Skip Navigation LinksRail-King-Railroad-Rucksack

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“A NEW RAIL KING IS BORN!”
Red Oxx Rail King II Railroad Grip Rucksack. Our largest, toughest bag.

Rail King Railroad Rucksack $375.00


Embroidered Monogram Patches:

  • One - Three Initials $7.50
  • Four - Ten Letters $10.00

X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


ALL HAIL THE NEW KING!

Now available for order, ready to ship.*

Our friends down at the train yard are thrilled we redesigned the Rail King Railroad Grip Rucksack. All hail the Rail King II, with new upgrades to roll down the longest mile in style, for quite a while. We listened and went to work. The new Rail King II has everything that you've been asking for.

DESIGNED EXCLUSIVELY FOR LONG RANGE RAIL RIDERS.
Just like our popular Railroad Grip, the Rail King II is still hand-built in our factory in Billings, Montana. It still comes with our famous no questions asked "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty. It still uses the same tough Ballistic CORDURA® Nylon materials.

WHAT'S NEW?
A cleaner bottom, gone are the hated coat straps. No more dumping your bag down and muddying your coat. Pencil and pens can now be stored in the top lid in a new "stuff" pocket. We replaced the useless flat side pockets with our popular proprietary gusseted pockets, borrowed from our Gator, Metro and CPA Briefcases, complete with the ever-handy one handed snap lid and hidden slip pocket. Just remember this is a wide bag and it could get caught in an engine doorway so be sure to take it off and carry it through.

A brand new slip pocket adorns the raised front pocket and we moved the laptop notebook slip pocket out of the main compartment to the front pocket for easier access to your computer. Lastly we removed the unused fastex buckles at the top front. Still the same great Railroad Rucksack, only now with lots more useful pockets! Long live the King!

Back in 1992, local Rail Engineers helped design our original Railroad Grip. Seems since then, they're packing more personal stuff, taking longer trips like the "xtra board" and there was also a need for a grip bag that could carry winter gear along with the typical lamp, radio and GCOR rule book.

WHY A BACKPACK STYLE RUCKSACK?
All this could be thought of as becoming pretty heavy for a Grip. Rather than convert a larger bag such as our Sherpa Jr. Outfitters Expedition Bag, the decision was made to spread the weight across your back evenly and keep the compartmentalized features railroaders like so much by creating an enlarged rucksack.

COMFORT AND STRENGTH.
Upgraded durable Uni-Suede padded articulating shoulder straps for carry comfort cinch down with Mil-Spec A.L.I.C.E. hardware. Every stress point is double box stitched for peace of mind. Beware, the Rail King II is our LARGEST Rucksack Backpack. Now you can ride the Red Oxx Hi-Ball on the roll by!

NEED SOMETHING DIFFERENT?
Looking for a duffel style grip instead? Try our Grip Railroad Duffel Bag. Is the Rail King II too big? Need a shoulder carry backpack style bag that is more in tune with traveling light? Try our Rail Runner Railroad Rucksack.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
You buy it, we'll build it! We encourage you to place your order today to get your Rail King II Rucksack on our factory production schedule. In other words, the King is not usually a stock inventory item. You must place your order to get your new rucksack on our production schedule. Your finished bag will then ship (under normal circumstances) in 7-10 working days. During the holidays, it may ship within 14 working days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Exterior Dimensions: 23"L x 13"W x 7"D (excludes pockets).
Capacity: Total Capacity: 4555 cubic inches - including all external and raised pockets.
Weight: 5.6 pounds

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual side zippered pockets: 16"H x 7"W x 4"D
  • Exterior dual side gusseted snap slip pockets: 7.5"H x 7"W
  • Exterior front pocket: 13"L x 15"H x 6"D
  • Exterior front zipper flat pocket: 10"W x 9" H
  • Exterior zippered flap pocket: 12"W x 11"H x 3"D
  • Interior slip pocket inside front raised pocket: 12"H x 14"W

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.
UPS or USPS Priority International to Canada is $30.00. More information on International Shipping here.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Rail King Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our quarterly email newsletter. Your email address is always secure.

Every great rail rucksack needs Railroader accessories.

Personalize it. An embroidered Ruck is a respected Ruck.
Order an Embroidered Monogram Patch (located on top zipper panel).

  • Three initials for only $7.50
  • Up to ten characters for only $10.00

* NOTE: Custom Embroidered Monogram Patches adds an additional 2-5 business days before shipping.

Other ideal uses for the rugged Railroad Rail King II Rucksack include:

  • Riggers Rucksack Backpack - tough enough for any oil rigging job
  • Trucker cargo ruck - great for tools and travel gear
  • Roughneck rucksack - If you work a big tough job, this is your bag
  • Horse tack knapsack
  • Rodeo ruck
  • Roping ruck
  • Halter rucksack
  • Horse Trainer's rucksack

Write a Review

4.77 Average Rating
 (99 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 Heavy Duty
By ADP, Capreol ON, August 28, 2014

Really good. heavy duty but also heavy. more space and compartments than any other bag for sure! Somewhat expensive but if it continues to perform as it has so far it is totally worth it
 
 fantastic!
By Mark Bancroft, calif, August 28, 2014

You will only need one. . Very very heavy duty. . Dnt put it off get it!
 
