Skip Navigation LinksAir-Boss

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 680 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around bags that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a carry-on bag, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight Cordura nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is double stitched into every seam.

Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the bag, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive bags that brag of "binding" their edges.

Each stress point, such as where the handles attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double xx" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather, and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, or might make a little noise, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your bag break down?

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS?
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Exterior full length zippered side flat pocket: 13"H x 20"W
  • Exterior full length flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie-down compartments: 2"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"D x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (686 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
 Beware!
By Michael Thompson, Lookout Mountain, GA, November 29, 2012

The workmanship on this piece of luggage is fantastic. HOWEVER, to use it as a carry on bag that has to be actually carried, it is a disaster. The bag, when decently packed is heavy and very inconvenient and awkward to lug through a terminal. The shoulder strap is well engineered, but it pulls your shirt or jacket off of your shoulder from the weigh of the bag. The first time that I used my new bag and was making my way through O'Hare, I was frankly and openly envious of my traveling companion's wheeled luggage. Sure, you loose some flexibility with wheels, but what you gain is comfort and ease of movement and a much better travel experience.

 
 So mobile
By Jake, Wichita, KS, November 16, 2012

I've had my Air Boss for 2 weeks now. So far I've converted my old man who has thrown his spinner to the curb and I've got TSA agents / flight attendants asking me about it. I'm in love with this bag. No more wrist pain from push/dragging a spinner and no more expensive wheels to replace. The bag of course is durable, no question there. I've found it easy to pack and have been surprised how much I can fit. I have yet to be challenged to fit/measure my bag as other with rollers have.

I highly recommend. I just bought a CPA briefcase and tri-fold shave kit. I'll review those after I get them.
 
 Too Good
By S.T. , Southeast Asia, November 14, 2012

Awesome bag, but have to agree with the comments that this bag can be to heavy when packed for long trips. Understand that its not the bags fault - travel extensively internationally to include many 3rd world countries. Lived out of this one carry on bag on many 15+ day trips but have difficulty carrying the bag for long distance in and out of the airports. I'm prior service military and in reasonable shape at 6 foot and 200 lbs but am worn out after carrying a fully loaded bag on a 20+ hour international trip. With that said, this bag is as tough as a rock and will most likely outlast my travel days. I'm a dedicated customer and will be a life long customer of Red Oxx.
 
 Short Trip Dream
By Terri, North Carolina, November 8, 2012

I love this bag for short trips when it is not packed to capacity. Normally, I pack for three day trips. There is plenty of room to spare and the bag is easy to carry using the shoulder strap. It never slips and I hardly know it is there. I love having both hands free. My last trip was a six day trip to Guatemala.

I thought I did a good job packing but ended up with a fully packed Air Boss. It was a struggle to carry the bag. I could not carry it on my shoulder. It was just too heavy. Admittedly, the Guatemala trip required long walks through the ATL airport and uphill treks in Xela.

I'm going to have to revert to my carry on roller bag for trips that last more than four day or I am going to have to get some muscles. In the mean time, I will happily travel with the Air Boss on the many long weekend trips that I take to Baltimore. I have no regrets about the purchase. This bag will last forever and I have no doubt I will get my money's worth out of it.
 
 Absolutely Fabulous
By JvH, California, November 8, 2012

I am now a former overpacker... it's embarrassing how much luggage I took for 8 weeks in South Africa. I didn't think I could do it, but I was able to pack for a 7 day US business trip with some leisure activities and EVERYTHING fit!

I can't carry things for long distances, so I used a fold up external luggage cart and it worked splendidly! Next trip, 6 weeks in Ukraine and I am going to have one bag - my Red Oxx.
 
 Great for business travel
By Forrest Small, New Hampshire, October 25, 2012

It took me several months of consideration before I finally bought the Air Boss. I was getting by with my years-old Samsonite rollaboard and I was concerned about how well the Air Boss would handle business suits. The reviews I read were a bit mixed in this area, and since this is my primary type of travel, I didn't want to end up with a bag I wouldn't want to use.

