Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Adventures  > Trip Reports  > Jim's Carnival Panama Adventure Part 2  > Airborne-Carry-on-Ruck-Sack-C-Ruck

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm a history lesson carried on your back.”
Red Oxx Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack - shown in Olive. Chose from 12 Colors.

Airborne Carry-on Ruck Sack (C-Ruck) $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Paratrooper Tough!

C-Ruck: the do-it-all carry-on legal rucksack.

WHY CARRY A RUCKSACK?
Rucksacks were used by WWII paratroopers. Comfortably molded to their backs they did not add hassles to their already perilous days. Our modern version of the rucksack works just as well--without the added weight and bulk of an internal frame.

Called the "C-Ruck" for carry-on use, the Volara foam padded backing on the main compartment cushions your back. The deep and wide main compartment will hold more than enough belongings for a dawn to dark hike.

This rugged rucksack features an interior slip pocket that will safely stow your CamelBak, laptop notebook computer, or tablet. Underneath the C-Ruck pack, we've added Fastex straps to hold your jacket in the middle of your day hike, or your yoga mat when you're heading off to class.

EASY ON, EASY OFF.
No more squirming for the straps--soft UniSuede articulating shoulder straps provide surprising all-day comfort, rotating freely at the base of the shoulder. Far stronger than stitching into the bag. The rings provide a keen workable solution to the weakest part of a backpack, the shoulder strap seams, and are much stronger than stitching into the bag.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
Loaded with plenty of daisy chain loops on both the ruck itself and both straps, you'll never be short for hanging keys, flashlights, iPods, smartphones and anything else you may need quick access to.

Double drawstring top closures and handy external front and side zippered pockets add almost another 1,000 cubic inches of carrying capacity making it easy to organize your belongings. All external pockets feature our tough #10 YKK zippers that conveniently zip halfway down the pocket sides so you can dig deep if you need to. These tall pockets are also the perfect size for wine bottles in case you plan to pack for a picnic.

TESTED TOUGH.
Use the C-Ruck as your vehicle bug-out bag loaded for bear and ready to ramble. Since this is a fairly large knapsack, smaller framed folks might try the Roadster Mini Ruck.

Tested across the European theater by our Red Oxx Roughneck Bag Testing Crew, the C-Ruck knapsack loaded on and off trains and intercontinental flights without a hitch (and flagged a few taxis along the way). Packing a week's worth of clothes left room for souvenirs and the external pockets kept our goods organized.

BUY IT ONCE, BUY IT FOR LIFE.
Because Red Oxx backs our bags with our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty, you won't feel guilty about filling up your local landfill with cheap imported junk every season. Buy it once, own it forever, and pass it on. Join the "pack" and buy a military inspired, combat-tough rucksack and stand out from the ordinary backpack crowd.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your Airborne C-Ruck order now to get your rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior Dimensions: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: 1,428 cu. inches (2,400 including external raised pockets).

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual raised side zippered pockets: 12"H x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior dual raised side zippered flat slip pockets: 7"W x 6.5"H
  • Exterior raised front pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior zippered flat slip flap pocket: 10.5"W x 9"H
  • Interior slip pocket: 14.5"H x 11.5"W

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your C-Ruck.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great rucksack needs cool luggage accessories.

Rave Reviews from the Pros: About.com's Go Europe travel advisory gives the C-Ruck Rucksack a smashing 5 stars. Check out his Rucksack review.

Rucksack Trivia:
Rucksack is German for Backpack. Der Rücken (Ruck) refers to the back part of the body and translates as "to move". Sack means "pack". To move a pack. Surprising similarities exist in other European languages such as Rucksack is Rygsæk in Danish, Rugzak in Dutch, Ryggsäck in Swedish, Ryggsekk in Norwegian, and Rugsak in South Afrikaans. A Rucksack (or Ruck Sack) is also commonly called a Haversack, Knapsack or Packsack. We call it the Airborne C-ruck because it's airline carry-on legal.

