Skip Navigation LinksRailroad-Grip

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 21 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 21 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 3-5 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (286 Reviews)

 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
 Pleased
By Scott, Kansas City, December 10, 2009

I'm pleased with this grip so far. My rule book fits in the end easliy. I have plenty of room for my clothes. It's just a little bulky getting in and out of the cab. I just need to get used to it. Instead of using a back pack for so long. I couldn't bring my self to pay that much for the one on steriods.
 
 22 YEARS TO GO!!!
By Carol Delaney, New Castle, PA, December 4, 2009

This is the LAST grip I will ever buy for my husband!! I only wish it was the first! I never have to hear, "Honey, I need a new grip," ever again!! Why didn't I ever know about Red Oxx before now?I have already blessed other RR wives with this invaluable information and we all say the same thing, "Our search for a quality, hold-all, durable, good-looking grip is over."

The lifetime warranty is what sold it. But once we seen it and felt it and my husband packed it we knew this was $$$ well invested.

He's only had it for a little over a month.....22 years to go!!!!
 
 response to "fool you"
By Brian, denver, co, July 7, 2009

I have had this bag for awhile now, and I love it. One end pocket has a full size rule book, extra binder, and ear plugs with room to spare. Other end has lantern, two pairs of gloves, head lamp, batteries, extra safety glasses, and various odds and ends. Side pockets hold a set of raingear. Center pocket holds yet another set of gloves, safety vest, metal hinged clip board, lunch w/blue ice cube, and 6 20oz vitamin water bottles. In the winter, I add clothing layers, watch cap, and winter gloves. Everything has always fit just fine (I could wish for slightly more room in winter for my winter gear as insulated overalls along with extra heavy jacket does kind of pack this thing) I wear 3xl tall shirt/jacket, and 48" long overalls so my clothes aren't small. Maybe the packing method you use isn't suitable to your situation, or you are much bigger than I am. If this bag came in a larger size, I would buy it for winter time, but I have been extremely happy with what I have.
 
 BEST BAG EVER!!!
By j trainor, Kelayres, pa, June 30, 2009

I've had this bag for about 3 months now and I have nothing bad to say about it. I drag it around everyday and it still looks brand new. It's been caught on hand rails, handbrake wheels and not even fazed. This bag is awesome and I would recommend it to any railroader.
 
 Tool of the trade.
By J.A. Stone, Tucson, June 22, 2009

I've owned my bag for 2 years now and it has held up great. Looks like new. I made the mistake of putting it in the dryer after I washed it and melted the zipper on the end. I called customer service and they said, "mail it to us we will fix it for FREE"! This is why I like to buy from an AMERICAN. Try sending that cheap walmart bag back after 2 month or 2 days and see where you get. Thanks for a Great Product!J.A. STONE
 
 response to "fooled"
By P R GAUL, Peoria/Galesburg,IL, June 10, 2009

Well, what to say first? this has to be THE bag to have for railroading. The K.I.S.S. method for this bags construction is on point. Having ample storage for my rulebook on one end(with room for extra radio batteries), and perfect sized storage for my lantern, radio,utility belt, and many other in the middle of nowhere necessities. Allows me to configure it how i want. i also have to carry a medical device in the center for over-nite trips, and there is still room for my rain gear, change of clothing,thermose,snacks. Some guys out here have "engineered" an inner frame from pvc pipe, but i feel that it just takes away from the interior storage.As i look at my "grip" now, i do notice some wear on the outsides from squeezing in/out of the motors. Besides that, shes looking pretty good for 5yrs of constant abuse. Now, there is a "Tuff bag" crowd out here that is just as proud of there cheap material, thin zippered, grips as I am of my Red Oxx. But when you put my Red Oxx bag down next to one of those deflated "bean bag" looking Tuff bags, the difference in quality is easy to see. Hands down Red Oxx is THE Grip to have.
 
