COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (663 Reviews)

 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
 Have Bag Will Travel
By ESA, Atlanta, December 22, 2007

I just took a job that will entail significant business travel. I knew my existing luggage wouldn't cut it so I went shopping and quickly found the AirBoss. One question I had was how much real business wear will it carry? Not a sport coat and a couple of pairs of slacks but suits, ties and dress shirts for people that can't sport reruns in the executive suite every day. I quickly found the answer. Using a slightly modified bundle packing method, it comfortably holds four suits (42R), five dress shirts, toiletries, five pairs of underwear, t-shirts and socks, 5 ties and a pair of shoes. All that weighs about 23 pounds with the bag. That's about enough for a week without doing laudry or a lifetime if you do laundry.The bundle packing method has to be modified because the width of a suit jacket shoulder to shoulder is longer than the length of the case so you have to fold the shoulders in toward the middle just inside the shoulder padding in the suit. The method still produces suits that aren't wrinkled. There is some wrinkling in the shirts but I suspect that is bad packing technique. It's also the result of the wrong shirts. In this day and age I need to be buying wrinkle resistant and will do so going forward.It's a great bag and definitely the best choice I could have made for week in/week out travel. It holds significantly more than my similar sized Tumi wheeled carry on.One suggestion I have is for Red Oxx to visit a golf store and check out the IZZO Dual Strap that is now de riguer on golf bags of all makes. I see no reason such a thing couldn't be offered for the Air Boss (or most any other bag) with no change to the bag. In fact, I may just add one myself it would be so easy.Note:I have seen that two strap carry method before. It is a great idea, simply hook two shoulder straps to the bag and cross them. Voila! you have a bag that is supported by two straps. (you must cross them)Red Oxx
 
 Doesn't keep its shape
By Anonymous, Denver, CO, December 4, 2007

I've stopped carrying this bag. It mushes out of shape, particularly when the internal straps are tightened in the outside pockets. When you put your book in the outside pocket, it's uncomfortable to put that side in, and the strap doesn't balance well the other way.Great zippers.
 
 The best bag ever
By Chris Boughton, Philippines, November 28, 2007

I bought an Air Boss on the recommendation of onebag.com. Based in the Philippines I travel weekly around Asia, usually in economy class and this is the bag that goes with me. It holds my shirts, spare trousers, gym stuff, laptop computer, files, etc.; everything I need for 4 nights on the road and 3 or more flights. The workmanship on the bag is superb, the strap great at distributing the weight, the multiple compartments fantastic at letting me segregate my stuff and know exactly which compartment I need to open to find something I need.Gone are the days of worrying whether my bag had made it on the right flight. I may not be the first through immigration, but I will be first in the taxi queue!
 
 Customer for Life!
By Bob Perry, Greenfield, Indiana, November 13, 2007

Customer for Life!This is my second purchase from Red Oxx. I've been using the Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 for little over a year now and just posted my review there. At the time of my first purchase the PR5 was the best choice as an all around bag for my purpose. However, there have been events that I have to travel to that required a step up in clothing and so I started looking over the Air Boss as another option. I recently had a good travel excuse and enough mad money stashed away to finally make the purchase. I'm glad I did all the wonderful things I said about Red Oxx and the PR5 in my review hold true for the Air Boss. I found that packing nicer cloths was a simple, plenty of room for everything I need to take and overall it worked better for me as a carry on bag for air travel. So, if your primary interest is as a carry on bag for air travel consider the Air Boss you won't be disappointed.Slainte
 
 Ms.
By Melaine Lomax, Cincinnati Ohio, November 8, 2007

Love it, love it! By George, I believe I've found the perfect bag! Lighter than my rollers and much easier to swing into and out of overhead storage. Took it to Aruba for a week and lived out of it. My partner teased me about the "exorbitant" price, but had to eat crow when she asked to borrow it for her last two trips. The amethyst is my favorite color and is so easy to pick out in crowds. My birthday was yesterday and I got the Sunchaser model. Hey folks, Grandma always said, "You get what you pay for."Thanks again,Melaine in Cincinnati
 
 Wow! Why didn't I do this years ago?
By Ed, Dallas, TX, November 7, 2007

I have been doing carry-on travel for years now. I succumbed to the wheeled bag craze and battled my bag in and out of overhead storage over the years. And finally it happened, my bag died. It was a joyous moment because I had my eye on the Air Boss for some time and knew it was next.After traveling with the Air Boss, I just don't know why I didn't suck it up and replace my wheeled bag years ago. The Air Boss is a dream to pack with the two clothes storage pockets on the side with their own tie down straps and the generous center storage compartment. I have more than enough room to cover my needs for a week of business travel.The Air Boss is worth every penny of its price if you travel on a frequent basis, and I have no doubt that it will outlast my last wheeled bag. If you are struggling with whether or not the Air Boss is worth the price, go ahead and pull the trigger and buy it. You will never look back or regret the decision. I would definitely buy another Red Oxx product.
 