Write a Review

4.88 Average Rating
 (76 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Exactly like I expected.
By Rick V., Greenville, PA, March 20, 2014

I've purchased several bags from Red Oxx. This one is just what I've come to expect from this company. It's built like a tank. This backpack won't fail after 2 to 3 years, as other companies' products have. It's a first rate product from a first rate company.
 
 Road Warrior
By Mike C, New York, January 16, 2014

....my second bag from RO..just great! Built like a tank. Great looks, and made in the USA. It may be a little expensive but worth every penny. If this is what you need....buy it!
 
 Righteous Rucksack
By gbiehler, Albuquerque, December 27, 2013

This is a well constructed and good sized bag for long distance travel as a plane bag or a week of travel where you need only casual clothes. It has plenty of room and the side pockets are idealy suited for a book/kindle/extra stuff. The only suggestion I have is perhaps a hole/slit for a camel back tube. Otherwise, great job. I appreciate your listening to other purchasers and adding a chest strap. It works well and was a good addition.
 
 C-RUCK IN EUROPE
By Anonymous, NEW JERSEY, July 22, 2013

I bought the c-ruck for my teenage sons 3 week trip to Europe for his high schools band tour. It performed perfectly and held up to the abuse only a teenager can provide. He also borrowed my Red Oxx expedition duffle and it was ideal for the frequent hotel stays and bus rides. Thanks Red Oxx!
 
 Doesn't fit me
By Don Karon, Huntington Beach, CA, June 25, 2013

Backpacks are like shoes, one brand may fit you better than another. The buckles that attach the shoulder straps to the bottom of the pack scratch the inside of my upper arms. As a result this pack hangs in my closet, unused.
 
 Lived Out Of For 2 Months
By Anonymous, , April 14, 2013

Use this ruck sack as my only luggage for a two month trip. Easily carried all my electronics and gear, as well as a few mementos gathered along the way. It's now my primary travel bag. Easy to lug around, and I've never had carry-on issues, even on regional flights.
 
 Great Alternative
By Christy Pierson, United States, April 5, 2013

I work for a railroad and I already own the larger railroader grip for when I need to go out of town. Recently my smaller back pack failed on me and I needed a replacement so I came here. This rucksack is awesome and allows me to bring what I need for those days when I have a local job instead of lugging that big duffel around.
 
 Great ruck sack for railroaders
By Jonathon, colorado, March 21, 2013

This bag is a great alternative to the larger rucksack that red oxx offers. I work as a locomotive enginer and we don't have to carry as much as the conductor. On your back you can easily move on and off the locomotives. Feels great for those long walks to the train. The only thing that I would like to see are some more smaller storage pockets inside for the little odds and ends that I have to carry.
 
 tough backpack
By Anonymous, pembroke nc, March 14, 2013

excellent backpack, well organized and carefully planned when creating this backpack. Well built with plenty of pockets inside and out.
 
 C-Ruck rocks, but needs a sternum strap.
By Myron, Michigan, USA, February 14, 2013

I bought the C-Ruck as a replacement for a 20-year old Continental Rucksack from LL Bean. The latter bag hadn't actually failed, I just decided to retire it. I love the C-Ruck, and its construction is top-notch. Its design incorporates many thoughtful features and functions. However, this bag *needs* a sternum strap. This is literally the only thing I like better about my old LL Bean rucksack. Lack of sternum strap notwithstanding, I will definitely be buying other Red Oxx products in the future. If you're on the fence because of cost, take the plunge on the Red Oxx. You won't regret it.
 
 A travel companion you'll bring every time
By Anonymous, Oregon, January 3, 2013

I searched and shopped for two months for a new all-purpose travel bag, and inevitably came back to the C-Ruck. I love it and I'm glad I waited and made the quality choice.

The main compartment is larger than it seems in the photos, and the inner laptop sleeve is roomy enough to slip a packing cube into. I put all my small clothes items like undies and socks in one and the compartment kept them out of the way of everything else and easy to access. Great! The back straps are much more padded than they appear to be in the pictures, on par with a backpacking pack or better.

