COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (681 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Worth every dollar
By Ed, Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada, March 1, 2014

We came across Red Oxx in researching "one bag" travel. We bought two of the Air Boss carry on bags. We used them for the first time on a recent Caribbean cruise. We traveled by air, then aboard ship. These bags are well made in every detail, very sturdy, and easy to handle. We received several unsolicited positive comments on them (one by airport security). It fit the exact dimensions for carry on luggage, as advertized, and it slid into the overhead bin smoothly while others were trying to force their over-sized "carry-ons" to fit. This is the best luggage I have ever owned.
 
 The Best Carry-On
By JB, San Diego, February 20, 2014

By far, this is the best carry-on I've had! The 3-compartment design is great and makes for very easy packing. The durability is very obvious in the quality zippers, hardware and fabric.

This is a great weekend bag, or even a week-long bag if it's combined with a smaller bag for toiletries and such. The center compartment is also big enough for a laptop if you don't have a separate bag or briefcase for this. I pack one side of the Air Boss with dress clothes and the other side with casual clothes, leaving the center compartment for shoes and other items. The Air Boss is an excellent, well-made and well-designed bag that lasts. Thanks to Red Oxx for the American-made quality!
 
 Hard to beat this bag
By Bruce, Bathurst, Australia, February 20, 2014

I bought the Air Boss after several weeks of reading reviews and online comparisons. The repeated comments about excellent design and build quality were the determining factors for me. I did baulk at the price, although I figured I'd only ever need to buy one Air Boss.

For some reason, the bag looked bigger 'in the flesh' than I was expecting, but this also means it holds more than I was expecting.

The temptation to overpack will have to be resisted when I take it on its first serious 'onebag' trip for three weeks next month.

Great bag. The right choice.

 
 Great Bag
By Adam, New York, February 13, 2014

Great bag. All of the other reviews are on point. Got to use it for a week-long business trip a few weeks ago and I was 100% satisfied.
 
 Best bag yet
By Ron G, Norfolk, UK, February 8, 2014

It's just like Mary Poppins bag, with a shoulder strap.

Having done a 2 week trip to California with hand luggage I decided to try the Air Bosson a 4 week 'one bag' trip to Phoenix, AZ. Firstly, I was surprised at how much went in the bag without appearing to be bursting at the seams. It can be a bit of hassle taking another laptop bag but not too bad once used to carrying it by the handle. It easily passed its maiden test and due to be used on another trip to Australia in a couple of months.

Let's see how many miles we can put on this bag.
 
 A Super Bag!
By Cody, Red Deer, Alberta, Canada, February 4, 2014

This bag is just as advertised. I spent a great deal of time investigating carry-ons, and finally decided on the Air Boss.

I just completed a ten day Caribbean cruise, carrying only my Air Boss, and it was more than adequate. Carried formal and informal wear with no difficulty, and it all fit comfortably in airplane overhead bins.

Excellent quality is evident throughout in its manufacture.

I may even be able to convince my wife to travel using only the Air Boss, she was so impressed with the bag and its capacity.

An excellent product.
 
 I'm obsessed with my new bag!
By J Munro, United Kingdom, January 31, 2014

After having my small wheeled luggage put in the hold on my last 2 European trips because the overhead lockers were full, and seeing my friend waltz straight on board with her carry bag and then easily take the stairs to our apartment whilst I dragged my case up, I decided to research a flight bag as soon as I got home.

I then discovered the only bag that fitted the bill was the Air Boss which I discovered through the onebag website. But at $220 plus £40 postage then another £30 customs fee into the UK, I decided to continue looking.

Nope - turns out the Air Boss was the ONLY bag that met the restrictions needed to guarantee my bag could come on the plane with me. After a solid month of research (I'm thorough!) I decided to bit the bullet and just buy it. The lifetime guarantee was the winner as I knew I'd never need another one.

Man was I excited. I must have watched 30 videos on people packing it before I ordered it - I knew this bag inside and out before it even arrived! After much deliberation I went for the red one and it arrived within a couple of weeks.

It was bigger than I imagined but I was so pleased when I got out all the stuff I'd taken on my last trip to Verona - stuff that filled my case to capacity, to find that it comfortably fitted in the Air Boss.

I take this bag all over the place now. Any excuse to use it actually. I feel proud carrying it at the airport and it has all the pockets and space I need. This bag is perfectly designed for me and I use it for trips where I'm taking my laptop and need clothes for around 4 days. I'm female and it's not too cumbersome and doesn't slip off my shoulder either.

Just buy the bag cos you won't ever need another one!
 
