to accompany Sky Train on to a plane), except removing the side pockets and widening the main compartment. Also, the shoulder straps need a closer look. Adding one of those European handles like the Sky Train has would be awesome.

I wouldn't have been so critical of this, but I really like Red Oxx, and I want them to be aware of dissenting opinions so that if they find the opinions of merit, they can make their products better and better.

~ Gabe - Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate your honesty and will make note of your observations during our product development meetings. - Howard, Minister of Information
 
 Mini Ruck to Africa and Back...
By M. Cromwell, New Hampshire, May 29, 2009

I ordered a Mini-Ruck before my trip to Africa. It worked great. I loaded it with all of my valuable gear for the trip over and back and everyday while I was there. It carried everything needed for a day in the thorn laced countryside of central Namibia. I also trusted the PR6 Beano for my checked bag to carry all my other gear for the hunt. Thanks for the great products and services.Sincerely,Mark CromwellNECG LtdSchmidt & Bender, Inc. USA
 
 Simply Perfect
By Brian, Michgian, March 2, 2009

I ordered this bag to be used as my "personal item" on a recent family trip. I loaded it with a MacBook (in a neoprene sleeve), jacket, change of clothes, electronics, two books, and other stuff. It holds an amazing amount and still fits under the airplane seat. I love the pockets and straps, which make getting to stuff super easy.Once at the destination, I used it as a daypack for excursions. This bag looks great and is incredibly durable.I've read a couple of reviews where users noted that the bottom straps (for attaching an item to the bottom of the bag) could get in the way on air planes, etc. After receiving the bag, I just attached a couple of "Web Dominators" from ITW to neatly and cleanly secure the excess strap to the bag. I highly recommend this solution.Thanks for a great looking, perfectly functional, indestructible rucksack. I'll be putting this bag in my will; it will certainly outlast me! (All of my other day packs -- some of which were quite pricey -- are going to new homes.) Regards,Brian
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Specifications

Mini Ruck Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Monkey Fist Zip knots on all zippers
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil-Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding in back
  • Synergy Performer Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • Capacity up to 1,896 cu. inches
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • US Dimensions: 17"L x 10"W x 6"H
    Side Pockets: 12"L x 6"W x 2"H
    Front Pocket: 7"L x 6"W x 2"H
  • Metric Dimensions Main Compartment only: 43.2cm L x 25.4cm W x 15.2cm H
  • US Capacity: 1,896 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity (total): 31 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.52 Kilos

Roadster Mini Ruck Sack Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Black
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between Roadster Mini Rucksack, K-12 Kat Pack Backpack, and the Airborne C Ruck?
The Roadster Mini Rucksack is the little brother to the Airborne C Ruck. It's two inches narrower and one inch shorter. These smaller dimensions are also reflected in the side pockets, front raised pocket and cover flat pocket. See the Specifications Tab for further dimension details. The K-12 is a rectangular style school backpack that zips open down the top and sides.
 
Will the Roadster meet personal item carry-on standards?
Certainly, the Mini Ruck will easily fit into any overhead bin and even under a few airline seats.
 
What's the best way to pack the Roadster?
Since Rucksacks are top loaders, the most efficient way to pack one is to pack items you may need easy access to in the raised exterior pockets and rolling each piece of clothing. Another option we recommend is to use the Nomad Shave Kits and Lil Roy Gadget Bags as packing cubes. This way you can compartmentalize everything by color coding. Bundle wrapping would require pulling the entire bundle out to access anything.
 
How many days worth of supplies will fit in the Roadster Rucksack?
Depends on how good a packer you are. Most people can get a weekends worth of clothes in the Roadster. We'd estimate two to three days.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Roadster? What size laptop?
Virtually any laptop or tablet with up to a 15" diagonal screen and two inches thick will slide into the padded sleeve inside the rucksack.
 
What's the red fabric on the inside of the bag for?
Having a bright color on the inside of the bag helps to see what's inside the bag. It also adds an extra layer of weather resistant protection.
 
Does the Mini Rucksack have a belly strap?
Because the Roadster does not have a bulky built-in frame, a belt strap would not help to balance the load.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
There is a notebook / laptop stitched-in sleeve located in the back of the rucksack.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.