I've never had a pack with ALICE straps before, and I love em! So easy to adjust! My biggest suggestion though, and reason for leaving off a star, is that there is no chest or waist strap to help distribute load for long walks. It wouldn't have to be very substantial. I might try to run a chest strap through the daisy chain loops on the back straps and see if that works.

I do think that the front pocket could be taller, and I love the beefy zippers though they are awkward to get around the pocket corners. But I'm just being picky. A spectacular pack! I am a light packer and can get a weeks worth of clothes and personal gear in the pack no problem. Went through the airport and on the plane without a hitch. Bonus! Run an elastic cord across the front of the pack between the daisy chains, shoelace style, and boom, a place to strap on more gear!
 
 C-RUCK great B.O.B
By Brendan, Northeast, January 2, 2013

Excellent bag would have got 5 stars but the bag got penalized a star for not being able to use the straps at the bottom to carry my sleeping bag. Spent two weeks in Montana with this bag and I had it packed to the brim. Even with 50lbs of gear the bag performed flawlessly and was comfortable doing so. Red Oxx please keep me posted when a weather cover becomes available for this bag.
 
 Kurt
By Kurt, Missouri, December 22, 2012

Before ordering the C Ruck I have owned two other Red Oxx products, SkyTrains, which both I and my wife use. I use the SkyTrain for business and vacation travel, and decided to purchase the C Ruck for daily use. So far the ruck is excellent. If you were ever former military, you will recognize the feel of the Alice pack with the draw strings and the quick release straps. This really is an excellent bag and very durable; perfect as a day bag. I'm considering purchasing the smaller version for my wife.

The only suggestions I have for the product would be to add two additional snaps for the top flap and I would place them lower and on the bag to allow a tighter fit when the ruck is not very full. I would also make the top flap just a little wider to accommodate larger note pads.

Overall, excellent bag and I would purchase it again.

 
 Rugged
By Scott W., Billings, MT, December 5, 2012

I purchased this earlier this year as I needed to replace my backpack. I work as an archaeologist and am frequently out in fairly rugged terrain. I needed something that could endure the rigors of heavy use and abuse while working out in remote areas.

This more than exceeded all of my expectations, and believe me it went through hell and back. It carried all of my work gear, water, food, and electronic equipment. It survived completely intact, though a bit dirty.

I have recommended this to all of my peers and will continue to do so. I also purchased the Gator carry-on which I use for my camera gear. It too is a real work horse. I highly recommend both. The fact they are right here in Billings is just as awesome as their near-indestructible gear.
 
 The Carry Everything Hunting BackPack
By RADM(ret) Dave Antanitus, Chesapeake, Virginia, November 22, 2012

Up until now, I have had different packs for hunting Eastern Whitetails, Rocky Mountain elk, and Dangerous Game in Zimbabwe - no more. It has the small compartments for my extra ammunition, Surefire light and compass, and the largest accommodates my binoculars and Montana deer decoys. The Red Oxx pack does it all. It is the toughest, most versatile pack I have ever used, and it will be with me for all my hunts in the future.
 
 Great Pack
By J Baise, Kekaha, HI, November 10, 2012

Buying: Great customer service and the ruck sack arrived in a few days. It's not easy getting things shipped out here to HI.

The Pack: Took it on my first trip to the NW, and the pack performed flawlessly. It fit fully loaded into all the overhead bins easily, was comfortable on my back and allowed me to keep my hands free. I'm also amazed how much stuff fits into the pack. Only head scratcher are the two side pockets off of the two larger side pockets. Once loaded, you can't get anything in there unless its pretty flat.

Quality: Rock solid! But don't worry about it, best warranty in the business.
 
 Simply a tank!
By Jon S, Bartlett, TN, September 14, 2012

I bought this bag in advance of my annual long range fishing excursion out of San Diego. A key to this trip is packing what you need, what you might need in an efficient manner. Being as I fight thru airports and then I'm on a fishing vessel for 8 days, the bag has to stand up to the rigors of my trip; from being cramed into an overhead bin on the plane to being in salt air for 8 days.

This bag simply rocks. It took all I gave it and asked for more. The design allows for lots of gear to be stored efficiently. The bag is designed to last and I expect to have purchased my last back pack.
 
