Skip Navigation LinksRailroad-Grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Shipping under normal circumstances is under 21 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 21 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 5-7 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (296 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
 Great R.R. Grip
By Conrad, Escanaba, MI, July 29, 2010

I am a Locomotive Engineer in Upper Michigan and i've been fed up having to replace grips every year or two. When I received this Red Oxx grip, I was a bit worried because it looked small but after transferering all of my crap into it, theres still plenty of room for half as much more stuff. I'm impressed with the quality of the zippers, straps, and hooks. The material appears that it will last for many years. The only problem I can see is that there is no kind of reinforcement material on the bottom of the bag, and since railroaders are always tossing thier grips on and off of locomotive walkways, I can see the possibility of the material fraying over time on the bottom. All in all, I am very impressed with this grip and i'm confident that it will outlast anything i've purchased in the past.
 
 Best Grip Ever!!!!!!
By Jon Kephart, Richmond,VA, July 29, 2010

This is by far the best grip money can buy. I had no problem spending the money on a bag that has a Lifetime Guarantee. I recommend this grip to everyone.
 
 Nothin' fancy
By Pete, Fort Fun, CO, July 20, 2010

I'm not a railroader, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. I travel 30 weeks a year as an underpaid, overworked, sleep deprived consulting engineer in the power industry and I'm pretty hard on my equipment, but hey, so are baggage handlers. I currently roll with the CPA Briefcase and Trifold Shave Kit so admittedly, I'm a bit of a Red Oxx fan.

I needed a truck bag that I could wedge into the extended cab of a Tacoma or bungee cord to a flatbed Blue Heeler-style when I drive. I needed something bulletproof to use as luggage that could also comfortably pull double duty in the field when I fly. What I really needed was to get over to the Red Oxx webpage and see what treasures they had for me. I found the railroad grip accidentally in a section of the webpage away from the more "civilian" products and fell in love with it. Heck, I've only had it for a few days and I'm still basking in the afterglow while smoking a cigarette.

I believe it was the great warrior poet Colonel Hannibal Smith who once said, "Overkill is underrated." The boys from Red Oxx know a little something about overkill and they don't make crappy stuff. Read the reviews. Yeah, it's spendy, but when that box comes off the big brown truck and you lay your filthy paws on your new bag(s) for the first time you'll get over it quickly. Plus you gotta love them no nonsense Montana guys who, in our carbon-neutral, mush-mouth, fast-paced, flip-flopper, dead-tech, hope-and-change 21st century world still have a no-BS one-sentence lifetime warranty. Not that you'll need the warranty, mind you, unless a toddler or hungry Grizzly or pissed off Great White gets ahold of your bag. Even then they'd prolly fix it, no questions asked, just for the great story.

I buy from these guys because I'm supporting a small business owned by former Marines and native Montanans who make top shelf products by hand with love in every stitch. This way I'm not contributing to those bonuses for Evil Corporate America we've all heard so much about. I slave hard for my pittance so when I spend money, I shop hard and buy good food, good booze, good tools, and good gear. I avoid cheap China-made crap (which is increasingly difficult to do) and like it when folks like the Red Oxx boys answer the phone on the second ring and have instant answers to my questions.

Oh yeah, the bag. It's all been said in the reviews below. It's a black heavy duty rectangular bag that will swallow a ton of stuff and still fit nicely in confined spaces. Nothin' fancy, just big square pockets and bomber construction. It's not a periwinkle blue Bedazzled manpurse from Linens'n'Things containing yoga pants, a soy latte, and a few The Fray CDs. If that's what you're after, stop reading right now and move back to SoCal. It you need a hard use, buy once/cry once truck bag/luggage/gym bag/range bag from Planet Kickass that your grandkids will fight over when you're dead (and I know you do, you manly man of action, you), find a few pennies between the couch cushions and save up for this action.
 
 Worth the Money!
By Amber, Arkansas, July 14, 2010

I bought this for my husband as a present. When it first came in we were a little scared because it didn't look very big. Looks can be deceiving! He was able to fit everything he had in his old bag, plus more. And everything is so much more organized now, which he loves. This bag is awesome!
 
