Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Cool Luggage Accessories  > Claw-Shoulder-Strap

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I tried to slide but held my hide.”
Red Oxx Claw Shoulder Strap

Claw Shoulder Strap $25.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Hangs onto your bag! For dear life.

Nonslip travel shoulder strap stays put!

Your hunt for the ultimate, heavy-duty, nonslip padded shoulder luggage strap is over. The Claw's padding is made from a soft, pliable, durable, polymer-based rubber. Resistant to sun fading, and flexible to 40 degrees below zero, make it an ideal choice for traveling the world over.

The unique clenching action (wet or dry, warm or cold) won't slide off your shoulder and holds firmly to all fabrics, even slick silk, nylon, patent leather or satin. Fully adjustable from 38" to 54" long, The Claw features massive swivel spring-loaded stainless steel clasps, the "Claws" that will hold onto any bag strap rings till Kingdom come (and gone). The Claw will not leave black marks on your clothing and is resistant to most chemicals.

The 1" wide nylon webbing is molded directly into the 5/16" thick rubber shoulder pad. This makes The Claw extremely strong and flexible. In fact, it's rated at a tensile strength of 868-980 lbs! Easily detaches to slip inside your bag for checked travel. Widening at the shoulder apex to 2 inches in width and with 13 inches length of padding, this is the replacement bag strap recommended by famous carry-on Onebag.com travel blogger Doug Dyment.

US Dimensions: 54"L (extended) x 2"W (at apex).
US Weight: 0.5 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 137.1cm L (extended) x 6.35cm W (at apex).
Metric Weight: 0.22 kilos.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND made in Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request followup email three weeks after delivery. Your email address is secure.

Dozens of Uses. Replace your wimpy old straps. Use your imagination:

  • Golf Bag Strap
  • Messenger Bag
  • Briefcase Strap
  • Laptop / Notebook / Netbook Computer Bag or Sleeve Strap
  • Replacement Bag Strap
  • Laundry Bag Strap
  • Gym Bag
  • Duffel Bag
  • Rifle Sling
  • Or any container with at minimum 1/2" diameter rings, no thicker than 1/4" thick

Write a Review

4.74 Average Rating
 (57 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 Excellent Product
By Anonymous, New York City, December 30, 2010

This is the first product I have ever reviewed. I have a Tumi attache that was constantly slipping off my shoulder. The claw shoulder strap totally eliminated the problem. It is a quality product and I highly recommend it.
 
 It's the best
By CJ, New York City, December 16, 2010

If the other raves here don't convince you, just buy one and try it--it's cheap-enough to take the risk. I got one with my first RedOxx bag; now I have one for every travel bag I own for which a strap makes any sense at all. It works great in multiples: two or three Claws on your shoulder work just as well as one. I've even got a spare--I loan it out to friends for trial, and usually have to steal it back from them. It's so sticky that I can load bags out to 20-30" away from my body, and the Claw still keeps them attached to my shoulder despite the angle involved. It's everything good that the other reviews say; I've never experienced 'slippage' while using it. The Claw explains why I no longer own a rolling bag.

Three small caveats. First, despite what the ad says about silk, the Claw may be *too* good for fine fabrics: it grabs and crunches softer fabrics on your shoulder, especially with a heavy bag. It scrunched a wool-silk blend suit the first time I tried it. No permanent damage--nothing a pressing couldn't fix--but I looked like I'd been bitten on the shoulder by a horse until I changed suits. Upon reflection, I realized that, if you're wearing fine fabrics and hauling a heavy bag, why on earth are you using a strap, anyway? Any other strap will either do the same thing, or else slide right off the fabric. Stick with denim or sturdy wool, and you're fine: tropical stuff is more likely to scrunch, and even 'wrinkle-proof' isn't entirely safe from the Claw. Don't know about leather, but if it's really soft/thin, you should be careful at first.

Second, the Claw does *not* let go, so you need to be prepared to do so. I got a bag stuck in a revolving door one-time, and the Claw nearly pulled me in with the bag. Similarly, if you have developed the habit of dipping your shoulder or swinging your bag away from you to slide it down your arm for removal (as I had), you'll look pretty silly the first time you try it with a Claw; if the bag is heavy enough and you swing hard enough, you'll find yourself staggering across the room because the Claw will not let go.

