COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I am famous for more than my huge zippers.”
Red Oxx PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag - pictured in Saffron. Available in 12 colors.

Safari-Beanos Bag PR5 $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Gear of the Year! Travel without fear.

Outside Magazine's Luggage Award-Winner.

WHY A DUFFEL STYLE CARRY-ON BAG?
This is as big a duffel style travel bag as you can legally use for carry-on bags (both domestically and internationally). Avoid rising checked bag fees – and simplify your life-- pack it all in one bag.

It's amazing how much stuff you can cram into our PR5 Safari Beanos bag! Pack it up for a long weekend out of the city or load it up with all your goodies you don't want damaged on the flight home. Featuring a generous top loading main compartment (18"L x 10"W x 10"H), you can load most anything you'll want to carry.

BEST GEAR OF THE YEAR.
Outside Magazine recognized the Safari Beanos PR5 Safari bag as one of 2004's 15 best outdoor products.

James Glave, editor for Outside Buyer's Guide, said:

"Winning products must offer cutting-edge design and be really rugged. Our testers dragged it with a car down the sidewalk and threw it off the second-story balcony and tried to destroy it. We really place enormous emphasis on rigorous testing."

As does Red Oxx! The proof in the pudding as they say.

Read the review about this outstanding carry-on bag, voted best by Outside Magazine. Also endorsed as an ideal safari travel duffel by professional safari hunter and outdoor writer, Craig Boddington, from the sportsman TV series "Tracks Across Africa" and Safari Spokesman Ivan Carter on "Hornady's Africa with Ivan Carter".

WHERE DO MY BELONGINGS GO?
Set up with the same layout as its little brother the PR4, this award winning duffel features three rectangular storage compartments for maximum space efficiency. Dual end pockets have zippers that zip halfway down the sides for easy access to packed items.

The opening for the main compartment flips back out of the way for unrestricted access to the entire compartment. Twin turn locks keep the lid secure and anchored D-rings allow locks to be attached to the zippers for extra peace of mind while traveling as checked baggage.

The zippered front flat pocket keeps your passport or reading materials handy. The pass-through panel on the back side is designed for use with wheeled luggage as a docking sleeve. Unzip top and bottom zippers and slip it over the wheeled bags telescoping carry handle. Or leave the bottom zipper closed and it doubles as a second flat exterior pocket.

HOW TO CARRY THE BAG.
Includes the famous Claw No-Slip Shoulder Strap. Attached using heavy-duty 360 degree "claw-like" swivels, this strap hardware will endure any abuse imaginable-- quickly detaching for storage inside.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on duffel bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

Why not join the carefree carry-on crowd with an award winning PR5 Safari Beanos Duffel Bag today?

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Safari-Beanos PR5 on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H (legal carry-on measurements).
Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Dual end compartments: 10"W x 10"H x 3"D
  • Dual end zippered flat pockets: 10"W x 10"H
  • Front exterior zippered flat pocket: 16"W x 7"H
  • Back exterior twin zippered flat pass-through pocket: 16"W x 7.5"H
  • Main compartment: 10"W x 18"L x 10"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Safari Beanos PR5.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great bag needs cool luggage accessories.

"Beanos" Trivia: Named after our friend "Beano" who needed a gear bag that could carry his clothes and still be carry-on legal. Named after his grandfather, a bean farmer in the midwest, whom he looked like as a kid. Formerly the Super Beano, the bag is now available in several sizes and is in it's 4th stage of design revision.

Write a Review

4.9 Average Rating
 (125 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
 Incredible bag!
By Alan Barr, Ann Arbor, Michigan USA, May 13, 2010

This is an incredible bag! Extremely well built, and very versatile. My business trips can be as long as three weeks in duration, and this bag allows me to pack enough clothes and supplies to ensure I am looking good and feeling good the entire time (with the use of hotel laundry/dry cleaning services). The bag fits into any overhead compartment, and thanks to its comfortable no-slip shoulder strap, it's a breeze to carry-on. Well done!
 
 Very Good Carry On Bag
By Mr Jersey, Stockton NJ, April 2, 2010

Used this bag to carry photographic gear on an aircraft while on the way to a photographic workshop. It worked very well, protected the gear and the shoulder strap mitigated the weight involved with all the gear I was carrying. Two suggestions to make a great bag even greater. Put a small carry handle on the end do I could be carried sideways down the narrow aircraft passageways and put a netting under the main flap for travel documents. This would make a great bag perfect.
 
