Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated airline carry-on legal shoulder bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light:

  • freedom of movement -- mobility = power
  • less time wasted waiting in baggage and boarding lines
  • never any lost luggage
  • easy and quick access
  • overall travel simplification
  • lighter load = less fatigue
  • arrive fresh
  • no wheels to break or get you dirty
  • fits in the overhead bin
  • hands free carry

Don't believe it? Peruse over 700 customer reviews right here from satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON TRAVEL REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous carry-on one bag travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one inclusive mobile carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need, and nothing you don't, in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized and happier traveler. Thanks to guidance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss. Not into bundle packing? Now you can pack and still be organized when you build your very own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered slip pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, and an outside sleeve pocket for magazines, files, or a tablet. Inside the Air Boss are two outer compartments that each have buckled adjustable tie-downs inside to keep your belongings, or packing cubes, held in position and wrinkle-free until you unpack at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR TRAVEL BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

A UNIQUE CARRY STRAP THAT NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable padded nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab where Red Oxx Ambassador Kasey Austin from Austin Adventures shows how to best use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECTION FOR YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one.

However, please be aware that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this! To accommodate the extra weight try adding a second Claw Shoulder Strap and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder). This can help offset the added load. See Photos tab for how this is done.

SIX REASONS TO OWN A RED OXX AIR BOSS:

1. A RELIABLE BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our fans like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a soft sided carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

2. BOUND AND BAGGED = STURDY SEAMS.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look on the outside of the bag.

3. BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE, NEVER UNRAVELS.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

4. WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our experience as parachute riggers.

5. MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest practical zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings from casual theft; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

6. PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for everyone to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your favorite carry-on travel bag bust apart and break you down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar capacity carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps for hands-free carry? Try our other popular airline travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the mobile Air Boss!

U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
Capacity: 35.7 Liters.
Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Our bags will fit!

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS Ground Shipping in the U.S.A. is $13.00 (orders up to $260.00).
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. Australia and New Zealand is $55.00. All other International orders are $50.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

The Air Boss Carry-on bag is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (714 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
 Versatile Bag
By Andrew, Australia, December 29, 2011

Bought this bag for a six month trip overseas. Fit a week of clothing and a bunch of electronics no problem. It's light enough to carry around on day trips with a few small items as well.
 
 4 Year Review
By Chris, Pa., December 28, 2011

I give it a 4.75.

I bought my Air Boss in 2007 and baptized it on a 2 week trip to the Republic of Georgia. Bags are such personal thing. Every criticism I've seen here no doubt has some validity for some users, depending on their habits and preferences. The two I tend to agree with are the strap getting uncomfortable when the bag is heavily loaded and the single-snap outside pocket being rather useless. Weight? You gotta pack intelligently.

I've used this bag for weekend getaways, business trips from 2 days to a week, and multi-week overseas vacations. For business trips, I bring along a hanging garment bag (just bought a Gypsy) for suits and dress shirts. Frankly, I've yet to find any other way to keep business attire neat. My laptop never goes in the Airboss, always in my personal bag. With that setup, the Airboss holds Redoxx Nomad shaving kit, undergarments, extra shoes, and a sweater or jacket, and I'm always easily under 25 pounds, so strap issues are usually inconsequential to me. But, there have been trips where I've returned with more than I left with, and the bag gets uncomfortable, in hand or on the shoulder, if it gets up around 40 pounds.

For pleasure trips, I leave the laptop and business clothes at home and do laundry in the hotel, so almost everything goes in the Air Boss. Khakis and casual shirts stay neat in the outside compartments. Again, always easily under 25 pounds, one bag, no matter how long the trip. Things like cameras and kindles and music gizmos go in my personal bag.

This bag has been more than big enough for every trip I've ever taken. I have never, ever, had a problem getting it in an overhead bin, and it's never been flagged as too big to carry on. And, of course, it's ridiculously overbuilt. After 4 years, mine has almost no visible wear, and I expect it will outlive me.
 
 Quality Bag!
By Gary, Sacramento, California, December 27, 2011

I received it as a Christmas gift. I haven't had a chance to use it yet. However, I am impressed with the quality and appreciate that it is made in the USA!
 
 A bit pricey, but worth it...
By George C., Galt, CA., December 22, 2011

I found Red Oxx on-line after driving myself nuts in stores trying to find a carry-on that is made in the U.S.