Finally, the Claw requires a fair-sized D-ring or equivalent for attachment: its clips are attractive, but sturdy and therefore reasonably thick. Any luggage-grade rings I've ever seen will work, but with smaller bags, it's iffier. I'd like to put one on my leather portfolio briefcase, for instance, but the bag's rings are too narrow to handle the Claw, so I'm stuck with the slippery designer leather strap for now. (I wouldn't mind a version of the Claw's shoulder-pad that I could thread onto other straps....)

On the bright side, the strap is comfortable even with very heavy loads--far more so than 'padded' straps, in my personal experience. Because it grips so well, it distributes the weight more evenly across your shoulder, which is even better than padding at reducing pressure/pain points. The bag actually feels lighter (that's an illusion, of course).

Are there better straps available? I have no idea. I've never seen any, but given the price and performance of the Claw, I have zero motivation to find out. Hope this helps.
 
 Claw Shoulder Strap
By Bob, Dartmouth, MA, October 14, 2010

These straps are great! My first experience with one was on my Air Boss, which I've had for almost a year. I fly two or three times a month and was beginning to get tired of my Air Boss sticking to my shoulder while my laptop bag kept slipping off. I bought a second strap for the laptop case and I'm now easily maneuvering through the airport with my bags perfectly balanced on my shoulders.
 
 Great strap
By Bruce, Rochester, NY, October 11, 2010

While it's not as padded as other strap, it won't slide off of your shoulder. I bought an extra for my work bag.
 
 Best Strap on the market
By Matt, NJ, August 5, 2010

I got the air boss about a year ago and have loved it. The shoulder strap is very comfortable and doesn't slip off my shoulder. I have gone through 2 other laptop shoulder straps and decided to use it with my laptop bag for work everyday. It works great and takes a beating. I love it. You can't go wrong with it!!
 
 Simple, but then so's the wheel, and that works pretty well too
By Greg, Waltham, MA, July 23, 2010

Don't be put off by the simple design of this strap. Although it lacks the padding and "bungee style" cords of some high-end straps, this one outperforms them in every respect. As other reviewers have noted, it won't slip off your shoulder. Ever. No matter what you're wearing. And it is remarkably comfortable despite its seeming lack of sophistication. It's durable, too. I bought four: two for myself for my computer bags and two for gifts, in addition to the two I already have on my Red Oxx Safari-Beanos PR5 and Air Boss bags. You won't find a better strap, at any price.
 
 claw shoulder strap
By Dave Oliver, Arlington, Va, June 3, 2010

After purchasing a claw and using it for several trips, I bought another to replace the strap on my other traveling bag. It is the best non slip product I have found.
 
 Claw Strap Bottle Opener
By Mike S, Wiliamsburg VA, April 29, 2010

In addition to being grippy, I found, while in a remote location, that the clips on the strap can be used to open beer bottles. Normally I drink the local water, but in the this location it was recommended that I stick with the local beer. Takes about a minute of practice to figure out how to use the clip as a bottle opener.
 
 Very good
By Corey, Pitttsburgh, April 22, 2010

After getting my air boss and seeing just how effective this strap was, I bought another one to put on another duffle bag that my wife/son travel with. I love that it doesn't fall off my shoulder when carrying it around. Very well made and I would recommend to anyone.
 
 Claw strap
By TJ Hendrickson, MN, April 8, 2010

awesome... works better thanI had hoped for
 
 Love the Claw Strap
By Kathy O, Marlton NJ, December 17, 2009

This strap is so great! It's very comfortable, doesn't tangle up, doesn't slip and is light weight. I love it!
 
 Great Strap
By Charlie, Nashville, December 14, 2009

Outstanding strap that will not slip. I bought it for my wife (5'1"), and she could use one a bit shorter. No complaints otherwise.
 
 Okay, so I guess it IS the perfect shoulder strap!
By James, New Jersey, November 30, 2009

I had high hopes for this shoulder strap, and it met my expectations in every way. I use it on a large folding garment bag and it works like a charm. I frequently have a bag on each shoulder, and have had major issues with one or both of them sliding off. With the Claw, these problems are gone, and I couldn't be happier.

