Email Red OxxRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on YoutubeRed Oxx on InstagramPin it on Red Oxx PinterestJoin Red Oxx on facebook.Red Oxx on Google Plus

Red Oxx Gator Compact Carry On and Padded Gadget Bag - in Coal. Choose from 12 colors.

Write a Review

4.68 Average Rating
 (168 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Working on my collection!
By , Connecticut, October 2, 2016

The Gator bag is my 5th Red Oxx purchase, and there's so many more products I want! The quality, durability, masculine fashion and value is all there. I'm a big fan of the color blue, so am buying items in the midnight color which looks great! So now the tough decision is which Red Oxx product do I get? Thanks RO!
 Near Perfect Day Bag
By , NJ, August 27, 2016

Maybe it's a Jersey thing, but I agree with the Feb 27, 2016 review below verbatim. I have also had the bag for years. Originally, it was for hauling my dSLR but it came to be the bag I always grab if I am going out for the day on the weekend (e.g. today it was to the US Open). I think why it works over many other shoulder bags (even those nifty ones with waxed canvas and bridle leather from that famous Seattle company) are: the foam construction gives it structure/protection and the dimensions are near perfect for a shoulder bag. I use other bags for carry on airline travel and work and the gym but nothing has displaced the Gator over the years as the practical bag to carry if I am going to be walking around the city or going to a sporting event or even the occasional overnight stay. Would give 5 stars were it not for the shallow gusset pockets and the the annoying internal mesh pocket that flops over.
 Through 5 Countries
By , Michigan, June 9, 2016

I recently took a 5 country tour of the British Isles and Ireland. This bag was my personal carry on bag. This bag held my flashlight, pen, paper, rechargeable batteries, cell phone, ipad, itinerary, hat, water, maps, water bottle, eyeglasses, bluetooth ear buds, and lots of room left over for momentos. Bag is sturdy and easily fits under a planes seat. I flew Delta this round. Strong zippers and clasps and carrying handles. This is a beast and my personal carry on bag until it falls apart, which is going to be a really long time.
 Gator Aid
By , Vancouver, BC, Canada, March 7, 2016

In June 2014, I placed my first Red Oxx order, which consisted of an Air Boss and two Nomad Shaving Kits. I have been so impressed with the superb quality and design of these tenacious bags that I have expanded my Red Oxx collection.

In March 2015, I purchased, among several other Red Oxx items, a Gator Carry On Bag (Mariner). I travel with a Res-Med AutoSet S9 APAP/CPAP machine, with its attendant hoses, mask, etc. This machine comes with its own, inexpensive, purpose-built bag. Although this bag serves its limited purpose, it is not a bag that can be easily used for anything other than carrying the machine and accessories for which it was designed.

Enter the Gator. The Overview for this product states that it could be classified as a CPAP bag. If true, then it could serve double duty—both as a padded CPAP bag and, when not used for that purpose, as an everyday carry bag. I am delighted to report that the Gator fulfils these roles excellently. Once at your destination, and the CPAP machine removed from the Gator, it then becomes whatever kind of bag you want it to be.

When travelling by air, I place the Gator (with the CPAP machine safely within it) in the main compartment of a Briggs & Riley Baseline Rolling Cabin Bag (U116); the fit could not be better. The U116 also serves as the wheels under my Air Boss (with thanks to thegasguru for the suggestion on The Gator is a intelligently designed and versatile bag, and I recommend it.

By , NJ, February 27, 2016

I have had the Gator for about 7 years so I have gone through the period of novelty to moving on to other bags but then finally returning to use the Gator as it best works for me. The Gator is essentially a general purpose utility bag so it can serve as a briefcase, carry-on, tote, camera bag but will generally be slightly inferior to a good bag that is specifically designed for those purposes.

However, this is actually not a criticism as many times I want to grab a bag for the day, to carry a book, a camera, my cell phone, a water bottle, snacks, and whatever I end up buying while out. In this capacity, it is unmatched. It has a compact shape but great capacity for its size (you can almost always fit that one additional thing). And the foam gives the bag structure (something many many nice bags do not have), protection and insulates to keep my water bottle fairly cool.

