Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Adventures  > Gear Reviews  > From Snow to Savannah by Ant Williams  > Safari-Beanos-Bag-PR5

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I am famous for more than my huge zippers.”
Red Oxx PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Gear of the Year! Travel without fear.

Outside Magazine's Luggage Award-Winner.

WHY A DUFFEL STYLE CARRY-ON BAG?
This is as big a duffel style travel bag as you can legally use for carry-on bags (both domestically and internationally). Avoid rising checked bag fees – and simplify your life-- pack it all in one bag.

It's amazing how much stuff you can cram into our PR5 Safari Beanos bag! Pack it up for a long weekend out of the city or load it up with all your goodies you don't want damaged on the flight home. Featuring a generous top loading main compartment (18"L x 10"W x 10"H), you can load most anything you'll want to carry.

BEST GEAR OF THE YEAR.
Outside Magazine recognized the Safari Beanos PR5 Safari bag as one of 2004's 15 best outdoor products.

James Glave, editor for Outside Buyer's Guide, said:

"Winning products must offer cutting-edge design and be really rugged. Our testers dragged it with a car down the sidewalk and threw it off the second-story balcony and tried to destroy it. We really place enormous emphasis on rigorous testing."

As does Red Oxx! The proof in the pudding as they say.

Read the review about this outstanding carry-on bag, voted best by Outside Magazine. Also endorsed as an ideal safari travel duffel by professional safari hunter and outdoor writer, Craig Boddington, from the sportsman TV series "Tracks Across Africa" and Safari Spokesman Ivan Carter on "Hornady's Africa with Ivan Carter".

WHERE DO MY BELONGINGS GO?
Set up with the same layout as its little brother the PR4, this award winning duffel features three rectangular storage compartments for maximum space efficiency. Dual end pockets have zippers that zip halfway down the sides for easy access to packed items.

The opening for the main compartment flips back out of the way for unrestricted access to the entire compartment. Twin turn locks keep the lid secure and anchored D-rings allow locks to be attached to the zippers for extra peace of mind while traveling as checked baggage.

The zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport or reading materials handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket.

HOW TO CARRY THE BAG.
Includes the famous Claw No-Slip Shoulder Strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this strap hardware will endure any abuse imaginable-- quickly detaching for storage inside.

Why not join the carefree carry-on crowd with an award winning PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag today?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Safari-Beanos PR5 on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H (legal carry-on measurements)
Capacity: 2,400 cu. inches

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 3"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 16"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 16"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 10"W x 18"L x 10"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.91 Average Rating
 (116 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
 Best ever
By Jim Koss, Green Bay WI, March 21, 2013

Best ever? Yes. I travel a lot and researched duffle bags extensively. I wanted a bag that I could carry and could pack for a week. This bag exceeded my expectations. The proprietary color is cool (and exclusive)and the bag received many comments in Chicago and Phoenix. Perhaps most importantly, on the regional jets from Green Bay to Chicago, carry on bags are restricted. They tag all "normal" small bags that have wheels and you have to wait 15 minutes (or more) after you have arrived. It's crazy. This bag was not questioned by airline staff and the bag fit beautifully in the ovehead bin. The bag saved a grand total of 30 minutes because I didn't have to wait. Muchas gracias. Keep up the great work. Go USA.
 
 Merry Christmas to me...
By Anonymous, Westerville, OH, February 3, 2013

Got this bag as a Christmas present this year. I love it. Super durable. I never have to worry about the zippers jamming, the fabric tearing, etc. Love the Claw strap. I use it a couple of times a week and can fit 3-4 days worth of clothes, 2 pairs of shoes, and shower kit.
 
 Best bag ever
By Mike O., Croghan, New York, January 31, 2013

I travel quite a bit for work, mostly from NY to Africa. I hate to check bags so I needed a heavy duty bag that was roomy but still cabin sized.

After searching the internet for weeks reading reviews and comparing prices I settled on this bag. I ordered the Safari colored bag, it was on backorder but to my suprise arrived at my house earlier than expected. The minute I opened the box I knew that I had made the right choice. The quality of the materials and craftsmanship was beyond my expectations.

