Skip Navigation LinksMonkeys-Fist-Zip-Knot

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I help you get a grip on your inner chimp.”
Red Oxx Monkey Fist Zip Knot

Monkey's Fist Zip Knot $0.75


In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Monkey's Fists and a fist full of Fair Trade.

How a little knot's making a big difference...

A monkey's fist is a type of knot, so named because it looks somewhat like a small bunched fist. The monkey's fist knot is most often used as the weight in a heaving line on ships. Our version is used with all Red Oxx zippers. The Zip Knot makes it easier to grab the zipper pull, even with bulky gloves on. Use them on you favorite coat or ski jacket or as a key chain!

Each knot is hand tied by our craftsman in the highlands of Guatemala. The work is carried out in the spirit of Fair Trade. Each year I visit the village and check on our workers. The impact of this business has been tremendous for the village. By purchasing Monkey Fist Zip Knots you're keeping families together and helping maintain the proud craftspeople of Guatemala.
Jim Markel
CEO and Co-Owner, Red Oxx Luggage

Available in Black / Gray only.

COST OF SHIPPING
Red Oxx will adjust your shipping costs for Monkey Fists down before we bill your credit card. Since UPS in our cart checkout will only calculate one pound and above, the shipping shown is disproportionately high compared to actual shipping cost -- if ordered alone (whether one or more), we usually ship them in a USPS box or stamped envelope. So shipping your Monkey Fist Zip Knots could be anywhere from the cost of a stamp to $5.50.

Write a Review

4.95 Average Rating
 (79 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 Next > 
 Ms
By Jane K, Texas, October 14, 2008

My Air Boss came outfitted with several Monkey Fists. Not only has it outlasted all my other pulls, but it is very easy to grasp even with slightly arthritic hands.I have been using the Air Boss with the Monkey Fists pulls for more than 3 years traveling at least 5-6 times yearly on fun trips overseas and in the USA. It gets a lot of hard use and stands up to even baggage handling.
 
 Not you average zip pull~
By JD Massey, Topeka, October 14, 2008

So handy to pull even the toughest zippers or interlock them to help keep honest hands honest.
 
 best zipper pull ever
By eric, los altos CA, October 14, 2008

These are the best zipper pulls on the planet. They are big enough to grasp even when wearing gloves, they are durable enough to maybe last as long as my Red Oxx bags and they look really cool compared to any other zipper pull I've used (and I've used a lot of different ones over the years).
 
 Easy to pull in low light
By Robert LoCicero, Richmond, Virginia, October 14, 2008

Put one of these babies on the end of a railroad grip zipper and found my paperwork quicker, as with a quick pull, presto the bag compartment was open. That sure helped when the dispatcher called; can't keep them waiting when you got freight to move. Sometimes you have to work behind your seat in the low light of a locomotive panel. Great idea and kudos for helping those folks.
 
 I wish all my zippers had Monkey Fists on them!
By Will W, San Francisco, CA, October 14, 2008

I experienced my first Monkey's Fist zip knots on my recently purchased C-Ruck (love it!). They make the zippers really easy to operate.
 
 It just isn't a Red Oxx without one!
By Bill H., La Verne, CA, October 14, 2008

These things are great. They really do put the finishing touch on Red Oxx bags. My first purchase from Redoxx, an Airboss, was missing one of the Monkey Fist knots. On my first trip that one zipper just didn't feel "right". Shortly after that trip, I ordered a Gator and asked Amanda if she could through a Monkey Fist in so I could place it on the zipper of the Airboss. I received the Gator quickly and in the box was as promised the promised Monkey Fist (as always great service!). I quickly installed the Monkey Fist on the bag and everything was perfect. My experience really showed me that this small "detail" really makes great bags even better.
 
 Mr.
By Brian Lamb, Fairbanks, AK, October 14, 2008

The Monkey Fist is an absolute necessity as far as I am concerned. *When* I check my baggage, the last thing I do is make sure all the Monkey Fists are intertwined so that the compartments do not *accidentally* come undone one my Air Boss.
 
 Monkey Fist
By Richard Mantz, Colorado Springs, Colorado, October 14, 2008

It's amazing how something so simple can make things easier. I use my Air Boss all the time (love it too!) and the Monkey Fist makes it so much easier to open the zips even when I banged up my hand. Thanks!
 
 Simply elegant
By Mark M., Louisville, KY, October 14, 2008

I own a C-Ruck and the Monkey's Fist Zipper Knots make fumbling for a zipper a thing of the past. And there are a lot of zippers on this pack, with lots of places to store in travel gear.I was staying with friends and one asked me how to "make" those knots I had on my Ruck's zippers. So, not only do they function well, but they look great, too.If you don't have them, you should. And if you do, you already know how great they are. Two thumbs up.
 
