COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I make other carry-on bags nervous.”
Red Oxx Air Boss Carry-on Bag - pictured in Red. Available in 12 colors for $225

Air Boss $255.00


X
Buy Now

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


One Bag Travel! Air Boss.

The only carry-on bag you'll ever need.

Designed for the business traveler, our most popular five star-rated carry-on travel bag is a must-have for anyone who enjoys the advantages of traveling light. Peruse over 600 customer reviews right here from hundreds of satisfied Air Boss Carry-on customers to get an honest idea of whether this is the best travel bag for you.

CARRY-ON REBORN.
Red Oxx worked with Internet author and carry-on travel expert, Doug Dyment, guru of OneBag.com fame to develop this all-in-one carry-on bag.

EXPERT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT.
Follow this link to learn Doug Dyment's bundle wrapping technique so you can fit everything you need and nothing you don't in your Air Boss airline carry-on bag and become a more organized traveller. Thanks to guideance from Onebag.com, here's a fantastic luggage packing diagram, showing you how to easily "bundle wrap" your clothing in the Air Boss.

WRINKLE FREE TRAVEL.
Designed with three large main compartments, our Air Boss carry-on bag also features two outside zippered pockets; one full-length, one for your airline tickets, an outside sleeve pocket, and tie downs inside the two outer compartments to keep your slacks and dress shirts in position and wrinkle-free until you can unpack and hang them up in the hotel.

A PLACE FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
The center compartment is spacious enough to hold your Toiletries, extra shoes, work-out gear, business briefcase, etc. Volara closed-cell foam padding is sewn into the sides, so you've got a rigid, yet flexible, piece of carry-on luggage that still protects your valuable belongings.

NEVER SLIPS OFF.
Includes detachable nonslip Claw Shoulder Strap that keeps your bag where you want it - on your shoulder.

DISCOVER HOW TO PACK IT.
Watch the Air Boss Packing Video posted in the Videos tab at left where CFO Amanda Markel shows how to use many of the bag's features.

PROTECT YOUR LAPTOP.
Looking for extra protection for your laptop? We recommend using a neoprene Laptop sleeve. A "macho" option is to put it in a Metro Briefcase, which will fit in the center compartment of the Air Boss, adding further protection and giving you a "one bag" travel option...with two bags inside one. Note that this can become a very heavy bag to carry if you decide to try this. Adding an extra Claw Shoulder Strap from your Metro and then carrying the Air Boss "backpack style" (one strap over each shoulder) can help offset this added load.

ANOTHER CARRY BAG OPTION IS.
Looking for a similar carry-on bag with retractable backpack style shoulder straps? Try our other popular travel bag, the Sky Train.

Join the fleet feet crowd and travel carry-on with the Commander of the ship: the Air Boss!

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your order now to get your Air Boss on our production schedule. Your bag will then be delivered in under 30 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H.
Capacity: 2,184 cubic inches.
Weight: 3.4 pounds.

Pocket measurements:

  • Matching dual exterior zippered full length side flat pockets: 13"H x 20"W each
  • Exterior flat snap pocket: 9.5"H x 20"W
  • Exterior zippered side flat passport / map pocket: 12.5"D x 7"W
  • Dual zippered tie down side compartments: 2"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H
  • Main center compartment: 4"W x 20.5"L x 12.5"H

"No Bull" Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, in production products and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the steps it takes to handcraft your Air Boss.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear.

Online Air Boss orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email and a review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. Backorders beyond a dozen days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is secure.

Every great carry-on bag needs cool luggage accessories.

2009 Winner of the "Best Durable Luggage Award" from Bestcovery.com; "Discover the Best of Everything."

Selected as Kiplinger's Expert Pics The Best List of 2008 for Best Carry-on Travel Bag.