It would excel for day trips while on vacation but unfortunately it won't back flat in my checked bag. Like everyone else, I think the end pockets are too shallow and the mesh piece needs a snap to hold it flush. But I don't mind the overbuilt hardware at all. So overall, I find it the perfect day bag or the dread term "murse".
 Great bag.
By , Diamond Bar, CA, February 15, 2016

Bought mine a couple years ago as a "solution looking for a problem" and now it's the most important bag I travel with. Great for c-pap machine and all the stuff I plug-in on a trip...electronic chargers, etc. The water-bottle pockets on the end are a great catch-all for items including water bottles, mini-binoculars and gloves.
 Great Bag
By , USA, February 4, 2016

I love my Gator. It fits under the airplane seat with plenty of room for my feet. It holds so much--tablet (I like the divider; it holds the tablet against the side and keeps it there), binoculars, small camera, wallet, glasses, and misc. other stuff. It's wonderfully sturdy and I like the hardware. Plastic hardware just doesn't do it and I'm glad Red Oxx goes for metal. The only thing I watch out for is the rubberized pad on the strap. It can catch on my shoulder length hair if I'm not careful, but it truly does not slip off my shoulder. If a water bottle is too large for the side pockets, just use a carabiner and attach it to the strap D ring. Very useful bag!
 Had a Gator for several years now...
By , Naples, Fla., February 3, 2016

My Gator is rarely used anymore as I have found the inner divider restrictive and annoying to deal with.

Additionally, the weight of the hardware is beyond belief when used as a 'carry-on' bag.

And finally, the much discussed water pockets should be eliminated.

If Red Oxx management listened to its customers and dealt with these three issues to produce a Gator II, I would buy several on Day One of its availability!!

----------Red Oxx Replies: So sorry to hear that Paul. We actually do have some prototype bags in the works that address your complaints. And you are now welcome to request customizing your current Gator to suit your needs. However, we can't do anything about the hardware. It's tried and true. It never breaks. That's who we are.
 Perfect Extra's Bag
By , Michigan , September 10, 2015

Purchased for second personal item carry on. Perfect compliment for the large carry on that is in the overhead. Plenty of room for Dopp kit, med's, iPad, cords, chargers, head phones, etc. Outside pockets perfect for all the other odds and ends necessary for travel. Fits under regional jet seats. Attach a light jacket thru the button down handle loops and you are good to go!
 What I had been looking for...
By , Austin, Texas, June 4, 2015

Had been looking for a long time for a bag to use as a small camera bag that did not look like a camera bag. There are many times I only need to carry a couple of times and the gator does it with grace and class, while being built like a tank.
 Second Best Red Oxx Bag
By , Weehawken, NJ, June 4, 2015

This is probably the second best bag Red Oxx makes, after the Air Boss. Everything about this bag is right. The proportions are ideal, build quality is excellent as expected, and capacity is surprisingly useful. The bag fits under airplane seats with room to spare, so you still have space to stretch out your legs on flights. The bag is easy to carry and makes a perfect companion to the Air Boss. Even though I like the idea of being one-bag, you never realize how useful this bag will be until you start using it. If only I had a need for more, I would buy a second and third Gator in a second. Safari color combo is very attractive. This is my fifth Red Oxx bag but first in Safari and I will strongly consider going with this color combo for my next bag.
 Fly high.
By , Logan, Utah, May 2, 2015

I use the Gator as a flight bag. It holds my maps, headphones, airport information, iPad, fuel tester, and other miscellaneous pilot gear. A great bag, and the perfect size.
By , , April 23, 2015

