Skip Navigation LinksChica

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“Insert brick, swing at a bag snatcher.”
Red Oxx Chica iPad, tablet and Kindle Mini Messenger Bag - shown in Khaki. Choose from 12 colors.

Chica $80.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


iPad Tablet bag on the fly?

And yet also big enough to hold the belongings you need.

A SAFE PLACE TO CARRY YOUR ELECTRONICS.
Get organized with our mini messenger bag. The Chica (also called the Chico) tablet bag features two interior pockets, one zips, and the other's a flat slip pocket with a padded exterior panel to protect your electronics such as:

  • Apple iPad tablet
  • Amazon Kindle, Kindle Fire HDX and Kindle Paperwhite
  • Most electronic tablet PCs such as ASUS, Acer, HP and Lenovo ThinkPad
  • Most eBook readers
  • Nexus tablets
  • Windows Surface
  • Samsung Galaxy tablets
  • Google Android tablets
  • Barnes & Noble Nook HD eReader
  • Mini laptop notebooks
  • NetBooks
  • Phablets

RIGHT AMOUNT OF POCKETS.
In addition to the main compartment, which can hold your files, a couple textbooks, and paper notebooks or magazines, there's an exterior pocket under the flap with a single snap closure.

The zippered pocket on the outside flap is big enough to hold your keys, makeup, computer power and charging supplies, cell phone, iPhone, Smartphone, iPod, Phablet, etc. There are also nylon webbing loops on the sides to clip our smart phone case, or hang emergency pepper spray, clip knife, etc. Folds flat for easy packing and storage.

The rugged Chica mini messenger tablet bag is sure to keep your tablet safe and handy and you organized while on the move.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Chica Tablet Bag on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items,  backorders, in production products and delivery time? - Read this personal letter from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your gear.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great bag needs cool accessories.

Dimensions: 13.5"L (bottom) x 3.5"W x 9"H
Capacity: 600 cu. Inches
Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior zippered flap flat pocket: 11"W x 5.5"D
  • Exterior snap flat pocket: 10.5"W x 6.5"D
  • Interior zippered flat pocket: 9"W x 5"D
  • Interior slip pocket for Kindle or iPad tablet: 10.5"L x 6"W
  • Main compartment: 11"L x 3.5"W x 9"D

Chica Trivia: A secretary we know wanted an everyday purse. Obviously a Chica is also Spanish slang for a beautiful teenage girl.

Write a Review

4.59 Average Rating
 (49 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 Next > 
 My new fave bag!
By Richard, Doha, Qatar, May 24, 2012

I bought this bag in the hope that it would do 2 things--carry my lunch to work, and hold a set of headphones and all the other clutter while travelling. It does the second and will certainly do the first. On top of all, it really does feel strong enough to be used to fell a bag snatcher. Well done all.

PS I wouldn't object to a phone pocket, but it isn't something I'd die in a ditch over.
 
 Request rather than review
By lps, New York, April 20, 2012

I second the requests others have made, including pocket for iPhone and bottle-pockets on the ends. Ideal configuration would be: bottle pockets, both ends; slip pocket across full width of the BACK, with phone pocket inside the *back* pocket. Phone pocket should be large enough for the monster-size phones out there. With iPhones (in particular) being 'Apple picked" out of users' hands, an exterior phone pocket, especially on the end of the bag that would be furthest behind me, is a non-starter. As a pocket-inside a pocket in the back, it would be 1) well-hidden yet 2) accessible on the fly. Pretty-please??
 
 Great Bag!
By susan, midwest, April 12, 2012

This is my second Chica bag. I gave the first one to my husband (along with my old iPad) when I got my new iPad. I love this bag. It's roomy but not bulky. Even with my iPad and accessories it's not heavy. Fits easily over the shoulder or as a cross body bag. The inside sections are big enough to hold my essentials but not too big where things get lost. And I love that the iPad slides right into the back inside pocket, even with a cover, as if the bag were made for it. I would not hesitate to buy another bag if I needed to. My husband loves his too!
 
 Too Utilitarian
By Anonymous, Turkey, March 26, 2012

This bag looks to be well made and would probably be great for a day of touring, but it is way too utilitarian looking to be my every day purse.
 