Air Boss Trivia: On the flight deck of an aircraft carrier, the Air Boss is in charge of all the operations of the flight deck. He controls the moving of planes on deck, landing of aircraft, launching aircraft, ordinance handling, and safety of all the personnel occupying the flight deck. The Air Boss oversees from the command tower. Orders are communicated with the flight deck via megaphone. Ex: "Hey greenshirt. Get out of that checked baggage line and on the plane, now!"

Write a Review

4.79 Average Rating
 (679 Reviews)

 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
 Everything you need, nothing you don't
By Mitch, Miami Beach, December 17, 2010

After putting the bag through it's paces in the two weeks I've owned it, I can tell you that it is what I build my travel packing around. Along with the methods from OneBag.com, I'm quickly becoming the envy of my traveling friends who's large luggage takes time and so much effort to check and retrieve and who's roll-a-boards regularly get hit for being overweight. The bag never looks big, airlines don't pass a second glance but passengers (and TSA!) all love it. If I ever break it, it won't be because Red-Oxx did something wrong.
 
 Great balance of features
By Phil, Duarte CA, December 16, 2010

I've found the bag triangulates well between being sized as a carry on, maximizing usable space efficiently, and keeping professional (and other clothing) looking nice. I've used it for a few work trips and a play trip during the month I've had it and it's now my favorite piece of luggage. I wish I'd found out about this bag earlier (I heard about it through onebag.com). I was a little hesitant to pay this much for a bag, but after weighing in the quality, the guarantee, and loving it so much that it will go with me on every trip from now on, it's worth the price. In fact, I'm going to be a repeat customer and pick up more RedOxx for the wife & kids in the future.
 
 Room to spare
By J. Santos, Anchorage, AK, December 13, 2010

The "Boss" has plenty of room, is easy to pack, the shoulder strap is outstanding, makes it easy to carry and it fits easily in the overhead too! I travel in small prop planes as well as jets and it works well. I'll be using it for a long time, well worth the price.
 
 Excellent In Most Respects
By Anonymous, Las Cruces, December 11, 2010

The Air Boss really does live up to its reviews in most respects. I've used it on a few one week business trips and it handled my needs perfectly. For a four week, one bag option on a recent European trip, it was lacking. A small backpack option used by my traveling companions worked much better than the Air Boss. If you have to walk much further than the length of an airport terminal, this bag will be uncomfortable. Also, fully packed (not over-packed) I was unable to fit this bag in the overhead compartment of a Delta configured CRJ900. I was able to cram it under the seat but not a comfortable flight for me. So, I would give the Air Boss 5 of 5 marks for a one week business trip but only 3 of 5 as a one bag option for recreational travel involving carrying the bag for a moderate period of time.
 
 Excellent In Most Respects
By Anonymous, Las Cruces, December 11, 2010

The Air Boss really does live up to its reviews in most respects. I've used it on a few one week business trips and it handled my needs perfectly. For a four week, one bag option on a recent European trip, it was lacking. A small backpack option used by my traveling companions worked much better than the Air Boss. If you have to walk much further than the length of an airport terminal, this bag will be uncomfortable. Also, fully packed (not over-packed) I was unable to fit this bag in the overhead compartment of a Delta configured CRJ900. I was able to cram it under the seat but not a comfortable flight for me. So, I would give the Air Boss 5 of 5 marks for a one week business trip but only 3 of 5 as a one bag option for recreational travel involving carrying the bag for a moderate period of time.
 
 Exceptional Quality
By David, Tennessee, December 9, 2010

The quality of my "Air Boss" bag is amazing. It's a little bit heavy for the size, but that comes with the ultra-rugged heavy duty nature of the design. I can see this bag lasting a lifetime.
 
 Well built unit
By Eric, Mechanicsburg PA, December 6, 2010

I mulled this purchase over (based on the cost and how often I travel) for quite awhile before I finally took the plunge. I travel overnight about 3-4 times a year for business and 2-3 for personal reasons. I used it recently for a 3 day trip to Canada and it worked well.

This quality of this bag is second to none so don't fret spending the money. My thoughts are that this bag will be a favorite for a long time to come.

