COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, the popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the many advantages of traveling light: freedom of movement, less time wasted waiting in lines, no lost luggage, easy access, and overall travel simplification. Peruse over 700  customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea if this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked hand-in-hand with famous Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow the link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need, and nothing you don't, in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag to become a more organized happier traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE-FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your belongings in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up at your destination.

A SPACIOUS PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab where Red Oxx Ambassador Kasey Austin shows how to use many of the bag's thoughtful features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? A neoprene laptop sleeve is recommended. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will then fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this! Another idea is adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

A BUSINESS TRAVEL BAG BUILT LIKE A TANK?
Our fans like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, the Air Boss is built tough. Starting with the most durable, flexible, and practical textile material available -- 1000 weight CORDURA® Brand Nylon, the Air Boss is built using super-strong UV-resistant thread that's stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound -- that is, we take a long piece of one-inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, known as a binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean, finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BINDING INSIDE / BINDING OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed outside fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to heavy wear have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent the fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors carry-on bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our history as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they're easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic "hardware" break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Air Boss break down?

IS THERE ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag but with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular air travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS Ground Shipping in the U.S.A. is $13.00 (orders up to $260.00).
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. Australia and New Zealand is $55.00. All other International orders are $50.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Picks The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia:
On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey brownshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Air Boss is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.8 Average Rating
 (712 Reviews)

 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 A good bag
By Alex, Paul, August 26, 2010

This is a good bag, very well made and extremely sturdy. The shoulder strap is the best I have used.

I am not very happy with the pockets on the outside though. The one that is fastened by a popper is a flat pocket and not much use for anything as it tends to gape open. Also, if you pick the bag up by the carry handle on that side then the popper pops open. I would rather see this as one or two zipped or velcro close pockets.

It is very good but for the money it should be perfect.
 
 Nice looking bag, thought it would hold more
By Rick P, Potomac MD, August 21, 2010

This is a nice bag, good design and what appears to be good quality and workmanship. My only complaint is that it does not hold as much clothing and related gear as the reviews lead you to believe. I took the bag for a 3 day trip to New Orleans and packed, using Eagle Creek cubes and folder, pair of extra pants, 3 tee-shirts, 2 casual nice shirts, socks, underwear and gym stuff. In the middle section I put my MacBook Pro (protected in Incase neoprene sleeve) and cable bag. I tried putting extra pair of shoes and toiletry cases in bag but felt the bag would not close or fit in overhead bin. Had it all fit I would give this bag 5 Stars.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you.
 
 Very nice bag
By Prakash Nayak, Bangalore, India, August 20, 2010

I live in India and I had no opportunity to either visit Redoxx store or see the bag before buying. Only way for me to buy this bag was to order online, get it shipped to a friend's place in US and collect it during one of my many visits. That is what I did with my recent purchase of this bag.

I am one of those who believe in minimalist possessions whether it is travel or day to day life. But the irony is it is more difficult to be a minimalist and still be comfortable than being in possession of many mindless objects wasting money, storage and losing peace. The man reason is lack of appropriate, simple, well designed products. Air Boss fills one such gap. I am very happy with it except that that the hardware used is flashy and heavy.Redoxx must find ways and means to make hardware more subdued in looks and much lighter without compromising strength.

Other than this I have no other issues. If I praise many of its positive aspects I will be simply repeating what others have said. So I will leave it here.

Before I finish one important point. This bag is too big for a 2 to 3 days visit. Can Redoxx come out with a similar bag ( Airboss lite version) for a shorter trip of say 3 days?
 
 It's more than a bag
By Anonymous, , August 18, 2010

I am delighted with my Air Boss. My first trip was a 10 day effort involving many kinds of activity (informal to more formal), and the bag held everything I needed. The major revelation for me was the difficulty I encountered packing light. I thought I knew how, but no way. If you are going to use the Air Boss as a one-bag tool, much of what you are tempted to take will be unnecessary. Be prepared to wash your clothes as necessary, and accept that it will take several trips to get one-bag traveling down pat. Oh, one more thing: the CRJ900s will require you to leave your bag on the jetway.
 
