Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Red Oxx Merchandise  > Safari Travel Luggage  > Claw-Shoulder-Strap

VIEW 360º

“I tried to slide but held my hide.”
Red Oxx Claw Shoulder Strap

Claw Shoulder Strap $25.00

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Hangs onto your bag! For dear life.

Nonslip travel shoulder strap stays put!

Your hunt for the ultimate, heavy-duty, nonslip padded shoulder luggage strap is over. The Claw is unlike any bag strap you've ever encountered. The Claw's padding is made from a soft, pliable, durable, polymer-based rubber. Resistant to sun fading, and flexible to 40 degrees below zero, makes it an ideal choice for traveling the world over.

The unique clenching action (wet or dry, warm or cold) won't slide off your shoulder and holds firmly to all fabrics, even slick silk, nylon, patent leather or satin. Fully adjustable from 38" to 54" long, The Claw features massive swivel spring-loaded stainless steel clasps, the "Claws" that will hold onto any bag strap rings till Kingdom come (and gone). The Claw will not leave black marks on your clothing and is resistant to most chemicals.

The 1" wide nylon webbing is molded directly into the 5/16" thick rubber shoulder pad. This makes The Claw extremely strong and flexible. In fact, it's rated at a tensile strength of 868-980 lbs! Easily and quickly detaches to slip inside your bag for checked travel. Widening at the shoulder apex to two inches in width and with thirteen inches length of padding, this is the replacement bag strap recommended by famous carry-on travel blogger Doug Dyment.

U.S.A. Dimensions: 54"L (extended) x 2"W (at apex).
U.S.A. Weight: 0.5 pounds.

Metric Dimensions: 137.1cm L (extended) x 6.35cm W (at apex).
Metric Weight: 0.22 kilos.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated US Manufacturer.

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty. Red Oxx lasts longer.
Designed AND hand made in Billings, Montana U.S.A.
UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.

EMAIL POLICY: Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request followup email three weeks after delivery. During checkout purchasers have the option to opt-out of our other occasional email notifications. Your email address is always secure.

Dozens of Uses. Replace your wimpy old straps. Use your imagination:

  • Golf Bag Strap
  • Messenger Bag
  • Briefcase Strap
  • Laptop / Notebook / Netbook Computer Bag or Sleeve Strap
  • Replacement Bag Strap
  • Laundry Bag Strap
  • Gym Bag
  • Duffel Bag
  • Rifle Sling
  • Or any container with at minimum 1/2" diameter rings, no thicker than 1/4" thick

The Claw No Slip Shoulder Strap is a Red Oxx "Staff Pick" favorite.

Write a Review

4.74 Average Rating
 (68 Reviews)

1 2 3 4 Next > 
 None like it
By Bruce Steigner, Louisiana, September 12, 2013

I have bee frustrated by many bag shoulder straps. I carry a fairly heavy laptop messenger bag, and it would never stay on my shoulder, especially if kneeling or bending. The Claw holds on to the point of pulling your shirt. An excellent product. I had planned to try several other heavy bag /TV equipment straps but The Claw makes that unnecessary. Buy one. You'll like it.

PS: the only addition I could think of would be a brown or mahogany color choice for brown or tan bags.
 It just doesn't slip
By Benjamin, Boston, MA, July 29, 2013

In brief, it evenly distributes weight, it doesn't twist or dig into your arm, the clips are indestructible, and you can stand at approximately a forty-five degree angle without it sliding off your shoulder.
By Keith, Honolulu, July 10, 2013

I was really impressed by this strap that came with my Gator; so much that I decided to get one for my Standard Issue. Thought the strap that came with that bag was good, but it can't compare to this. The other one slips off my shoulder almost immediately - totally unlike the amazing grip of this one. I show this strap to people at work and they can't believe it. Thanks, Red Oxx for producing such an exceptional product!
 Like gum on your shoes
By Shelley, Hudson Valley, NY, June 16, 2013

I may have given up carrying my Sky Train on this trip, but it wasn't because this puppy was uncomfortable or slippery. To the contrary, it was super-grippy and quite comfortable. If your product doesn't have the Claw as part of the price, just buy one.
 Claw Strap
By Mark, Nebraska, May 23, 2013

Just bought the 3rd of these straps for various bags I have as replacement and it works as great as the others. I'm very happy with the "no-slip" shoulder pad and the heavy duty hardware. Price extremely reasonable and they work the best in my experience.
 Claw Shoulder Strap review
By Tom, Greenville, SC, April 18, 2013

Shoulder strap stays where it is put. It does not slide and is comfortable on your shoulder.

The only issue I have is that the hardware clip on the strap is too thick for the hardware on my bag (Tumi computer bag). I needed to buy a link device from a hardware store to allow the thick clip head to clip onto my bag.

Beware it is not just replace and go with this large and thick clip.
 An Instant Upgrade for Many Bags
By Lee, Norfolk, VA, March 28, 2013

It's a bag strap. That doesn't sound like much, but consider a bag you currently have that you like a lot. I bet your biggest complaint about that bag is that it regularly slips off your shoulder.

I had that complaint. I fixed it with the Claw. It's a instant upgrade for that favorite bag of yours that has that one little aggravation. Made with the usual Red Oxx quality, it'll probably outlast your bag--then you can use it for your next favorite bag that keeps slipping off your shoulder. You won't regret the purchase.
 Claw Shoulder Strap a hit with me.
By Mike Hardy, Chicago, March 7, 2013

I purchased your shoulder strap a few weeks ago. I am very pleased with this product. The strap is quite durable and the snaps are fantastic. It locks on your bag and you don't have to worry about it.

