Skip Navigation LinksHome  > Adventures  > Adventure Journals  > C-Ruck carry on wanderwegs across Europe in 14 days  > Airborne-Carry-on-Ruck-Sack-C-Ruck

COLOR › AMETHYST
VIEW 360º
SELECT A COLOR ›

“I'm a history lesson carried on your back.”
Red Oxx Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack - shown in Olive. Chose from 12 Colors.

Airborne Carry-on Ruck Sack (C-Ruck) $255.00


X
Buy Now Add to Registry

In Stock

In stock orders ship same day if received by 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time!


Paratrooper Tough!

C-Ruck: the do-it-all carry-on legal rucksack.

WHY CARRY A RUCKSACK?
Rucksacks were used by WWII paratroopers. Comfortably molded to their backs they did not add hassles to their already perilous days. Our modern version of the rucksack works just as well--without the added weight and bulk of an internal frame.

Called the "C-Ruck" for carry-on travel use, the Volara foam padded backing on the main compartment cushions your back. The deep and wide main compartment will hold more than enough belongings for a dawn to dark hike.

This rugged rucksack features an interior slip pocket that will safely stow your CamelBak, laptop notebook computer, or tablet. Underneath the C-Ruck pack, we've added Fastex straps to hold your jacket in the middle of your day hike, or your yoga mat when you're heading off to class.

EASY ON, EASY OFF.
No more squirming for the straps--soft UniSuede articulating shoulder straps provide surprising all-day comfort, rotating freely at the base of the shoulder. Far stronger than stitching into the bag. The rings provide a keen workable solution to the weakest part of a backpack, the shoulder strap seams, and are much stronger than stitching into the bag.

PLACES FOR YOUR BELONGINGS.
Loaded with plenty of daisy chain loops on both the ruck itself and both straps, you'll never be short for hanging keys, flashlights, iPods, smartphones and anything else you may need quick access to.

Double drawstring top closures and handy external front and side zippered pockets add almost another 1,000 cubic inches of carrying capacity making it easy to organize your belongings. All external pockets feature our tough #10 YKK zippers that conveniently zip halfway down the pocket sides so you can dig deep if you need to. These tall pockets are also the perfect size for wine, spirit or soda bottles (or a package of a dozen eggs) in case you plan to pack for a picnic.

A RUCKSACK BUILT LIKE A TANK.
Our customers like to define our gear as "built like a tank". While obviously you're not going to be toting around rucksacks that weigh 50 tons and have three inches of armor plate, still the comparison is valid. For a rucksack, they are built tough. Starting with the most durable soft textile material available, 1000 weight CORDURA® nylon, we use super strong UV resistant thread that is stitched into every seam.

BOUND AND BAGGED.
Places where two separate pieces of fabric are stitched together are then bound, that is, we take a long piece of one inch wide nylon webbing and fold it over the edges of the two pieces and stitch them together, this creates a strong seam, or binding, that prevents the pieces from unraveling on the inside of the ruck, or gives it a clean finished look if on the outside of the bag.

BOUND INSIDE / BOUND OUTSIDE.
In addition, each exposed fabric edge, such as on a pocket flap, is also bound using a thicker binding material. Inside edges typically receive a thinner nylon webbing, whereas outside corner edges that are exposed to wear will have a thicker nylon binding. All of our binding material is vertically woven to prevent fraying, peeling or splitting that you may commonly see in less expensive dime a dozen rucksacks that brag of "binding" their edges.

WHY DOUBLE BOX STITCHING?
Each stress point, such as where the shoulder straps attach to the bag, is double box stitched - which is where we get the "double XX" in our name, Red Oxx; a stitching practice we adapted from our time as parachute riggers.

MY, WHAT BIG ZIPPERS YOU HAVE!
The reason Red Oxx uses the largest zipper we can afford, the #10 YKK VISLON® zipper, is that they are easily repairable, even in the field; they will hold their place, that is, they "lock"; they are difficult to penetrate, thereby increasing the security of your belongings; they function smoothly in inclement weather and they can be yanked from a variety of angles without losing teeth or becoming separated.