 Pleasantly Surprised
By Stacey G, Las Vegas, nv, August 9, 2012

I have tried about 15 backpacks for the perfect one. I think that I have finally found a bag that I will stick with. It has plenty of room for my schoolbooks, papers, and other supplies, as well as pockets for computer cords, mouse, and such. Bottom line? Best backpack purchase I have made in a very long time.

 
 Incredible!
By Sully, Baumholder, Germany, August 6, 2012

I'm a gear hog. For years I've carried Kifaru bags for my militay duties and Tom Bihn for my off duty time. But for years I've been eyeing the Red Oxx C-Ruck.

After finally getting stationed once again in Germany, I decided it was time to pull the trigger. I placed my order and with a week, the C-ruck was waiting for me in my mailbox on post. It was worth the wait!

The thought process put into this bag is just tremendous. The straps are incredibly comfortable and the pack rides like a dream...I sometimes forget I have it on. I love top loaders but also like having some organizational capability...and this pack has both! The pockets are perfect for putting in smaller items and being able to find them. The combination pockets on the side and front pocket are perfect for my kids to get stuff out easily and I love the top flap pocket for travel documents or paperwork.

The size, for what I was looking for, is perfect. Big enough to carry drinks, snacks, clothes, jackets and smaller items, without weighing myself down during all the hiking and walking we tend to do.

The materials and contruction are top notch...exactly what I expected from Red Oxx. I'm using the pack for all of our travel on weekends to surrounding cities and countries. Additionally, this pack is our geocaching bag so it has been from car, to train to woods...and looks great in all environments!

Without a doubt, the C-ruck filled a void in my pack collection, one which I could now not live without. Red Oxx, I'm a customer and a fan for life!
 
 Perfect Day Pack
By Thomas, Fresno, CA, August 3, 2012

Love this bag. I bought it because I knew I could beat the hell out of it and replace it if needed. I used two key mounts to hook up a hydration bladder and now I use it as a deer hunting day pack, bike bag, carry on bag. Very handy. It's definitely big enough to take on a one night backpacking trip. Don't be afraid to be creative... There are so many places to tie on extra stuff to really maximize the use of this bag. Everyone should have this bag.
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Specifications

C-Ruck Rucksack Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding in back
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • US Dimensions - Main Compartment: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 12"L x 7"W x 2"H
    Front Pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"H
  • Metric Dimensions Main Compartment only: 45.7cm L x 30.5cm W x 17.8cm H
  • US Capacity (total): 2,400 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity (total): 40 Liters


Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Airborne Rucksack and the Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Airborne C-Ruck's main compartment is two inches wider and one inch taller than the Roadster Mini Ruck. These larger dimensions are also reflected in the side pockets, front raised pocket and cover flat pocket. See the Specifications Tab at left for further dimension details.
 
Will the Airborne meet carry-on legal standards?
Sure, the C-Ruck Rucksack will easily fit in the overhead bins of most airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Airborne?
Since our Rucksacks are top loaders, the most efficient way to pack one is to pack items you may need easy access to in the raised exterior pockets and rolling each piece of clothing. Another option we recommend is to use the Nomad Shave Kits and Lil Roy Gadget Bags as packing cubes. This way you can compartmentalize everything by color coding it. Bundle wrapping would require pulling the entire bundle out to access anything.
 
How many days worth of supplies will fit in the Airborne?
Depends on how good a packer you are. Most people can get a weekends worth of clothes in the Airborne C-Ruck. We'd estimate three to five days.
 
What's the red fabric on the inside of the bag for?
Having a bright color on the inside of the bag helps to see what's inside the bag. It also adds an extra layer of weather resistant protection.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Airborne? What size laptop?
Virtually any laptop with up to a 17 inch diagonal screen and two inches thick will slide into the padded sleeve inside the rucksack.
 
Does the Airborne Carry-on have a belly strap?
Because the C-Ruck Rucksack does not have a built in frame, therefore a belt strap would not help to balance the load.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
There is a notebook / laptop stitched-in sleeve located in the back of both the C-Ruck and the Mini Ruck.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.