When I'm in the market for a new bag, I will definitely be looking at a Red Oxx! If this strap is any indication of the quality of the rest of their products, count me in!
 
 Great Grippy Strap
By Josh Apple, Greensboro, NC, November 26, 2009

The Claw Shoulder Strap works great for me. I bought this item to be used with a messenger bag for school and work. The grippy material refuses to let go of my shoulder no matter what kind of shirt or jacket I decide to wear that day. Great product.
 
 Never Slide Off Strap
By Anonymous, Bozeman, Montana, November 16, 2009

I like the fact that my Air Boss, Sun Chaser Camera Bag and Metro Laptop Briefcase all came with the Claw Luggage Strap as standard equipment. While not exactly "comfortable," especially when carrying my Air Boss with my Metro Briefcase inside loaded with my laptop, the Claw does exactly as it's advertised to do.

NO Sliding, no slipping and no falling off. No matter what kind of clothing you're wearing. Even wearing my rather "slick" motorbike jacket, the claw held my Sun Chaser in place. I don't hesitate to remove my Claw Strap and use it with other stuff, like my camera case, binoculars case and even my rifle case and rifle - super handy when hunting. If you have sling rings on your rifle, this strap makes a wonderful rifle sling. As stated, your rifle will NOT slide off your shoulder. AND it stays flexible no matter how cold out it gets. ~Howard Gray
 
 Ultimate "Grippy" strap - PERFECT!
By Warren, Littleton, Colorado, June 28, 2009

With high hopes, I ordered this after searching long and hard for a comfortable strap that wouldn't allow my camera bag to slip off my shoulder on hikes I take into the Rocky Mountains. Such hikes are seldom on level ground, and often involve scrambling up and down steep inclines. I had hoped I'd find something better than the strap that came with my camera bag - and I was NOT DISAPPOINTED with the Claw Shoulder Strap. This strap is well worth the price. It didn't slip at all on a 2-hour hike into the foothills yesterday with 6.5 pounds of camera stuff in the bag. You can tell just by touching the rubber part that it won't slip no matter what sort of fabric you're wearing, whether it's a shirt, a jacket, or a coat. This strap simply won't slip. Period. And I tried rubbing the "grippy" part on a light-yellow shirt sleeve - I rubbed pretty aggressively - there was no mark on the shirt after the rub test. I sincerely recommend this strap for everyone looking for something to keep a bag or case in place while walking, even if that walking is pretty strenuous (like mountain hikes). Thank you Red OXX!
 
 Wow. The perfect shoulder strap.
By Brad Holcomb, , November 16, 2006

This strap was included on the Air Boss and Briefcase bags that I purchased here. "Wow" is the only word that does it justice. I love the fact that I NEVER have to adjust it on my shoulder or catch it before it slips off or hunch my shoulder to keep it in place. It manages to stick to my shoulder like glue while I'm holding my shoulder in a relaxed lower position while walking, but also slides right off when I'm ready to put the bag down. My previous favorite strap was one that came with a Victorinox bag. I haven't used that bag in a while, but transferred the strap to any bag I happened to be using for a couple of years. It had some grippy silicon material glued on the shoulder pad to keep it in place, which worked pretty well, but the stuff flaked off over time. This Red Oxx Claw Strap has the rubber molded around the strap, so it looks like it will last a very long time. I love it.
 
1 2 3 Next > 

Photos
Specifications

  • 1" tri glide steel strap adjusters
  • 360 degree swivels
  • 2 matching spring-loaded heavy-duty "Claw"fasteners
  • Adjustable from 38" to a full 54 inches in length
  • Approximately 1" inch of stretch
  • Rubber portion has a tensile strength of 868-980 lbs
  • Available in Black Only
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Made in the USA exclusively for RedOxx by Quake Industries
Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Where is the Claw made?
The Claw is made by Quake Industries, located in our sister city of Bozeman, Montana.
 
Is the Claw available with a longer strap?
Fully extended, The Claw is a full 54 inches long and comes in this one size only.
 
How long/short will the Claw adjust to?
The Claw strap can be adjusted from 38 inches to 54 inches.
 
Will it leave a mark on my shirt or jacket?
There will be no marks on your shirt or jacket.
 
Can I get the padded version?
The Claw has 5/16 inch thick rubber padding molded directly to the webbing.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.