 Good but not lockable
By Kees, Pasco, WA, March 16, 2010

This bag is well made. I can't yet say how well the fabric will hold up, but the quality is beyond question. The strap is also very nice.

However, there are a few things I have issues with. There should have been handles on the outside pockets for ease of handling. However, my biggest gripe is not being able to lock this bag. The zippers are good quality, but the zipper pulls don't overlap to easily lock. The main compartment though is not lockable at all. Yes, you can put two (!) locks on the zipper pulls and attache them to the D-rings, but that leaves the end of the flap, which is secured with a couple of 'turn-buttons' that can't be secured at all. So someone can open the buttons and slide their whole arm into the main compartment, and should be able to get most if not all of your items out of the bag if they so desire. I would rate this a major shortcoming.

Finally, the outside pockets are fairly useless except for very small items, as when you stuff the main compartments full, there will be no room left in the outside pockets.
 
 Might be the perfect carry-on travel bag
By rb, Arizona, March 12, 2010

I used this bag on its first trip this week. I wanted a bag that was carry-on sized but gave plenty of room for the things I need. See I travel about a week a month, but I'm a runner and like to keep fit, so I always take running and workout gear along with typically 5 days worth of clothing for business casual conferences and meetings. It being wintertime, I need both warm and cold gear for running and then clothes for everyday use. Here's what fit with room to spare:

1 pair running shoes

running pants

running long-sleeve shirt

hat gloves visor

running short sleeve shirt

running shorts.

1 pair of dress shoes

1 pair Khakis.

4 buttondown shirts

4 t-shirts

1 sweater

1 sweatshirt

1 jacket

5 pairs socks

5 pairs of boxers

Toiletry Kit

2 large paperback technical books

I have never fit that much in the carryon roller I use, and I could have fit enough for 2 more days. Fully loaded it was still lighter than my old roll-on packed with less gear.

Thanks for finally making my perfect bag!
 
 Amazing Bag!
By Fred Katz, Madison, WI, February 14, 2010

My wife and I purchased two of the Beanos PR5 bags for a ten day foray into Costa Rica. We were restricted to 25 lbs. due to flying into remote areas on very small planes. We were skeptical, at first, because this was basically, our first attempt at using bags w/o wheels and handles. Also, we are 65y.o., and although in good physical shape, carrying these bags around seemed like a potential problem. We had NO problems--skated thru customs, and used the carts available at the airports. I think I may have sold a couple of these bags along the way! Thank you for a great product!!
 
