COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, the popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light: freedom of movement, less time wasted waiting in lines, no lost luggage, easy access, and overall travel simplification. Peruse over 700  customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need, and nothing you don't, in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized happier traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your belongings in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab where Red Oxx Ambassador Kasey Austin shows how to use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this! Another idea is adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

A BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our fans like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our history as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Air Boss break down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular air travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS Ground Shipping in the U.S.A. is $13.00 (orders up to $260.00).
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. Australia and New Zealand is $55.00. All other International orders are $50.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Air Boss is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (712 Reviews)

 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
 PERFECT TRAVELLING COMPANION
By VALTER RECCHIA, ITALY, March 18, 2010

The best Carry on Bag I have ever had. Create by experts thinking on the real needs of frequent travellers.

Thank you
 
 Best bag I've ever used
By Tracy Castile, San Diego, March 17, 2010

This is quite simply the best bag i've ever used for traveling. It fits absolutely everything i can pack, and fits anywhere. The construction is top-notch and i will be using this bag for years.
 
 The bag to end all bags ...
By TomTom_Tom, Canada, March 9, 2010

I selected the Air Boss after overwhelming positive reviews not only here but also on sites like Flyertalk -- and after CATSA began to strictly enforce carry-on size restrictions for flights to the US.

The Air Boss arrived two weeks ago, and after two trips with it, I am very much impressed. The construction is superb and the multiple compartments help with organized packing. I easily fit a week's worth of clothing etc into it, and carried it all over multiple airports, train stations, taxis and hotels -- and, yes, it even fits into the overheads on a regional jet. The convenience of actually *carrying* a bag is amazing after years of dealing with wheeled luggage. There is no going back now!

The one complaint? The claw strap is very grippy but is relatively narrow and when the Air Boss is fully packed, it tends to bite into the shoulder. I switched straps with my laptop bag (where the claw strap works great), and the Air Boss is now much more comfortable with the wider strap. I may yet upgrade to Tom Bihn's Absolute Strap, though.
 
 The Real Deal
By George, Southwest Colorado, March 4, 2010

I am back to being a weekly road warrior and this bag makes my life so much easier. Fits in every overhead from regional jets to triple 7s. Several times in the past month, I was flying standby, and was able to carry on my weeks worth of stuff when everyone else was forced to gate check their roller bags. You can always find room in the overhead for this bag.

Use the eagle creek pack it system and a weeks worth of shirts/dress slacks travel wrinkle free. Whether I am out one night or six,this bag will handle it.

Given its design, it is easy to overpack this bag, so it has forced me to evaluate what I really need to carry on the road.

Not having a roller bag sure makes shuttle vans, taxis, trains, etc. much easier to navigate.

I will never check a bag again, that alone will allow this bag to pay for itself.

I really did my homework and will say Red Oxx actually "underpromises and over delivers". I can assure you this bag is the "Real Deal".

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? They are designed to fit perfectly. Your Air Boss will thank you.
 
 Like Mary Poppins Bag
By Madriver, Spokane, WA, March 4, 2010

As advertised! I just kept putting more things into the bag and it kept swallowing them up! Went on a recruiting trip to Bozeman and had to pack nice closes and fishing clothes. All fit wonderfully. It's a quality product and I'm sure I'll add more to my collection. On a side note, I'm somewhat of a "bag-a-holic". I have owned many different bags. I think I finally found the right one!
 
 Strong Work
By Gus, Kansas City, March 4, 2010

Excellent quality. It is a great joy to get a product that delivers on its promises. Just enough storage for the things I need. Good work.
 
 A lifestyle choice
By Anonymous, Canada, February 28, 2010

I've used the Air Boss for about one year now.

The first thing one should be aware is that, by buying this bag, you're also buying into a lifestyle. Most of my trips are for periods of one to three weeks so careful preparation using any bag is usually required, and extra-careful preparation using a single carry-on bag is absolutely necessary.

As a lifestyle choice, the ability to use the bag as carry-on cannot be underestimated. You never loose your bag and the time gained in bypassing luggage carousels is a decisive advantage in any trip in which you would have to wait for checked luggage.

The major advantage of the bag is its soft shell, which gives it the versatility to deform or bulge, particularly if little or extra clothing is carried on a specific trip. The outside compartments will easily hold one week's worth of clothes. The bulk of the weight most likely will come from non-clothing items (laptop, papers etc) that are held in the middle compartment, or in either side compartments (closed and open). A full bag can get quite heavy (mine can weight up to 12.5kg) and may be cumbersome for some if carried on multiple-stage trips.

Unlike some others, I actually like the open pocket with the snap-on button. It is easy to stuff in there all kinds of items that need to be easily accessed: liquids and gels, inflatable pillow, wool socks, boarding passes etc.

