Skip Navigation LinksFlying-Boxcar

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make many friends in high places.”
Red Oxx Flying Boxcar Carry On Bag - in Mariner. Choose from 12 colors.

Flying Boxcar $195.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Travel by Boxcar. Transport your cargo safely!

Go ahead, pack the zoom lens or portable fishing reels, you'll have the room.

HOW IS THIS BAG DIFFERENT?
The Expedition series duffel bags have been redesigned to meet your packing and traveling preferences. With the same exterior dimensions and capacity as the PR5 Safari Beano, the Boxcar sports bag differs by featuring an extra-long central main compartment so you can carry your scuba fins or camera tripod or hyper zoom lens on the plane when you fly out for your safari.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
This compartment features a Volara foam padded bottom, which allows the Boxcar bag to maintain shape when you don't have it filled to the top (should you want to shop and return home with some souvenirs). And the extra peace of mind regarding protecting expensive and fragile bulky items you may pick up on your adventure doesn't hurt. Secure your goods with the double zippered lid and steel twin turn locks.

You'll thank us a thousand times over for the grab loops on both ends while yanking the bag from an overhead bin, or pulling it easily in-and-out of a vehicle during an overlanding adventure. Ballistic nylon skid plate on the bottom gives years of worry-free use while sliding around loading docks.

JUST ROLL WITH IT.
Want to stack it on your wheeled bag? No problem, the back pass-through pocket docking sleeve lets you slip it over the handle bars on your wheeled bag... or just use it as an extra-long flat side pocket.

ORGANIZE YOUR BELONGINGS.
Twin raised side pockets keep necessities quickly accessible. Both pockets zip halfway down their sides for easy access to buried equipment like data storage, adapters, manuals, etc. Monkey Fist Zip Knots and heavy-duty #10 YKK Zippers make opening the compartments a yankin' cinch, yet the self-locking zipper design prevents accidental openings. The detachable nonslip padded Claw Shoulder Strap allows for easy nonslip carrying-- or carry by hand with the nylon webbing handles.

The Red Oxx Flying Boxcar Duffel Bag pushes maximum legal carry-on size restrictions yet still offers generous flexibility and ease of use. Just so you know, if you over-stuff your bag it won’t be carry-on legal.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Flying Boxcar on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H.
Capacity: 2,400 cu. inches (2,680 including raised side pockets).

Pocket measurements:

  • Small raised zippered side pocket: 6"W x 8"H x 2"D
  • Large raised zippered side pocket: 11 1/2"L x 8"H x 2"D
  • Main compartment: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Side pass-through zippered flat pocket: 4.5"H x 23"L

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Flying Boxcar trivia: the Flying Boxcar was named after the post-WW II transport aircraft, the Fairchild C-119 Flying Boxcar. The distinctive design of the Flying Boxcar featured a fuselage that was separate from the engines and the dual tail ailerons located on the wings, leaving the area behind the cockpit to accommodate larger loads. The design allowed more powerful engines and a cargo area uncluttered by landing gear and control cables.

Write a Review

4.92 Average Rating
 (38 Reviews)

 
1 2 Next > 
 You want a great bag
By Gary, Chicago, IL., September 5, 2011

I looked long and hard at all kinds of bags. I was thrilled to see this and MADE IN THE USA unbelievable quality. Great customer service I had a few questions and Amanda was so very nice and helpful. I will be watching to see what great products they come out with next. I highly recommend you to check out Red Oxx gear. Once I looked at other bags and checked out Red Oxx I was sold I did not have to look any further.
 
 Roomy
By Wes, Nev, June 28, 2011

This bag is well built and roomy. I took it for a five day trip. It held a sport coat, 2 pair of pants 4 shirts and four changes of socks and underwear. I still had a little room left over. The smaller front pocket held my bag of liquids for easy access for the carry on security check. The bag gets a little heavy when full but the shoulder strap was very helpful.
 
 Railroader Bag
By Douglas , Detroit, MI, June 23, 2011

As a person who works in the railroad industry it is hard to find a good durable bag that can withstand a beating. This bag far exceeds everything I was looking for. It's built better than any bag I've ever owened, and has plenty of room to go around for all the things I must carry for work. Awesome bag! It took 12 years to find a great bag, but was worth the weight. Will never buy another bag except a Red Oxx.
 
 "Boxcar Willie" to flying Boxcar
By Tom, Kaua`i, Hawai`i, June 2, 2011

I travel a lot and believe me, I have tried every manner of luggage configuration on the planet and the Flying Boxcar is my best and final travel bag. The quality of workmanship and hardware is second to none and "MADE IN AMERICA" is a real plus. By the way using a rubberized/non slip material for the shoulder strap was a stroke of genius! Huge kudos for the 'training videos' and links, knowing how to pack efficiently is critical to getting the most out of your luggage and making life easier on the road. I did like some of the other evaluator's comments particularly adding a key-safe strap and a internal pouch for 'floating items', other than that, don't mess with perfection.
 