 Beast of a bag
By Anonymous, Mont Belvieu, TX, August 21, 2014

Seems like an excellent bag. Even bigger than I thought.
 
 Great product
By Anonymous, , August 14, 2014

Great grip. Well made lifetime warranty what's not to like. Only issue I have is some of the stitches have sharp edges that tend to scratch but that's a easy fix.
 
 Best bag I've ever owned
By Dave, , August 7, 2014

Tough and plenty of room. I'm not easy on it and it takes it just fine.
 
 awesome product!!
By Anonymous, Amarillo tx, August 7, 2014

This bag is great!! It is strong and it is durable. The material feels like you could never rip it. The zipper a built extremely tough! I give five stars no matter what! It just seems that it's kinda hard to fit through a train door with it on But hey if you order a big bag you should expect that!
 
 Rail King Rucksack
By Lisa Pettitt, New London, Missouri, July 5, 2014

I recently purchased this bag for my son. He loves it. It is very tough l, well made and has so much room in it. He is able to pack all that he needs in it to stay out of town for several nights. I would definitely recommend this bag to someone.
 
 Truly King
By M Smith, TX, July 3, 2014

This Ruck has all the space I need for working thru freight. It is very durable and the zippers appear to be much better than those on other bags. I was able to consolidate two bags into one which makes boarding and walking to trains much easier. I receive compliments on how awesome the bag is every day!
 
 Best Grip on the market
By O'Neill, Clovis, NM, July 3, 2014

This is the absolute best grip out there. It beats all the other grips I've had or seen in both quality of workmanship and functionality. Very well built with high quality materials. This is the only bag I've had that has plenty of room for all my stuff, and hard copy rule book with plenty of room to spare. Also loaded at nearly 50 pounds still carries very easily and lets you maneuver through the narrow doors of a locomotive. This is the last grip you'll ever need! Thank you Red Oxx
 
 VERY ADEQUATE
By Anonymous, Sask, Canada, June 19, 2014

Its nice being able to fit everything into one bag instead of two. Absolutely everything fits, even my lunch. Plenty of room for overnight trips (clothes, toiletries), manuals, lantern, track profiles, rules book, rain gear, etc with plenty of room for extras. Its fits through the door of most locomotives on my back. Would recommend!
 
 Rail King Rucksack
By Justin Ellis, Michigan, May 15, 2014

Great design and has plenty of room for almost everything I need to carry once I take charge of my train. I love the life time warranty this company offers too. I would recommend this grip for any Railroader!
 
 The Best Grip available!
By Anthony, St.Louis, May 8, 2014

Great Bag!....well built and plenty of room. I'm able to get all my stuff from my previous 2 grips into one bag. With room for more stuff. The bag can get heavy if fully loaded, but still comfortable on your back. I highly recommend this bag.
 
 Perfect Gift
By Karla, Biggar, SK Canada, May 3, 2014

I bought this bag as a birthday gift for my husband. His trips on the railroad are longer now and this enables him to carry the extras that he needs. He says he loves it! Thankyou!
 
 Perfect
By Anonymous, NY, May 1, 2014

I would highly recommend this bag.
 
 Perfect road bag
By Anonymous, Alabama , April 24, 2014

I waited a while before I reviewed the bag so I can get the full use. It's the perfect bag when are a pack rat like myself. I can fit everything I'm required to have and then some. It's durable and easy to wipe clean. I wish the clips at the bottom of the straps had rings or some way where they don't bind when you sling it over your shoulders. I pair it up with the tri-fold kit and it holds everything I would need and then some for a life working the road extra boards.
 
 Grippage
By Cory Schnaufer, Amarillo, TX, April 17, 2014

This bag is a tank. I have been using it for a month and a half now and it still doesn't have a mark on it. I truly love the bags build quality. The bag design however could use a little adjustment. I find myself digging around in these massive pockets looking for my smaller items. This makes me really wish for a couple of small pockets either on the outside or on the inside of one of the bigger pockets. The other thing is the pocket for the rule book is way to tight. I can get it in there but it is a fight. I would love an extra half inch of room in that pocket. These are the only things I would do to change this bag. Other than that the bag is amazing.
 
 packing the grip
By Richard Mize, Spokane Washington, April 15, 2014

the grip is easy to pack on and off the engine, I like the idea of having my hands free climbing up and down. I used to carry a lunch box separately, now it is packed within this grip. the only change i would like to see is that the rule book carrier could be detachable, it gets in the way sometimes. I would also like to see redoxx add a lunchbox that is easy accessible, mine i have to take out, and I'm looking for a better one.
 
