COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $245.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, this popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss customers and get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit more in your airline carry-on bag and be more organized. Thanks to Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, the Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets (one full-length, one for your airline tickets), an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the outer sections to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn in the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that protects your belongings.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? Pick up a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a heavy bag to carry if you do this.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

LEARN HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (665 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Thankfully... NO WHEELS
By Philip, North Sea, January 23, 2013

I see a lot of negative comments about there being no wheels or the bag being too heavy.

Bottom line - there are hundreds of bags on the market with wheels and how much do you expect a bag to weigh when you carry everything you need to live out of.

I work offshore for a month or 6 weeks at a time. I have no access to shops to get anything else I need. This bag is perfect for me.

Wheels add an extra kilogram to a bag and I have a weight allowance of 12kg all in. That's less than 30lbs to take everything I need to live for a month: toiletries, loads of clothes (including suitable for arctic conditions), a computer and peripherals, kindle, etc.

So, I needed a bag that could cope with it all, be robust, this is the one.
 
 Solid Performer
By Anonymous, Vancouver, BC, January 22, 2013

I bought this bag after just 1 hr of online searching... After 2 years of living out of it, I am qualified to say it does a fine job. I was moving, on average, every 4 days so I packed and unpacked over 360 times without any visible signs of wear. Minimal shoulder strap use but comfortable when the occasion arose. Laptop fit in center pocket with shorts rolled up under it for added protection. My life's possessions fit in this Air Boss, Nomad Shave Kit tucked vertically in center pocket, and the Gypsy Suit Cover. This was 90% car travel, 10% plane/bus. Worth every penny.
 
 "AAA" AIRBOSS
By MGP , CAPE COD, MA, January 22, 2013

The Air Boss carry-on is perfect, big enough, not bulky. Made in the USA.
 
 air boss
By Larry, Amador County, CA, January 17, 2013

Haven't taken bag on air trip yet - but found it holds more than I thought. Strapped pockets keep pants and shirts from wrinkling. Could use an outside elastic pocket for water bottle.
 
 My wife wants mine
By Larry Hills, Memphis, TN, January 7, 2013

I've had mine for about 8 months, been on the road with it and found it to be exceptional. Just went on a 9 day vacation where my wife had the opportunity to observe firsthand this particular bag's utility and compactness--and now she wants one for herself. Good thing I have my name on mine.

If you are considering buying, believe me that this bag truly has the perquisite value for the money.
 
 Real travel room
By Dr. Neal Seymour, Virginia, January 3, 2013

Holds so much more than any rolling case! Was able to fit everything for a 7 day business trip to Europe including shoe shine gear. Carry-on luggage all the way. There is much more room than I had originally thought -- two pair of dress slacks, 6 dress shirts, leisure clothes, sandals - all toiletries.

Normally I would use a mid-size (not carry-on size) rolling case but the Air Boss made this a dream. It fit in the smaller trunks of European cars with ease. I wish I had one years ago. The quality is exquisite and the zippers a dream. Well thought-out and intelligently designed. Have just ordered a CPA case to go with it.
 
 WONDERFUL
By Mark , Ontario, Canada, January 3, 2013

What an unbelievable product you have created. Upon arrival, I must add after the unbelievably quick processing and delivery process (even at Christmas time) we opened up our order which was packaged with such care we were not left with the concern that anything would be wrong. We started pulling out our order and it was flawless. The quality far succeeded our expectations. The colours were pure and crisp and exact the quality of craftsmanship was outstanding and the product was outstanding. Thank you so much for creating something you should be so proud to put your name on.
 
 Look no further
By Jeremy, South Africa, January 3, 2013

This bag was relatively expensive for me due to the exchange rate and shipping to South Africa. The service I received was exceptional and the product is of the highest quality. I travel extensively in Africa and the Middle East and this bag has replaced all others. I'm not too fussed about the premium as I see myself using this bag for quite a while.
 
 Looking back
By Bart , the Netherlands, December 28, 2012

Looking back and i'm thinking:

"Why did i ever, bought those other bags".
 