 Cool bag... only one improvement needed
By Anonymous, Tuscaloosa, AL, May 26, 2011

Great Red Oxx quality makes this bag a definite keeper. The walls are not structural so it collapses nicely for storage, and it's got plenty of room for all the random stuff I throw in. The only improvement I can think of would be a snap/other fastener in the center of the pass-through pocket, which would help hold the bag in place on top of rolling luggage. Other than that, love it!
 
 Buy American and you get quality
By Dave, Chichester NH, December 23, 2010

I don't believe the quality of this bag. If I could rate it 10 stars I would. This baby is built to last. I loved it so much I bought one for my girlfriend. I love the idea that the interior is open the entire length of the bag. This is perfect for the camera equipment I take along and in her case, it fits her travel didgeridoo perfectly. We use these bags when traveling to the Caribbean where we bareboat out of. Hats of to these folks who spare no expense to put out a quality product.
 
 Bag works great
By J. Davenport, Alabama, USA, December 15, 2010

This bag swallows a surprising amount of stuff. From the construction to the size and shape to the hefty metal hardware, the Boxcar oozes quality. The only thing I could suggest would be a wider strap.
 
 Awesome
By Derek , North Platte, December 11, 2010

This bag is put together very nicely and well made. Have bought a few bags for the same price elsewhere and none of them compare to the craftsmanship as this one does. Defiantly is worth the money if your a conductor on any railroad. And you cant beat the lifetime warranty!! Thanks Red Oxx for a great product!
 
 Great Bag
By Erik Dalton, Telluride, CO, July 21, 2010

The Flying Box Car is really a perfect size, small enough to bring as a carry-on or throw in your backseat, but large enough to swallow gear for at least a long weekend if not a week! Great pockets on the side keep small things organized, and the durable canvas allowed me to strap the flying box car to the top of my Defender 110 for 10 days of desert driving without a trace of abuse! The tri fold shave kit also fits nicely in one of the side pockets, and lots of webbing handles provide multiple points to either carry or secure the bag on a rack or vehicle.
 
 great camera bag
By eric, Los Altos CA, June 25, 2009

Got a Flying Boxcar to use as a bag for my DSLR. The main compartment is great for the camera and the lenses, the front pockets work well for misc "stuff" like extra batteries, chargers and cleaning supplies. Best camera bag I have ever had.
 
 Flying Boxcar
By Chris Lewis, Stanley, NC, May 18, 2009

Perfect for travel and work on the railroad!!!!
 
 My very own Tardis!
By Marcus, New Zealand, April 16, 2009

Awesome bag! Bigger inside than outside, just like the TARDIS! It arrived yesterday and has not been for a real trip yet - but I could not resist test packing it as though for a short trip.I bought this bag as a carry-on solution for short duration photo trips (I am a professional photographer and guide) so that I could take a "short" DSLR kit and clothing in one bag with no checked baggage to reduce ticket costs and airport hassles.I packed my photo kit into a small specialist bag, and fitted that plus clothing and kit for 4 days into the Box Car with no trouble at all - and room to spare!Quality is awesome and design excellent (if I could change anything, I would add Gator-style inside storage pockets and a key clip within the smaller outside pocket for knick-knacks, tickets etc when traveling but that is all!)Can't wait to test it on a real trip! An Adventure Journal will surely follow....! This surely won't be my last Red Oxx purchase and I will never look elsewhere for my luggage now.
 
 A New Fan of the Boxcar!
By Elizabeth, USA, September 28, 2008

This year, my husband took a new job and is traveling two weeks at a time, so I bought him a Flying Boxcar, and I have to say that it is working out well! He loads his bags to full capacity, and he never liked checking bags, even when it was free. The Flying Boxcar is roomy enough for all of his clothes, toiletries, and a couple pairs of shoes, too. This last trip, he said that there was palpable suspense felt among fellow passengers as he lifted his Flying Boxcar to load into the overhead compartment. One fellow passenger even raised a loud doubt about it fitting, and, of course, it fit. He's remarked about the comfortable shoulder strap and easy access to all compartments.I definitely scored points with this one!
 
