Red Oxx Luggage Cable Locks keep your bags secured. Only $1.00. Pictured open and closed.


Write a Review

4.32 Average Rating
 (44 Reviews)

1 2 3 Next > 
 Perfection in a small package
By Matthew, Modesto, California, January 26, 2012

I bought a few of these cables figuring to use them for hanging ID tags on bags. And they work perfectly for that use - no more missing luggage tags.

I've found numerous other uses for the cables, including hanging tags in the field, keeping smaller wrenches and other tools toghether and in one location, a handy wrist strap for test equipment to keep my hands free when climbing ladders and one time to keep a muffler from falling off a pump when the mounting bracket failed.

For a buck each, I need to order some more and keep a small supply of them stashed in several locations so I can always grab one when needed.

Thank you Red Oxx.
 What a clever little tool
By Carlton, Ft. Worth, August 16, 2011

This versitile little cable has become ever more useful than originally expected. I have it on my carry-on AirBoss to secure them. I have also began using them on my travel laptop backpack to prevent the oversize laptop from causing the zippers to unzip unexpetedly. They have many uses worth
By Sean, China, August 10, 2011

Great little product. Not sure if it made the difference, but traveling to more than 15 countries, nobody bothered with my bags at all, and no pockets got picked. Quality!
 Great Zipper lock
By Rick A, OH and CO, August 4, 2011

Very handy for connecting two zipper pulls together on my bags. Keeps them from opening inadvertently.
 Small but useful.
By CETHEIVAGT, Illnois, July 24, 2011

I use 2 of these to connect the 2 top panel zippers to open at the same time. Works but not the best.
 Just what I wanted
By ibbrunnie, Colorado Springs, May 26, 2011

Exactly what I wanted to attach a luggage dog tag to my bags. A little super glue to lock it, and it beats a metal chain.

I have ideas for even more uses but those can wait for a while.
 people just love to complain
By Frank, Los Angeles, CA, April 22, 2011

Seriously people. Stop whining.

This product is $1.00. if it last over 6 months even if it last more than 1 trip over sea, it's amazing for me already. I don't understand the low stars because a one dollar product didn't last over a relatively decent period of time.

I bought 15 of these to lock my SkyTrain zippers and my wife's Rick Steves zippers while traveling abroad on trains and even just walking around town.

We tested one with Shun kitchen scissors, and it took 3 tries to cut it in half. Which is not thief proof, but it will significantly slow them down and brings them to our awareness.

3 over sea trips, so far so good.

~Red Oxx Replies: All of our products have a Lifetime Warranty. All...
 Frayed cables
By Bruce in Iloilo, Iloilo City, the Philippines, April 6, 2011

I soon as I got these I started to use them, not only for my Red Oxx bag but also for my knapsack, to prevent quick fingers from opening the pockets as the pack rested on my back. Unfortunately, they became frayed very quickly and started to give me metal splinters. After 6 months, I have stopped using them.

Great concept, nice price, but not durable.
 comes undone
By sean, china, February 24, 2011

i like the look of these and they are just the right length. i was hoping the screw lock was secure but i have had them slowly unscrew themselves and watched them fall off. Unfortunately the simple loop cable (like the ones your luggage tags come with) may be more secure in actually staying closed for holding dog tags on etc.
 If only.......
By Glen, Louisville, February 17, 2011

This is a handy little product. It's easy to use, and quite sturdy. Unfortunately, there is at least one TSA agent out there who either couldn't figure it out and cut it off, or did figure it out and decided to keep it for himself. Good thing I bought some extras.
 mostly hit, a little miss
By Phil, Duarte CA, December 16, 2010

I ordered several. One started fraying. The others seem to be doing OK so far on 3 work trips I've taken. I use them on an Air Boss in case I have to leave it (I haven't yet, perfect carry on). They don't actually lock, but they'll at least slow someone down that's trying to get into your luggage to the point that hopefully they'll leave your luggage along and move on to an easier target.
 Cheap insurance against zipper failure
By Eric, Mechanicsburg PA, December 6, 2010

Not much to say about this product as there pretty straight forward.

I bought a few to use with the Air Boss as extra insurance to keep the zippers closed. They worked well on a recent trip.

The zippers on the Air Boss are pretty stiff so I'm not sure if you really need these or not but the extra protection they provide is worth the nominal cost of these.

Semper Fi
By John, Maryland, August 26, 2010

Exactly what you'd expect.

I bought them to affix a dog tag to my air boss, and they work fine.

I bought a few extra in case I ever need to check my bag to keep the zippers from separating.

I doubt that would be a problem after using the air boss, but they're cheap enough to make it worth picking up a few.
 Handy little things
By Jim, CT, August 20, 2010

Not a ground breaking earth shattering piece of hardware but handy nonetheless. I have a couple for my Air Boss to use as a quick zip-tie replacement and I'm using one with my Sky Train thru the zipper pull on the inner pocket - attached one of these and then a small biner & I just clip my keys to it when I get out of my car at the airport. I always know where they are when I return. These are worth more than the paper it takes to buy them :-D
 Really useful
By Alessandro, Italy, July 31, 2010

Useful, practice, user friendly.
 I love Red Oxx, but this cable lock is terrible.
By George, San Francisco, July 20, 2010

Red Oxx makes quality products - the Air Boss deserves 5 stars - but this cable lock is poorly made. I bought 10: 5 broke at the thumbscrew. Great idea; poor execution. It won't discourage me from buying other great Red Oxx products, though.