 Incredible Carry On Bag
By Ann, California, January 2, 2010

Between us, my husband and I now have four Red Oxx carry on bags. I originally purchased the Safari-Beanos PR5 for my husband in 2008 to take on a 14 day photo safari to Africa. For that trip I chose the Air Boss for myself and we shared the Gator Carry On for our cameras and lenses. This December we took a three week trip to Southeast Asia and this time I decided to buy a Beanos PR5 for myself as well. Here's why: Before our Africa trip, I did a lot of research on soft sided carry ons. My husband and I haven't willingly checked a bag since the early 90's and I had been using a hard sided Tumi rolling carry on for many years. But for our safari we were required to bring only soft sided carry on luggage to make them easier to fit into the holds of the small bush planes we'd be taking between camps. After much online research, I found Red Oxx and after reading all the reviews and links on this site, I decided to go with the Air Boss and not the Beanos PR5 because I determined that I was "a folder" rather than "a stuffer" as far as my packing style was concerned. I was, and still am, delighted with the Air Boss, but on that trip I discovered that while I may be "a folder" in the way that I was used to packing and repacking as I traveled, on one morning in our tented camp as we were packing to catch a pre-dawn bush flight, I encountered several environmental hurdles at once that made me reconsider my usual "folder's" packing strategy: cold temperatures, very poor light due to a generator failure, and my caffeine deprived brain. I simply couldn't manage to properly redistribute my items among the three compartments of my Air Boss under these conditions so that I could zip the center section closed. I rapidly changed my affiliation from "a folder" to "a stuffer" by removing an entire section of my things from the Air Boss and stuffing them into my husband's Beanos. This made me really love his remarkably minimalist packing style (he's also a folder, but rightly suspected that a safari might be better served by a bag that is actually named after this type of travel). It also made me rethink the Air Boss as a bag for long trips that involve several changes of location. On our recent trip to SE Asia, I would no doubt have been fine with my Air Boss. I had plenty of time at the end of a day or before our next flight to rearrange and repack my bag in the comfort of well lighted hotel rooms as we traveled, but I have to say, the Beanos's design has made this my favorite bag. Its layout is very intuitive and fit all I needed to travel among four countries for three weeks. The six outside compartments on the Beanos made it easy to stash things in a hurry after going through airport security - and the large center compartment easily accommodated my 15" laptop in its padded carrying case before boarding. I was also carrying a small day pack for essentials I wanted to keep close at hand. The Beanos also felt more comfortable to carry with just the short straps over my shoulder rather than using the longer detachable strap, which I left tucked away. I found the Beanos's one central compartment simpler to access as well opposed to the Air Boss's three compartments, but then I still use the Air Boss for business trips where wrinkling is more of a concern for me. On only one leg of this trip did we have to check our bags - on a domestic flight within Cambodia because the overhead bins were only big enough to accommodate my laptop. The layout of these bags made it very simple to access the contents when we learned they had to be checked which greatly facilitated the quick juggling and relocation of necessities and valuables into my daypack and my husband's Gator Carry On - and made our Beanos separation anxiety much less stressful. I loved my old Tumi bag and was worried about finding something I could comfortably carry. But even after my minor repacking tangle with my Air Boss, that bag sold me on Red Oxx. My husband and I both love these bags. I'm also a better packer now that I have to carry and not roll what I pack - I always had to ask for help to get the Tumi into the overhead bin - I don't need help with the Beanos or the Air Boss. And they both play nicer than hard sided bags in the overhead bin, leaving more room for the carry on items of fellow passengers.
 
 The only bag you'll ever need
By InfoDiva, Greenwich CT, December 24, 2009

I just returned from a 24 day trip to Asia and Australia with the Safari-Beanos PR5 as my only luggage. The bag exceeded my expectations in every way.

----------------------------------------

The bag's design and quality are superb. My husband took his Air Boss, and as a result, we were able to move effortlessly on and off public transport and through hotel lobbies without giving our bags a thought.

----------------------------------------

For those who think high cost necessarily equals quality, think again. My husband took along an expensive messenger bag made by another company supposedly known for its quality. That bag's strap failed within 24 hours of its first use--just as we were getting off a 14 hour flight in Asia.

----------------------------------------

Guarantees don't mean much when you have to drag along a useless, empty bag for thousands of miles so that you can return it to its place of purchase. What you really need is a bag that won't fail in the first place.

----------------------------------------

On long-haul trips, especially when you are traveling light in one bag, you need gear you can count on. Red Oxx fits the bill.
 
 Excellent
By JS, Virginia, December 14, 2009

This is an excellent bag, built for the duration. It will easily hold enough clothing for a 3 day trip in the winter, or a 5 day trip in the summer. It fits every luggage compartment I've tried (which is quite a few) without issue, and is generally rock solid. I travel regularly and my gear gets put to the test pretty frequently - this gear is definitely up to the challenge. Buy it now, don't worry about needing a replacement...
 
 Safari-Beanos PR5
By Rayne, SF, CA, December 3, 2009

I had a last minute business trip and realized I no longer had a good, decent, reliable carry-on bag. On the advice of a coworker (who already has a Red Oxx bag) I started looking into buying one. Checked out a few local stores, didn't see anything I liked for the price. So I decided to go for it. And I couldn't be happier. I love this bag! I found that even after packing everything I thought I needed I still had room. Now, I am not one of the minimalist types of packers. I bring everything I think I'll need for a week and even with all that I had plenty of room.

The bag fit (just shy) in the overhead compartment and was easy to get in and out of. The only problem is that the strap tended to cut into my shoulder a bit. Maybe in future bags the rubberized padding could be a bit larger or thicker to prevent that. But, overall it's a great carry-on bag. I know this will last me a good long while. It's strong, very durable and made right here in the US! If I ever have need of more travel cases I know exactly where I'll start.
 
