Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Gear  > Expedition Duffel Bags  > Monkeys-Fist-Zip-Knot

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I help you get a grip on your inner chimp.”
Red Oxx Monkey Fist Zip Knot

Monkey's Fist Zip Knot $0.75


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Monkey's Fists and a fist full of Fair Trade.

How a little knot's making a big difference...

A monkey's fist is a type of knot, so named because it looks somewhat like a small bunched fist. The monkey's fist knot is most often used as the weight in a heaving line on ships. Our version is used with all Red Oxx zippers. The Zip Knot makes it easier to grab the zipper pull, even with bulky gloves on. Use them on you favorite coat or ski jacket or as a key chain!

Each knot is hand tied by our craftsman in the highlands of Guatemala. The work is carried out in the spirit of Fair Trade. Each year I visit the village and check on our workers. The impact of this business has been tremendous for the village. By purchasing Monkey Fist Zip Knots you're keeping families together and helping maintain the proud craftspeople of Guatemala.
Jim Markel
CEO and Co-Owner, Red Oxx Luggage

Available in Black / Gray only.

COST OF SHIPPING
Red Oxx will adjust your shipping costs for Monkey Fists down before we bill your credit card. Since UPS in our cart checkout will only calculate one pound and above, the shipping shown is disproportionately high compared to actual shipping cost -- if ordered alone (whether one or more), we usually ship them in a USPS box or stamped envelope. So shipping your Monkey Fist Zip Knots could be anywhere from the cost of a stamp to $5.50.

Write a Review

4.95 Average Rating
 (79 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Great Product!
By jangle, , December 3, 2009

They just work! I use them everywhere. Easy to find. Easy to grab even with gloves. I'm always finding somewhere I need one.
 
 Job equals work
By Anonymous, Colorado Springs, December 1, 2009

This is a handy, functional product and now appears on virtually every zipper I own. Not only is it excellent but the idea behind it should be taught in every governmental agency. If you give someone a job, it gives them worth. Jim Markel's partnership with the people in Latin America who make this delightful, handy little product is something that we continue to miss in our dealings with other countries. People do not want handouts; they want to work. By providing a means for this work, Jim has done more for our relationship with a foreign country than all the high dollar programs put together. If I ordered a thousand of these handy little pulls, I'd still order more.
 
 Knots That Rock
By Dennis Moser, Wyoming, November 26, 2009

How do we like the Monkey's Fist Zipper Knots? Well, we buy them by the dozen ...

Simple tools are often the best, as they lend themselves to creative applications. It all started when I bought a dozen for a piece of soft luggage. Put one on every zipper, and next thing I knew, my wife wanted some of them too.

They are just simply very practical. Can't say enough good things about them and I really appreciate that their production is part of a Fair Trade initiative that is working ... just like these little guys!
 
 Monkey's Fist Zip Knot
By Josh Apple, Greensboro, NC, November 26, 2009

Great product. Works like a charm as a zipper pull.
 
 Be prepared
By Jeff Kamp, Miami, Florida, April 14, 2009

Always be prepared, never leave home without your Monkey Fists...Once upon a time, I was trapped inside a locked bathroom of an isolatedfastfood joint. They kept me there for 29 days. They kept feeding meSupersized meals. It was addicting after a while. Must have been one ofthe secret ingredients. I gained 10 pounds and my face started to puff outwith pimples. I felt euphoric at first, but as time went by I got depressed and lethargic. I couldn't take it anymore. It finally dawned on me that I could link all of my Monkey Fists together and lower myself through the window. I have since lost the 10 pounds, my face cleared up, feel much better ingeneral, but I do have a little twitch anytime I pass by a fast food joint.I don't know what would have happened to me (might have started to growcurly red hair, huge feet with red shes, and a red nose) if it weren't for my Monkey Fists. I could really use some more.Jeff KampJeff, You win! Congratulations on coming up with the most innovative use of a Monkey's Fist I've seen yet! ~Jim
 
 Mr.
By Jimmy G, Niles, IL, October 21, 2008

My nieces and nephews saw one hanging off my fall jacket. They thought it was awesome! Being the great uncle I am (pat on back) I stripped my newly acquired Flying Boxcar of a few of it's "fists" and outfitted the whole crew. Monkey Fist Zip Knot- $0.75, a child's smile- priceless!
 
 Monkey Fist Beats All Others To Death
By Mark, Corpus Christi, Texas, October 17, 2008

WOW, I love them and use them on all my bags...you can too.
 
 Great for Sleeping Bags!
By S.L., Omaha NE, October 16, 2008

Who needs a lifetime warranty...these things are indestructible. Try them on your sleeping bag.they are perfect for finding the zipper in the dark!
 
 Mr.
By S.L., Omaha, NE, October 16, 2008

Who needs a lifetime warranty...these things are indestructible. Try them on your sleeping bag.they are perfect for finding the zipper in the dark!
 
 Handy dandy
By Kirsten, NH, October 15, 2008

I bought a couple of these a year ago because they looked interesting. These make great pulls for winter jackets, the "fist" is easy to grip even with mittens on. I also keep one on my key ring as a spare (plus it makes a rather attractive key chain!!)
 
 Great
By Jason, Morristown, NJ, October 15, 2008

I have an airboss and the awesome fists fit right in. They aren't gonna come undone or rip. They are like the rest of the bag, of great quality.
 
 NO MORE SEARCHING
By Doug Crabb, Virginia Beach, VA, October 15, 2008

Being a retired Navy sailor, I can tell you that a proper "Monkey's fist" attached to a "heaving line"does the job it is designed to do: get the line from point "a" to point "b".The monkey's fist(s) on my Roadster Mini Ruck is always right where it is supposed to be. No more searching for the zipper (daytime or night), just reach and grab the monkey's fist and there you go. A smooth pull every time.
 
