Skip Navigation LinksHome  > News & Events  > Grip is the Best Money Spent on the Rails  > Rail-King-Railroad-Rucksack

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Your new home on the rails.”
Red Oxx Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack. Our largest, toughest bag.

Rail King Railroad Rucksack $325.00


Currently out of stock. Place your order today and it will ship within 30 days.

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


A Railroad Rucksack on Steroids. Ready to ride the rails.

The undisputed King of the Rails.

Our friends down at the train yard will be thrilled we've done our final testing on the new Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack and it's ready for the rails. Bigger, badder and ready to go down the longest mile in style, for quite a while. Just like our popular Railroad Grip, it's still hand built in our factory in Billings, Montana. It comes with our famous no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty. It uses the same tough Ballistic Nylon materials.

DESIGNED EXCLUSIVELY FOR LONG RANGE RAIL RIDERS.
Back in 1992, local Rail Engineers helped design our original Railroad Grip. Seems since then, they're packing more personal stuff, taking longer trips like the "xtra board" and there was also a need for a grip bag that could carry winter gear along with the typical lamp, radio and GCOR rule book.

WHY A BACKPACK STYLE RUCKSACK?
All this could be thought of as becoming pretty heavy for a Grip. Rather than convert a larger bag such as our Sherpa Jr. Outfitters Expedition Bag, the decision was made to spread the weight across your back evenly and keep the compartmentalized features railroaders like so much by creating an enlarged rucksack.

COMFORT AND STRENGTH.
Upgraded durable Uni-Suede padded articulating shoulder straps for carry comfort cinch down with Mil-Spec A.L.I.C.E. hardware. Every stress point is double box stitched for peace of mind. Heavy-duty compression straps on bottom of the Rail King Rucksack stores your jacket, blanket or bedroll out of the way. Beware, the Rail King is our LARGEST Rucksack Backpack. Now you can ride the Red Oxx Hi-Ball on the roll by!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Rail King Rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior Dimensions: 24"L x 12"W x 9"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches - including external raised pockets.

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual side zippered pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
  • Exterior dual side zippered flat slip pockets: 8"H x 7"w
  • Exterior front pocket: 15"L x 12"W x 5"D
  • Exterior zippered flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Interior slip pocket: 18"H x 12"W

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Rail King Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Back orders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great rail rucksack needs Railroader accessories.

Personalize it. An embroidered Ruck is a respected Ruck.
Order an Embroidered Monogram Patch (located on top zipper panel).

  • Three initials for only $7.50
  • Up to ten characters for only $10.00

NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogram Patches adds an additional 2-3 business days before shipping.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Rail King Rucksack include:

  • Riggers Rucksack Backpack - tough enough for any oil rigging job
  • Trucker cargo ruck - great for tools and travel gear
  • Roughneck backpack - If you work a big tough job, this is your bag
  • Horse tack knapsack
  • Rodeo ruck
  • Roping ruck
  • Halter rucksack
  • Trainers rucksack

UPDATED
Free Printable Railroad Rucksack PDF Brochure Download (3.7MB)
Free Printable Railroad Accessories PDF Brochure Download (3.4MB)

Write a Review

4.78 Average Rating
 (72 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Good but could be better
By Bill, Arkansas, November 14, 2013

I have had the Rail king now for 2 months and it is a great bag. By far the best one I have used in the 15 years working for the U.P. My only suggestion to make this the perfect bag for a railroader is to put some small pockets for pens, keys ect.. in one of the big pockets. there is lots of room and everything fits. But you have to carry all of those small items loose in the big pockets. So am always having to dig thru it to find what I'm looking for. I ended up putting a plastic pencil box in the top flap to carry every small loose item. Still have to dig thru it but at least its not in the bottom of bag. Gave it 4 stars would have been 5 if had some sort of pocket organizer like some of the computer bags do.

It is still a great Bag and recommend it to coworkers all the time.
 