This bag was roomy enough to fit a months worth of clothes, a pair of Perfect Pushups, a pair of tennis shoes, and an entire end pocket of various goodies.

Red Oxx will be my first choice for any future luggage purchases!
 
 Heavy Duty
By Leigh Calloway, Leesburg, Indiana, January 25, 2013

Got this bag by accident, because I didn't find the Railroad Grip until after I had placed my order. However, I am glad because I believe this to be slightly smaller than the Railroad Grip and I pack as light as possible so that is not an issue with me.

Have gone through at least 5 different bags over the past year and finally just got on this website and bought a RedOxx. The last bag was an award for not hurting myself, and lasted 3 weeks until the pleather started falling apart. It was free, but junk.

I've been using this one a month and it isn't even broken in yet. Clearly a much better quality bag.

Problem I have is either the bags are too big, or not made well. I prefer a duffle style over a suitcase type bag, and you can't find one that is put together even close to as well as a RedOxx. I've had to backtrack to pick up any number of things that start falling out of the cheaply made bags, and its just not worth the hassle. Zippers always fall apart after a few months, holes in the bottom of the side pockets from an air gauge every time. Doesn't matter which bag you have, its always the same thing.

I'm not going to have those problems with this bag even if a hole does start to wear through, its not going to fall completely apart before I notice and can fix it.

Very pleased with this bag and have noticed that the large briefcase would be a good replacement for the hard case I'm using now, so there is a good chance I'll be getting one of those soon as well.

 
 Hanging out in Afghanistan
By Anonymous, , January 25, 2013

great bag, handles the stresses of this part of the world with out a hitch. keep up the great work on a great product
 
 Best Birthday Present
By Stacy, Nampa, Idaho, January 24, 2013

I surprised my husband with this bag for his birthday and he loves it. He has yet to use it on a trip, so I guess we'll just have to plan one. We gave our son one of your duffle bags a year or so ago and he has taken it many places and loves it too. Thank you for making such good products. We will definitely add to our collection in the future.
 
 AS STURDY AS I EXPECTED, PERHAPS TOUGHER
By Jon W, Michigan, January 16, 2013

I am thoroughly impressed with this bag, it is my first from Red Oxx, but I can tell already it won't be my last piece. The zippers are extremely heavy duty as are all of the seams. I have already ordered the dop kit. Traveled with both this past week and am extremely happy. The pockets on the ends are plenty large for chargers and everything else I wanted to stuff in them. The fact that it is Made in the U.S. was the #1 reason for the initial purchase, the quality brought me back.
 
 Best bag I own
By Hank, MA, December 20, 2012

Really this bag is the best I own. I travel a lot and know that your gear can take it. I traveled to Montana and Colorado for two weeks this summer and had everything packed in this bag and a backpack. Great use of space and the zippers etc are made to last. Best part is I'm supporting a great American made product. I have your mess kit, just received it last week and it is great too. Keep up the good work.
 
 best bag
By willard lyall, United States, December 6, 2012

your bags are the best Iv'e ever seen . I'm a locomotive engineer with UPRR and this bag is the perfect size for me . even put a 9 can cooler in side it so I only have one bag to deal with .
 
 Great heavy duty bag
By Gary Hanson, Kalispell MT, December 3, 2012

My son had a 36 hour leave from basic training from Fort Benning GA. I decided I wanted a carry on bag as I would not be there long. A friend recomended Red Oxx. I was surprised at how fast the order came and when I saw the bag and how heavy duty it was, I could not believe it.

The bag held 4 days of clothing and toiletries, plus a full size camera and additional lens. I also ordered the Lil Roy to put my electronics in, GPS, telephone, charger cords etc. and I still had room left over. I highly recomend this bag. I am going back for graduation and this is the bag I am taking.
 
 A bag for the rest of my life
By Alex Pang, Menlo Park, CA, November 8, 2012

I bought the PR5 after years of having bags in this basic style-- one big compartment, two side compartments, nothing terribly fancy. The bag is fantastic. The saffron is eye-popping, the details and build are phenomenal, and it's a real pleasure to just hold-- not to mention fill with clothes and take on the road.

Generally the simplicity of the design is a virtue not a flaw; I wouldn't have minded an interior zippered pocket or keychain holder, just to more securely stash little things. But that's a pretty minor complaint.