Great small bag. Keeps me from taking far too much but fits everything I need for contract flying. Tough as nails! Great company with incredible customer support!
 little workhorse
By , vermont, April 9, 2015

the gator is small enough to be unobtrusive, but big enough to hold an 11" macbook air with room to spare. with enough pockets to make room for everything, the gator is a great little go-bag. the shoulder strap's sticky rubber pad is comfortable and slip-proof. the only drawback of the gator's rugged skin and heavy-duty hardware is that it's a heavy critter, especially when fully loaded. that makes it kind of a pain as a carry-on bag, but other than the weight, i give it full marks.
 Great Underseat Bag
By , Portland, March 5, 2015

I noted my other "underseat" carry-on bag didn't fit well with some of the smaller plane seats, so I got the Gator. It primarily takes electronics, camera gear, chargers and a few sundries such as a guidebook or something. The external pockets are perfect for stuffing money, phone etc. into just before you hit the security line at the airport. I originall though the pocket behind the external pocket would be useless, but it is a great place for tickets, itineraries and travel papers in general. Best of all, the bag fits perfectly under the seat and offer great protection for my camera.
 Range Bag
By , Virginia, December 11, 2014

Makes a great range bag for my pistols or AR-15. Carries plenty of ammo, cleaning kit, glasses, ear defenders, etc... Everything you need for a few hours at the range.

It is made way better than all of the regular bags you see and better than most of the more expensive ones as well.
 Bottomless pit
By , Ontario, Canada, September 12, 2014

When I landed a new job teaching micro enterprise principles in developing countries I knew it was the perfect justification to finally get the Red Oxx gear that I had been lusting after. The Air Boss and Gator were all that everyone said they were and more. I carried everything I needed for a two week trip to Cuba and Colombia in those two bags with plenty of room to spare, including all my teaching materials. The best part was bypassing the luggage carousel when I landed in Toronto at the end of the trip knowing that my wife was waiting. I'm looking forward to many future trips to Central and South America, Africa, Asia, and Eastern Europe.

I was amazed at the amount of stuff that fit into the Gator. And it was easy to carry through airports along with the Air Boss. The Gator went with me almost everywhere and held everything I needed for long days of meetings and site seeing. What a great little bag.

I have no regrets about my purchase and recommend Red Oxx to all who will listen.
 Time for a rethink
By , Ontario, Canada, August 25, 2014

I am a long-time fan of Red Oxx products and have purchased more than a dozen of their bags. Each purchase has been an excellent choice from the PR5 to a Lil Roy. That is until now. I chose the Gator bag to use as a carry-on for international travel because of its size and versatility. The quality and ruggedness of Red Oxx stuff is beyond dispute, including the Gator. It is versatile, it keeps its form and is well padded. The design, however is out dated and requires revision for the following reasons: 1) the divider in the inside is poorly designed. It is too stiff and rough and hangs out into the middle of the bag, getting in the way of anything you put into or take out of the bag. There is no way to attach it to the back of the bag to keep it out of the way and the pen holders are overly large and heavy, compounding the problem. Red Oxx should eliminate it or redesign it so that it is actually functional. 2) The hardware on the bag is far heavier then it needs to be, making it clanky and heavy. Though one could pull a tractor with it, one rarely does, so the concept of a carry anywhere bag is defeated by it. Red Oxx should supply strong but lighter hardware. 3) The claw strap is certainly non-slip, but it too is overkill for this bag. It is thick and cumbersome and actually hurts the shoulder. It is great on a PR5, but inappropriate for a bag this size. 4) the elasticized pockets on the sides are virtually useless for their stated purpose and difficult for any other purpose. I use them to tuck the shoulder strap ends in when I have the strap attached but am using the handles. I then tuck the rubber part of the shoulder strap between the handles. 5) The handles, while essential, are poorly designed because the wrap around fastener is large and floppy and gets in the way. It is difficult to snap open and closed every time you want to get into the bag, so most of the time it is left undone and just flops around in the hand.