 Simply Great
By Stephen, West Virginia, November 7, 2013

Best Grip out there hands down! Like most I have tried multiple grips that never last or doesn't work good enough. This grip has truly made it so simple and easy to carry everything you could want or need to carry. You will not regret investing in one of these!
 
 best grip ever
By John, Pittsburgh, August 9, 2013

I've owned this backpack for over a year & it's still like new. I use to buy 2 grips a year but not now. Plenty of room.
 
 Excellent Grip
By Sam, Missouri, June 4, 2013

I’ve had the Rail King for about 2 months now and I really enjoy this grip. It has room for everything I could possibly need working on the rails, and then some. There are so many ways to load this thing that it took me several trips to get it the way I liked it. I would suggest trying to fill the front pocket as full as possible, as this keeps the bag from wanting to tip over when the top pocket is folded open (I folded my rain jacket for a base, and then piled the rulebooks and a lunchbox over it.)

The one feature I don’t really use is the compression straps on the bottom of the bag. I guess it would be handy if I had a long hike and didn’t want to carry or wear my jacket, but normally it would just be an annoyance to have to coat rolled under the bag, causing it to tip over; plus your jacket would get filthy sitting on the floor/ground. However, since the straps don’t hinder the performance of the bag otherwise, I won’t complain about it.

How I load up the Rail King:

Main Compartment | Overnight change of clothes, Tri-Fold Shave kit,

Interior Slip Compartment | Spare jeans, rain pants, neck pillow

Front Pocket | Rain Jacket, GCOR rulebook, small soft sided lunchbox, and whatever book I’m currently reading

Left Side Pocket | Lantern, radio, safety vest, gloves

Left Slip Pocket | Small hazmat reference guide, air slip book

Right Side Pocket | Full size 40 oz. Thermos, large plastic cup for boiling water in hotels, bottled sports drink

Right Slip Pocket | Leatherman multi-tool, small flashlight, mini binoculars, 2.5 oz. hand sanitizer

Top Pocket | Safety glasses, extra gloves, wool hat for winter, small case for pens, calculator, and hot journal chalk, and the various soaps and shampoos I take from hotels. I don’t have much to put in this pocket, so all the miscellaneous stuff goes here. It’s only about half full.

To wrap things up, I will finish by saying that this is the best grip I could have hoped for. The quality is second to none and has more than enough space for anything I would possibly need or want out here. If you are looking for an excellent backpack-style grip, this is the one for you.

 
 Rail King Rucksack
By LD ESTEP, Albuquerque NM, May 9, 2013

I have wasted a ton of money on grips for the last 36 years. This bag carries enough to satisfy an overpacker like myself. I have a torn rotator cuff in my shoulder but can still carry about 50 lbs. in bag without any pain. Should have bought one years ago.
 
 Loving the Rail King!
By G Ludtke, London, ON. Canda, April 25, 2013

This bag does all I need and more. I have a number of different pack and duffle bags. I settled for a 80Lt duffle but I STILL had to carry two bags for off my work kit and personals. Sometimes finding it hard to get in the nose door of the units. Doing the math I figured this pack out to a 90Lt capacity and it a well laid out 90Lt. Everything and then some fits in this monster of a pack!! AND I can cleanly make it through the doors without getting hung up! I wish I knew about this when I first started with the railway. Would have saved me LOTS of money on other bags.
 
 Just what I wanted.
By Kim, Wisconsin, March 22, 2013

I been Railroading 15 years. I've had many grips and backpacks in that time. They all had one thing in common: They could not stand up to life on the rail. Do yourself a favor and buy a Grip from Red Oxx. The last grip you will ever need to buy. Built to last a lifetime on the Railroad. Thank you Red Oxx.
 
 Amazing grip
By Brad B, Minnesota , March 12, 2013

This grip is amazing plenty of compartments to put everything you need for the road and then some. The quality is second to none and its made in the USA. Very impressed, I was a little leery to spend that much money but now I wish I would have bought it sooner. Great product highly recommend it.
 