 Boxcar beats all!
By Emily Salsbury, Coeur d'Alene, ID, August 8, 2008

I'll start off with the only word that comes to mind, AMAZING. I acquired this masterpiece while attending college and did not appreciate all of the features until recently. Through work, I have been traveling to trade shows around the country and realize now the quality of a Red Oxx bag. This is the perfect size for carry-on and with the end handles I can carry it through the aisle of a plane without knocking people on either side and can pull it in and out of the overhead compartment with complete control. The pockets are perfect for the ziplock of liquids enabling for quick maneuvers through security. The strap is amazing along with the zippers, material, hardware...So pretty much amazing all around:) P.S. I've received many jealous stares from people traveling with rolling suitcases;)
 
 Nice Compliment to Air Boss
By Ed, Dallas, February 8, 2008

Review Summary - Wow! I was surprised that there were not more reviews on this bag. I purchased the Flying Boxcar to compliment the Air Boss I have for those times I need just a little more room. I am always amazed at the capacity these bags have. Like the Air Boss, the Flying Boxcar does not disappoint. These must be the most durable bags I have ever seen.Keep up the good work guys! You are building the best bags that anyone could ever buy!
 
 Flying Box Car Serves OZ Brush Needs
By David Miller, Reno,NV, November 28, 2007

Cheers Mate's, I just wanted to thank you For the fine work of art. I recently returned from a three month Bush journey through Australia. The Flying Box Car was able to carry everything I needed to survive the Kimberly and the Simpson Desert. At one point early in the journey I over stressed one of the zipper's causing it to split apart . However the large teeth made the repair easy and I never had the problem again. This bag is designed to keep the fine dust of the North End out. Yet it fits perfectly on the luggage racks in the India Pacific and the Ghan. Also it is smart enough looking that you don't have typical Back packer look when arriving at your hostel or guest house. It an take the rough housing by baggage handlers going into the planes boot. It is a fine addition to my Red Oxx Collection. Regards,David Miller
 
 Flying boxcar
By Mike Beard, Roseville, CA, November 12, 2007

I just started using my Flying Boxcar as my "grip" working as a Railroad Conductor and I'm very impressed. The bag has more than enough space for my gear and the side pockets make organizing easier so I can grab radio's and tools without rummaging around. The materials and workmanship are first rate. Entering and leaving the cab of a filthy freight locomotive is hard on everything and I've torn lesser bags within a few days. That won't happen with this one. Thanks,Mike
 
 Boxcar Beats Bean
By Alan Lamm, , April 7, 2006

Dear Jim & Perry:Just bought a Flying Boxcar to complement my Air Boss and it is terrific! For years I carried a similar bag from LL Bean but the Flying Boxcar is made of better, stronger quality materials, and the design is superior as well. I especially like the extra handle on the end which is perfect for pulling the Boxcar out of overhead airplane bins. I didn't think it could be done, but the Flying Boxcar beats my old Bean bag!Thank you,Alan
 
1 2 Next > 
Specifications

 Box Car Specs Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padded bottom
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 1050 Ballistic nylon skid plate
  • All zippers #10 YKK self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • 304 stainless V rings
  • Pass-through panel to use with wheeled luggage; can double as an extra pocket
  • End grab loops
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • US Dimensions: 24"L x 10"W x 10"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 61cm L x 25.4cm W x 25.4cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,400 cubic inches
  • Metric Capacity: 39.4 Liters

Flying Boxcar Sports Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Flying Boxcar and the PR5 Duffel Bag?
The Flying Boxcar has a full length main compartment with extra raised pockets located on the side of the bag, whereas the PR5 has a shorter and smaller main compartment with pockets on both ends. The Flying Boxcar also features grab handles on the ends and a padded bottom reinforced with ballistic nylon, our toughest. Overall, the Boxcar will actually carry slightly more gear.
 
What's the difference between the Sun Chaser and the Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar is a full five inches longer and one inch wider.
 
Will this bag meet personal item sizing?
You can use it as one but we don't market it as such. So long as it wasn't fully packed you might be able to sneak one by.
 
Why is the bottom padded?
The padding was requested by photography enthusiasts to protect their camera gear from impacts.
 
Why are there two zippers on the back of the bag?
They are for a pass-through panel so that the bag can be mounted over the handles of a wheeled bag.
 
Can you lock the Flying Boxcar?
Yes, any TSA approved lock will work. Or you can use one of our inexpensive cable locks. Keep in mind, any soft sided bag can be cut open with a sharp knife. Better to carry the bag onto the plane and store in the overhead bin where you can keep an eye on it.
 
What's the best way to pack the Flying Boxcar?
We recommend the bundle packing method. Watch the packing video under the Videos tab on the Flying Boxcar product page.
 
How many days worth of clothes will fit in the Flying Boxcar?
The Flying Boxcar was designed to easily hold a weekend's worth of your clothes, like for a beach trip... thus the product name.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Flying Boxcar has two raised side pockets and one flat side pocket.
There is only the one large main compartment without interior pockets.
 
Is this the same bag as the Railroad Grip?
The Railroad Grip was designed by railroaders for railroaders and will fit the typical engineers lamp, rulebook and so on. For the harsh environment of the railroad, the Grip is also a superior choice due to it's ballistic weighted heavy-duty fabric.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.