I will buy from this company again.
 Works great
By Mike, PA, January 4, 2013

The claw strap works very well. I needed to replace the strap on my gym bag which was constantly slipping off my shoulder. Haven't had a problem since replacing it with the claw
 A comfortable must-have
By Victor Wong, Ottawa, ON, June 21, 2012

I got two: one for my regular messenger bag, the other for a general shoulder bag that I've used for travelling. The length is very easy to adjust, and the shoulder pad is actually very comfortable despite its relative thinness, much more so than the straps the bags came with.
By Gail, Westfield, NJ, April 12, 2012

I love this strap! I use it for my computer bag, my travel bag, and any other bag which allows me to. IT DOES NOT SLIDE!! How great is that!
 Just as it should be
By Ed B, New York, March 29, 2012

As a very satisfied user of the claw gun straps I expected these bag straps to work just as well and they don't dissapoint. I got 4 of them because I knew I'd be throwing other straps away.
 Strap to beat all straps!
By Mater, Stewartstown, PA, February 16, 2012

I purchased this strap to replace the one on a product made by a well known company in Maine. I like the heavy duty hardware and the rubber shoulder pad. It doesn't slip down your shoulder one bit while you walk.

My only criticism is I wish it was 2 inches wide. It's a very narrow strap.

So there you have it. A great product, well made, guaranteed and made in America!
 Thick hardware
By Dave, California, February 9, 2012

The strap is well made, the harware robust, and the shoulder pad grippy and durable-appearing. However, the loop hardware is so thick it can't engage the carrying loops of my Patagonia bag, so unfortunately I won't be able to use it for its intended purpose as a replacement strap(granted, the specifications are clearly listed on the website, but I didn't bother to read them and had just assumed they would work with standard Patagonia gear--my mistake). Also the adjustable strap, even in its shortest possible configuration, is still a little too long those of us shorter than about 5'8" or so (the bag would hang too low, below hip line); of course, this depends partly on other variables, such as with width between the D-rings, where it rides on your shoulder, etc. I would also have preferred the hardware to be matte black; the shiny silver is a bit blingy/flashy for business use.
 Great Shoulder Strap!
By earroyave, Dallas, TX, January 26, 2012

Very nice shoulder strap although I have to admit that the clasps could be a bit smaller - these will certainly outlast any bag given their quality.
 Great product & customer service
By Jim Zahka, Boston, MA, January 26, 2012

Product does exactly what it says. It stays put and doesn't slide. Great customer service - answered questions and followed up. Nice thank you card as well.
By Tracey, Baltimore, MD, January 18, 2012

I bought this strap to replace a strap on a case I use for strobe lights. I wish ALL bags came with this strap. It absolutely doesn't slide off your shoulder, and when I'm carrying a bunch of photo gear into a shoot, the last thing I want to do is deal with a case sliding off my shoulder as I walk with the client. Highly recommended! It's a little heavier than an average strap, but solid!
 Great strap, but heavy.
By Mike , Seattle, WA, January 12, 2012

I bought this strap because I needed a third "Claw" strap to add to the two I already own.

The Red Oxx strap is different from my other two because it has very sturdy metal clips instead of the plastic clips on my other two.

The big difference is weight. The straps with the plastic clips weigh 4.8 ounces each. The Red Oxx strap weighs 8.3 ounces. That doesn't sound like much of a difference, but I always try to minimize weight in my luggage. I guess that's the cost for the extra durability, but it's something to consider.

That being said, this is a great strap. It doesn't slip off your shoulder and nothing short of a grinding wheel will cause the clips to fail.

Thanks Red Oxx for another great product!
By Doug, TX, January 5, 2012

Just like the aliens in Toy Story, I love The Claw.

I got it for my non-RedOxx bag (from those guys in Seattle, who I like but they make different types of bags) to serve as a simple, grippy strap without extra padding. The strap grips well and seems to maintain a good contact patch with the shoulder - no hot spots. The snaps are a little blingy on my black bag, but not too over the top.

It doesn't work well with too much weight in the bag, but that's more a function of the design of the human shoulder, not the strap.

Works well, good price, good product.
 Solid, Comfortable Strap with Holding Power
By Jason Boyd, Cary, NC, December 16, 2011

This strap is comfortable, strong and does not slide off my shoulder. It is there to stay. It is not bulky yet is made of strong, high quality materials. Great purchase and well worth the price.
1 2 3 4 Next > 


  • Dual 1" tri-glide steel strap adjusters
  • 360 degree swivels
  • 2 matching spring-loaded heavy-duty "Claw" swivel clip fasteners
  • Adjustable from 38" to a full 54 inches in length
  • Approximately 1" inch of stretch
  • Rubber portion has a tensile strength of 868-980 lbs
  • Available in Black Only
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Made in U.S.A. exclusively for Red Oxx by Quake Industries in Bozeman, Montana
Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Where is the Claw made?
The Claw is made by Quake Industries, located in our sister city of Bozeman, Montana. Red Oxx then finishes out The Claw Shoulder Strap by adding our proprietary swivel clips and tri-glide strap adjusters.
Is the Claw available with a longer strap?
Fully extended, The Claw is a full 54 inches long and comes in this one size only.
How long/short will the Claw adjust to?
The Claw strap can be adjusted from 38 inches to 54 inches.
Will it leave a mark on my shirt or jacket?
There will be no marks on your shirt or jacket.
Can I get the padded version?
The Claw has 5/16 inch thick rubber padding molded directly to the webbing.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.

Take me to the top