 Great Bag
By Anonymous, , March 7, 2013

A great bag for a rail. I used to use the duffel but needed more space which this provided. My only small criticism would be I prefer the layout of the duffel more, seems easier to access but the space of the railking can't be beat. I have been using it for two months now without issue. I would like to suggest a sternum and/or hip strap for it
 
 Very useful
By Jeremy, Minot, ND, January 24, 2013

When I fist hired out on the BNSF I bought a under armor duffel bag as a grip. For the first year I worked out okay but as you can imagine it was not big enough. This grip held everything that my previous duffel bag did plus now I can put my bibs and carhart jacket in my grip instead of carrying it. I can now carry my: rulebook, mothers helper (track book), lantern, extra battery, clip board, winter jacket, bib overalls, rain coat, full sized thermos, toiletries bag, extra change of clothes, and still have tons of extra room if I can find anything else I need. Over all this grip is defiantly the grip for a conductor.
 
 MY BOYFRIEND COULDN'T HAVE BEEN HAPPIER.
By Christine Warden, Rancho Cordova, CA, December 30, 2012

My boyfriend already has the duffel bag. He is an engineer for UPR and swears by your product. He wanted nothing but the Rucksack for Christmas. I told him that wasn't possible because they were on backorder (which I thought was the case). I went ahead and ordered and it got here before Christmas. He was so very happy to have it. He swears by your product and the lifetime warranty. I believe a lot of UP railroaders use your product. One time another railroader took his instead of his own. His also has his initials on it for no further confusion. Thanks for making my man happy and an above-average product. Nice to see things are still made with quality these days.
 
 Rail King Grip
By LD ESTEP, Peralta NM, December 22, 2012

I have only used this for about 2 weeks but can already tell it is a keeper. It holds all of my regular gear plus winter stuff also. Working on Amtrak and 3 different railroads means I have to carry more rule books than I did on the ATSF but it still does the job very well. Wish I had bought one years ago!
 
 Rail King Railroad Rucksack
By K. Hayes, Oklahoma, December 10, 2012

Durable. Plenty of room to carry all of my gear. Would highly recommend bag to other railroaders. With the no bull warranty you have nothing to lose.
 
 Love the bag
By Shane, Ohio, September 27, 2012

It would be nice if there was a video that explain all of the features of the bag.
 
 Rail King
By Anonymous, Montana, August 13, 2012

So here goes. I do not usually review products I purchase, but considering the price point I'll provide my thoughts. For what it was designed for, the rail road it will do the job just fine. It is purpose built for all the junk you will have to carry, radio, lantern, rule books, clothing for several days, a large lunch, with lots of room left over for whatever else you decide to cram in there. If you are looking at the Rail King for some other purpose besides travel you may want to look elsewhere. This bag is not designed to carry a load much more than a mile. My previous life as a part of a back country trail crew has turned me into some what of a gear junkie. I spent 7 seasons at approximately 550-700 miles a summer carrying the necessary gear to perform my duties. The Rail King is big but not appropriate for carrying a load any kind of distance. The back panel has some sort of foam that helps the bag retain its shape but does not provide ample support for your back. Most backpacks have some form of frame system to help distribute the load the rail king does not. My other big gripe is there is no hip belt which forces your shoulders to carry the load, which is fine for the trip from the depot to your car, or the hotel but I would not want to carry the 30-40 lbs of crap I carry much further in this bag.

I gave this bag 4 stars because it is mostly perfect for working on the rails. The materials and craftsmanship are superb and it's hard to beat a life time warranty. This is my third Red Oxx product. I purchased the Engineer grip shortly after I hired which is also a great product. I then received another as a gift, my parents were bummed to learn that I already had one. I finally decided it would be easier to carry my stuff in something besides a duffel bag which led me to the Rail King.

Great Montana company with a good product.
 
 The Grip King!
By Jason, Ohio, August 11, 2012

I purchased this grip about a year ago at the start of my railroad career. I wanted to wait to give a review and after using it for a year I can say this is one of the best you can buy. This grip allows you to carry everything you could possibly think of to make the stay in the hotel as close to home as you can. The large deep pockets allowed me to take my two bags and combine them into one. I can even fit my lunch in with everything else. Don't let the price scare you, you will be using this everyday!
 