 Another strong bag, but size problem
By JohnSu, Taiwan, December 3, 2009

I already own an Air Boss,which I love and use for my trips to Europe.

However, I needed something easier for my diving trips.

The quality is again outstanding, and I love the RedOxx bags.

Absolutely no complaints about the bag. My dive computer, regulator and other sensitive gear feels very happy being in a strong bag in the overhead compartment.

However, I did find out that Cebu Pacific (BIG budget airline used a lot in Asia) has smaller dimension for their carry-on luggage: 56cm x 36cm x 23 cm. , this is for both international and domestic (Philippines) flights.

I did email RedOxx CS about this, thinking they might add this info to their website somewhere.

It may be useful if RedOxx started a simple forum where customers can post info about different airline's companies size restrictions.
 
 First experience w/ RedOxx
By Paul, Naples, Fla., August 27, 2009

Have been a user of Hartmann and Tumi bags for business/personal travel for 20+ years. Stumbled across the RedOxx brand on the FrequentFlyer website.

After several months of research finally decided on the Safari-Beano PR5 to replace a similarly sized Hartmann duffel that finally expired (leather ripped).

My trip was 11 days by car that took me to Niagara Falls, Toronto, Thornbury, ONT, Ann Arbor, MI, Douglas Lake, MI, Cleveland, White Sulfur Springs, WV.

Okay, travel by car presents no particularly difficult situation for any bag but, I was able to pack everything I needed for the entire trip in the PR 5. With the aid of 2 Eagle Creek 18 folders I was good to go.

This was amazing to me because when I first received the bag I thought, "Oh, no...too small!" Nothing could be further from the truth.

Though this trip did not test the "toughness" of the bag it certainly enabled me to check into several hotels without carts or bellmen; also when staying with friends for 2 nights I didn't frighten them with several loaded bags when I arrived at their door!
 
 Strong points, Weak points, Choosing a bag
By JGT, Canada, August 11, 2009

I own several Redoxx products including different size Beanos.

1) Fabric. Sure, strong, tough. This is important for long life, but it does add weight. In my experience fabric failure does not mess up a trip. Even stuff bears have torn apart can be repaired with duct tape. Throw a Beano into the back of a pickup, bounce around on gravel roads for a week, rubbing against the sharp edge of a dog kennel and you will get serious abrasion. Flying cinders from fires probably are not good, nor is nail polish remover, but I have managed to avoid these hazards.

2)Zippers. Very strong point, and a place where lesser quality manufacturers try to save. The zippers are large, function when dirty. Can't praise them enough. Once you pack heavily though you have to watch the zippers. Bouncing around in the cargo hold of an airplane or in back of that pickup and the zippers will gradually work open a little. I find I need to use twist ties to hold the zipper pulls together, just looping the monkey pulls together doesn't do it.

3)Overall design. These are not dust proof. If you are in dusty situations (say you frequently meet logging trucks coming down a mountain)make sure you have the stuff inside you want to protect placed in dust proof bags or containers.

4) Hardware. Strong, but very heavy. Titanium would be strong but very expensive. Nowadays I seem to frequently get hassled about weight when traveling, I wonder if there is an aluminum alloy product that might work. The rubber part of the shoulder strap has failed me on two occasions when I was carrying very heavy things (I mean seriously heavy, imagine packing full with shotgun shells.)

5)A liner. Now this would really drive the price up, but I would love to have the Beanos lined with a light colored fabric, maybe white Spectra, to make it easier to see things inside, against the darker shades.

6) Made in the USA. Actually I don't care about that, outsiders buy our movies, we buy their stuff. I buy based on what is the best for me and so far RedOxx products have come through very well.
 