A recent trip to the Middle East pushed me to reconsider the Air Boss. I was concerned about having to check a bag on an international flight and ending up without my suits. I re-read the OneBag.com site and decided to give it a try. I am so glad I did.

My trap was to be a full week. I carried two suits, some casual clothes, my dress shoes, and various toiletries. I packed light, but not much lighter than normal. I was amazed as I followed the bundle packing technique and ended up with an Air Boss that still had plenty of room to spare in the center compartment. I chickened out and carried my small Tumi briefcase in case I needed some extra room, but I ended up not needing it. I could have gone "one-bag".

When I arrived at my hotel after a full day of traveling, I was amazed to find only a few soft wrinkles in my shirts. My suits were perfect!

It was wonderful to be able to cruise through the airport and in-and-out of cabs with my light-weight Air Boss on my shoulder. It was the lightest bag I have ever carried, on even a short trip. Best of all, it holds the same amount of clothes as my rollaboard and keeps them in better condition.

The Air Boss will also work well as a weekend bag because it's more flexible and fits better in a tightly packed car. It also travels a lot better than a wheeled bag into ski area hotels and condos!

I recommend this bag to any business traveler! If you follow the advice on the OneBag.com site you will be amazed at how well this bag works.
 
 Amazing
By Anonymous, California, October 25, 2012

The perfect bag. Incredible customer service to boot.
 
 Like a BOSS!
By Ron Paul's Freaking Giant, New Hampshire, October 20, 2012

I travel a lot for work. Almost every week I am in a plane. I have tried all sorts of bags and systems. This bag is EXACTLY what I needed.

I have since been on two trips with this bag and it worked just as I had hoped. Zippers are rugged. Size is perfect.

Yes it can get 'heavy' but I am only carrying it into the airport and to a taxi or rental car.
 
 Quality product
By Dev, Canada, October 18, 2012

I have a feeling I'll be including my Air Boss in my will - the build quality is outstanding and the materials used (especially those zippers) are the best I've ever seen. Using it is a bit of an adjustment from a wheeled bag, but the pros well outweigh the cons and I was able to pack more in the Air Boss than I thought.

Excellent all round!
 
 Great!
By Joe, Ohio, October 16, 2012

Great bag; did one bag, 10 days business travel (UK and Turkey) rarely staying in one place for a night. Planes, trains, buses, and and a ferry; up and down stairs at stations and city streets to hotels...would have been hell with roller case.

Best thing, and biggest surprise, was utility of outsider compartments with tiedowns. Not having to unpack & repack whole suitcase was great. Do the bundle wrap and alt. sides each night.

One thing to watch: it would be easy to overfill so still need to pack light.

It's amazing on planes. It fits in places it shouldn't but does. Will not get gate-checked with this.

Should say works for small trips too; felt like a feather for a three day trip.

 
 Pragmatic design. Looks good too!
By Anonymous, Kirkland, WA, October 13, 2012

Great for one bag packing.
 
 Great for Travel
By Scott Jordan, Ketchum, ID, October 11, 2012

I recently purchased this bag to take with me on a 10 day trip to Europe. I wanted a bag I could carry on, and after seeing suggestions on onebag.com I was directed to the Air Boss. It was great! Sturdy zippers, great design, and plenty of room. I was able to pack everything with me in this one carry on and carry everything else in my SCOTTEVEST. Take a look at how I packed my Air Boss: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HceOAyj58ok
 
 Well, not all that.
By Dr. Seno, Indiana, October 10, 2012

While this most certainly is a beautiful bag of the highest construction, it's too heavy when filled. I couldn't even lift it into the overhead bin and was happy when I made it to the gate with this on my shoulder! Yes, I'm not big or young but I'm spry for my size and age. This bag is just too big to be without wheels.