 High Quality
By Anonymous, Canada, May 18, 2010

Great bag, high quality construction. A little on the high price for a bag. But im thinking that it may a once in a lifetime purchase. Will find out how tough they actually are in the years to come. I would buy another one.
 
 RR GRIP
By REE, VANCOUVER WA, April 8, 2010

It appears to be rugged enough to do the job for railroaders.
 
 Good Bag
By Craig Williams, Waterloo, IA, April 1, 2010

So far I really like my bag. It definitely has enough room for all the books needed to travel out of town, plus my clothes. It's just a touch heavy when you get everything in it, but it seems to be built well and should hold up for a long time to come. Nice to go to a one bag system at work.
 
 Grip
By Ray Millen, Galesburg, MI, February 26, 2010

I have owned many other bags over the years, and I can tell you that this is the first one I am overjoyed with. I am a Locomotive Engineer with the Grand Trunk and travel out of town for work, and the manual and other stuff I need to carry easily fits this bag, and with a little over 20 years until retirement, I figured a lifetime guarantee is gonna be cheaper in the long run...
 
 Don't be fooled by "fooled"
By JZ, New Jersey, February 7, 2010

Another response to "fooled"...I dont (know) of any other bag for any railroader out there. I am a passenger conductor and have used my grip for months on overnight assignments. I'm able to carry timetables, a Form D book, rulebook and rulebook binder (for the 2 railroads I operate on) in one end pocket, a small first aid kit and fusees in another end pocket, brake hose gaskets in a side pocket, various paperwork booklets in the front pocket, and a 13-pocket letter file, metal clipboard, pencil case, AND a change of clothes (shirt, jeans, socks, t-shirt). I've had my grip leaning along sidewall heaters in the cab and it didnt phase the Red Oxx Grip where other bags would have melted. The zippers eat through almost anything left in its path. The grip has been so useful to me that I purchased the Airborne Ruck Sack (C-Ruck) for use on shorter assignments. I will never buy anything else but Red Oxx!!
 
 Railroad Grip
By Dennis Erno, Iola, Wisconsin, January 14, 2010

Railroaders are probably the hardest on grips of any profession. The tight quarters we get into, the height we throw them up to, the small coradors we drag them down, and the way we get in and out of them constantly looking at our rule books (ya right lol). But your grip seems to be able to take it so far(I just got it for Christmas '09). But the reasurance that its guarenteed for life is a relaxing piece of mind. I'll write another review in a year and let you know how its holding up. The only thing I ask is can you come and clean up some of our engines their dirty and I don't want to get my new bag messy. Great product keep up the good work. Engineer Erno in Wisconsin CN
 
 Pleased
By Scott, Kansas City, December 10, 2009

I'm pleased with this grip so far. My rule book fits in the end easliy. I have plenty of room for my clothes. It's just a little bulky getting in and out of the cab. I just need to get used to it. Instead of using a back pack for so long. I couldn't bring my self to pay that much for the one on steriods.
 
 22 YEARS TO GO!!!
By Carol Delaney, New Castle, PA, December 4, 2009

This is the LAST grip I will ever buy for my husband!! I only wish it was the first! I never have to hear, "Honey, I need a new grip," ever again!! Why didn't I ever know about Red Oxx before now?I have already blessed other RR wives with this invaluable information and we all say the same thing, "Our search for a quality, hold-all, durable, good-looking grip is over."

The lifetime warranty is what sold it. But once we seen it and felt it and my husband packed it we knew this was $$$ well invested.

He's only had it for a little over a month.....22 years to go!!!!
 
 response to "fool you"
By Brian, denver, co, July 7, 2009

I have had this bag for awhile now, and I love it. One end pocket has a full size rule book, extra binder, and ear plugs with room to spare. Other end has lantern, two pairs of gloves, head lamp, batteries, extra safety glasses, and various odds and ends. Side pockets hold a set of raingear. Center pocket holds yet another set of gloves, safety vest, metal hinged clip board, lunch w/blue ice cube, and 6 20oz vitamin water bottles. In the winter, I add clothing layers, watch cap, and winter gloves. Everything has always fit just fine (I could wish for slightly more room in winter for my winter gear as insulated overalls along with extra heavy jacket does kind of pack this thing) I wear 3xl tall shirt/jacket, and 48" long overalls so my clothes aren't small. Maybe the packing method you use isn't suitable to your situation, or you are much bigger than I am. If this bag came in a larger size, I would buy it for winter time, but I have been extremely happy with what I have.
 