 Looks can be deceiving!
By Jamie, Houston, TX, July 18, 2009

When I first got this bag, which was a gift to my one-bag skeptic boyfriend, I was immediately concerned. My Air Boss looked SO much bigger; surely they sent the wrong bag?!?!No, it wasn't the wrong bag and my concerns were put to rest after a trial pack. Being new to one-bag travel, my boyfriend packed more than I thought he needed for our 7-day trip (6 shirts, 1 pants, 1 jeans, 1 pr shoes, 5 t-shirts, etc). BUT, it fit amazingly well into the PR5 with room to spare. We then packed the same items into my Air Boss. It still fit, but it was a bit tighter. Bundle packing made all the difference; he tried it with the packing folders and it was heavier and didn't fit as much 'stuff'.Upon our return from the UK, he is thrilled. And, he is no longer a skeptic! He's planning how to best use the space in his PR5 for future trips. While others with rolling carry-ons were pulled over at Heathrow to measure their bags, we sailed right through with our Air Boss and PR5.Great gift! Thanks, RedOxx....you've converted another skeptic!
 
 Safari Beanos Bag PR5
By Kevin Davis, Dunsmuir, CA, May 3, 2009

I work as a freight train conductor for the Union Pacific Railroad and have had a few bags similar to this in the past. This bag without a doubt is the best bag you could buy for the money. It looks indestructible and is very well made. My favorite parts of the bag are the zippers-large, easy to use and compared to the other bags I've owned, unbreakable. Thank you for making a quality product for a great price!
 
 You get what you pay for
By Eric, Nashville, TN, April 21, 2009

I was planning for a three day trip to Austin, TX. After looking for the perfect bag I settled on the Red Ox Safari PR 5. The research was spot on. The bag was a perfect fit in the airline overhead bins. The Safari could easily fit enough clothes for a week long trip. It is also built tough enough to survive a safari. You will not regret this purchase.
 
 Holds what you need without overwhelming
By Ben Ziff, Caracas, Venezuela, February 26, 2009

Bought the Beanos 5 about a month ago and admit that when I unfolded it the first time I felt a twinge of regret: "should've gone bigger" I muttered. Then I started packing for a 4 day trip to the beach. Long pants, shorts, shirts, socks, books (put 'em in the end pocket), notebook, Lil Roy full of chargers and electronics...and I'll be darned if the Beano was not eve full yet. Okay, added toilet kit, flip flops, and a thick sweatshirt. Ah, now we're at the top. But wait, there's more, maybe I can squeeze in my wife's cosmetic case, and a pair of her shoes...By the time I zipped up the Beano 5 it was full, but not bursting, and I could have gotten more in. The renowned Red Oxx construction, indestructible and stylish, as in all their products. Holds what you need and more, and worth every penny....
 
 First Red Oxx Purchase...I Highly Recommend One
By Brett Holscher, Shawnee, KS, February 6, 2009

Was looking to replace old carry on duffel bag. I usually have a tough time buying something I can't actually see and feel and this was no different. I narrowed search down to three brands and I went to several retailers to check out but wasn't happy. I kept coming back to the Red Oxx website and looking at the PR5. My main concern was it wouldn't be big enough to carry everything I take during the week. Eventually I purchased one and have used it last two trips. It is an excellent bag! Quality is far better than what I saw at retailers (including some that cost a lot more) and handles everything I need for 3-4 day trip...which surprised me. Very comfortable shoulder strap, excellent storage compartments, zippers are easy to use, looks fantastic...what else can I say. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a carry on bag to buy one. Excellent product; excellent value. Cheers!
 
 More Of The Same
By Jim S, Miesville, MN, September 26, 2008

I just received my Safari-Beanos Bag PR-5 a few days ago. In a former life, I was a road-warrior and was accustomed to checking all my baggage. Now my air travel is pretty much limited to weekend type trips of shorter duration. With that in mind, I decided that there was no reason I couldn't very easily transport all my needs as carry-on luggage. Anyway, at this point, it would be useless for me to comment on the ruggedness, ingenuity, and utility of Red Oxx gear. It would only be worthy of comment to me nowadays if I received gear less than the optimum standard of excellence that I have come to expect from you guy's and that makes Red Oxx my first stop when I need to shop for additional gear. My first plan to use my new PR-5 and one of my Gator's (everyone needs a few of these) is on my trip to Philadelphia for the Army - Navy game on December 6th. As usual, I would expect my Red Oxx gear to perform flawlessly.GO NAVY - BEAT Army!!!!Jim '77 PS Please don't take it personally. :-}
 