 Gripping
By Anonymous, Hazard, KY., March 20, 2014

Well this grip is amazing. A friend had bought the railroad grip and I went through his with a fine tooth comb. I wanted a backpack though and so he told me that there was one available. This thing is awesome. More than enough space. Well laid out, plenty of pockets, and enough room to put clothes, snacks, etc. The warranty is the best. I've been a railroader for 17 years and have put many grips in their grave from hard use. I have found the last grip I will buy. Three months in and it still as good as when I first received it. Can't say enough good about it. Buy one!!! You will not be disappointed.
 
 Great Bag
By Shane, North Platte, NE, March 16, 2014

I was very impressed with this bag as soon as I took it out of the box. It has very heavy duty material and great zippers. It is a bit big for me and will be way to big for summer use. I wish the same bag was available in a little smaller size. A small pocket on the front would be nice for keys, pens, etc. Also, some Velcro or something to hold the laptop (which I don't carry) compartment closed would help.
 
 Super Quality
By Robert Johnson, Indianapolis, March 13, 2014

This backpack is seriously of the highest quality. I find a hard time imagining that anything could wreck it. I really appreciate all the pockets that allow me to fit in all the stuff I end up needing out on the rails: spotlight, fusees, etc.

I would only warn against ONE thing, and offer one recommendation for improving the backpack. Fully packed, it is a little difficult to wear the pack on your back and fit through the door of a locomotive. The back could use losing a little bit of volume to thin it down and make it more maneuverable.

Thanks RedOxx. I think I found my last grip.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
Specifications

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in the U.S.A.
  • 1050 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Ballistic CORDURA® nylon fabric
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft black nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK self locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • 3250 welded D Rings, nickel plated
  • Stainless Steel Mil spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Dual set of Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop with rubber Euro-handle - DO NOT lift the bag using the top flap!
  • Mil-Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • 4 lb. closed cell foam padding in back
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • Available in Black Only
  • US Dimensions: Main Compartment 23"H x 13"W x 7"D
    Side Pockets (x2): Each - 16"H x 7"W x 4"D
    Front Pocket: 13"H x 15"W x 6"D
    Flap pocket: 12"W x 11"H x 3"D
  • Metric Dimensions: Main Compartment 58.4cm W x 33cm H x 17.8cm D
    Side Pockets: 40.6cm H x 17.8cm W x 10.1cm D
    Front Pocket: 33cm H x 38cm W x 10.1cm D
    Flap Pocket: 30.5cm H x 28cm W x 7.6cm D
  • US Total Capacity: 4555 cubic inches
  • Metric Total Capacity: 74.6 Liters
  • US Weight: 5.6 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 2.56 Kilos

If out of stock, back orders are typically filled within 7-10 working days. Visit our Customer Service Help Desk or call our Toll Free Hot Line: 1-888-733-6999.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Rail King II Rucksack, the Airborne C-Ruck, or Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Rail King II is made with a heavier and stronger 1050 weight ballistic CORDURA® nylon, our toughest. Ideal for Railroaders and the harsh rail lifestyle.
 
Can I get one in a different color other than black?
Our U.S.A. sourced ballistic nylon is only available in black.
 
What is Ballistic Nylon?
Ballistic nylon is a thick, tough, synthetic nylon fabric used for a variety of applications. Ballistic nylon was originally developed by the DuPont corporation as a material for flak jackets to be worn by World War II airmen. The term ballistic nylon takes its name from the fact that it was intended to protect its wearers from flying debris and fragmentation caused by bullet or artillery shell impacts. This is a special grade heavier weight CORDURA® nylon that can handle hard use and the black color helps hide dirt, oil and grease stains.
 
What colors does the embroidery come in?
Embroidery is only available in red.
 
Will my rulebook (US), radio, and lantern fit inside?
Yes, the Rail King II was specifically designed to hold this exclusive railroader gear. GCOR rulebook in the front raised pocket, radio and lantern in either side pockets.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Rail King II? What size laptop?
The Rail King II Rucksack has a special slide pocket inside the front raised pocket that will accommodate Laptops up to 17 inches.
 
Are there any interior pockets or dividers?
We recommend using our Nomad toiletry kit and/or Lil Roy Gadget bags to organize your belongings inside your Rail King II Rucksack. The Tri-fold Toiletry bag is also a great organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
Is there a railroad discount available?
Red Oxx eliminates the middle man with it's factory direct to consumer model. Our prices are based on the length of time it takes to build a bag and the cost of materials. Each product we build comes with our iron clad "No Bull," no questions asked lifetime warranty. You will save considerable money in the long run because you bought only one railbag, not to mention peace of mind knowing you own a railroad rucksack that will not fail.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag on your bag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Do you ship your Rail King to Canada and how much does that cost?
Certainly, we ship to Canada for a fixed UPS Expedited or USPS Priority International shipping fee of $30.00. All disbursement fees due on delivery are the responsibility of the buyer. Other international orders are $50.00, except Australia and New Zealand for $55.00.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.