PUTTING THE HARD IN HARDWARE.
Red Oxx has occasionally been accused of "overdoing" our hardware. But once you've had a cheap piece of plastic hardware break in the middle of a busy intersection, airport, out on the trail or other inconvenient locale dumping your precious belongings all over the ground, having a heavy-duty nickel-plated or stainless steel D ring or attachment swivel that weighs just a little more, is a travel companion's confidence builder and peace of mind maker. After all, you want to enjoy your journey as best you can. Why worry about having your rucksack break down?

TESTED TOUGH.
Use the C-Ruck as your vehicle bug-out bag loaded for bear and ready to ramble. Since this is a fairly large knapsack, smaller framed folks might try the Roadster Mini Ruck.

Tested across the European theater by our Red Oxx Roughneck Bag Testing Crew, the C-Ruck knapsack loaded on and off trains and intercontinental flights without a hitch (and flagged a few taxis along the way). Packing a week's worth of clothes left room for souvenirs and the external pockets kept our goods organized.

BUY IT ONCE, BUY IT FOR LIFE.
Because Red Oxx backs our bags with our "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty, you won't feel guilty about filling up your local landfill with cheap imported junk every season. Buy it once, own it forever, and pass it on. Join the "pack" and buy a military inspired, combat-tough rucksack and stand out from the ordinary backpack crowd.

PLACE YOUR ORDER TODAY.
Due to high demand, we encourage you to place your Airborne C-Ruck order now to get your rucksack on our production schedule. It will then be shipped in under 14 days. Like retirement, it's worth the wait.

If you're a railroader, we recommend our larger ballistic nylon Rail King Rucksack.

Exterior Dimensions: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H (excludes pockets).
Capacity: 1,428 cubic inches (2,400 including external raised pockets).
Weight: 3.7 pounds.

Pocket Measurements:

  • Exterior dual raised side zippered pockets: 12"H x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior dual raised side zippered flat slip pockets: 7"W x 6.5"H
  • Exterior raised front pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"D
  • Exterior zippered flat slip flap pocket: 10.5"W x 9"H
  • Interior slip pocket: 14.5"H x 11.5"W

"No Bull" no question's asked Lifetime Warranty.
Designed AND handmade in Billings, Montana USA.
UPS Shipping Time Distance Map.

Concerned about out of stock items, back orders, products in production and delivery time? - Check out this personal message from CEO Jim Markel.

Witness the birth of your bag and learn about the many steps it takes to handcraft your Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack.

Meet the thundering herd who build your gear with pride.

Online orders will receive an order confirmation email, a UPS tracking information email when your order ships and a product review request follow-up email eight weeks after delivery. In addition, backorders beyond a dozen working days may receive an order follow-up assurance email. Your email address is always secure.

Every great rucksack needs cool luggage accessories.

Rave Reviews from the Pros: About.com's Go Europe travel advisory gives the C-Ruck Rucksack a smashing 5 stars. Check out his Rucksack review.

Rucksack Trivia:
Rucksack is German for Backpack. Der Rücken (Ruck) refers to the back part of the body and translates as "to move". Sack means "pack". To move a pack. Surprising similarities exist in other European languages such as Rucksack is Rygsæk in Danish, Rugzak in Dutch, Ryggsäck in Swedish, Ryggsekk in Norwegian, and Rugsak in South Afrikaans. A Rucksack (or Ruck Sack) is also commonly called a Haversack, Knapsack or Packsack. We call it the Airborne C-ruck because it's airline carry-on legal.

Write a Review

4.86 Average Rating
 (88 Reviews)

 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
 tough backpack
By Anonymous, pembroke nc, March 14, 2013

excellent backpack, well organized and carefully planned when creating this backpack. Well built with plenty of pockets inside and out.
 