 I LOVE this bag
By Jeff Rovner, Laguna Beach, California, August 5, 2008

My family takes a long vacation every summer, and we ordinarily check all of our luggage. But after a terrible experience last year, when the airlines lost our bags for several days, I decided that this year I would follow the advice of experts and figure out a way to carry on all of my stuff. So in preparation for my recent three weeks in Spain, I bought a Saffron-colored Safari Beanos Bag to carry my computer, electronics paraphernalia, reading materials, etc., and a matching Sky Train Bag for clothes. I'm delighted to report that the experiment was a total success. The Safari Beanos and Sky Train performed flawlessly. They held everything I needed and were incredibly user-friendly and durable. The attention to detail and thoughtfulness of design are remarkable. In fact, as I used the bags I discovered several practical features I hadn't known about, such as the outside pocket of the Beanos bag that turns into a sleeve to fit over extendable handles on other luggage.These bags are now among my most prized possessions. I give them my very highest endorsement. Kudos to Red Oxx!
 
 Excellent Carry-On Bag
By Jim W., Asheville, NC, June 30, 2008

As I mentioned in my Tri-fold Shave Kit review, I used this bag for a recent 14-day trip to Europe. No checked luggage. Everything I needed fit into the Safari-Beanos Bag PR5. When packed, it looked a tad too big for a carry-on. However, there was no problem with the Delta folks on either end. I even added a Lil Roy for my airline personal bag (iPod, snack, book, notepad w/pen, & neck pillow). The PR5 fit into the overhead bin without a hitch. When on the move, I hooked the Lil Roy to the PR5 carrying handle with a snap link. The Tri-fold traveled inside with toiletries and any other loose travel stuff. Two weeks with one bag--it can be done if you leave the extra junk at home. I'm going to try it with a PR4 next time. Thanks for making such durable, quality bags!
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > 
Specifications
Safari Beanos PR5 Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 welded stainless V ring
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Detachable Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Pass-through panel for use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • Dual turn locks on zippered top flap panel
  • Twin D rings for locking zippered flap panel
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.3 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos

Sarari Beanos PR5 Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What are the differences in size of the Beanos bags?
The PR5, a step up from the PR4, was designed for legal carry-on travel. The PR5-5 is sized between the PR5 and the largest of the series, the PR6.
 
Is the PR5 carry-on legal?
Yes, it was designed to be carry-on legal.
 
Will the PR5 qualify as a personal item?
The PR5 is designed as more of a smaller carry-on than a personal item. It's too big to be a personal item.
 
What's the difference between the PR5 Carry-on Bag and Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR4/5 have a shorter main compartment and the pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom with reinforced ballistic nylon, our toughest.
 
How many days of travel will fit in the PR5?
The PR5 was designed to hold up to a weeks worth of clothes. Some proficient packers could stuff it for 10 days. Obviously, it really depends on what you pack and how you pack it.
 
Can I fit my laptop in it?
Most 15" and up notebooks and tablets should fit in the main compartment.
 
Is the PR5 padded on the bottom?
Our Sun Chaser and Flying Boxcar are padded on the bottom. The PR Safari Beano's series of duffel bags is not padded.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back pocket?
This is a special "pass through" pocket that allows you to mount the bag over the handle of a wheeled bag.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
What are the D-Rings for at the end of the zippers?
The D-rings allows you to lock your zippers closed. Again, one can still cut open the bag with a knife.
 
What's the best way to pack the PR5?
We recommend the bundle wrap method developed by Doug Dyment of Onebag.com fame. Use our luggage packing diagram (Pdf file). Which brings us to the next question...
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the PR5?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is this the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip is a different bag. It is sized differently to accommodate the lamp, rule book, radio and is built with a heavy-duty ballistic nylon. While the PR5 is a strong bag and is warranted for life, the Grip is the bag of choice for railroaders.
 
How does the PR5 compare to the Sky Train or Air Boss?
The PR5 is a duffel style bag with a main center compartment and two raised end compartments, whereas the Air Boss is a carry-on bag with 3 main central compartments. The Sky Train is a double main compartment carry-on bag that has retractable backpack straps. All three bags are carry-on legal.
 
Will my shoes fit in the end pockets?
Depends on the shoe! A child's shoes would fit as would most women's average foot size, perhaps (7-8). Boots will not fit and most men's shoes would be too large.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The PR5 features a main compartment, flat side pockets and dual end pockets. It does not have interior pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.