COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Tell the weed weasel I have my rule book.”
Red Oxx Railroad Grip

Railroad Grip $200.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


WANTED... Railroader's Grip that lasts! And lasts...

This is the bag you've been hearing about and spotted out on the tracks.

DESIGNED BY RAILROADERS.
Red Oxx has been hand building this grip for locomotive railroad engineers here in Billings, Montana since 1992. Together with a group of five rail engineers, Red Oxx created an American-made bag that could survive the rough rail life. Designed with the help of these fellow engineers and train crew members at our local rail hub, it's been tested tough to the extreme, making it the perfect rail work grip. This bag is made out of our strongest material; 1050 heavy weight denier Ballistic Nylon (available only in BLACK) that will not shred, rip or tear. Originally developed as a flak jacket material, ballistic nylon is one of the strongest and durable flexible textiles available.

FITS YOUR RAIL GEAR.
Sized to fit the large GCOR rule book in one end pocket, your lantern and radio in the other, you'll still have room for a week (or more) worth of clothes and your shaving kit in the cavernous main compartment. There are plenty of places to stow smaller things in the zippered flat pockets located on all sides of the bag.

Our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty guarantees this'll be the last grip you'll ever have to buy! Why?

NO JUNK MATERIALS.
No skinny plastic zippers, cheap thread or junky low-grade hardware like other rail grips. Red Oxx uses huge, tested-tough #10 YKK nylon self-locking zippers that work every time. Easy to close, easy to open. Our thread is a proprietary UV protected #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon that will cut your fingers off before you can break it. UV protection from the sun resists thread aging, a common breakdown point used in typical inferior bags. Since we're former military parachute riggers, you can bet every stress point is double cross-stitched.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HEAVY-DUTY HARDWARE.
When you see and feel the sheer heft our stainless steel and nickel-plated hardware you'll understand why so many railroaders swear by our grips. Just check out over two hundred and fifty product reviews from satisfied engineers and railmen who have tried them all, some of them have burned through several competitors bags in a year.

BOUND, NOT GAGGED
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive grips that brag of "binding" their edges.

Life on the tracks is hard. It's about steel, oil and hard edges that cut and tear a regular bag to pieces. The Red Oxx Railroad Grip: "stronger than Armstrong."

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order today to get your Grip on our factory production schedule. Delivery under normal circumstances is under 21 working days. During the holidays, it can be longer than 21 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

PERSONALIZE IT.
Because an embroidered grip is a respected grip. Order an Embroidered Monogram and make your Grip --yours. Available in red lettering only - located on top zipper panel only.

  • Three initials for only $7.50.
  • Up to ten characters (including spaces, dashes and periods) for only $10.00.

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogramed grips add an additional 3-5 business days before shipping.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Grip.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
Capacity: 3,456 cu. inches
Weight: 4.7 pounds

Pocket measurements:

  • Front and rear flat slip zippered pockets: 13"W x 8"H
  • Dual end flat slip pockets: 11"W x 11"H
  • Dual end 3/4 zippered compartments: 12"W x 12"H x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"W x 16"L x 12"D

Every great trainman bag needs Railroader accessories.

Download this free collectable Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure (3.7MB).
Download this free collectable Railroader Accessories PDF Brochure (3.4MB).

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Grip include:

  • Riggers bag - tough enough for any oil rigging job.
  • Trucker cargo bag - great for tools and travel gear.
  • Roughneck bag - If you work a tough job, this is your bag.
  • Horse tack bag
  • Rodeo bag
  • Roping bag
  • Halter bag
  • Trainers bag
  • AMR Pack
  • FIFO Miners Bag
  • Construction worker bag
  • NRC tool bag

Fun GRIP Trivia: It's called a Grip as this comes from the rail line term for a bag coined as a "Grip sack." This was a bag issued by the RR for employees to organize and carry their stuff. It was a large canvas bag with big handles. As the years passed, the term was shortened to Grip.

Write a Review

4.87 Average Rating
 (286 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Built to last
By Uprr eng, Utah, February 21, 2014

What I love about my grip are the zippers, shoulder strap, pockets. Heavy duty material it's made from, it's personalized and it is the last grip I will have to buy. The only to improvements would be the side pockets could be a bit deeper to fit my rule books better and it's a heavy bang even empty.
 
 Awesome Bag!
By Anonymous, , February 21, 2014

Bag is awesome! No longer need to carry my stuff in two bags. The embroidery is a nice touch as well.
 
 Good as Everyone Says
By Anonymous, Wisconsin, February 20, 2014

Like someone else said, get your initials embroidered - you'll have this bag for a long time. Great product.
 
 Great bag
By Anonymous, Nebraska, February 20, 2014

I've owned 3 Tuff bags and have put new zippers in all of them bc they are cheap and last only a couple of months. This bag I've used only a month but looks like it should last a life time. Plus it is warranty is lifetime. Had a lot of positive feedback from other people when they see my bag. Thanks.
 
 Excellent bag!
By StoneGround, New Hampshire, February 16, 2014

Although it was on back order for a month, it arrived and I am pleased I waited! More than enough space for all the junk railroads expect guys to carry! Very sturdy construction!
 
 Sturdy bag.
By Anonymous, , February 13, 2014

My husband has not had this bag very long but so far he loves it. It is heavy duty and looks great!
 