Heavens George! What are you using them for? You're only the second customer to encounter this problem that we're aware of. ~ Minister of Information for D.O.R.A.
 Multiple Uses
By Helene, Vancouver, BC, June 16, 2010

I keep finding new uses for these cables, some here! I use two strung together and attached to my purse to keep my bus pass holder within easy reach from an outer pocket without having to worry about losing it, and I've replaced a number of cheap zipper pulls with them.
 Handy and durable
By Anonymous, Studio City, CA, June 7, 2010

These are pretty cool little cables. They look good and are lightweight and inexpensive, yet made it through several luggage transfers on my most recent trip. Good value!
 Happy with these
By TL, PA, April 30, 2010

These work as advertised and are quite versatile. I keep enough in my Air Boss to lock up all my zippers in case I need to gate check on a regional jet (even though I've never had to since the Air Boss fits in the overhead bins). I also keep one in my wallet and have found a variety of temporary uses for it.
 cable lock
By Maggie , Maui, March 25, 2010

One of the four cable locks I ordered was inoperable. The others work fine.


Maggie, Look for a 6 pack of cable lock replacements in the mail. ~ Minister of Information RedOxx
1 2 3 Next > 
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions

Are these TSA approved?
Our Luggage Cable Locks are not real locks in the sense they need a key or combination lock. If this is your concern, we recommend you purchase a TSA approved lock.
How strong are these?
The Cable lock has a tensile strength of 36 lbs.
How do I remove these from my bag?
Grasp the cable on one side of the knurl, use the other hand to twist the knurl. If it won't turn, reverse the cable (flip it around) and try again. Remember lefty loosey. The knurl should unscrew by hand without the need of pliers.
Are these theft proof?
The Luggage Cable Lock is not designed to be theft proof, but it certainly might flummox someone not familiar with the design long enough for them to move on to the next bag. Or they might simply cut the cable with a bolt cutter as they would with a typical keyed or padlocked cable lock.
My Cable Lock keeps coming unscrewed, what do I do?
Apply Loctite® Blue Threadlocker to the thread end and screw it closed. This is a medium strength thread lock that would suit most Cable Lock applications. Loctite® Red Threadlocker is the strongest thread locker available. However, you will need heat and tools to unlock the thread if you use the Red Threadlocker.
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.
“I offer stainless steel sex appeal.”

Cable Lock $1.00

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!

Simple solution. To a complex problem.

Try our Luggage Cable Lock and you'll never have to remember a combination or carry a key with you again.

How's that? All our made in U.S.A. Red Oxx travel bags come with a Dog Tag "price tag" that's attached to the bag using this wire cable lock. Simply unscrew the wire cable at the knurled thumbscrew, slip the cable through the base holes on the closed zipper tabs on your bag, remove the price tag dog tag, screw it back together and voila, a deceptively simple Luggage Cable Lock that looks permanent (see image in Photos tab).

Any single zipper pocket can also be secured with the cable lock by pulling it through the nylon pull tab (loop) located on the bag at each end of the zipper and through the hole in the base of the zipper tab. Or thread it through the holes in the zippers.

In fact, many of our customers have used a wire cutter to remove the dog tag price tags, when all you need to do is unscrew it. Now understand, a determined thief can put their fingers a little way into your bag despite the Cable Lock, but the idea is to slow them or fluster them such that the lock will deter them and they will move on, as most opportunistic thieves do.

If checking your bag, the cables also help keep it from accidentally zipping open. And for only a dollar, that's low cost piece of mind. The 1 mil diameter twisted stainless steel cable has a tested tensile strength of 36 lbs. Now you can purchase the cable lock in any quantity you like.

Our Luggage Cable Lock is six inches long (cable) with knurled thumbscrew (locking mechanism). Note that you can also screw two or more cable locks together to make an extra long cable lock.

Lifetime Warranty.

Said satisfied customer Charles, "This accessory came with my Sky Train a couple of years ago. I have bought "look-alikes" but none has lasted as long as the original Red Oxx Luggage Cable Lock did, still using it today!"

Buy two or more Cable Locks, you'll always find a use for more than one!

Common Cable Lock usage ideas:

  • Secure your luggage by locking your zippers together or a zipper to a pull tab loop.
  • Use as a key chain, makes it super easy to change out keys. Remember to secure it tight with Loctite® (see FAQs for further instructions) or you might lose your keys if it comes loose.
  • Use it in conjunction with our personalized custom Dog Tags to label your tools, keys, clothes, etc.
  • String a bunch together and make a funky (and useful) bracelet or cool necklace.

Red Oxx is a Veteran owned and operated business.

UPS Transit Shipping Time Map.


  • Twisted 1 mil diameter stainless steel braided cable
  • Length: 6" cable when open
  • Precision cut steel knurled thumbscrew on "lock"
  • Note: Red Oxx makes no claim our Luggage Cable Locks will prevent theft or even pilfering of the contents of your bags.
  • Made for Red Oxx by BallChain Corporation
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himalayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Take me to the top