 Simple and exceptional
By John, Memphis, December 27, 2012

I took the Air Boss on its maiden voyage for holiday travel in late December and it made the air travel portion of the trip a pleasure. The construction and simplicity of this bag are second to none. If it hadn't been packed to near full on my return with acquired items, it might have gone in the overhead bins of a CRJ-200 but even so, it still fit easily under the seat in front of me.

Red Oxx makes a superior product, and I'm glad to support and travel with a Montana-made bag that performs as advertised and meets or exceeds expectations. I'm ready for the next trip with the Air Boss. Love the claw shoulder strap. Pack light and it's a joy to carry.

I still think a sewn-in interior key loop would make the Air Boss perfect. I'm hesitant to screw the offered key clip through the fabric or webbing anywhere on my bag. If that were to result in a fabric tear, would it still be included under warranty?
 
 The BAG!
By Blake Barthelmess, Live: Moses Lake, WA ... Travel? You name it., December 26, 2012

For years, I searched for a single bag alternative. I played with BrandX... impossible to deal with during security check-in. I played with BrandY... poor execution of design (hard to pack).

And then, a few years ago I stumbled on Red Oxx. And oh the places we have been together.

Why is this bag special? Easy access, magnificent design, tough and tolerant. Enough juice to handle three weeks at at time in China, complete with clothes, laptop, heck even dress shoes and a tie.

Why has it taken me so long to write a review... well this bag had to prove itself to me. And it did.
 
 Ditto
By Eric, Arkansas, December 26, 2012

I echo all the hundreds of positive reviews on this bad *ss bag.
 
 Even good for women
By Swims with Fish, Caribbean Island, December 25, 2012

I packed for a 5 day trip to visit my daughter and her family in Charlotte, NC for Christmas. I took 2 quilts that I made for the grandkids (bunk size). Also packed a lightweight parka, hat, gloves, pants (wore the other pair), pajamas, the usual underwear and socks, 4 long sleeved tees, and a stuffed moose for the baby. I took my Lil Roy with toiletries, chargers, and other little things. It fit just right in the middle compartment along with my coat and doubled as a camera bag when we went to the hockey game. The bag weighed in at 18 pounds. I took my backpack (non-RedOxx) with the essentials needed for a 4 hour flight.

I didn't find it too heavy at all. I'm a 5' 6" tall, slim built grandmom. The bundle method of packing gets everything packed without wrinkles and the cable locks provide a measure of security in the overhead bin.

The only things I would change to improve the bag for my travel style is a separate pocket for my bottle of water (maybe on the end of the bag), a lanyard for my flashlight, and an organizer pocket. I also didn't like the strap. While it didn't move at all, it wasn't all that comfortable. The metal connectors are also heavier than they look. I would prefer heavy duty nylon/plastic type material which is less bulky.

I live on an island and the shipping was a little high but I was determined not to check my bag for a holiday flight and the Air Boss fit the bill. (I do not trust baggage handlers--especially if they may go Christmas shopping in my bag.)

Overall, the bag is very well made, lightweight, the zippers are high quality and move easily. The bag is easy to pack and not too large for women to carry. I enjoyed walking easily down the aisle of the plane and effortlessly lifting it up into the overhead bin. My Air Boss is bordeaux which is a pretty color not likely to show dirt easily. I also scotch guard all of my luggage and bags before using them to make any spills roll off--and who doesn't stop for coffee at the airport?
 
 just what the Dr. ordered
By tom j, los angeles, December 13, 2012

First off, customer service was amazing. I ordered and paid for two day shipping over thanksgiving, not taking into account the dead day. Called and they upgraded my shipping for free.

Product is great. Quality is readily apparent. Put in four days worth of clothes via bundle packing and carried it all the way thru the tunnels of Heathrow. Never felt like a burden. Love it and would heartily recommend this product, especially if you travel on regional jets. Go Red Oxx
 
 Minor suggestions for a great bag
By Francois, New Zealand, December 12, 2012

This bag is very well made. It feels like it's going to last for a while.

The only minor suggestions I have after using it a few times are as follows:

1. There is no convenient place to put a pen (which is of course mandatory for international travel). A nice sown-in pen holder would be great.