 Great Work Bag
By Steve Barrow, Blackfoot, ID, February 10, 2014

This bag has been great! It fits everything for my position as a UP Conductor with spare room. Completely worth the expense.
 
 Very good quality bag
By Kathryn, Michigan , February 9, 2014

I bought the bag for my finance and he loves it! It fits everything he needs for work in one bag and is a good quality material.
 
 Great Bag, Great Choice.
By Jordan, Edmonton, AB, February 6, 2014

Was tired of replacing a bag every year. Work s an industrial Radiographer. Holds all my code books, snacks, and cloths for trips. I can fit all my gear in this pack with no issues.

Made very well, love the embroidery as well. Will purchase another product from RED OXX any day. Thanks for the outstanding product.
 
 Sturdy Grip
By Anonymous, Harrisburg, PA, January 23, 2014

The bag is durable and hold everything a conductor needs. The zippers are strong and each compartment has a railroader in mind.
 
 Railroad Grip is awesome
By Heather, AL, January 23, 2014

It takes a while to receive, but it is a great bag!
 
 Great Grip
By Anonymous, Pennsylvania, January 15, 2014

This is a great grip well put together. This bag is a great bag for conductors and engineers. It's worth the money this bag is made for the rigorous style of conductors and engineers and all of the stuff that we carry on a daily bases.
 
 Well Worth The Money
By Anonymous, Wisconsin, January 10, 2014

Very nice bag, well worth the money. Bigger than I anticipated. Very solid all around. Get the embroidery because you'll have this bag awhile.
 
 Worth the Money!
By Katie, Harrisburg, PA, January 9, 2014

When my husband came home from work and told me he wanted a 200 dollar bag I thought he was crazy. After looking at the reviews I bought him one for Christmas. I was a little concerned when I ordered it and realized that it was backstocked. I had a moment of panic and then realized I had over a month before Xmas it should be fine. I was impressed with the way that Red Oxx let me know about the delay and explained why.

When the box arrived one of the first things I noticed about the bag was the zippers. These zippers are not cheap flimsy zippers that the teeth will break off or they will slip easily. The entire bag was very sturdy and well built. The quality and workmanship is top notch. All of my husband gear fits easily inside the bag. This bag isn't as long as his old bag but he feels he can carry more in this bag. The sides of the bag are made so that they stand up even when the bag is empty instead of collapsing like his other bag.

My husband also received a toiletry bag from Oxx which he also loves. Again it has the same super zippers. We couldn't be happier with our purchase! My husband recommends his Oxx bag to all of his railroad coworkers! Kuddos to Red Oxx for creating such a great bag and taking the time to find out what railroaders need in a bag!
 
 Great Bag for Railroaders
By A Hauser, Minot, ND, December 30, 2013

So far this is bag is awesome and meets all of my needs. It holds all of my gear, keeps it dry and organized!
 
 Best Grip Ever!!!
By Justin McMillan, Glasgow, MO., December 29, 2013

Absolutely the best bag I have ever owned! I have my rules books, coveralls, vest, gloves (2 pair), hats, rain gear, paperwork, change of clothes, lantern, radio, both chargers, air gauge, hazmat book, cell phone charger, spare air hose hangers, prescription glasses, sunglasses, extra glasses case, and still have a little room. I was skeptical at first, but I am abosolutely satisfied with this bag. Very well designed, and great craftsmanship! Great grip!!
 
 buffaloed
By justin besch, alden,ny, December 20, 2013

the railroad grip is okay. I think it is a little overrated. the bag was highly recommended by fellow engineers, I wanted a durable bag, and my bag is starting to fail at the top flap turnbuckles (material coming apart around clasps). the problem is I do not have two weeks to be without a bag for warranty work to be completed. I am sorry this bag is not more durable for the money.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*Red Oxx replies*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

Red Oxx Customer Service sent Justin this email, summarized as follows:

"Warranties, once received have a turn-around time of 24-72 hours or 2-3 business days. If the determination is that replacement is necessary, there may be a longer lead time if the item is not in stock. In those cases (you will be) notified of the lead time."

Here is our official Warranty and return policy".

 
 Great
By Mike aguilera, cibolo texas, December 19, 2013

Great bag awesome craftsmanship.
 
 True
By NW Rail, Seattle, December 19, 2013

My grip is abused daily on the Railroad and has never failed. This bag is true quality.
 
 Awesome Grip
By Kevin, Ohio, December 15, 2013

Awesome railroad grip. A little expensive, but you get what you pay for. I've had at least 6 grips fail before purchasing the Red Oxx. It is by far the best made with heavy duty materials. Holds rule books and everything I need for round trips.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nickel plated turn locks secure main compartment
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in BLACK only
  • Embroidery available in RED only
  • Monogram embroidery available on Grip and Rail King only
  • Designed by railroaders for railroaders
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 12"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 70cm L x 30.5cm W x 30.5cm H
  • US Capacity: 3,456 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 65.1 Liters
  • US Weight: 4.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.13 Kilos
  • Free collectable download Railroad Grip and Rucksack PDF Brochure

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 21 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Grip compare to the Safari Beano's Duffel Bags?
The Grip is built using a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. An ideal textile for Railroaders and the hardships of the rail line.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon designed for hard use and colored black to help hide dirt, oil, and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Can I get a Grip in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is currently only available in black.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Grip was specifically designed to hold this particular railroader gear.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Grip. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each bag we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull", no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a Railroad Grip that will not fail.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my Grip?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.