As past reviewers have mentioned, this bag can be overloaded to the point where it will not fit in the overhead storage of some of the smaller regional jets. It's still nice to be able to carry the bag to the flight and drop it for storage under the plane at the point you get on the plane.

I suggest you read up on minimizing what you pack so you don't overload the bag but it is nice to know that you can pack more in to this if you really need to. All in all a good quality unit.

Semper Fi
 
 One great bag!!
By Anonymous, Glendale, Az, December 2, 2010

I purchased the Airboss after reading reviews on several websites. I have used this bag for a one way cross country car trip and will do the same with an addtional flight later this year.

This bag is awesome! Even when packed to the gills, it is easy to carry with the shoulder sling and is very comfortable. I love the inner compartment, which provides excellent protection for my slate pc. Several friends and family members have complimented me on the bag and I hope to be sending Red Oxx some more customers.

My family is planning a week in London and Rome in the spring and I plan on living out of this bag.

Well done Red Oxx!!
 
 Excellent
By JS, VA, USA, November 25, 2010

This is my third purchase from Red Oxx, and once again I am impressed with the product. I typically travel extensive (1-2wks per month) and definitely appreciate a bag that can keep up. This bag will hold more than you probably want to carry - even at my size (6'3", 230lbs) I can get at least 5 days worth of fresh clothing, workout gear, a spare set of shoes and my laptop into it...it does get at that point though. This bag will definitely go the distance - stop worrying about the price, and buy it - you will end up giving it to your kids.
 
 Sturdy, lightweight, well-designed - near-perfect!
By Anonymous, Melbourne, November 25, 2010

Bought - Midnight Blue

Runner Up - Amethyst/ Purple bag

Referred to Red Oxx Air Boss by Doug Dyment from onebag.com website.

Positives:

-swift delivery from US to Australia

-sturdy, lightweight, well-designed

Negatives:

-expensive, but am hopeful that this bag is "The Keeper", in which case, price averages out.

"On the road experience" so far via weekend trip to the countryside:

-packed sleep clothes and tiny pillow in one external compartment

-packed day wear in the opposite external compartment

-sleeping bag, spare casual shoes, toileteries, 16 inch laptop in middle compartment

-exceptionally easy to remember and access all items, given simple packing plan

-looked bulky when this full, so am doubtful (but hopeful) that it'll pass the Australian carry-on requirements, when so fully packed

Cambodia/ Vietnam trip booked for Dec. 2010:

-very excited to come to this 'One bag' philosophy

-In nutshell, extremely happy with purchase so far, and have strongly recommended this bag to friends and family.
 
 Best Bag Ever!
By DCS, Colorado, November 22, 2010

Best Bag Ever!

Had this bag for 3 months now, made 3 diffeent trips and it has proven to be the best bag I have ever owned.

Frist trip was family vacation of 10 days to St. Lucia. Held all I needed for fun in the sun and eveings out. I was only one on the trip to carryon each flight, including a small turbo prop, no questions asked.

Number 2 was a 4 day business trip to Chicago, again the bag held my work clothes, shoes, toilet bag and had room to store my 15.4" laptop and laptop bag in the center compartment. Only had to carry one bag throuhg the airport!

Trip 3 was a weekend in San Francisco with my wife. She used one side, I the other and our shoes and toilet items went in the center. Again one bag for 4 days travel.

Excellent product and American made!

Thank you
 
 Still like new, after 275000 miles
By Anonymous, Livermore CA, November 21, 2010

I've had my red Air Boss since August 2007 and have put 275000 miles on it with trips to Japan (three times), China, Sardinia (and a freak hurricane-force storm), and more domestic coast-to-coasts than I care to count. It still looks like new and has never failed to take what I throw at it - except for checking it!
 