2. The back of the rivet on top of the passport/boarding pass pocket obstructs that pocket. When inserting my passport / boarding pass in it, it seems to get stuck. Covering the rivet inside the pocket with some kind of fabric would some this. I might have to put a bit of duct tape over mine.

3. It's not obvious where I should put my water bottle. I don't have a specific suggestion here, but a water bottle is essential for long haul flights and it's the only thing that doesn't fit nicely into this bag, so perhaps there's an opportunity to help here.

Also, you will most likely want to combine this bag with a small toiletry bag so that your small items aren't flying all over the Air Boss' big compartments.
 
 Great Bag
By Heath, Ohio, December 6, 2012

I purchased my Air Boss four years ago when my job started requiring more travel. I did a good bit of research and ultimately decided on this one based on the recommendation of onebag.com.

My Air Boss has been on numerous trips now including multiple flights through LHR without issue. It still looks as good as the day I got it and I have yet to find an overhead that I can't fit it into. The bag holds way more than you would think by looking at it but I still try to keep the weight to a minimum for comfort.

The only thing negative I can say is that I personally don't care for the claw strap on long trips with a lot of walking. The claw works as advertised it is just not padded enough for me.

I have put this bag through its paces in the last few years and I have no regrets about purchasing it. It is overbuilt, you will never have to buy another one. That being said, I have purchased several other Red Oxx products to fulfill other areas of need. I own the metro briefcase, the market tote and I recently purchased the Safari Beanos PR-5 as a gift. All awesome bags!
 
 I'll never use another travel bag
By Bill Higgins, Chicago, December 3, 2012

This is easily the best travel bag I've ever used. At first I didn't know what to think about the no-wheels thing. Now I love it. You move so much faster. It *always* fits in the overhead. You never have to put it in the trunk of the car if you don't want to. And I've gotten noticeably stronger just from walking around with my bag.

My brother has the bag now; multiple of my closest friends have the bag now. We all love it. I get so many nice compliments from people about it.

I fly a lot for work on little Embraer jets, and the airline always gives people tags at the gate for gate check. I always refuse the tag and say I don't need it. The lady says, "You might, take it anyway." And I say, "I won't, I promise you." And I'm always right about it! It is the best feeling.

You'll never regret buying this baby. It is the real thing.
 
 To China and Back Again
By Derek, Texas, November 30, 2012

I used the Air Boss as my lone bag on a recent trip to China. I spent a month in Beijing and this bag held everything I needed. After visiting onebag.com I was able to pack 5 outfits, 2 pairs of shoes, toiletries kit, and an ipad plus cables into this bag with no problem.

Fully loaded it fit into every overhead compartment with ease. I must say my favorite feature is the side pocket that held my boarding passes and passport securely and with easy accessibility. Overall, it was an absolute joy to carry only one bag and to have total confidence in it. The craftsmanship is impecable! Thanks for a great bag.
 
 Over researched, very satisfied
By Nick, Kansas City, MO, November 29, 2012

I decided I wanted to start traveling with one bag (no wheels) and researched many different options. To me it came down to the Air Boss and the Aeronaut or TriStar.

Ultimately, I felt the Air Boss would handle suits and the bundle packing method the best and have not been disappointed. I'm able to easily accommodate my standard 4 day/3 night trips with business, casual and workout clothes as well as my laptop.

My first trip included a regional jet...no gate check necessary. The claw is absolutely "no slip" and actually requires quite deliberately removing it from your shoulder for it to let go. I'm looking forward to years of enjoyment traveling with this bag.
 
 Beware!
By Michael Thompson, Lookout Mountain, GA, November 29, 2012

The workmanship on this piece of luggage is fantastic. HOWEVER, to use it as a carry on bag that has to be actually carried, it is a disaster. The bag, when decently packed is heavy and very inconvenient and awkward to lug through a terminal. The shoulder strap is well engineered, but it pulls your shirt or jacket off of your shoulder from the weigh of the bag. The first time that I used my new bag and was making my way through O'Hare, I was frankly and openly envious of my traveling companion's wheeled luggage. Sure, you loose some flexibility with wheels, but what you gain is comfort and ease of movement and a much better travel experience.

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

 

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Can you lock the Air Boss?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive Cable Locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. It's always better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.