I also like the snap-on handles and their cross-bag extensions, which allow the bag to squeeze in shape when it is held by the handles.

Overall, the rugged construction and general practicality make this product an excellent buy.
 
 Around the world with one AirBoss!
By Jim, Connecticut, February 26, 2010

I'm a frequent (weekly) traveler and am committed to doing whatever it takes to get through security and on/off planes with the least amount of wasted time - I just don't feel like wasting my remaining life minutes in lines. The Air Boss has become my one bag since I bought it for myself for Christmas. It's great for 2 or 3 nights - but then any bag this size is probably good for that. But, an around the world trip, that's another story. The Air Boss was my one bag for a recent trip around the world in 8 days - 4 countries. I did have a very lightweight nylon drawstring bag I ended up pulling out for souveniers but that was on the final return leg. I could have fit those in the Boss if I hadn't overpacked my bag preparing for the lack of potable water, possible food issues, and of course my very own soft TP :-)

I use all of the pockets (even the snap one on the side) and Eagle Creek cubes to keep everything in its place. My packing list is setup by cube (different colors to keep track of the contents -- 1st Aid in a red one, electronic cables & power supplies in a black one, etc.) and pocket. Easy to remember where things are and get to them fast without having to root around in the bag. Even TSA (Thousands Standing Around) agents seem a little more respectful when they open the bag to look inside (and that after excising my luggage of all liquids & gels! I don't get delayed by them often, perhaps they just want to check out my Air Boss?).

I'm usually early off the plane and always just breeze by the baggage claim. On my last trip that was key to reducing a lot of stress as I navigated foreign airports without problems - getting to immigration & customs quickly made getting through them fast too. This was a big deal in Nagoya where my flight stopped for refueling and they made us all get off with our carry ons, thru x-ray security scanners and then to a line...where all the passengers from a 747 had their luggage hand searched and then patted down. Being in the front of that line kept me sane.

I have made a couple of changes to the bag that I'd recommend to anyone trying to use it as their one bag - I put a slice of 20"x5"x1/2" closed cell foam from a camping pad on the bottom of the main compartment. This gives my laptop some cushioning when setting the bag down (my laptop goes in the center along with most of my packing cubes). I also added a 2" strip of Velcro (industrial adhesive version) to the inside of the main compartment (up against the zipper) using the fuzzy Velcro so it wouldn't scratch anything...then I added a matching strip of the hook portion of the Velcro strip capturing a D-ring with a small caribiner that I use to attach my keys as I lock my car at the airport - they stay attached for my whole trip and I know where they are when I get off that last plane and head to the car, no more searching trying to remember what I did with them.

I love this bag and the standard strap (doesn't slip). Pretty near perfect design.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? They are designed to fit perfectly and come in our exclusive 12 vibrant colors. Your Air Boss will thank you.
 
 Amazing Product!!
By Jon , New Jersey, February 25, 2010

When I received the Airboss I was extremely surprised of the quality, it exceeded my expectations. I had a flight scheduled for that night so I got to pack this thing right away. I travel for work at minimum 100k miles a year and have been on a "quest" for the past 3 years to find the ultimate carryon solution. I have more carryon/roller bags than any one person should have lol. I stumbled upon onebag.com last year and loved the idea of the Airboss, after toiling over the price (and purchasing several other bags in the mean time costing well over the price of this quality bag) I finally bit the bullet and made the purchase. I wish I would have just bought it when I found it last year and saved myself some aggravation and money. Anyway, on the details of the trip and bag....I was comfortably able to fit 4 days work of casual business attire and workout clothing/sneakers as well as my 17'' laptop without a problem. I was concerned about the fact I would be carrying the bag instead of rolling it but, it really wasn't a problem. I love the fact I have both hands free to carry my coffee and send emails on the BB. It's normally a juggling act with a roller. Fits nicely in the overhead and the quality is certain to last me a lifetime. Great buy for anyone who travels for business, simplifies the traveling experience.

Thanks guys.
 
 Glad I bought it......
By Scott , RI, February 25, 2010

I bought this bag for a 4-day trip to Texas, and I'll never travel without it again. It carries everything I need for up to a week and gets me in and out of airports without any baggage hassles. It's easy to pack, easy to carry and easy to stow in overhead compartments. It's by far the best carry-on luggage I've ever owned, and well worth the price.
 
 Great Briefcase too!
By Jeff L, North Carolina, February 24, 2010

Wow! $255 bucks for a suitcase I might use only 5 times per year!? I'd love to able to travel with only one bag, but how can I justify the price? Think Man Think!