I left on a five day trip the day after receiving my Air Boss. My too large laptop and more clothes than I needed all fit into the bag.

It seems a bit pricey, but if it lasts a few years, it's worth the money........
 
 Bullet Proof
By S DelRosso, Delaware, December 15, 2011

Started using the bundle method and mistakenly bought a standard duffle with u shaped zipper. Worked ok, but recognized the need for a better bag. Bought the Air Boss before a week's trip to Japan which also included travel within the country. The Boss's 2 flat opening side pockets were perfect, allowing me to divide up my clothes for each destination so that I would not have to repackage. The size was perfect to fit a week's worth of clothes and still fit in every over head including a small regional jet. Maneuverability was perfect through train stations, crowded airports and small taxis. My travel mates were jealous of the ease I could move through the crowds as well as going up and down stairs etc... Construction is bulletproof! I feel bad for the expensive black roller bag crowd!
 
 Very satisfied with recent purchase
By Mitch Weiss, Knoxville, TN, December 15, 2011

Received my new Air Boss just before leaving for a meeting in NYC. Looked great! Quickly learned bundle packing technique, clothes were fine when we arrived. Had no problems fitting into overhead bin in the ERJs we flew on. Looking forward to many years of use!
 
 Outstanding
By Anonymous, , December 11, 2011

One trip was enough to convince me that my Air Boss purchase was money well spent. Clothes for an 8-day trip fit nicely in the two outer pockets, allowing me to put my camera and laptop in the middle.

The biggest disadvantage turned out to be the sudden realization of how irritating it is to try to maneuver around people with wheeled suitcases.
 
 Better with each use
By Todd W., Niceville, FL, December 9, 2011

I have had my Air Boss for about a year now, and it gets better with each use. I am amazed how much I can carry with this bag. While others struggle to fit bags in overhead bins, the Air Boss fits easily. I move faster through airports with this over my shoulder than I ever did with a wheeled bag.

I have had a few positive comments and questions about the bag from other travelers.

Solidly built. Well worth the price.
 
 Excellent Quality
By Anonymous, , December 5, 2011

Exactly what I was looking for! I first ordered the Timbuk2 Wingman, at half the price. It arrived with a defective strap and was a lumpy compromise. No comparison; the build quality and design of the Red Oxx is far superior. The "Coal" color looks better in person than online.
 
 My Air Boss
By David Garner, Preston,UK, December 3, 2011

I am very pleased with my Air Boss. On a recent trip to New York used as carry on I was impressed with the number of items I could get into the bag. Overall a very good buy and built to last.
 
 Very, very good
By Anonymous, New York, NY, November 28, 2011

Very happy with the product so far, I've had no troubles packing in about 10 days worth of travel gear in the Air Boss and still meeting airline carry-on criteria. Constructions looks solid and I really like the understated design of the product. My only small complaint (shared by several other frequent travelers) is that the included shoulder strap can get a bit uncomfortable at times. There is however a solution to this that can be found easily by searching popular frequent flyer fora on the Internet. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.
 
 So far so good
By D. Blair, Sherwood Park, AB, November 19, 2011

We were pleased at how quickly the Air Boss arrived at our door. We have yet to take a trip with it, but are anxious to try it out. It appears to be exactly as described and very well built.
 
 Best carry on I have ever had
By Mike Nesbit, Sandy, Utah , November 18, 2011

The Bag arrived quickly and in time for a three day trip to Providence, RI - packed light - there were pockets and places for everything I needed - no problem with overheads - this is the best bag I have ever purchased - I will be adding to this one shortly
 
 I really like this bag
By Bill Canady , Iowa, November 17, 2011

Solid bag. I travel about 200k miles a year for my job. I bought this bag because they keep taking my carry on in Europe. They have really strict weight requirements on carry ons. When they take my bag, they typically damage it. So i biught this to combat the "bag police". My last trip was to China, so I took it with me. Worked great. Looked good. Easy to fit in all of the overheads

On the down side, I did get tired of carrying it though O'hare and PuDong. I also missed the ability to hang my coat on my pull luggage handle while I grab a quick bite to eat at the airports.

Like everything in life, there are trade offs.

I would recommend it.
 