 An Excellent Travel Solution
By Patrick Oranmore, Dallas/Ft Worth, TX, August 17, 2010

Purchased black variant along with Neoprene Pad (and Beanos Bag PR 5.5) for 3 weeks in Europe. Excellent carrying capacity, sensibly thought-out design, well-built and in combination with the PR 5.5 and a Maxpedition backpack it held everything needed (formal suit to shorts and flipflops) for 20 busy days in 7 locations in 3 countries, plus train, air and vehicle travel. Only beefs were the ease with which all the zips undid (too easy to "happen accidentally" during baggage handling - now fixed with a local modification) and the fact that the neoprene pad was pretty superfluous (now replaced with my own stiffer, longer and narrower wrap-round design). I bought it because my ancient Samsonite version was falling apart, and the Air Boss has proved to be far superior - also easy to recognize on the carousel thanks to the logos. Built like a parachute pack, it looked as good on my arrival home last night as it did out of the box - in contrast, my wife's more expensive high-end rollaboard in in the trash, thanks to the ham-handed handlers of Heathrow, Gatwick, Inverness, Bordeaux, Paris, Chicago and Dallas! I recommend this bag highly; next stop, India....
 
 Best suitcase ever
By jwheeler, massachusetts, August 14, 2010

I've used this suitcase far a month now and I have to say I am delighted. I travel weekly for 3 or 4 days and the Air Boss is able to hold everything I need neatly and in less space than my old roll-on. This is a great bag!
 
 Excellent travel bag
By Anonymous, KS, August 12, 2010

Great design. Very compact for its size and capacity. Easy to carry by hand or using shoulder strap. Excellent quality and craftsmanship. This is a great business and personal travel bag--especially for airplane travel.
 
 Good Design
By Bag Toter, USA, August 12, 2010

Well constructed bag. Well thought out overall. I'm pleased with the purchase. Only shortcoming in my opinion is the strap. While extremely sturdy, it is too narrow when the bag is heavily loaded. Strap is fine wiht moderate weight but if you load up the Oxx into the 20# plus range - the narrow strap begins to dig in.
 
 with medium size packing cubes and compression sacs
By JH Fleming, Cayucos California, August 8, 2010

Medium Compression Sacs folded into Medium Packing Cubes fit perfectly in each side pocket of the Air Boss! Very nice with the ties holding the bundle in place.

Amazing space saving. I am still under the 26 lb limit even with my laptop in the center compartment.
 
 The Airboss
By Hector, Miami, August 5, 2010

The Airboss is made of extremely high quality materials. The shape of the bag is awesome and keeps my clothing from getting wrinkled. I have used the bundle wrap for long trips but my current trip (Ny York for Pure Fun) I had all my cloth dry cleaned and folded by my laundry mat. I asked for a couple extra 'D' rings to be placed in the bag for my keys and misc stuff (hanging flashlight, flash drive..). I was expecting to be charged for this but nope free (Thanks Customer service). I called CS prior to purchasing the bags and they were awesome (thinking airboss or S.Train). Love the marine blue and just awesome bag.
 
 Terrific in Tanzania
By Tracey, California, August 5, 2010

I wanted to bring one single carry-on for a two week safari, and I spent what seemed like weeks researching luggage. In the end I bought the Air Boss, and it proved to be a terrific purchase.

I only gave it 4 stars for 2 reasons ... I shelled out another $30 for one of the "Tom Bihn Absolute Shoulder Straps" which provided a better load distribution than the strap the Air Boss had, and for $225 I don't want to have to buy a new strap. And secondly, for me the unstructured Air Boss required a lot of Eagle Creek individual packing bags in order not to have stuff just falling out every time I opened the bag. I found it easier to pack by using the EC cubes,, and then placing the cubes into the Air Boss.

In the end, I carried only about 16# (including the bag) with me: 3 pairs of pants, 4 t-shirts, flip flops, a hat, a fleece jacket, a lighter jersey hoodie, hair dryer (never used!), some school supplies to donate, underwear, PJ's. Oh, yeah ... and enough bandaids and OTC medications for a dozen people or so!

The bag easily fit in the overhead compartments of the planes I was in; the Regional Air Services DeHavilland Otter16-seater had no overhead storage so it went in the hold.

My husband managed without all the EC packing cubes but did use one of their packing folders.