After much deliberation I decided to use it not only as a suitcase for flying but also a daily briefcase for work. I have used it for this daily for the past 2 months to carry all my other 'stuff' I need when working from home at night. I've stuffed it with over 20 lbs of books, binders, portable scanner, etc. The bag has held up without a hitch, and is a joy to carry over the shoulder even with this amount of weight! Now I just have to figure out what to do with all my 'stuff' when I need to use it for a carry on...

Psst.... Hey Jim... you wouldn't happen to have another Air Boss just laying around that you'd like to rid of would ya?
 
 A great bag
By Dan Barwick, Dansville, NY, February 20, 2010

I'm reviewing the bag because it's so darned interesting compared to what it's competing against, and because it works so well. I've used the bag on seven or eight trips, and the main advantages of the bag are the ones that have to be experienced to really appreciate: the extremely light weight, the ability to fit in every overhead bin I've shoved it into, and the remarkable attention to detail on the bag. Unlike others, I prefer the supplied strap to the Tom Bihn, because I think the supplied strap "bites" better on the shoulder and stays put. I think that this bag underscores that there is no perfect bag for business travel (one person's "too formal" is another person's "not formal enough," and there's no way that a single bag can accommodate all of the variables that a traveler might need, like length of stay, climate of destination, electronic or paper needs, etc), but that thoughtful design allows for the greatest utility and versatility. If this bag doesn't work for your short business travel, then I think it's safe to say that your needs are outside of the norm - not a bad thing, but that's not the fault of the bag.

After reading the reviews, I feel obligated to do the traditional nitpicking, which is kind of like telling Angelina Jolie how to improve her appearance, but here goes:

1. The cross straps on the inside are needlessly bulky for their function. I think that they should be a flimsier material (perhaps mesh) with flimsier buckles to save weight, and then the material should widen where it attaches to the bag, which would minimize the distortion in the bag's shape that occurs when you cinch down the straps.

2. I don't have a good solution for this, but I think the fabric that snaps the handles together is more trouble than it's worth. It works great when it's closed, but is inconvenient to close and to open and is in the way when it's open.

3. A customer survey would find out for sure, but I think the large outer pocket with the single snap closure in the middle probably is used by the minority of customers. It's basically useless for everything but a newspaper or magazine, because of the shape and the lack of secure closure along the top of the pocket. Also, the snap is murder to close if the bag is packed and closed. removing the snap pocket would save weight. If the pocket is retained, I would place both sides of the snap on a short length of fabric, so you can get your fingers behind it when fastening.

4. I'd put some lightweight wear runners along the bottom.

Overall, a truly great bag, and I'm enjoying using it. When you pull the thing out of the overhead with no effort, and carry it light as a feather up the isle while everyone else is struggling with unwieldy bags, you really appreciate it.
 
 Just Adding New Experiences To My Reviews
By Ed Parker, Dallas, February 13, 2010

I got caught in snowlapoluza of 2010 and my 3 night business trip turned into 5 nights. Needless to say, I had to acquire some additional clothes and things for the extra two nights and was just hoping that the Air Boss could take on the extra cargo.

I'm happy to report that the Air Boss easily swallowed my extra provisions for the unplanned extra days. I knew that I had some extra room, but not that much. I added more shoes and clothes with no problem.

You have to love traveling with soft sided luggage. It can mold and adapt to changes as you travel. Give me the Air Boss any day over those roller 'me too' bags. I need performance in my luggage and Air Boss delivers!
 
 Terrific Quality
By Chuck, Northern Virginia, February 13, 2010

I had been eyeing the Air Boss for awhile and had read most of the reviews on it. My wife bought one in midnight for my birthday and I've now used it 3 times. Yes, it's a wonderful bag. It's not perfect, but closer than anything else I've used (and I'm a luggage addict). It is extremely well made, holds much more than it looks like it would, and fits easily in almost any overhead. Love the robust zippers and the Monkey's Fist pulls. I've heard some comments about loaded weight, but I don't mind at all. Negatives? a few small nits. Interior of the main compartment should be lined in red as well - gets dark down in there. Should be some small compartments somewhere for keys, watches and stuff when in security lines, and so forth. Also a pen sleeve. Not a complaint, but I also wonder about the durability of the bottom in heavy use. I know it's canvas, but I've worn out a Tumi computer case on the bottom even with wear strips. Anyway, great bag and it gets lots of looks and comments as well.
 
 as advertised
By Alan Birnbaum, Fresno CA, February 12, 2010

The Air Boss performs as advertised, slipping into the smallest of overhead bins, those on the Embraer 120 turboprop, and the Bombardier CRJ series, both lengthwise, while fitting crosswise into the bin of an Airbus 321, with room to spare, with the bag loaded to a measured 20 lbs. Of course, it will hold MORE than that, at least another 5 lbs, though that would cause it to bulge laterally.