 One bag instead of two
By Josh, Tulsa, OK, July 1, 2012

I bought this bag to help me make sure I always have all that I will need ready for the road. It was always a safety hazard climbing on the engines with a pack, duffle bag, and lunch slung over my sholders. This bag allows me to just have it plus a lunch box. The weight is distributed evenly improving safety while climbing. It is so large that it is a tight squeeze when entering the locomotive though.

Be warned that if fully loaded the bag gets pretty heavy. I carry my rulebook, track charts, mandatory directive forms, rain gear, lantern, radio, air gauge, gloves, spotlight, a 'lil roy' red oxx with random electronics, a red oxx shaving kit bag with all of my personal items for the hotel, a change of clothes, and my ipad all in this one bag. I have found it very useful.
 
 rail king
By borso, geneva IL, May 14, 2012

I waited to review this product after i bought it so i could test it out for a few months before commenting. I think this is the best bag i ever bought for use on the railroad and that includes the tuff bag i had purchased previously. If i had on critique on the product if would be that the bottom should have some sort of heavier base(some sort of rubberized set) due to the fact as a road engr i often place the bag on the floor of the locomotive and sometimes do not have the ability to put something down first . Maybe even hard feet of some type.
 
 Rail King Railroad Rucksack
By robert osborn, United States, March 29, 2012

This is an awesome grip, dont get me wrong but for me it is just too big and wish i would of been able to see it before spending $325 on it... Quality of the grip is second to none and is very well made and im sure in the long run the $325 price tag will be worth it with the lifetime warranty...
 
 Big and tough
By Anonymous, Savannah, GA, March 28, 2012

If your looking for one bag to carry it all and dont mind it being a little heavy then this is probably your best bet. This bag is VERY big. My only complaint really is getting the bag on and off your back but soon as you have it on it really isn't that heavy even when it's loaded down. A little on the pricey side but considering it could be the last grip you buy it's worth the money. This bag seems capable of holding up to the normal wear and tear and everyday railroading. Plenty of room to pack for 2-3 days and hold all your rule books. I can fit my lantern, radio, extra battery and gloves in one side pouch and pair of shoes and flip flops in the other. The front is plenty enough room for all of your rule books and a laptop/tablet. The middle(biggest) area holds 2-3 days of clothes, the Red Oxx shaving kit and the "Lil Roy". The top pouch holds my pencil kit, safety glasses, vest, and a few other things. I stay gone longer than the average railroader and I can fit everything in this one bag. I hope to get several years out of this grip and my next purchase, if necessary, will be another Red Oxx product. Thanks.
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft black nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Dual set of Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle - DO NOT lift the bag using the top flap!
  • Mil-Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • 4 lb. closed cell foam padding in back
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • Available in Black Only
  • US Dimensions: Main Compartment 13"W x 20"H x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 14"H x 7"W x 4"D
    Front Pocket: 14"H x 13"W x 6"D
    Flap pocket: 12"W x 12"H x 3"D
  • Metric Dimensions: Main Compartment 33cm W x 50.8H x 17.8cm H
    Side Pockets: 35.5cm H x 17.8cm W x 10.1c m D
    Front Pocket: 35.5cm H x 33cm W x 15.2cm D
    Flap Pocket: 30.5cm H x 30.5cm W x 7.6cm D
  • US Total Capacity: 5652 cubic inches
  • Metric Total Capacity: 92.6 Liters

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Rail King Rucksack, the Airborne C-Ruck, or Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Rail King is made with a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic cordura nylon, our toughest. Ideal for Railroaders and the harsh rail lifestyle.
 
Can I get one in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is only available in black.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
This is a special grade heavier weight cordura nylon, our strongest, and is designed for hard use. It will not tear, shred or rip.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Rail King was specifically designed to hold this exclusive railroader gear.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Roadster? What size laptop?
The Rail King Rucksack has a special slide pocket inside the back main compartment that will accommodate Laptops up to 17 inches.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Rail King Rucksack. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each product we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull," no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one bag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a railroad rucksack that will not fail.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.