 Man-Bear size approved!
By Anonymous, Colorado, November 19, 2010

One thing reviews rarely take into account is a person's size. Anyone who has to shop "big and tall" will tell you, bag capacity goes out the window a lot sooner with bigger garments. At 6'1", 330lbs, and a 54" chest size I can attest to this. I bought Eagle Creek packing cubes and 20" folder because the "idea" is nice. The folder (20" is the max size that will fit in the Airboss' side compartments) tells you it will fit 15 garments... um yea, if you wear a size medium shirt like my 12 year old nephew. :) Out the window it went.

While I didn't use the bundle wrap technique I was able to easily get 7 days worth of clothes into my bag for my 4.5 day trip, along with a way too full Tri-fold shave kit (which is also amazing), Ipad case filled with assorted gizmos, etc. It seems like the bag continues to expand, consuming everything you throw at it. Completely packed, it looked huge! I was concerned, but it wasn't even looked at twice by the airline, and I walked right onto the plane and it slipped easily into the overhead of a 70 seat plane with enough room to slide a coat on top of it. Amazing.

Fully loaded it has some heft to it, but was very balanced and was easy to swing either way. It was also easy to swing behind my back to get to my front jean pockets, but it stays completely firm to the shoulder as the claw strap does exactly what they say it does; stays put with no slippage. I can see how smaller shoulders with a loaded bag may find the claw uncomfortable, but I had no issue with it.

The bag is beautiful, and the colors are even more vibrant then they look online. I got questioned twice on the trip in airports by people wanting to know more about the bag and who makes it. I was more than happy to share about a company whose products I believe in. The bag is top notch, made with the highest quality materials and feels indestructible. This is best bag I've ever owned and now my go-to bag, and I can retire all the others I've used.

In addition: Pick up their new Pin Mount Key Clip with your Airboss. It's perfect for holding your keys near the top of your bag but out of the way of your gear.
 
 Why Buy US Made? Outstanding Quality
By Benjie Harrison, North Carolina, November 12, 2010

I recently purchased the Air Boss for a 9 day business trip to China. I wanted something durable, would hold alot of items and allow me to carry on the flight.

The Air Boss did all the above and exceeded my expectations on quality and durability.

I fit 6 days worth of ourfits into the bag, along with my shaving/toitet items and a sport coat.

I was a little reluctant on the price, but it was well worth it, I plan on having for a long time.
 
 First Use...Flawless
By CPG, , November 10, 2010

I recently used my Air Boss on a trip to Amsterdam and Paris. It was as close to perfect as you can get. I just now subscribed to this one bag lifestyle and I packed too much for my 8 day trip in this one bag. it will be the only bag I use for any trip I make now. There is plenty of room and if I need any more I will purchase the gator or metro to add to my collection. I am 100% happy with my purchase and will recommend to whoever will listen.
 
 OxReview
By Tim, Tampa, October 31, 2010

I like the bag howeverore than 3 days of clothes makes it heavy. The center area should be padded on the bottom to provide some protection for laptops. Lastly, just as everyone else has stated the strap is awful. It grips fine but hurts to carry.
 
 Looking forward to a long and happy relationship
By Anonymous, , October 28, 2010

After ogling this bag for many months, I finally pulled the trigger in time for a 12 day trip across the US. Tough and spacious, I am very happy with my purchase. The only complaint is that the shoulder strap could provide a bit more padding -- it tends to become uncomfortable with a heavy bag.
 
 Best Bag I've Ever Owned!
By Sybo, England, October 27, 2010

I actually purchased this bag a while ago but it's still without a doubt the best bag I've ever owned! I can fit about 7 days worth of clothes in with other bits and bobs wedged in. The handle does make your hand ache after a while but the shoulder strap helps with that. Slots nicely in the overhead cabin and neatly under a bed. never been queried by the size for carry on and it's refreshing just walking past the queues after a long flight. So far this gem has seen Asia, Oz and the States and inspite of me being less than gentle with it, it still looks in fine condition! Highly recommended!
 