 Everything they said, and more!
By Jon West, Pittsburgh, November 17, 2011

I purchased this specifically for a 2-week trip to China, and it arrived the day before I left (very fast shipping!). When I opened the box, I thought "No way will this fit everything I need"..when empty, it is very flat and light. But sure enough, it accommodated everything I needed to pack.5 dress shirts, 5 pants, 2 jackets, jeans, underwear and socks, plus workout clothes and running shoes, and all of my work gear (2 cameras, audio equipment, external hard drives, etc). I breezed through the airports and the clothes were wrinkle-free when I arrived in Shanghai.

Had I known about the custom tailored clothes available in Shanghai, I probably wouldn't have packed anything at all. During my visit, I ended up purchasing 8 dress shirts, a sport coat, 3 heavy winter coats, and 12 long cashmere scarves. I was worried that I wouldn't have room, but the Air Boss was able to handle everything with ease. Its rugged build and heavy duty zippers may seem like overkill, but I'm really needed them this trip. Even with a heavy load, the Air Boss felt comfortable on my shoulder, too. I'm a believer!
 
 Stuff it, stuff it some more...
By David G, NJ, USA, November 17, 2011

I purchased the Air Boss for a recent two week trip to India, and for future domestic travel.

I could not believe how much I was able to get into the Boss. A week's plus worth of clothes and other assorted travel supplies. On the way home it took all of that along with some souvenirs. There were times I swore there was no way I'd get it zipped closed for all the stuff in it, but every time those zippers worked as advertised.

Even fully loaded it was always easy to carry over the shoulder or in hand, and the lack of backpack straps didn't bother me. I had a regular backpack with me to use as a daily bag that also had some items for my trip, and I'm not about to try and use two bags with backpack straps (one in front and one in back).

For domestic travel I could easily get everything into the Air Boss and I'd still be fine with this in hand or over the shoulder.

Very, very pleased!
 
 International champ
By Jamey, Wiesbaden, Germany, November 13, 2011

This bag has now endured four months of at least weekly travel by train and airplane and is versatile and perfectly sized. I've used it as my carry on for five international flights so far. It even fit in the smallest overhead compartment I have seen in a long time (Embraer jet). My seat-back essentials are all close at hand and in either the center compartment or the snapped side pocket, so I can stow it quickly and get comfy for those long trans-Atlantic flights. I live as a "geographic bachelor" during the week, and travel on weekends to stay with my family. This bag has held all my weekend needs, even for the four day holiday weekends. A couple of fellow travelers have asked about it and I wholeheartedly recommended it. Best carry on I've had in over 20 years of international travel.
 
 Guatemala proof!
By Bob, Utah, November 10, 2011

This bag traveled first class by air and then went to the mountains of Guatemala 14 hours by bus. It kept my gear clean and bug free in a jungle environment. I especially like how two Eagle Creek organizing bags fit perfectly side by side in each compartment. Would suggest adding a key clip in the small compartment.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you. We also sell a Pin Mount Key Clip you can mount anywhere you like.
 
 Made my trip
By Iain, London, UK, November 10, 2011

Ordered on Sunday for international shipment to the UK. Arrived as scheduled Friday lunchtime, packed and boarded the plane 4 hours later on Friday afternoon just as the carrier was refusing any more roller cases as carry-ons. Brilliant, thanks Red Oxx, made my trip!
 
 5 Year Check In
By Derek, Atlanta, GA, November 8, 2011

It's been over 5 years now with my AirBoss and it's still holding up strong.

I fly every week for work, usually 140+ flights a year and my AirBoss has held up very well, shows almost no signs of wear.

Because I want flexibly in my travel schedule, I never check luggage and the few times I've boarded the plane and they're out of room for 'other' bags, my soft-side AirBoss is welcomed aboard and tucked in a cozy niche somewhere. I will never use another bag.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers: #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: proprietary #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull tabs
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black = Raven
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most continental jet airlines. Our bags fit!
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
We recommend you build your own packing cube kit. If you're not into cube packing, the bundle packing method is handy. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download a printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book and is carried by a shoulder strap.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
If it will fit, you can go ahead and cram your Air Boss under the seat, just be sure to slip the Claw Shoulder Strap inside the bag so it won't get caught on anything, (or anyone).
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Skip the cheap imported packing cubes and build your own custom Red Oxx Packing Cube Kit. Or try our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the logo patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the red patches black.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. In the interest of simplicity, there are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 

Take me to the top