 C-Ruck rocks, but needs a sternum strap.
By Myron, Michigan, USA, February 14, 2013

I bought the C-Ruck as a replacement for a 20-year old Continental Rucksack from LL Bean. The latter bag hadn't actually failed, I just decided to retire it. I love the C-Ruck, and its construction is top-notch. Its design incorporates many thoughtful features and functions. However, this bag *needs* a sternum strap. This is literally the only thing I like better about my old LL Bean rucksack. Lack of sternum strap notwithstanding, I will definitely be buying other Red Oxx products in the future. If you're on the fence because of cost, take the plunge on the Red Oxx. You won't regret it.
 
 A travel companion you'll bring every time
By Anonymous, Oregon, January 3, 2013

I searched and shopped for two months for a new all-purpose travel bag, and inevitably came back to the C-Ruck. I love it and I'm glad I waited and made the quality choice.

The main compartment is larger than it seems in the photos, and the inner laptop sleeve is roomy enough to slip a packing cube into. I put all my small clothes items like undies and socks in one and the compartment kept them out of the way of everything else and easy to access. Great! The back straps are much more padded than they appear to be in the pictures, on par with a backpacking pack or better.

I've never had a pack with ALICE straps before, and I love em! So easy to adjust! My biggest suggestion though, and reason for leaving off a star, is that there is no chest or waist strap to help distribute load for long walks. It wouldn't have to be very substantial. I might try to run a chest strap through the daisy chain loops on the back straps and see if that works.

I do think that the front pocket could be taller, and I love the beefy zippers though they are awkward to get around the pocket corners. But I'm just being picky. A spectacular pack! I am a light packer and can get a weeks worth of clothes and personal gear in the pack no problem. Went through the airport and on the plane without a hitch. Bonus! Run an elastic cord across the front of the pack between the daisy chains, shoelace style, and boom, a place to strap on more gear!
 
 C-RUCK great B.O.B
By Brendan, Northeast, January 2, 2013

Excellent bag would have got 5 stars but the bag got penalized a star for not being able to use the straps at the bottom to carry my sleeping bag. Spent two weeks in Montana with this bag and I had it packed to the brim. Even with 50lbs of gear the bag performed flawlessly and was comfortable doing so. Red Oxx please keep me posted when a weather cover becomes available for this bag.
 
 Kurt
By Kurt, Missouri, December 22, 2012

Before ordering the C Ruck I have owned two other Red Oxx products, SkyTrains, which both I and my wife use. I use the SkyTrain for business and vacation travel, and decided to purchase the C Ruck for daily use. So far the ruck is excellent. If you were ever former military, you will recognize the feel of the Alice pack with the draw strings and the quick release straps. This really is an excellent bag and very durable; perfect as a day bag. I'm considering purchasing the smaller version for my wife.

The only suggestions I have for the product would be to add two additional snaps for the top flap and I would place them lower and on the bag to allow a tighter fit when the ruck is not very full. I would also make the top flap just a little wider to accommodate larger note pads.

Overall, excellent bag and I would purchase it again.

 
 Rugged
By Scott W., Billings, MT, December 5, 2012

I purchased this earlier this year as I needed to replace my backpack. I work as an archaeologist and am frequently out in fairly rugged terrain. I needed something that could endure the rigors of heavy use and abuse while working out in remote areas.

This more than exceeded all of my expectations, and believe me it went through hell and back. It carried all of my work gear, water, food, and electronic equipment. It survived completely intact, though a bit dirty.

I have recommended this to all of my peers and will continue to do so. I also purchased the Gator carry-on which I use for my camera gear. It too is a real work horse. I highly recommend both. The fact they are right here in Billings is just as awesome as their near-indestructible gear.
 