 Chica Chico
By Tim , Miami Beach, March 20, 2012

I work as a bartender. This bag is excellent for caring what I need, to and from work. The build quality is far above any bag I have owned in the past. Thank you Red Ox for such a good price / value product.
 
 Chica
By Dee, CT, January 28, 2012

I received this product recently so I have not used it for traveling yet. I was split between the Gary Gator and Chica. I'm looking for something to handle my travel needs, not too bulky and smaller than the Gator. This fits the exact things I carry but I will not be able to drop a few extras in. Again I will see how it works when I travel.
 
 Perfect Sidekick
By Jarrett Dorough, Connecticut, January 17, 2012

My wife was looking for a small carry bag to use as a purse for our honeymoon. I bought her a Chica and it quickly became indispensable. It went everywhere we did serving as a camera bag, doggy bag, to just about anything else we needed bag. A very versatile quality product!
 
 Love the bag, hate the name
By Jay Lukowski, Atlanta, December 15, 2011

I used to carry a big briefcase but when I started using my iPad I needed a small bag. The Chica is perfect; my iPad fits well and there is room for the few things I need to schlep around. I would definately recommend. But, I think you should ditch the feminine name. What about neutering the name and morphing it into Chico/a.
 
 Too chunky for me
By Anne C., Pittsburgh, PA, October 27, 2011

I was disappointed in how this looks and returned it. I'm a big fan of Red Oxx (love the Air Boss!!), and I think the Chica is extremely well made. But it just won't work as my daily purse -- it looks too much like a camera bag.
 
 Great Bag
By Tammy, Georgia, October 13, 2011

I bought this bag a few months ago. For the most part I buy a bag and use it until it is DOA which usually is only a few months with me as I am hard on everything. So far no issues with this bag. No tears, rips, fraying, etc...Might just be the last bag I ever have to buy! I love it...and I really LOVE that it is made in the USA and has a lifetime warranty.
 
 Great Carry Along bag
By Tom, Jackson, WY , July 31, 2011

Perfect size for a seat bag when traveling. I keep iPad,Kindle, headsets and various pocket stuff in it. It goes in my SunChaser until I'm ready to board. Then SunChaser goes up and Chica stays for the flight.

Also useful as an everyday grab bag when you're going to have deadtime along the way.

Water bottle holder rather than phone holder would be nice for the way I use it. It's worth the "purse" look in return for the functionality. Quality as always from Red Oxx
 
 Great For Airplane
By Brian DeShazer, Indianapolis, IN, June 24, 2011

I was looking for a bag to fit my ipad, my bose headphones, tissues, medicine, and other stuff I need during airplane flight. This bag fits it PERFECTLY.

I'm 6'5", so don't fit in airplane seats well, in fact I always take the magazines/catalogs out of the seat back pocket prior to flight and toss them in overhead, just to gain another 1/2" for my knees. I was looking for a small bag to carry my inflight stuff that I could hang from the top of the seat or the tray table hook.

I hang this bag from the seat top, the strap sits in the groove and stays there. I then flip the cover back on the bag and use my ipad cover slid into the pocket so I have my very own seat back entertainment. Plus all my other stuff I need during the flight is right there, and my knees have all the space, tiny as it is, that the airlines give me.

I only have 2 suggestions for improvements. First, the handle should end with snap hooks and have rings on the pouch just like on my air boss and my metro. Smaller hardware, but like that. Secondly, it would be nice if one side had a bottle holder instead of the cell phone holder.
 
 Chica Bag
By Anonymous, MA, April 14, 2011

I recently used this bag for 2 weeks while traveling through Italy. The size was perfect for every day touring, although if you want to carry extra jackets or clothing, a backpack is recommended. It is sturdy and held my camera, camcorder, wallet, travel book and other miscellaneous items easily. The only negative I can think of is the inside zipper pocket is at the back of the bag, so it was awkward to get to without taking the bag off. With that being said, I just ordered one as a gift and would highly recommend it as an everyday touring bag that is strong and roomy.
 
 Great but not perfect
By Anonymous, Kauneonga Lake, NY, April 7, 2011

I love almost everything about the Chica. The size is great, plenty of pockets, fits my kindle perfectly. My only concern is the dark interior. The flap is bright red which I love but the actual inside is black. Had I know this I would probably not have purchased as I found dark interiors to be a black hole.
 