One other problem in the design is that the side compartments, when open, leave your clothes strapped in vertically, on the in side of the compartment. So your clothes all come tumbling out when you unstrap them.

I'd like the clothes to lay down when opening the bag. Otherwise you have to flip the bag over for access to either side.

I'd return the bag and get a smaller one, but that's not possible with store policy.

I'll learn to love it I suppose. But, gee, the money spent!
 
 Review Update: The right bag for the right purpose
By Anonymous, San Francisco, October 7, 2012

So, I posted previously about how this did not work for me on a long, multi-airport trip? I just used it for a shorter, single airport trip and the bag was a dream. It was everything I would want in a carry-on. You need to really understand how you travel to know what exactly is right. When this bag works, it is amazing. One more beef, and that may have to do with my own packing inadequacies, but:

I bought the Metro Briefcase because they suggest using it the center for extra laptop protection. I love the bag, but it does not work for me in this configuration. I end up carrying two bags, as it is too bulky to fit in the middle compartment.
 
 The Good, The Bad and Well, there isn't any ugly
By Anonymous, San Francisco , September 28, 2012

The Good:

1) Top-notch construction quality

2) Beautiful design

3) When used with a packing system you can fit an incredible amount of gear in this carryon (see one bag.com for a good system)

The Bad:

OK, this is, no doubt, the perfect bag for a certain kind of travel. I used it on the first go-around for a long trip that included mostly airports and hotels, with long runs through the airport on long travel legs (e.g., SFO, Hong Kong, Dubai). Carrying this bag was much harder than rolling a bag. Sorry, but it is true. I am fairly big, strong and fit, but by the time I hauled it around on a 22 hour multi-airport trip I was sweaty, uncomfortable and sore.

Again, I will use this bag extensively, but not on long business trips that are mostly airport and hotels...
 
 First impressions
By Anonymous, Pennsylvania, September 27, 2012

Bought two of these for an extended trip. Hoping for a carry-on experience combined with information from OneBag.com

Bag is everything that is described on the site.

Hope to add comments after our trip.
 
 Not for me
By Mike, Denver, September 25, 2012

This bag isn't for everyone, and isn't for me. The strap digs into my shoulder and is very uncomfortable. So... you lose a star for that. I'm not sure what makes this bag worth $225. I could probably find something close to the same dimensions in another, more affordable, duffel bag. Another star lost. And then I find out it's non-returnable after it's been used. There goes another star. I must be missing something as all of the reviews of this product are quite favorable, but I personally won't be purchasing anything from Redoxx in the future.
 
 Great bag, horrible strap
By Rob B., Detroit, MI, September 22, 2012

Took my first trip with the back and absolutely loved it. Was able to get an entire weeks worth of closes and my laptop in one back. Also, I never had a problem with it fitting under the seat while watching several people having to gate check their over-sized carry-on. The only issue I had was the shoulder strap. It was too long, even on the shortest adjustment, and I found the ridged design very uncomfortable. I will continue to use the bag, but with a 3rd party shoulder strap which is disappointing due to all the praises for the strap design.
 
 Air Boss rules
By Chris, Boston, September 21, 2012

This is the first ever piece of luggage that made me say "wow!" when I first saw it. The quality is simply amazing, the look is great (I got the black one, but the gray zipper pulls add a touch of class as does the red brand badge). I am proud to show that it is made in the USA.

I bought it for a long trip around Europe, and as one of two pieces I am carrying. I am on the road for three months so needed more than this could carry, but for a week or two it would be more than big enough on its own. It has just the right number of pockets so that I can organize my things but not so many that they get lost. It is comfortable to carry. I love this bag!
 
 Fab bag
By Nick, Huddersfield, uk, September 20, 2012

Brilliant bag, the build quality is top draw. Before you buy research packing techniques to get the most out of it. Its amazing what you can pack in it with the right system.
 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.