 BEST BAG EVER!!!
By j trainor, Kelayres, pa, June 30, 2009

I've had this bag for about 3 months now and I have nothing bad to say about it. I drag it around everyday and it still looks brand new. It's been caught on hand rails, handbrake wheels and not even fazed. This bag is awesome and I would recommend it to any railroader.
 
 Tool of the trade.
By J.A. Stone, Tucson, June 22, 2009

I've owned my bag for 2 years now and it has held up great. Looks like new. I made the mistake of putting it in the dryer after I washed it and melted the zipper on the end. I called customer service and they said, "mail it to us we will fix it for FREE"! This is why I like to buy from an AMERICAN. Try sending that cheap walmart bag back after 2 month or 2 days and see where you get. Thanks for a Great Product!J.A. STONE
 
 response to "fooled"
By P R GAUL, Peoria/Galesburg,IL, June 10, 2009

Well, what to say first? this has to be THE bag to have for railroading. The K.I.S.S. method for this bags construction is on point. Having ample storage for my rulebook on one end(with room for extra radio batteries), and perfect sized storage for my lantern, radio,utility belt, and many other in the middle of nowhere necessities. Allows me to configure it how i want. i also have to carry a medical device in the center for over-nite trips, and there is still room for my rain gear, change of clothing,thermose,snacks. Some guys out here have "engineered" an inner frame from pvc pipe, but i feel that it just takes away from the interior storage.As i look at my "grip" now, i do notice some wear on the outsides from squeezing in/out of the motors. Besides that, shes looking pretty good for 5yrs of constant abuse. Now, there is a "Tuff bag" crowd out here that is just as proud of there cheap material, thin zippered, grips as I am of my Red Oxx. But when you put my Red Oxx bag down next to one of those deflated "bean bag" looking Tuff bags, the difference in quality is easy to see. Hands down Red Oxx is THE Grip to have.
 
 Don't get any better
By Greg, Tennessee, May 11, 2009

Great bag! I have used now enough to write the review about it and all I can say is that this is the best bag (grip) for a railroader. Thanks
 
 dont let it fool you!!
By jason, kansas city, May 8, 2009

this bag is tough! just like it says but don't let the size fool you.. I can't put my rule book in the end pocket. It's too small. And a lantern, vest and radio stuffs the other end. The middle compartment won't hold one change of my clothes, rain gear and toiletry kit without almost stuffing it. I had a tuff bag and the size was perfect... Lots of pockets for pens and anything extra. This bag lacks on this issue. They are just large pockets so everything get mixed up and moves around loose. The tuff bag zippers ripped so I bought this. It is a very durable bag, just needs to be bigger.A rare reply from: Red OxxI have posted this review in the hopes that of the THOUSANDS of Red Oxx Grips out there that some others will chime in. This is the first I have ever heard of these items not fitting. After 16 Years of making the Railroad Grip I would have expected to have heard about this problem. We seek to communicate our products in the most upfront manner and trying to "fool" someone is not our way of conducting business. Looking forward to some more input.Jim MarkelCEO
 
 AWESOME GRIP
By Shaun Gunter, Illinois, April 23, 2009

What can I say? I read the reviews. The thing that sold me was the lifetime warranty. When I opened the box and saw how well put together this grip was, I knew I wouldn't have any problems. And I was right! You can stuff this bag full of clothes and rulebooks and the zippers willfully close every time. I have been throwing this bag around and it has stood up to everything. I will be buying my laptop bag from RedOxx. Don't hesitate to spend the money because you will get what you paid for.
 
 Excellent
By Josh, Lincoln, April 20, 2009

Great heavy duty bag, also very well thought out design. that will last.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.