 The Carry Everything Hunting BackPack
By RADM(ret) Dave Antanitus, Chesapeake, Virginia, November 22, 2012

Up until now, I have had different packs for hunting Eastern Whitetails, Rocky Mountain elk, and Dangerous Game in Zimbabwe - no more. It has the small compartments for my extra ammunition, Surefire light and compass, and the largest accommodates my binoculars and Montana deer decoys. The Red Oxx pack does it all. It is the toughest, most versatile pack I have ever used, and it will be with me for all my hunts in the future.
 
 Great Pack
By J Baise, Kekaha, HI, November 10, 2012

Buying: Great customer service and the ruck sack arrived in a few days. It's not easy getting things shipped out here to HI.

The Pack: Took it on my first trip to the NW, and the pack performed flawlessly. It fit fully loaded into all the overhead bins easily, was comfortable on my back and allowed me to keep my hands free. I'm also amazed how much stuff fits into the pack. Only head scratcher are the two side pockets off of the two larger side pockets. Once loaded, you can't get anything in there unless its pretty flat.

Quality: Rock solid! But don't worry about it, best warranty in the business.
 
 Simply a tank!
By Jon S, Bartlett, TN, September 14, 2012

I bought this bag in advance of my annual long range fishing excursion out of San Diego. A key to this trip is packing what you need, what you might need in an efficient manner. Being as I fight thru airports and then I'm on a fishing vessel for 8 days, the bag has to stand up to the rigors of my trip; from being cramed into an overhead bin on the plane to being in salt air for 8 days.

This bag simply rocks. It took all I gave it and asked for more. The design allows for lots of gear to be stored efficiently. The bag is designed to last and I expect to have purchased my last back pack.
 
 Pleasantly Surprised
By Stacey G, Las Vegas, nv, August 9, 2012

I have tried about 15 backpacks for the perfect one. I think that I have finally found a bag that I will stick with. It has plenty of room for my schoolbooks, papers, and other supplies, as well as pockets for computer cords, mouse, and such. Bottom line? Best backpack purchase I have made in a very long time.

 
 Incredible!
By Sully, Baumholder, Germany, August 6, 2012

I'm a gear hog. For years I've carried Kifaru bags for my militay duties and Tom Bihn for my off duty time. But for years I've been eyeing the Red Oxx C-Ruck.

After finally getting stationed once again in Germany, I decided it was time to pull the trigger. I placed my order and with a week, the C-ruck was waiting for me in my mailbox on post. It was worth the wait!

The thought process put into this bag is just tremendous. The straps are incredibly comfortable and the pack rides like a dream...I sometimes forget I have it on. I love top loaders but also like having some organizational capability...and this pack has both! The pockets are perfect for putting in smaller items and being able to find them. The combination pockets on the side and front pocket are perfect for my kids to get stuff out easily and I love the top flap pocket for travel documents or paperwork.

The size, for what I was looking for, is perfect. Big enough to carry drinks, snacks, clothes, jackets and smaller items, without weighing myself down during all the hiking and walking we tend to do.

The materials and contruction are top notch...exactly what I expected from Red Oxx. I'm using the pack for all of our travel on weekends to surrounding cities and countries. Additionally, this pack is our geocaching bag so it has been from car, to train to woods...and looks great in all environments!

Without a doubt, the C-ruck filled a void in my pack collection, one which I could now not live without. Red Oxx, I'm a customer and a fan for life!
 
 Perfect Day Pack
By Thomas, Fresno, CA, August 3, 2012

Love this bag. I bought it because I knew I could beat the hell out of it and replace it if needed. I used two key mounts to hook up a hydration bladder and now I use it as a deer hunting day pack, bike bag, carry on bag. Very handy. It's definitely big enough to take on a one night backpacking trip. Don't be afraid to be creative... There are so many places to tie on extra stuff to really maximize the use of this bag. Everyone should have this bag.
 
 Quality Ruck and Product Suggestion
By Winston K., Odessa, TX, July 19, 2012

This is a great pack! I have already used it on a weeklong fishing trip. Good looking and tough with great design features. Much better than the bags I just retired.

