Skip Navigation LinksRailroad-Grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 21 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 21 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 3-5 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (296 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
 Husband loves this bag!!
By Jenniffer, Rochester, MN, July 12, 2012

My husband loves this bag-his RR job has him traveling frequently and at a moments notice. This bag does it all! Go to the lobby of a hotel where RR crews are laying over and there's a sea of Red Oxx bags-there's a reason why!
 
 Engineer Grip
By Tom, North Platte, Nebraska, July 5, 2012

I recently purchased this grip and was impressed from the beginning. You can tell immediately that this is a high quality bag. I was able to consolidate two bags into the one, and even had room for my laptop!!! I look forward to many years with this grip.
 
 Dependable
By Chad, Fargo, ND, July 5, 2012

Solid, sturdy, and dependable is all I have to say. I have only had my bag for a couple of weeks and I have found myself looking at the shoulder strap a couple times already as I have filled the bag with so much gear and things that past bags would have broke by now. Then I remember that this thing was built for this kind of abuse. I have no doubt after using this bag that it will serve me well for a long, long time. Very heavy duty construction.
 
 40 riding rails
By Sam Raven, Smithers B.C., June 23, 2012

I bought this grip for my dad for his birthday, and to say he was skeptical is a understatement. He has been on the job for 40 years and after his first trip with this bag he phoned to thank me for it, twice. In his own words "If half the guys on the job were as rugged and dependable as this bag, my life would be a lot easier!" he can fit everything in and it can take the abuse of day-to-day work, two thumbs up!
 
 Love It
By Victor, New Mexico, June 17, 2012

I love this bag I currently work in the oilfield. After trying many other bags I have found that they just cannot put up with the abuse of the oilfield. I love the fact that there is plenty of room, being in the oilfield a person has to pack a lot of gear, this bag has the room for it. The craftsmanship is un matched. At first I was heasitant to buy this because of the price. It was well worth the price. I have recomended this bag to coworkers who have made purchases aftter seeing this quality product. I am looking forward to trying more of the Red Ox line.
 
 A RAILROADER'S GRIP
By Dave, Chicago, IL, June 14, 2012

Plenty of room for four sets of rulebooks, tt/si's, general orders, a change of clothes, my jacket-and lunch! Built to handle being hauled up and down from the cab. I'm very satisfied and impressed, and definitely recommend RED OXX to my coworkers.
 
 TONNAGE
By Dave, Chicago, IL, June 14, 2012

A fantastic railroader's grip. A number of my coworkers have asked where I got it...a true must-have. Now to get some of the accessories.
 
 Blown Away
By Jason Henderson, Saint Joseph, MO, May 16, 2012

Bought bag 4 years ago and didn't want to write a review until I put it through the test. It exceeded my expectations in every way (and I knew of the bag before buying). It has been tossed around in cabs, dropped in mud, rained on, kicked, dropped off the nose of engine, and had different materials spilt on it. It is tough and durable and it still looks as if I bought it last month. Everything fits with room to spare. Some may think there isn't enough room, but I say they don't know how to pack. This is a travel bag and the only thing bigger is the railroad backpack.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Dan H., Chicago,Il, May 10, 2012

Bag is perfect, very well made, good value. The initials were very well done, happy I bought it.
 
 Great
By Shaun, Spencerville, IN, May 2, 2012

Very durable and holds everything. Well worth the money
 
 Awesome bag
By Mike, Upstate, New York, April 29, 2012

Love it. Enough said.
 
 First and last grip
By eric williamson, fort madison, iowa, April 26, 2012

awesome bag.
 
 Awesome!
By Kari H., Virginia, April 26, 2012

I purchased this bag for my husband for his birthday. He is a conductor, and we have had trouble finding a bag durable enough to hold all of his equipment. This bag is extremely well made, and there is enough room for everything my husband needs. I know we will not have to purchase another one for a LONG time. It is worth every penny!
 
 Best Grip Ever!!!
By Heath Brown, Ft Worth, April 23, 2012

My Red Oxx grip is by far and away, the best bag I've ever owned! From the huge #10 zipper to the double stitched seams and cargo pockets. Exceptional quality and American craftsmenship combine to make this bag the best value anywhere!
 
 Railroad Grip
By Karen Stone, Fort Wayne, In, April 19, 2012

My husband has been with the Norfolk Southern 14 years and he has gone through 7 different grips from hard shell, duffel bags, suit cases and they were hard to pack and wore out quickly. This is a great bag, so easy to keep things straight in the different pockets, his clothing packed neatly, his books that he has to carry and his lunch box fits in great. Wish we had heard about you all before now. My husband is so happy to have a grip that he can carry and it does not weigh him down as the others did. He wanted his name on the bag and it looks wonderful. Best buy I have made for him after all the others. Thank you for providing the railroad grip it is so much easier to pack and he can find everything he needs in one shot. Great bag.
 
 Only bag I need...
By Ryan, Mich., April 19, 2012

Bag is perfect. Everything I need for a layover plus all my conductor gear fits in this grip. Would recommend to anyone.
 
 Great Grip!
By Matt W., Virginia, April 18, 2012

Every railroader should have this bag. This is the best grip I have ever owned and well worth the money!
 
 Great Bag !!!
By J.A.C., Georgia, April 12, 2012

Having been a railroad conductor/engineer for almost ten years, I have tried every possible grip set up one can have. Soft suitcases, hard suitcases, book bags, back packs, all of them out there can only last a few good years at best before needing repairs or replacement. I work a job that keeps me gone a average of three days per trip. This bag can hold it all, and seems to be built well enough to with stand the abuse. Our grips come into contact with alot of steel walkways, dirty cab floors, constant handling up and down engine ladders, and in and out of road taxis. The railroad requires a tough bag. ( I do wonder how well the bottom will hold up over time though ) I think I have finally found it. I have paired it with a CPA Messenger Bag, which seems like a good set up. The weight difference alone from going from a hard shell Samsonite to this bag has made my bag shuffling so much easier on me, especially in the rain, or when having to walk a good ways to get to the parked train. The hardware is above top quality, the zippers and their pull knots are truly well thought out, and even very easy to use in the dark. The shoulder strap is excellent, and the big pockets hold all the crap we have to have to live out of a bag for a few days. I am sure it will out last any other setup I have had to date.... Red Oxx makes it very clear that they will stand behind their gear FOR LIFE. Given that they went to train crews to get advise on what we need to have, and how durable it has to be... IT SHOWS. This is a purchase I can't see ever regretting!
 
 Great Bag
By Patrick, Ft Worth Tx. KCSRR, April 12, 2012

Recent purchase, good strong zippers and lots of room. Can also double as layover bag for overnight change of clothes, ect. Well worth the price.
 
 Railroad Grip
By Anonymous, Lima Ohio, April 2, 2012

Bought this for my boyfriend as a gift. He loves it!! Is an engineer on the RR. and this works perfect. Great! Great quality!!
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.