 Awesome Everything Bag
By Brian, Taylorsville, KY, October 26, 2010

I've had this bag for over a year now and absolutely love it. After traveling over 100,000 air miles - it doesn't show any wear (minus a small coffee stain on the outer pocket I intend to clean but never do). Initially found via onebag.com - I can't believe how great this bag is. I love the freedom of stepping on/off escalators, cab stands, train platforms, and stairs without hassle. I still can't believe how much I can fit in it either. I can easily go 7 days without having to do laundry. Fully loaded, it weighs about half as much as my fully loaded laptop bag (though to be fair, I am a geek and carry much weight in my laptop bag).
 
 Air Boss
By Jo, Tracy, CA, October 24, 2010

I purchased the Air Boss after researching traveling light on OneBag.com. My husband & I were planning a trip to NJ from CA to visit my family and we did not want to check any bags. The Air Boss held clothes for five days for both of us along with magazines, a small video camera, and our toothbrushes. My family was amazed that we planned a ten day trip and pulled it off with one carry on bag. We took a side trip and the Air Boss was perfect for a weekend bag. This bag was a dream. It was even gate checked when we flew on a Canadair Rejional Jet and was none the worse for wear. Great bag RedOxx!
 
... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24  ... Next > 
Specifications

Air Boss Spec Size Chart

  • Designed AND made in the USA
  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • US Dimensions: 21"L x 8"W x 13"H
  • Metric Dimensions: 53.3cm L x 20.3cm W x 33cm H
  • US Capacity: 2,184 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity: 35.7 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.4 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.54 Kilos
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified Cordura Nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 420 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • 4 lb. Volara closed cell foam padding on exterior panels
  • Double Box stitching on stress points such as carry handles
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded SolarMax Nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Stainless steel Mil-Spec snaps with Red Oxx logo
  • Nylon webbing zipper pull grab loops
  • Detachable Claw nonslip adjustable shoulder strap
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors

Air Boss Carry-on Bag Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 30 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx No Bull Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

This product is guaranteed forever, be sure to include it in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Air Boss carry-on legal?
Yes, the Air Boss is carry-on legal on most jet airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Air Boss?
The bundle packing method is recommended. Watch the packing video under the Photos and Videos tab or download the printable luggage packing diagram (Pdf file).
 
What's the difference between the Air Boss and the Sky Train?
There are two principle differences between the Air Boss and the Sky Train: The Sky Train has retractable backpack straps and opens flat lengthwise whereas the Air Boss opens flat like a book.
 
Will the Air Boss fit under the seat in front of me?
Cramming the Air Boss under the seat is not recommended.
 
Will the Eagle Creek packing cubes fit the Air Boss?
We recommend that you use our Nomad Shave Kit, Lil Roy Gadget Bag or Tri-fold Toiletry bag as packing cubes. You can color co-ordinate them to your preference and they come with useful carry handles. The Tri-Fold Toiletry Kit is also a brilliant shave kit organizer due to its three individual zippered mesh pockets and unique fold open flat hanging design.
 
How many pounds will the Air Boss weigh when packed?
It depends on what you pack. A typical 3-5 day load will weigh about 20-25 pounds.
 
How many days travel can I fit in the Air Boss Carry-on?
Most travelers can get about 3-5 days with a typical load. Some adventurous types have been able to pack from a week to ten days! It all depends on how you pack and what you pack.
 
Where do I pack the laptop?
You can use the center compartment. We recommend that you use a padded sleeve to protect your laptop.
 
What's the best way to pack footwear?
Sole to sole to minimize the dirt and placed in the middle compartment. We recommend placing your shoes in a plastic bag first.
 
Can I change the logo color?
Sure. Simply order your favorite color Logo Patch and sew it on yourself. Red Oxx cannot change the patch colors for you.
 
Can I order a bag without the logo?
Logo Patches are centered using a hole punch. If you remove the patch, there will be a hole in the bag that could cause a snag. Red Oxx cannot build a bag without a logo as this would disrupt the efficiency of the production line. Feel free to use a permanent marker to color the patches.
 
Is there a way to securely lock my bag?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
The Air Boss has three large internal compartments. There are no internal pockets.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.