The concept of the bag is good and I am sure RedOxx sells enough of them, but it could be a great bag with some revision. I know countless others have cited the shortcomings of this bay over the years, but it has not changed for the better as far as I can see. This bag is a great disappointment in too many ways to be recommended.
 One major annoyance
By , CA, August 16, 2014

This bag is fantastic except for one major flaw : the chrome clip attacments clanging against the chrome strap rings is beyond annoying! I went to a lot of effort to replace the shoulder strap attaching clips with heavy duty plastic ones ( I had to take it to the cobbler). The chrome attachment clips are also too large for the strap. I contacted Red Oxx to make them aware of this issue in hopes they would acknowledge my comment and correct it....the only response I received was that I could return the bag if I was not happy with it. How am I supposed to do that after I went to the trouble of trying to improve it ? Does anyone else feel the same about these chrome strap attachments ?
 Perfect Carry on bag
By , England, July 18, 2014

My Gator arrived in time for me to road test it on my holidays travelling from the UK to Jamaica. It was all I'd expected, and proved to be far better than my normal small rucksack option. Access to documentation, camera, other items was easy, and there was a place for everything. Colours were also excellent. I know at least 3 of my friends who've gone on to place orders. I've also started using it as my day bag for work, so it's getting even more use than I anticipated.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

Will a Gator meet the airline's personal item standards?
Yes, and you can fit the bag under the seat, too.
Will my laptop fit in the middle compartment?
Most netbooks, iPads, Tablets and "mini" laptops will fit with room to spare, but probably not a full size laptop (17" plus).
Will my work files fit inside?
If you want a business briefcase that will hold your files and a laptop, look into our Briefcase line, specifically the Metro and the wider CPA.
Can the Gator double as an SLR camera bag?
Yes, the Gator makes for a perfect SLR camera bag due to it's generous, yet practical size, its full wrap around padding and handy pockets.
What are the differences between the Gator and the Metro and / or CPA?
The Metro and CPA are specifically designed to be laptop business briefcases, whereas the Gator is more of a general multipurpose, multi-use everyday bag.
Will the iPad, iPad II or most other Tablets fit inside?
Yes, the Gator makes an ideal Tablet bag. Tablets will tuck nicely into the interior flat panel pocket and are protected by the bag's padding.
Will the Gator compact carry-on fit into the Air Boss central compartment?
We don't recommend inserting the Gator into the Air Boss. The results would be too bulky.
Are there any interior pockets?
It has one flat panel pocket with pouches for smaller items and writing instruments.
Can I fit my C-pap machine inside?
The Gator is an ideal C-pap bag.
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, try and fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“I have a big appetite for adventure.”

Gator Carry On Bag $125.00

91002-AmethystIn stock125
91002-BlackIn stock125
91002-BordeauxOn back order125
91002-CoalIn stock125
91002-ForestIn stock125
91002-KhakiIn stock125
91002-MarinerIn stock125
91002-MidnightOn back order125
91002-OliveIn stock125
91002-RedOn back order125
91002-SafariIn stock125
91002-SaffronIn stock125


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Behold! The Gator.

A compact carry-on bag with a big appetite.

As seen in Men's Journal Gear Lab "Best Weekend Tote", summer 2015 issue. You can read up on how others have used this multi-purpose weekend carry-on tote bag, but we're sure you'll think up something new. Just like its hungry animal namesake the Gator, this tough-skinned beauty will swallow up everything you need for travel. Ideal as an compact airline carry-on and easily classified as a:

Red Oxx Gator: a multi-use, high-mobility, daily use tote bag designed for people on the go.

Secure your delicate equipment in the Gator's rigid-formed, shock-resistant padded main compartment. No need to carry separate hydration, the Gator features dual elastic beverage end pockets that will hold small to medium water bottles (bottles taller than six to eight inches tend to not be as secure and may fall out!).

The expandable gusseted front pockets help you to keep track of your gadgets like cell phones, iPods, sunglasses, wallet, and more. These stylish pockets feature the exclusive ROOFLS -- "Red Oxx One Finger Loop Snap" closures which utilize our Mil-Spec stainless steel snaps and thoughtfully designed thumb loops that make closing these handy pockets a "snap." ROOFLS allows one-handed snapping closure. Simply slip a finger into the loop under the snap post and use your thumb to press the post in place. ROOFLS is a clever solution that prevents crushing items (like your precious sunglasses) under the snaps. Don't tell anyone, but behind each gusseted side pocket is a secret hidden flat slip pocket for that little extra bit of storage.