 Best Bag Ever
By Rick F, Walnut Creek, CA, November 1, 2007

This is the best bag I have ever owned. I travel a lot for work and have never been able to haul all the stuff I carry without checking bags. After buying this bag, checking a bag is a thing of the past. On my last trip to Vegas, I was able to pack a suit, 3 pairs of pants, 5 button shirts, 5 undershirts, 6 t-shirts, underwear, socks, gym shorts, swim suit, runnings shoes, sandals, and toiletries. I even had room left over for souvenirs. The best part, ALL CARRY-ON! No waiting forever for my bags, just grab and go.
 
 great bag
By Jason, Cary, NC, October 25, 2007

Great bag, really well constructed. I love the built-in clothing straps which allow me to leave my eagle creek organizers at home. My only gripe are the lack of smaller organizer pockets in the front zipper compartment and the open magazine compartment as well as the small zippered compartment. It makes it tough to find things like extra batteries, pens, lighters, epi-pen, sunglasses etc. when they are just floating around in the bag somewhere.
 
 Amazing Bag
By Anonymous, , October 15, 2007

I travel across the Atlantic twice a month, in addition to smaller trips, and have a variety of luggage to cope with the different demands that places. Up until now.I flew to the US with my decidedly battered TravelPro Rollaboard (just worked out cu.in. to be over 4000), containing one suit, five shirts, three t-shirts, a sweater, four ties, a pair of boots, underwear and toiletries.On the way back I packed it all into the AirBoss, added my laptop, cables, powercords ipod, book, papers etc - and threw some gifts for the family into the old TravelPro to check.No problems as I went through security, down to the plane and put in the overhead. This is my second Red Oxx bag (have the padded brief), and it certainly won't be my last - I have the PR5 and the C-Ruck on my wish list.Thanks Amanda and Jim for looking after me again - with great advice and friendly service.
 
 Great product, superb customer service!
By Bill Karow, , August 23, 2007

I recently ordered an Air Boss and a Slimline briefcase. After ordering, I realized they wouldn't arrive in time for my trip. So I called, figuring it was futile but worth a shot. Wow. Not only did the young lady I spoke to (I neglected to write down her name, which I regret) listen to what I was telling her, she came up with a way to get a new set of bags shipped to me faster, and to have the original shipment intercepted. Unbelievable. In today's retail climate, finding an interested party on the other end of a customer service call is a rarity. Finding one who is genuinely interested in helping fix your problem, even if it's going to involve a lot of work on their end, is stunning. I got the bags in time, and love them. Great workmanship, excellent design, and they have been a huge improvement on every other carryon and briefcase combo I've used. Great products and spectacular customer service - I'm sold! Consider me a client for life, and I'll be referring my fellow road warriors to you every chance I get.
 
 Best Bag I have Ever Had
By Anonymous, , August 6, 2007

I travel frequently to and from the Middle East. This entails perfect packing and traveling as light as possible, but needing to anticipate all the delays.The Air Boss is perfect for this. I do not have to worry about long lines to check baggage (that close as I get to the front) and do not have to worry about "losing" anything I have packed. I carry not only my laptop in the center section, but 2-3 days worth of clothes and a couple of books and still have room left over!!!This is the perfect bag for short or long distance carry-on travel. After more than a year, it still looks new.
 
 Best Travel Luggage Ever
By Anonymous, , July 5, 2007

Just returned from a ten day honeymoon in Italy. My Air Boss and Gator Bag performed flawlessly, and were subjected to every abuse possible - planes, trains, automobiles, buses, cafes, dusty roads in Tuscany, etc.I found the Red Oxx web site a few months ago (and OneBag.com), and was so impressed with the product reviews that I promptly sold a number of pieces of Filson and Orvis luggage on eBay, and purchased an Air Boss and a Gator Bag. They are now the only luggage I need.The Air Boss is a breeze to pack, and the Claw shoulder strap is the best design I've ever seen. The bag fit in every overhead bin on every plane we flew. I bought a number of soccer jerseys and other souvenirs for my kids, and the Air Boss kept swallowing them up with ease. It's almost impossible to overload this bag.The Gator Bag was equally impressive. It has a huge capacity, and easily held guidebooks, Moleskine notebooks, driving maps, sunglasses, a jacket and anything else I threw in for the day. The outside snap pockets can be opened and closed with one hand, which came in handy when constantly digging for passport, boarding pass, camera, etc.Outstanding products. Count me in as a Red Oxx customer for life!
 
 Bought it, use it, like it!
By Anonymous, , June 19, 2007

I had a business trip to Bozeman and drove over to see the bags at the store. I even changed flights and left from Billings. Bought the Air Boss and a Beano. I really like the Air Boss (and the Beano) when I do not over stuff it which is easy to do. Clothes fold well and carrys a weeks worth. Could use handles on the ends to drag it out of the overstuffed overheads of the small planes flying into the smaller airports in Montana out of SLC.
 