 Don't get any better
By Greg, Tennessee, May 11, 2009

Great bag! I have used now enough to write the review about it and all I can say is that this is the best bag (grip) for a railroader. Thanks
 
 dont let it fool you!!
By jason, kansas city, May 8, 2009

this bag is tough! just like it says but don't let the size fool you.. I can't put my rule book in the end pocket. It's too small. And a lantern, vest and radio stuffs the other end. The middle compartment won't hold one change of my clothes, rain gear and toiletry kit without almost stuffing it. I had a tuff bag and the size was perfect... Lots of pockets for pens and anything extra. This bag lacks on this issue. They are just large pockets so everything get mixed up and moves around loose. The tuff bag zippers ripped so I bought this. It is a very durable bag, just needs to be bigger.A rare reply from: Red OxxI have posted this review in the hopes that of the THOUSANDS of Red Oxx Grips out there that some others will chime in. This is the first I have ever heard of these items not fitting. After 16 Years of making the Railroad Grip I would have expected to have heard about this problem. We seek to communicate our products in the most upfront manner and trying to "fool" someone is not our way of conducting business. Looking forward to some more input.Jim MarkelCEO
 
 AWESOME GRIP
By Shaun Gunter, Illinois, April 23, 2009

What can I say? I read the reviews. The thing that sold me was the lifetime warranty. When I opened the box and saw how well put together this grip was, I knew I wouldn't have any problems. And I was right! You can stuff this bag full of clothes and rulebooks and the zippers willfully close every time. I have been throwing this bag around and it has stood up to everything. I will be buying my laptop bag from RedOxx. Don't hesitate to spend the money because you will get what you paid for.
 
 Excellent
By Josh, Lincoln, April 20, 2009

Great heavy duty bag, also very well thought out design. that will last.
 
 JUST PLAIN WORTH IT
By Scott, Forsyth, April 19, 2009

I hired out over a year ago. And got a grip as a gift. I was familiar with the Red Oxx brand but, wow! The bag holds everything we carry as conductors plus room for all the extra stuff that makes 12 hours on duty nice. This bag is more than worth its weight in gold. And, having traveled before I went on the site and ordered a tri-fold shave kit. Don't think just do! The kit holds everything a guy needs and fits in the end pocket opposite the rule book. Great job guys and keep up the good work.
 
 I dont under stand Why you make this bag so "BIG"!
By G.T.Gibson, Salt Lake City, UT., April 10, 2009

Come on, YOU know if you make it bigger we will "FILL" it! GCOR, Timetables, clothes, shave kit, etc, Etc,ETC!Its not easy to carry this bag, thank goodness for the strap!How big does a hole have to be to get a replacement? 1 - 1/4 hole after 1+ year of HARD use.A bag 1/4 smaller would help to get in and out of the front door of a locomotive.1/3 smaller would make a good day bag!Thanks for a "KILLER BAG"!
 
 ALL-IN-ONE, ONE-FOR-ALL
By Danny J, South Dakota, December 18, 2008

When I first saw the Engineer's Grip, I thought it wouldn't be large enough. After I placed all my necessary items for work in the bag, I had room for a 1 quart thermos and my lap-top. In two years, one back-pack and one duffel bag couldn't hold up to my needs. I think this grip will!
 
 Waited 18 months to review this bag
By Brian, Sapulpa, Oklahoma, December 16, 2008

As the title says I waited 18 months to review this bag and this thing still looks like new. There are no worn spots anywhere and the color has not faded. I sat down with a six pack of Corona with lime and my debit card trying to muster up the gumption to spend a little over a days pay for a bag and at number 4 I hit enter and hoped that I had not made a mistake. I found out that it was well worth what I spent and when it came time to purchase a new bag for my laptop 6 months later, I came straight back here and purchased the CPA bag this time without the 4 coronas! These two bags have all the room in the world for whatever you think you may need. If you think you might not want one of these grips think about it like this, I had 26 years left to work until retirement and with the lifetime warranty the cost of these two bags end up costing me around $2.75 a month. Can you get a wal-mart or L.L. Bean bag for that? I think not.
 