 Nice bag
By Anonymous, , January 17, 2014

I really like this bag. The first time I used it it was like an ad for it: flew on a tiny regional jet and I was the only one that could carry my bag on. Then, had 45 minutes to connect in a big airport and ran across the airport and made the connection. I will say a few things. If you have big feet like me (13 mens), shoes will take up much of the center area. I find it's better to wear my sport coat then pack it to save space. I pack pretty light (not super light, but pretty light), but even then it bulges a little more than it should (like I said, I put my gym shoes in my carry on). When it bulges, it cannot fit in the overhead bin of a small regional jet (CRJ900). What I ended up doing is either put it under the seat in front of me or keeping a bag within this that holds my laptop, kindle, reading glasses, etc. Once this stuff is out, then it's possible to fit in CRJ900 with some pushing.

That being said, I like this bag and will continue to use it. In the center portion I put: shoes vertical on sides, 1qt clear liquids bag, Nomad shave kit (that holds glasses, cords, etc), and another small pouch (11"x6" bankers deposit pouch) for non liquid toiletries. This system works well for me. My kindle goes on the outside pouch. I think if I were a smaller person, my shoes and clothes would take up less space, and I could give this 5 stars (the 4 vs. 5 is just because for me and my bulge-y packing, it doesn't quite fit on overhead of CRJ900, and I'm a tough grader, so 4 is good on my scale).
 
 Lives up to it's reputation
By John McCarthy, London, England, January 9, 2014

I've travelled around the world (twice) with this bag, and can't think of any way it could be improved for my needs.

I don't use this bag for business, but I did put my faith in it to pack a suit for a wedding and was impressed when it came out at my destination in very good condition. Most of the time it's loaded up with casual shirts, tees and holiday/travelling gear.

I bundle wrap everything and have been very impressed with how much the Air Boss can hold. It can hold more than is comfortable to carry so be careful. I'm generally alright carrying bags over long distances and I found the Air Boss and Claw strap to be very comfortable, although for heavier loads I changed the strap to a popular 3rd party strap for more comfort over grip.

In Europe, even with our tighter carry on rules I've never had to gate check the bag thanks to it's smart design and have flown the strict budget airline RyanAir many times with this bag with no problems at the gate. When their overhead spaces are full the bag fits neatly under the seat in front of you too.

This bag really is as great as you hear, as long as you are prepared to carry what you pack!
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, GA, December 28, 2013

Just finished my first trip with this bag - Germany for 10 days. Carried all the clothes I needed for a variety of dress and athletic days minus a ski jacket that I carried separately, required laundering once. Walked throughout ATL and FRA for decent distances with no significant fatigue or shoulder stress.

Materials are top notch and the bag feels extremely high quality.

Also love the safari color combination - a nice outdoorsy feeling but still understated.

Couldn't be happier - great bag!
 
 Air Boss
By George, Honolulu,Hi, December 26, 2013

This carry on is built like a tank. Zippers are bombproof. Perfect if you are carrying a 17" laptop and clothing plus a lot more. I am ready to pull the plug on a Safari-Beanos.

Aloha from Hawaii
 
 Perfect for its intended use
By Matt, Johnson City, TX, December 24, 2013

I have thoroughly enjoyed my Air Boss. I travel weekly for work (usually 3-5 days to 1-3 destinations) and, once I learned the ins and outs of packing for this bag over about 2 months, I am sold long-term.

Overall, the bag's capacity is amazing compared to my prior roller. The biggest watch-out is to avoid overpacking. My trips usually consist of 2 pairs slacks, 3-4 business shirts, 1 jacket, underwear, socks, 5 t-shirts, size 13 running shoes, 1 pair shorts, toiletries, and some small miscellaneous stuff (I also carry a laptop bag separately). This load fits easily, and is compressible enough to fit in CRJ bins. This comes to about 18 lbs (compared to 27 lbs for my roller, absolutely stuffed to capacity).

I use 2 packing cubes, a shaving kit, and gallon-size Ziploc bags in the center compartment (with running shoes in the bottom). Each side compartment contains 2 or 3 days' slacks, shirts, underwear, etc (folded with hangers still in). This setup may not be perfect for all but it works well for me. When I arrive I unpack one side's clothes, then begin to fold dirty clothes and put them back in that side as they accumulate. This method keeps the load distributed evenly. The center compartment unpacks and repacks easily with the cubes.

The shoulder strap is AWESOME, as my #1 complaint with other bags has been slippage of the strap. No worries at all about this one slipping! Attach/detach is one-handed and about 5 seconds' work.