 Outstanding Quality, Unquestionably reliable, With One Wish...
By Anonymous, , June 7, 2007

I have used the Air Boss on numerous trips--the quality and craftsmanship is the best I have seen. The layout is totally functional. Durability and function meets my high standards (third world travel, rural African travel).Backpack straps that can be concealed are needed though, and would drastically improve the versatility of the bag. If Red Oxx were to make a model such as this, or similar to this, I'd buy several, and would recommend them widely.Other than this, it is a perfect piece of work.NOTE: We have just completed the new Sky Train! This is a completely new bag for the leisure traveler. (Red Oxx)
 
 Two weeks in China
By Anonymous, , May 29, 2007

Just got back from two weeks' vacation in China carrying my Air Boss and Gator. It carried all my clothes and tolietries (I did laundry once), paperwork for an adoption, DVD player, etc and still had room for more! I did have to check it on the way back due to liquids, but no matter what, I was able to stuff even more into it. Got a lot of great comments. The only slight negative was that when it was fully stuffed it was pretty heavy for me (lady traveler), but I've taken it on several shorter trips and haven't even come close to filling it. By the way, the zipper on my husband's duffle broke on this trip and needless to say..we'll be ordering him a Beano soon. Thank you for your very high quality product; I know I'll be passing it down to my children!
 
 Best Carryon!
By Ramon Generoso, , May 4, 2007

I got the Air Boss as a gift recently, to replace my sagging, formless ETBD carryon. The old bag was with me on a trip to Morocco last month, but the frequent packing and unpacking made it clear how having just one big compartment, while flexible, can be a pain, despite the use of packing cubes.My wife never liked that bag. Problem is, now she wants my Air Boss!The quality of materials and construction are just worlds apart. You get what you pay for.Probably more. The thing comes with a lifetime warranty. And the folks at Red Oxx were really nice and helpful. Hard to come by that combination nowadays.Thanks, Red Oxx!
 
 My favorite travel bag!
By Anonymous, , April 27, 2007

As a woman traveler, I worried about the "carry" in carry on, but I purchased the Air Boss and I love it. On short trips I use the Claw Shoulder Strap and I can carry the Air Boss easily. On longer trips with a week's worth of clothes, coat, and purse in tow, I simply "add wheels" and use a Travelite luggage cart (folds to 16.5" x 10.5"). Once I get to my gate, I just fold up the cart and slide it under my seat. The Air Boss gives me everything I want--one carry on bag in a gorgeous color (Mariner), a week's worth of clothes, and easy transport. Another big plus--this lightweight bag is much easier to lift into the plane's overhead compartment-no more struggling with a heavy wheeled bag! My next trip is to South Africa, so I'll forgo the cart, but not my Air Boss. Thank you to all the staff at Red Oxx!
 
 Major Score for any Business Traveller
By Anonymous, , April 27, 2007

I purchased this bag recently and I have already used it on two back to back weeks of business travel. The over the shoulder style (Claw Strap is Awesome BTW) is great for maneuvering in crowded airports, and the lack of unnecessary wheels allows for more packing space. I can easily pack a weeks worth (and then some) of business wear in this bag. I really loaded it up today with extras picked up during a week of travel, and it fit snugly in the overhead. Smaller planes with smaller overheads require a gate check when fully loaded, but this is still better than waiting at the baggage claim. Craftmanship is top shelf with its "Made in Montana" quality shining through. I will continue to purchase Red Oxx gear as needed.
 
 What a GREAT Bag.
By Anonymous, , April 14, 2007

As many people have done, I purchased this bag after reading the story at OneBag.com. After agonizing over the cost, I finally decided that 'you get what you pay for', and purchased the bag. What a great decision. I recently used it while traveling to Belize on a Bareboat sailing adventure. While the other 11 people on the trip were checking their bags, I walked on the plane carrying my bag. This bag held all my clothing, shaving bag and misc gear for my 7 day trip with no problem. I made sure everyone on the trip was aware of what a great bag this really is. Thanks again for making such great products.
 
 Best bag ever, no doubt about it.
By Anonymous, , April 5, 2007

Best bag I've used in over 40 years of professional travel. I've had mine about six months, and I've used it to drag my stuff aound the world - Mojave Desert, Persian Gulf, South America, New Orleans - even the wilds of Blacksburg, Virginia. Came through like a champ.I use the packing cubes, and it's amazing how much stuff you can fit in without overpacking it. If I'm only taking one bag and leaving the Gator bag (also outstanding), I use the middle compartment for camera, iPod, reading material, etc.When I meet co-workers at the airport, they often ask "Is that all you're taking?". Truly the Swiss army knife of luggage. There's not too many places I can't go with my Air Boss and Gator bags. Thanks for such outstanding products - both well thought out design and quality construction. I'm a Red Oxx guy for life!
 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.