 Everything that I expected, then MORE!!
By Ryan Kircher, Manteno, Il, December 10, 2008

There will be no disappointments with this bag. I knew it would be a high quality product, but I had no clue how nice these products really are. They are very well constructed, tough, and they look great. I'm amazed by all of the separate compartments, and total room overall. I was a little worried about storage capacity, but I will always have enough with this particular product. Im very glad I made this purchase. Red Oxx products are the best!
 
 THE ONLY ONE HE WILL EVER NEED!!!!
By Emma McClanahan, Mountains of Colorado, November 11, 2008

WOW!!! Where to start, my husband works for the railroad (UP) an has been through a lot of "grips"!! He seen a fellow worker with one of your Railroad Grips an they began to talk bout it. Came home an we looked it up online. found what he was lookin for an i order it for Christmas of 2007. Gave to him..... oh my goodness you would have thought it was the only thing he has ever gotten!! HE LOVES THE THING!!He says it is easy to get on an off the engine with! easy to load an unload stuff in it! pack for weeks! What can we say! an thanks for the easy orderin you guys have !! will be orderin again soon! your friends in Colorado!
 
 Best bag ever
By Chris, Van Buren, AR, November 10, 2008

I went through two other bags in three months due to tears and broken zippers, I finally asked some of the guys about their Red Oxx bags and was told that if I bought one I would never have to buy another bag and that they were the best. I will have to agree!! My RedOxx bag holds everything I need it to with room for more and is as tough as nails, I wouldn't own anything else now, I am 100% satisfied and would recommend them to anyone who needs a tough reliable bag!!!
 
 WHAT A WARRANTY!!!!!
By Gene, Havre, MT, November 7, 2008

I have owned one of these grips from the first day I became employed by the BNSF. After almost 6 years of dragging it to work, I had broken a couple of the zippers and wore a hole in one of the corners. When I took it to Red Oxx, I expected to pay for the repairs as I felt the damage was normal wear & tear. They said no problem they would get it fixed up. Guess what, they sent me a NEW GRIP. Talk about people that back up their WARRANTY. Now I'm looking at some of their other products, with a warranty & a company that backs up what they have..how can you go wrong.
 
 The Ultimate Grip!!
By Chris Gardner, Oshkosh, Wisconsin, October 31, 2008

I'm an engineer with the Canadian National Railway out of Stevens Point, Wisconsin. I absolutely love this grip! It holds everything I need to get the job done! I pack the inside with a pair of sneakers, change of clothes, 1 quart coffee thermos, shaving kit, rain jacket, sweatshirt, sandwich and a couple of canned drinks. Since I run into Chicago, I am required to carry the huge CORA (Chicago Operating Rules Assoc.) book. This easily slips into one of the end pockets. I carry the United States Operating Rules (CN's rule book) in one of the opposite end pockets. In the smaller end pockets I carry a Metra Timetable, Haz Mat guide, safety glasses, earplugs, etc. I even carry a full size Bible in one of the end pockets. This grip has so much room! Two big side pockets on either side easily hold extra gloves, binoculars, aspirin, hand cream, cell phone,switch keys, extra batteries, and a Leatherman tool--If you can stuff it in there, it will hold it!! This bag is tough as nails and super easy to carry. I haven't tried it yet, but I think you could get a smaller laptop computer (14.4" or smaller) in there somewhere as well. The quality of this grip speaks for itself. Everything is heavy-duty. Nothing about it feels cheap. The bag looks nice too. I have received numerous compliments on this bag. I would recommend it to anyone who works road trains. As we all know, the hardest part of the whole trip is getting on and off that locomotive! This grip makes that task a whole lot easier!
 
 The Last One
By Anonymous, Louisiana, October 16, 2008

I have had this bag for almost 2 years and I have waited to review this bag until I was sure that it would stand the test of time and I'm here to say that it will and has. I was buying 2 sometimes 3 bags per year and know that I have the Red Oxx I feel very confident that I have bought my last one. If you are looking for a new grip I would have to say that you just found the only one you should consider. Thanks Red Oxx for everything.
 
... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.