Build quality is excellent. The zippers in particular get comments from other frequent travelers. I do love the strength and ease of operation of the zippers, snaps, and latches. Internal compartments are just the right stiffness to protect and be pliable at the same time. The looks are more casual than a Tumi roller, but doesn't seem inappropriate in any management setting I've been in (I think this look fits my personality better too).

Not sure what I would do to improve the bag--maybe put another zipper on the large, open side pocket to prevent gaps, maybe? Everything else I can think of is spot-on and has been a revelation as I've lived with the bag the first few months.

This bag is very, very tough to beat if you want the lightest load possible and are willing to give up wheels. The Air Boss for me is an unqualified thumbs-up recommendation.
 
 Pretty sweet, but not for me
By Ernie, Denver, CO, December 16, 2013

Very well made bag and packs easily. I used it for 2 trips - a 3 day domestic and a 6 day international. On both trips, I was easily able to fit what I needed into the bag.

It's not for me because it became a pain to carry on my shoulder. It was heavy and I became jealous of my travel partners who had rolling bags.

Like the title says, it is a sweet bag and extremely well made, but it is not for me.
 
 Air Boss on the Paris Métro
By Gareth Hughes, Oxford, December 16, 2013

My Air Boss (safari) has just completed its maiden voyage of four days in Paris with my choir. Stuffed full of choir music and gowns, it was comfortable to carry, and it fitted the overhead racks on the Eurostar. Yet it came into its own running around Paris by Métro. With some of the older stations offering only stairs, the wheelie bags were stuck. The well-designed compartments also meant that I could unzip one and retrieve whatever was needed rather than having to open everything and rummage through it all. This bag is the best I've travelled with.
 
 My first non roll-aboard luggage
By Michael, New York, NY, December 12, 2013

From reading onebag.com, I wanted to try traveling without a small and light roll-aboard. I still haven't decided what type of luggage that I prefer, with wheels or without, after 3 air travels.

The Air Boss definitely looks and feels high quality. I'm confident this bag may outlast me. I'm undecided about the huge zipper. It is very rugged, but I may prefer a smaller and easier to open zipper.



I think the main compartments for bundling wrap and few additional compartments are very well thought out. I can bundle a suit in one of the main compartments and it still looks nice at the destination.

My problem with traveling with the Air Boss, although it's not a problem with the product itself, is that with a 5lb work laptop plus charger in it, my shoulder carries a lot of load and may slightly exceed airlines' max weight allowed for a carry-on. This can be a disadvantage compared to a roll-aboard and a separate laptop bag perched on top of the roll-aboard. Again not an issue with the product, but should be a consideration for customers' coming from a roll-aboard and laptop bag combo.
 
 Works Really Well
By Kathy, PA, December 12, 2013

Bought this because my existing suitcases (bought for college 30+ years ago) do not meet any modern criteria. This was the perfect carry-on. All my clothes for a week fit in, but still wasn't too heavy. Went right into overhead compartment. Tough as nails.
 
 Worth every dollar
By Ryan, Boston MA, December 9, 2013

Great product. Amazing for airline travel. Nothing but ease through security and nice compliments to boot. My only negative is the strap can get real uncomfortable if the bag is packed to the max.
 
 Perfect Gift!
By Anonymous, Oklahoma, December 4, 2013

I bought this bag, a backpack, and a shaving kit for a gift and even after 3 months I am still hearing about how wonderful they are! I was impressed by the quality when they arrived and the color was gorgeous!! They are perfect for a quick weekend getaway or a week long vacation.

I am continually impressed by the company and the customer service I received initially and continuously. Look forward to purchasing for myself soon.
 
 The Air Boss is BOSS!
By Mr. Bill Travel , New England , November 29, 2013

I love the Air Boss....

As it my 12 year old son would say it is "Boss"!!

I have paid for the bag already with the bag fees I have saved with the airlines!!

Great bag for work or pleasure travel!
 
 My family's third AirBoss
By Mike, Maryland, November 21, 2013

I bought an AirBoss (blue) in 2010 in response to the raves on the OneBag site. My son saw it and asked for his own (navy) for Christmas 2012. Then with my daughter going abroad to study, she asked for one to complement her red rolling suitcase; the AirBoss sits nicely atop the roller, and also serves as a weekend bag.

I've used mine on many trips, as carryon and checked bag; it carries a ton of clothes and other gear (laptop, books, etc.). No real signs of wear. My only reservation is that it's not an easy bag to live out of--better if you can unpack and hang or store your stuff. But for getting to your destination--including that last mile on foot--it's hard to beat.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.