My main plan for the C-Ruck is to use it for a 21 day hunting trip to Tanzania next year and the bag is part of my plan to travel as light and simple as possible. It will double as my carry on and field pack leaving me with hopefully only a gun case and a small duffle of some type. For its purpose there is not a thing I would change.

My only other comment, other than it is a fine product, is that for several years I used to do a lot of extended desert backpacking trips in Big Bend and have used a few different packs. After looking at the C-Ruck one of my first thoughts was that the ultimate backpack for what I was doing would be to a C-Ruck style pack that is big enough for a 4-5 day trip with a belt at the waist to distribute the load.

How much bigger? Not sure. Maybe 25 to 50%. Each time I hiked and camped Big Bend I learned to take less and less and the packs got smaller each time. Lighter was simpler and the hiking much easier. A bigger C-Ruck, in my mind, would have been the ultimate pack for what I was doing.
 
 What A Excellent Backpack
By David Andrichuk, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, July 18, 2012

I just recently returned from a tour in Europe, along with my PR5.5, I brought this bag along as well. This backpack held up well, no scuf marks or damage what so ever, not unlike my previous backpacks that I owned. It managed to hold what I needed and had ample amount of space.

Improvement recommendations:

1. From an earlier review that I agree with, the shoulder straps I think are too close together, would benefit if they were a bit more spaced out, as the metal rings did dig into my back a bit.

2. Side pockets, I think could have put two instead of one large deep pocket, in my opinion, more for sorting and managing packing items, my nitpick.

This is a great backpack at any rate, hope it stands up for years to come.
 
 Hemingway Would've Used One of These
By Anonymous, SE of Disorder, July 13, 2012

Given enough time and distance, a piece of gear ceases to be just a possession and transforms itself into a trusted travel companion. My recently purchased C-Ruck has attained that status in record time.

In the 8 months I've been living out of it, it has been called upon to be a pillow on mind-numbing road trips, a seat in seatless third world airports, a stool to prop my weary feet on, and even an ersatz umbrella when caught in a rainstorm high in the Andes.

It has carried medicine to indigenous people groups in Central American jungles, guns and ammo to ranges on multiple continents and all the clothes and supplies I needed for 3 week trips to third world countries.

Even fully stuffed, it still fit in the overhead compartments of the increasingly size-intollerant airlines, both in the U.S. and abroad. With this bag, I never had to break my number one rule of travel: Never get separated from your pack.

My wife just rolled her eyes when she saw me researching yet another pack. As a certified gear nut, I have a closet full of expensive packs (all the usual suspects...) but the C-Ruck outshines them all.

(Frankly, I needed a new bag like I needed an asbestos t-shirt, but hey, a guy's always on the lookout for that one perfect bag, right? Well, I've finally found it.)

The pockets are sized just right for stuffing books, snacks, electronics and sunglasses when stateside and dirty underwear, smelly sandals and sweaty shirts when traveling the third world. (A tactic I've used successfully on many occasions to cause nosy customs inspectors to quickly lose interest in me and move on to the next guy!)

I like the fact that it is a top loader for security reasons. It is much harder for someone to access your pack that way than with zippers. Also, no worries about your clothes just dumping everywhere because of a broken zipper--no zipper!

The drawstrings for cinching the bag closed are simple and bombproof--love them. The internal pocket sleeve works well for a laptop, or for keeping magazines and papers from being crushed. I carried a Nook in there and even when the bag was stuffed, I was able to slide it in and out of the sleeve. One could easily fit a hydration bladder in that pocket if that's how you hydrate.

Another great aspect of this bag is that it is tough without being too "tactical" looking. In some countries, having a military-style pack can bring a lot of unwanted attention. in the past, this often meant I had to choose between a very sturdy, (but tactical) pack or one that was nondescript (but lacking the quality). The C-Ruck is durable and non-threatening.

After literally thousands of miles on planes, cars, buses, and feet, it shows no wear at all. It has carried 50 lbs with not a single stitch coming loose or stretching.