So far I've used it only on one trip, but I expect to take it with me all around the world, and to use it for years. Indeed, I may have bought a bag that could last me the rest of my life. That would be cool.
 
 Lightly Tested
By Jordon Nissen, Williston, ND , October 18, 2012

I have only briefly had my bad. It is the second addition to my red oxx collection and will be the most useful. I have had an overnight trip to Medora and a 2 day trip to Minot. Not exactly roughing it. I place this bag in the highest reguard. Even on a longer trip I would most likely only compliment it with a backpack. The space is as advertised, the quality with survive the greatest neglect or the love of a lifetime, and I hope I never have to call red oxx on their warranty because I love this bag.
 
 Great piece of Kit!!
By Christian, China, October 12, 2012

Great piece of kit! I have used it on 2 safaris now and it is very strong in build and quality. Shipping and service from Redoxx is super! I also recommend the flatdog rifle sleeve, a must if you want to keep your rifle safe e.g. while on a hunting vehicle.

Hope Redoxx can come up with some new hunting kit soon!
 
 best bag I have ever owned!
By Jason L, Whippany, NJ, September 20, 2012

This is the best bag I have ever owned. I use it for travelling and for going to hockey tournaments. I can pack everything I need including clothes in this one bag. This is the second bag that I have bought. My wife kept stealing mine so I bought her one so she would have her own. I can not recommend this bag enough. It is great for everything and is easy to travel with, on both airlanes and in cars loaded with hockey gear.
 
 Official's Duffle
By Theresa C, TN, September 11, 2012

I purchased this bag for my husband who is a football official for TN high schools. It holds his clothing; ditty bag (with pockets for flags, whistles, lanyards, down keepers); cleated shoes in their own bag to keep grass/dirt/mud contained; towel; shower bag; shower shoes; watch/timekeeper; aspirin; rule book; and a few small items. I know that it holds all of this because I packed it.

I think that he will enjoy using it because it is definitely not wimpy. It is preferred that officials carry black bags; however, because he was having problems finding things in the bottom of his old black bag, I got this in Coal. I believe this is the best of both with the ends being black and the main exterior and interior being gray which helps him readily identify what he needs. I think this bag will last longer than he probably plans to officiate football.
 
 Love this bag!
By Charlene, Connecticut, September 6, 2012

My husband and I have used a Beanos bag on several worldwide trips. We find it to hold everything we need on the plane and off. We like it so much, that when our original one was stolen from a home robbery we had to order another one immediately! Then we decided one was not enough, we ordered another one so we would each have one. Keep up the great products.
 
 Exceeded expectations
By Carl Mischke, Johannesburg South Africa, September 6, 2012

This bag is beyond belief - from the depth of the colour, the sturdy construction (which was much more than I had expected), the solid feel and the powerful zips. Love the many compartments. Ideal for a week-end or even a week away (but not much longer).

Ordering more!
 
 woot
By bruce dollar, gardendale al., August 23, 2012

finally meet a bag that will out live me!
 
 Best Ever
By THull, Longmont, CO, July 11, 2012

You won't go wrong with this one & customer service is A#1

 
 Excellent Gear
By Bob L, Spotsylvania, VA, July 7, 2012

Bold vibrant colors inasturdy and durable bag.

Red Oxx has made an strong bag that can stand up to rugged travel demands while still looking great.

I am looking forward to buyingmysecondbafsoonand accessories. Finally a bag I can trust to secure my clothing while standing up to rugged off road conditions.

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5 Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel for use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.3 Liters

Sarari Beanos PR5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5, a step up from the PR4, was designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5 carry-on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal.
 
Will the PR5 qualify as a personal item?
The PR5 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. It's too big to be a personal item.
 
What's the difference between the PR5 Carry-on Bag and Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom with reinforced ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5?
The PR5 was designed to hold up to a weeks worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for 10 days. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15" and up notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR Safari Beano's series of duffel bags is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Can the zippers be locked?
Yes, you can us any TSA approved lock or our simple inexpensive Cable Locks. Be aware that soft sided bags can be cut open with any sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Use our luggage packing diagram (Pdf file). Which brings us to the next question...
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the PR5?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with 3 main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.