 Monkey Size But Ape Strong
By Alan, Goldsboro, NC, October 15, 2008

I am tired of similar cords breaking--such as those made by Columbia, etc. These made by Redoxx are as tough as they come. They might be called MonkeyFists, but they are Gorilla Fist strong!!!!
 
 LOVE the Monkey Fists
By Sully, Georgia, October 15, 2008

I love these monkey fists. I have them now on all my bags. Simple to install and easy to grip, these make a good bag great. The ease in which they assist in opening a zipper, or interlocking two together to secure one, is simply amazing. Great work Red Oxx Team!
 
 Traditional ropecraft for modern times
By greg, united kingdom, October 15, 2008

Monkey fists were traditionally used by sailors to create stoppers on ropes for handles, to protect parts (or ships) from hitting each other or to prevent them from pulling through eyes. There are much simpler knots which serve the same purpose but this was one of the few ways a sailor could express a bit of aesthetic style in his work. Much larger and more complex monkey fists adorned many a fine sailing vessel. Much more stylish than the typical plastic fob and with no breakable parts sometimes the traditional solution is the best.
 
 Love them if I don't lose them
By Dorian, Los Angeles, CA, October 15, 2008

I love the little monkey pulls on my Red Oxx luggage. I purchased a bunch of new bags at the beginning of the summer and love both the bags and the pulls.The detail, the quality and feel of the little monkey fists is a pleasure. They are easy to hold and easy to grab for.Since June I have traveled about 90 days with the pulls on my bags. When I can I always try to carry my bags and not check them. Sometimes I don't have that choice. My complaint about the monkey fist zipper pulls is that they tend to snag and get lost when they get put through the airport check in and baggage claim belts. I have already lost about 7 or 8. It's too much work to take them all of each zipper before checking the bags in. I would be nice if there was a better way to keep them on the bags.
 
 Small Item, Big Message
By Jonathan Rozek, Attleboro MA, October 15, 2008

Can we all survive without a monkey's fist on the luggage? Yes, but that's not the point. What I like about this type of zipper pull is Red Oxx has taken a boring commodity and turned it into a pleasing, functional, and distinctive differentiator. It's the attention to detail with the Monkey's Fist and other features of my Air Boss that I like. Thanks for turning something I "lug" as in luggage into something I carry with pride.
 
 Make the "blind grab" easy!
By Bob Davis, San Antonio, TX, October 14, 2008

I frequently want to zip and unzip my Metro Briefcase to grab something inside it (like a pen or something attached to the dividers), and having the Monkey Fist there to snag makes it a simple! Much better than trying to grab a flat zipper tab. If you need to get in and out quickly, the Monkey Fist is awesome! I actually de-fisted my Beano's 5.5 a bit to make some of the little pockets where I might put something I don't want to lose track of a little harder to open or snag on something - so I've got a few spares now for the places I really use them. I'm actually afraid the zipper might break before that knot will! They'll definitely last as long as the bag.Great addition to the bags! It's the little touches that matter when you hit this level of quality.bob
 
 Other fun with Monkey Fists
By Michael S, Longmont, CO, October 14, 2008

Monkey Fists serve other purposes than just opening your bag. I have an Air Boss which was my main bag for 6 weeks while on study abroad in Finland, Estonia and Latvia. On this trip, I found these uses for the Monkey Fists on my amazing bag: 1. Twiddle with them nervously while hoping that the only bus for the day to Riga didn't just pull out of the station.2. Stare at the patterning in the cording of the Monkey Fist and try to envision mentally how it's tied together. Provides many enjoyable minutes of distraction while waiting for the bus to Riga.3. Flip the Monkey Fist back and forth on the bag, tattooing a gentle drumbeat, until your wife tells you to quit being annoying. Wonder when the bus to Riga is coming.4. Once on the bus to Riga, know in your heart of hearts that the crazy bus driver giving the finger to the Mitsubishi Stealth who won't let him pass and then tapping his horn at the pretty girls on the side of the road will ever see such a beautiful knot as a Monkey Fist again. Unless, of course, we make the trip back to Riga with my Airboss!
 
 Monkey Fists are remedy for arthritic hands
By Jane K, Texas, October 14, 2008

My Air Boss came outfitted with several Monkey Fists. Not only has it outlasted all my other pulls, but it is very easy to grasp even with slightly arthritic hands.I have been using the Air Boss with the Monkey Fists pulls for more than 3 years traveling at least 5-6 times yearly on fun trips overseas and in the USA. It gets a lot of hard use and stands up to even baggage handling.
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

  • American made Mil-Spec Parachute Cord
  • Hand tied in Guatemala
  • Each fist approximately 2" long with loop
Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Are there other colors available?
To keep the cost down, we only offer the one color combination, black and gray.
 
Where are these made?
Our Monkey's fists are hand-tied by our craftsmen in the mountains of Guatemala. The parachute cord itself is made in the U.S.A.
 
What is a Monkey's Fist Knot?
This is a special knot that when tied a particular way, looks like a fist.
 
What is it used for?
Originally used to secure sails, our Monkey's Fist can be used for all sorts of ideas, from pulling zippers on bags, coats and jackets, to a key chain and so on.
 
Can I order multiple quantities?
We encourage you to place a large order as you'll find all sorts of uses for the knots. Red Oxx will adjust the shipping costs to reflect the lower cost of shipping them before charging your card.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.