Inside the Gator carryall bag, there's a full-length stiff mesh divider with four slots for pens and pencils and two mesh pockets. This divider will snugly secure your iPad or Tablet. Located on the back exterior is another full-length zippered pocket. Our 4lb. Volara closed cell firm foam padding envelopes the bag in the front, bottom, and back, protecting your precious contents from abuse, damage and moisture.


When you read up on our customer reviews, you'll learn our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around personal items that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, for what it's worth, the comparison is valid. For a personal item bag, like their wildlife namesake, Gators are built tough. Starting with one of the most durable textile materials available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use a proprietary super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam. Rugged, reliable and tough.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together; this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag, such as along the gusseted pocket lids on the Gator.

These types of outside edges are bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive the thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in competitors bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the Gator tote, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red OXX; a stitching practice we adapted from our service as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper available, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is because they're easily repairable, even in the field; they are self-locking; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings and reducing casual theft; they function smoothly in inclement weather (from 20 degrees below zero to 120 degrees above zero) and they can be yanked from a variety of angles, and still work, without losing teeth or becoming separated. Since they're made of slick VISLON® vinyl, they will never rust or require lubing, unlike brass or other metal zippers.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of imported plastic hardware break on your bag in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale, thereby dumping your precious belongings all over the ground for all the world to see (and steal), having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D-ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a tiny bit more, or might be a little "jingly", is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace-of-mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your Red Oxx tote break down?

The famous fully adjustable Red Oxx Claw Shoulder Strap will not slip. Or carry your Gator one handed using the wraparound handle handclasp.

Popular with the demanding business crowd and all the rage with the adventure travel crowd, Gator Multi-use Tote Bags are durable daily lifelong companions for many uses.

You name it, the Gator will eat it.

Consider it your mobile on-the-go "bag of all trades."

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A..
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Gator.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is secure.

Every great tote bag needs cool luggage accessories.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
Capacity: 648 cu. inches
Weight: 2.35 lbs

Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
Capacity: 10.6 Liters
1.07 Kilos

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual exterior gusseted pockets: 4.5"W x 7.5"H x 2.5"D (at opening)
  • Dual exterior flat slip pockets: 5"W x 7.5"H
  • Exterior zippered side flat pocket: 12"W x 6"D
  • Twin end elastic bottle pockets: 6"W x 6"W x 4"D (at opening)
  • Interior mesh pocket: 12" x 6"
  • Interior dual mesh slip pockets: 4"W x 4"D
  • Main compartment: 12"L x 6"W x 9"D

Gator Trivia: When Red Oxx President Perry Jones had young children he was embarrassed to appear as though he was carrying a diaper bag. After the kids grew out of their diapers, he wanted a decent shooting range bag. The Gator held Perry's pistols, magazines, ammo, ear muffs, safety glasses, gloves and targets. When Jim travelled to Africa, he brought along a Gator as his personal item. The name Gator was selected because an (Alli)Gator is sly and stealthy and can quickly consume large prey, sometimes larger than itself, with it's enormous mouth.

Gator Tote Bag is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.


Red Oxx Gator Bag Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" no questions asked Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A.
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • Detachable Claw no-slip adjustable shoulder strap
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull tabs
  • Thread: Proprietary #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • 3250 welded D-rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Wraparound handclasp with Mil-Spec snaps
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Available in 12 vibrant colors
  • U.S.A. Dimensions: 12"L x 6"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 30.5cm L x 15.2cm W x 22.9cm H
  • U.S.A. Capacity: 648 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 10.6 Liters
  • U.S.A. Weight: 2.35 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.07 Kilos

Gator Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

Questions? Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top