I have a couple of suggestions for the design team if they are interested:

1. A simple, false bottom sleeve (similar to the current back sleeve but on the bottom inside of the pack) would be useful for hiding papers, passport and cash when traveling. Maybe sewn on 3 sides with the 4th side being velcro'd down?

2. I would like to see the grab handle at the top be a little thicker. When the bag is really loaded down and you're pulling it out of a loaded bus or carrying it, the thin webbing sort of eats into your hand. Maybe some tubular webbing with a rubber hose inside the webbing?

3. Perhaps the external straps on the bottom could be removable? Instead of sewn in, they could be just threaded through molle-like channels? That would prevent the straps from being caught on something. Plus, by removing the straps, they could double as compression straps for clothes and gear inside. Snapped together, they'd even make an emergency belt!

4. I'd personally like to see the outside pockets extended up 1" in height. It would not interfere with the flap or any other aspect of the bag and it would be a way of squeezing a few more cu. in.'s into it. (Plus, my spotting scope would then fit on the side--selfish, yes, I know.)

Go buy a C-Ruck and go see the world--if it doesn't fit, you don't need it!
 
 Great bag. Do check with your airline first.
By Sriram P C, , July 3, 2012

Pros: Straps and the body of the bag are designed to carry heavy loads. Well built and designed.

Cons : Lack of zipper on the top of the bag - contents might fall when bag turns upside down due to mishandling. Bag is a bit heavy - not suitable for people with small frames.

My experience: Without even realizing, I loaded 15 kg (33 lb) of stuff in this bag - clothes, a pair of shoes, couple of books, and a laptop. Wide rectangular base of the bag makes it quite easy to load. Unfortunately, the international airline I went with, allows only 8 kg (17.6 lb) of carry on. They do allow a extra laptop bag of 4kg - but I did bring only one bag. Excess baggage cost was $130! Of course, I should have checked this beforehand. So, I had to get rid of stuff. I guess, that is a good thing too.
 
 Well designed, well built
By C. F., San Francisco, CA, June 14, 2012

I carried this and a Beanos PR 5.5 through Europe for two weeks. Since it's so roomy I was initially dubious that smaller aircraft would allow it as a carry-on, but not a single airline representative ever batted an eye at it. Halfway through my trip I filled it with books, and I found myself wondering whether the shoulder straps would warp under the weight. My worries were soon dispelled: after a week of mistreatment, the bag shows no signs of wear. This product was priced a little higher than my ideal price point, but it was absolutely worth every penny.
 
 I love this ruck
By Dylan C, Richmond, VA, June 13, 2012

I am an archaeologist doing a field school in the 4 corners area of New Mexico and this bag is exactly what I needed. Packed everything for the flight no problem and shakes off the excavation dust no problem. The shoulder straps and the side pockets are perfect for grabbing things on the go, especially when you need a drink when the heat and dust get bad. I couldn't be happier.
 
 JUST THE RIGHT SIZE
By BRAD, SOUTHERN ILLINOIS, June 1, 2012

I am a conductor on the railroad. This bag is just the right size. I can fit everything in it that i need. It is also small enough to fit in and out of the locomotive doors with no problem. It is a GREAT bag.
 
 love it
By Jerry, California, May 3, 2012

I got this rucksack after my old backpack broke. The fact that the c-ruck is made with such outstanding craftsmanship combined with the Red Oxx guarantee makes this bag perfect. I am a Red Oxx customer for life.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Next > 
Specifications