We were the only people on the Amsterdam-Kilimanjaro leg with no checked luggage (so they told us when they wanted to know if we'd give up our seats), and never having to wait for luggage was liberating.

I'm glad I got the Air Boss, and hope my overpacking days are over!

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you.
 
 I have arrived
By Kai, Victoria BC Canada, August 4, 2010

I have now used the Airboss on two trips and I am very impressed.

Have done some adjustments on what not to take and it will be going on its 3 and 4th trip this month.

I am away for 5-10 days and have no problem packing for that

time. Airboss can be compared to a Turkey, you can stuff a lot of stuff in it and you have to be careful it does not grow to a size that will not fit in the overhead.

On regional and small carriers I leave it on the "cart" instead of battling with it in a small cabin. I use two rolled up t-shirts in the center compartment, that helps protect the netbook etc.
 
 The Ultimate Carry-on
By Anonymous, Kentucky, August 3, 2010

This bag is fantastic, and has a really heavy duty feel to it. I easily loaded 3 days travel into it using eagle creek folders and had plenty of space left. I actually cut back on how much I packed because the shoulder strap while being very grippy has little cushion and bruised my shoulder with little "hickeys" caused by a "connection delay run across the airport". Compared to my wife's roller carry-on I could pack more and it fit easily into the embrauer overhead bins.

I'm very satisfied with my purchase.

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you.
 
 The Perfect Carry-On
By Anonymous, Florida, July 31, 2010

This bag is fantastic! I was able to comfortably pack 4 days of clothes and I'm very impressed with the design and it's durability. In the airport, I actually got compliments.
 
 Marvellous bag!
By Alessandro, , July 31, 2010

I have to tell you that Air Boss is really marvellous. You can put inside a lot of items and it is really useful to organize your travel. When I travel I have the space for the presents for my family, as well!
 
 Boss of Air Travel
By Brian, Houston, July 29, 2010

I was looking for a carry on bag that would last--what I got when I bought the Air Boss was beyond all expectations. The good reviews are not without merit. This bag holds all the clothes & equipment I need for my 3-4 day business trips, and has room for more. Unless they finally invent the personal jetpack, I'll be using this bag for the rest of my days.
 
 Great bag/Great service
By John, Yardley, PA, July 29, 2010

I recently traveled through three countries in Europe, including 4 flights and long rental car trips. The Air Boss helped make the trip easier, with the many compartments helping organization. I am thinking that I might have been able to leave my checked roller luggage at home! Additionally, Red Oxx service is super.
 
 Great Bag
By Jordan, Marietta GA, July 29, 2010

I love this bag got a ton of stuff in it. I did have to buy an eagle creek hanging clothes folder to ensure no wrinkles on the dress clothes but that made this bag perfect. I got all my heavy jiu jitsu gear and all my dress clothes for 4 days in this one carry on. It is amazing.

Would be great if the middle compartment was slightly wider for stuffing gear in but it holds a ton....

----------- Red Oxx replies: thanks for the tips and compliments, have you tried using a Red Oxx Nomad or Lil Roy as a packing cube? Your Air Boss will thank you.
 
 Great Bag
By Sean, , July 22, 2010

This was my go to bag for a 3 day seminar "tour." Able to fit clothes, running shoes, and a projector. Easy to get stuff in and out, which was important when trying to pack up at 4am in the dark (hotel lost power). Lots roomier than my roller and much easier to get in and out of the airport with.

The shoulder strap doesn't slip. However, when you can load the bag up, which you can, your shoulder knows it's there.

Thanks for the great bag!
 
 One Bag. One Airboss
By John N., South Carolina, July 22, 2010

This is the only bag you will need for a weeks worth of traveling. Perfectly designed with plenty of room. It has no flaws. My only suggestion would be to not overpack this bag if you will be using it as a carry on. It's easy to do. I stuffed it full on the way back from Panama and had to check it. It held up without injury through all of the rough handling unlike some of the roller bags which came down the conveyor with mangled handles.
 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND hand made in the U.S.A.
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Brand Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 14 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab or download the printable Air Boss luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming your Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
Why not use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes? You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold-open-flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days of travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack my laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded neoprene sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole-to-sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment inside a plastic bag.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
 

Take me to the top