 ZIPPER PULL?
By Doug Dyment, San Francisco, October 14, 2008

Well, of course ... a great (arguably the best) zipper pull to be sure, for luggage, clothing, etc.But also a great watch fob, whistle "handle", key ring identifier, etc.And hey, stock up on these to use as inexpensive, yet memorable gifts to people you meet along the highways and byways of your (traveling) life. Anywhere you see a zipper is a new opportunity to give people something to remember you by!
 
 Durable!
By Rosa, Austin, Tx, October 14, 2008

I put a luggage tag through before attaching it in the zipper with my contact info. It is a lot more durable than the typical tag!
 
 feel the difference
By clr, Brooklyn, NY, October 14, 2008

Monkey Fist. You just think it's a nice detail... until you REALLY need it.Until your hands are wet and you're trying to get your keys out.Until your fingers are greasy and you're trying to get your camera out to get that one shot.Until the bag slips off your shoulder and you realize you're holding it by the Monkey Fist.They don't slip. They don't break. It's a little thing that makes the bags over the top superior...they could have chosen anything else, but they picked the Monkey Fist.I have a project on my list to buy two dozen and replace them in various other locations... including inferior non-Red Oxx tote bags. Shhhhh
 
 Fun to look at
By Bob Perry, Greenfield, IN, October 14, 2008

The entertainment factor never seems to end with this knot. While sitting in airports waiting to board it provides food for thought as to how this knot is assembled.Thanks for a great product, I love my Air BossCheers!
 
 feel the difference
By clr, Brooklyn, NY, October 14, 2008

Monkey Fist. You just think it's a nice detail... until you REALLY need it.Until your hands are wet and you're trying to get your keys out.Until your fingers are greasy and you're trying to get your camera out to get that one shot.Until the bag slips off your shoulder and you realize you're holding it by the Monkey Fist.They don't slip. They don't break. It's a little thing that makes the bags over the top superior...they could have chosen anything else, but they picked the Monkey Fist.I have a project on my list to buy two dozen and replace them in various other locations... including inferior non-Red Oxx tote bags. Shhhhh
 
 THERE'S NOTHING LIKE IT
By Chris Kostman, adventurecorps.com, Oak Park, CA, October 14, 2008

The Monkey's Fist is a winner because there's nothing else like it. I couldn't count how many times I have fumbled for a bag in the dark, or underneath my chair, or behind the seat of the car I'm driving, or in the overhead compartment on a plane. Because the Monkey's Fist feels like nothing else, and offers a sure, positive grip, it's the ULTIMATE zipper pull for every situation, especially when you're using "Braille" to open your bag. The Monkey's Fist is a perfect example of what sets RedOxx apart from the rest: attention to DETAIL while equally paying attention to quality and to doing good work in the world. Thanks, Jim and all the RedOxx team!
 
 Wonderful Pulls
By Mike, DC, October 14, 2008

I love these. I've got them on my flying boxcar and now want to put them on everything. They look pretty cool, too. And I second that comment about using them to lock a bag; I love to twist them together to keep something from wiggling open while traveling.
 
 IMAGE MAKER
By Christopher C, Los Angeles, October 14, 2008

I used to think that fair-trade was some political mumbo-jumbo. After reading your articles explaining and updating us on the work your company has done to enrich the lives of those crafting these wonderful creations, I have found a new image of free-trade to replace the mistaken thinking I previously held. Put one on every zipper you have. Use them to hold the drapes in place. Attach your ID to a lanyard with one of these. And finally keep your cables in check by loop locking them into tidy bundles.Keep up the good work and keep making a difference.
 
 Use the Monkey Fist to "lock" your bag
By Jerry O, Bella Vista, August 27, 2008

One of the most useful things about the monkey fist zip knot is the ability to interlock them by using the over/under technique. I have a Sky Train and for security's sake when I'm walking in large cities or on a foreign subway, I'll orderly twist the monkey knots together to thwart or at least slow down any attempt to open my bag...
 
 Not just a pull
By Anonymous, , October 2, 2007

I ordered sixty and retrofitted the pulls on all the family bags. Just plain fun to pull an ornery zipper with these.CK
 
1 2 3 4 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

  • American made Mil-Spec Parachute Cord
  • Hand tied in Guatemala
  • Each fist approximately 2" long with loop
Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Are there other colors available?
To keep the cost down, we only offer the one color combination, black and gray.
 
Where are these made?
Our Monkey's fists are hand-tied by our craftsmen in the mountains of Guatemala. The parachute cord itself is made in the U.S.A.
 
What is a Monkey's Fist Knot?
This is a special knot that when tied a particular way, looks like a fist.
 
What is it used for?
Originally used to secure sails, our Monkey's Fist can be used for all sorts of ideas, from pulling zippers on bags, coats and jackets, to a key chain and so on.
 
Can I order multiple quantities?
We encourage you to place a large order as you'll find all sorts of uses for the knots. Red Oxx will adjust the shipping costs to reflect the lower cost of shipping them before charging your card.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.