 It's a great bag.
By Larry Rice, Jamaica, NY, March 28, 2011

I was a little hesitant, I admit. "Chica" is clearly feminine, and the somewhat trapezoidal shape of the bag doesn't help. Still, I needed a bag for my iPad, camera, and travel essentials on a recent trip to Turkey and Greece.

Like all the Red Oxx bags I've tried, it functions flawlessly, and is built to last forever.

To butch it up a little I attached a Starfleet communicator pin to the front flap. I suppose you could also use a skull patch or Harley-Davidson logo patch.

If anyone asks, I tell them, "It's a messenger bag, and the message is, 'this is not a purse.'"
 
 Almost there
By wandering miner, Andalucia, December 30, 2010

Could use a cushioned "U" slot running length of bottom of bag to anchor compact notebook, not much, but as-is have to take care setting bag down with computer.

Otherwise great for stripped-down travel-
 
 Perfect bag
By Deborah, Bozeman, December 16, 2010

This is the perfect bag for what I wanted. It carries my iPad safely and has just enough room for the other things I need in a day. I love the color combination (bright blue with a red interior) and the construction.
 
 Great Compact Messenger Bag
By Howard Gray, Bozeman, November 2, 2010

I picked up this handy compact messenger bag as my "tour" bag at an outdoor Arts festival held in the desert.

Despite it's size, it held an umbrella, my water bottle, disposable camera, sunglasses, bandanna and assorted nick nacks with ease.

The padding keeps stuff in the bag from digging into your hip. And I love those monster zippers and the monkey fists. Grab, yank, zipper open, zipper shut, no arguments.

I don't know about it carrying an Ipad or Apad tablet but I can tell you it served its duty as a small messenger bag perfectly. When I got back I cleaned off the dust per Red Oxx Bag Cleaning Instructions and it ended up looking just like new. Love my Red Oxx bags!
 
 Perfect for iPad
By Steve, Kharkiv, Ukraine, September 14, 2010

In Europe, men carry bags. But this one is infinitely more useful than the typical small leather case most men are using. I can carry my iPad without another case safely, plus notes, books, and any other small items I need for the day. My only complaint is that it isn't quite wide enough for the A4 sized paper that is standard in this part of the world. Another half-inch of width would make a world of difference...
 
 Great Bag For iPad
By susan, Michigan, July 16, 2010

I bought this bag to use for a trip for my newly purchased iPad. The iPad was delivered the day after I received the bag and I was leaving 2 days later, so I really needed something to carry.

The bag is roomy, but not big. It held my charging cord, sunglasses, keys and other misc items, along with my iPad. I wore it as a cross body bag and it was very comfy.

I have the Apple cover on the iPad and it slides right into the padded pocket perfectly.

I only gave it 4 stars because of the color. I ordered khaki but the bag is closer to the olive color. I emailed customer service immediately and was offered a replacement but because of the time constraints I was kinda stuck. Oh well!

All in all, I am happy with my purchase. In time, the color will grown on me. :)
 
1 2 3 Next > 
Specifications

Chica Specs Sizing Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • #10 YKK self locking nylon zippers
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Mil-Spec snaps
  • Double box stitched seams on all stress points
  • Adjustable 1 1/2" wide heavy nylon webbing shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Double box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding (exterior wall of pocket for Apple iPad / Tablet PC / Kindle DX storage)
  • US Dimensions: 13.5"L x 3.5"W x 9"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 34.3cm L x 8.9cm W x 22.9cm H
  • US Capacity: 600 Cubic Inches
  • Metric capacity: 6.9 Liters
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Chica Mini Messenger Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab

Keep in mind: Chica colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Can I fit a laptop in the Chica?
Standard laptops will not fit in the Chica. Mini laptops, tablets, iPads, eReaders, Phablets, Kindles and netbooks all will fit.
 
Will this work as a camera bag?
The Chica makes for a handy digital camera bag. If you own an SLR, we recommend the Gator.
 
Is this a purse for women?
While designed as a travel purse, we prefer to think of the Chica as a minimalist messenger bag for both sexes. Women and men can enjoy its many useful features. See our Chica reviews for suggestions for many uses.
 
Is the shoulder strap removable?
The shoulder strap is attached to the bag via metal rings which are stitched directly onto the bag using double box stitching.
 
Is this a messenger style bag?
Sure. Albeit smaller than most messenger bags.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.