One improvement possible would be a padded leather handle wrap, and changing the currently supplied shoulder strap to the Tom Bihn Ultimate Strap; I have already done the latter. For travel that primarily involves moving the bag within a terminal, rather than more extended walking, backpacking straps such as those on the Sky Train are unnecessary, and would just get in the way.

A smaller, lightweight messenger bag to slip into the middle compartment, that can be removed quickly, for more convenient use at one's airline seat, or to avoid having valuables getting separated with a gate check on a fully loaded, smaller airplane, is a useful addition to the system. Or, for a very long trip, a somewhat larger "personal" item could be used for similar purposes. For travel by car, however, the second smaller bag generally would be unnecessary.

--------------------------------------

Red Oxx Replies: Hi Alan, Try our Chica. It's sized right for the needs you mention. ~Minister of Information, Dept of Red Oxx Affairs
 
 A Definite Improvement on Roll-Aboards
By CRW Denver, Denver, CO, February 11, 2010

Just used this bag for the first time and will not go back to roll-aboards unless I have a really heavy load and know that I'll be in first or business on a full-size plane for the entire trip. I did have to add a small Eagle Creek computer backpack because of the weight of the Air Boss when fully loaded with all my electronics. That also makes access for in-flight needs much easier.

I love the way the Air Boss fits into an overhead bin in a full-size plane, with the computer backpack on top of it instead of making the storage footprint larger (I have to stow both pieces because I usually fly in a bulkhead row).

The total empty weight of my two new pieces is just over 4 pounds, replacing nearly 14 pounds (empty) for my old configuration. I'm hoping that will let me carry on instead of checking when I fly around Australia and New Zealand visiting family, where the carryon restrictions are by weight instead of size.

I did have to replace the strap. Although it definitely does not slip off your shoulder, I found it almost painful in the way it dug into my skin with the bag fully loaded. I've used TempurPedic shoulder straps from Brookstone for a number of years, highly recommend them, and found that one worked just fine with the Air Boss - a small additional investment to make it more comfortable for me to carry.

The Air Boss is not a perfect bag - in a perfect world I would have a roller bag that weighs less than four pounds so I didn't have to carry it around on my shoulder - but it's better than the other alternatives currently available. I'm a tall, strong, woman and can manage the weight, which might be problematic for someone smaller.

In short, this will be my main travel bag from now on.
 
 Great "One Bag" Solution
By Doug, Michigan, February 11, 2010

I already own a Patagonia MLC and needed something with higher capacity for a recent trip to the UK. The Air Boss definitely did the trick. High capacity (4 nights, including shoes, a hard-cover book, etc.), sturdy as hell construction and zippers and the shoulder strap is comfortable even with what amounted to a pretty heavy load.

The only thing I would change, if it were mine to do, is to add the same kind of compression panels that Patagonia uses in their MLC. The tie downs on the Air Boss worked great and are also sturdy, so definitely not a detractor.
 
 My only mistake was bringing a backpack
By Eric, , February 4, 2010

I used this bag on a recent trip to Taiwan for a week, to avoid checking bags.

Turns out I should have just left the extra backpack home.

I like the three compartments. I like that they open flat. I like the straps inside. I wish there were straps in the center section as well.

The shoulder strap is nice. That gummy strap will stick to anything.

It fit perfectly in the overhead luggage standing upright. Maximum use of space, unlike the hard luggage.

Great bag, well made. Light weight, but you could definitely overstuff it so it's heavy.
 
 Great Bag
By Matt L, Rhode Island, February 4, 2010

Have used this bag twice now, won't go back to roller bags anytime soon. We had several layovers on a recent trip and had to use small planes to get to a certain spot. The Air Boss fit in the overhead bins of the smallest planes -- no need to check at the gate, then wait in the cold for them to get it. My colleague was stuck shivering while I waited in the airport with my bag. It was great.

Held all my stuff, and frankly, you can fit way too much in here, causing the bag to get heavy. I had a lot of paperwork with me, which I would not recommend, unless you have a strong back and shoulder. When I don't need to pack tons of paperwork, this is the bag for me. Would highly recommend.
 
 This is a great bag
By Tighe Smith, Knoxville, TN, February 2, 2010

As a frequent business traveler, I was experiencing many frustrations with checking luggage. When I lost my luggage on an important trip to Japan, I knew that I had to make a change. After much searching, I cam across the Air Boss. I read the reviews but hesitated to buy because of the price. My GF decided to get me this bag for Christmas and I can say that it is the single best piece of luggage that I own. I can easily fit all my clothing in the bag for a 6 day trip. I can also carry this bag onto the smaller planes that fly out of Knoxville to the larger hubs without a Gate Check...that feature was unexpected and almost unbelievable! If you are a frequent business traveler, bite the bullet and get this bag... you will be just as impressed as I have been.
 
... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming your Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Why not use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.