C-Ruck Rucksack Specs Chart

  • "No Bull" Lifetime Warranty
  • Designed AND made in USA
  • Fabric: 1000 weight urethane coated, Dupont certified CORDURA® nylon
  • Weather resistant (NOT waterproof)
  • 400 weight denier soft red nylon lining
  • All zippers #10 YKK VISLON® self-locking
  • Thread: #92 bonded Solar Max nylon
  • All seams double stitched and bound
  • Double box stitching such as on carry handles
  • Fair trade Monkey Fist Zip Knots on all zippers
  • Daisy chain loops on ruck body and both straps
  • Includes adjustable detachable chest strap
  • Embroidered Logo Patches
  • Fastex side release buckles
  • A.L.I.C.E. pack strap adjusters
  • Nickel plated 1/4" O-rings allow articulating shoulder straps
  • Grab loop handle
  • Mil Spec parachute cord with adjustable Fastex tension locks
  • Spurred stainless steel grommets
  • Uni-Suede padded articulating backpack straps
  • 4 lb. closed cell Volara foam padding in back
  • Choose from 12 vibrant colors
  • Free heavy-duty vinyl luggage tag
  • Includes Cable Lock
  • US Dimensions - Main Compartment: 18"L x 12"W x 7"H
    Side Pockets: 12"L x 7"W x 2"H
    Front Pocket: 8"L x 7"W x 2"H
  • Metric Dimensions Main Compartment only: 45.7cm L x 30.5cm W x 17.8cm H
  • US Capacity (total): 2,400 Cubic Inches
  • Metric Capacity (total): 40 Liters
  • US Weight: 3.7 Pounds
  • Metric Weight: 1.68 Kilos


Airborne C-Ruck Rucksack Color Translator

  • Amethyst = Purple
  • Black
  • Bordeaux = Dark Red
  • Coal = Gray
  • Forest = Green
  • Khaki = Tan
  • Mariner = Blue
  • Midnight = Dark Blue
  • Olive = Military Green
  • Red
  • Saffron = Yellow
  • Safari = 1940s Olive Drab and Desert Tan

Keep in mind: Colors on your monitor will vary from the actual color of the fabric. The only way to accurately gauge a color is to request a swatch.

If out of stock, orders are typically filled within 14 days. Call 1-888-733-6999 or email info@redoxx.com for details.

Related Articles
Red Oxx "No Bull" Warranty

As time rolls a ceaseless course, only the genuine guarantee remains. The mountains will persist, the oceans are bound to endure and Red Oxx will continue to be rugged, reliable, and tough.

To the depths of the Amazon basin to the peaks of the Himilayas, Red Oxx Manufacturing is infallible.

Red Oxx Bags are guaranteed forever, be sure to include them in your will.

Red Oxx Lifetime No Bull Warranty - No Questions Asked. Ironclad. Guaranteed. Forever. Period.
Made in U.S.A.

Red Oxx Bags are handcrafted in Billings, Montana. U.S.A.

Made in Montana
Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the Airborne Rucksack and the Roadster Mini Ruck?
The Airborne C-Ruck's main compartment is two inches wider and one inch taller than the Roadster Mini Ruck. These larger dimensions are also reflected in the side pockets, front raised pocket and cover flat pocket. See the Specifications Tab at left for further dimension details.
 
Will the Airborne meet carry-on legal standards?
Sure, the C-Ruck Rucksack will easily fit in the overhead bins of most airlines.
 
What's the best way to pack the Airborne?
Since our Rucksacks are top loaders, the most efficient way to pack one is to pack items you may need easy access to in the raised exterior pockets and rolling each piece of clothing. Another option we recommend is to use the Nomad Shave Kits and Lil Roy Gadget Bags as packing cubes. This way you can compartmentalize everything by color coding it. Bundle wrapping would require pulling the entire bundle out to access anything.
 
How many days worth of supplies will fit in the Airborne?
Depends on how good a packer you are. Most people can get a weekends worth of clothes in the Airborne C-Ruck. We'd estimate three to five days.
 
What's the red fabric on the inside of the bag for?
Having a bright color on the inside of the bag helps to see what's inside the bag. It also adds an extra layer of weather resistant protection.
 
Will a laptop fit in the Airborne? What size laptop?
Virtually any laptop with up to a 17 inch diagonal screen and two inches thick will slide into the padded sleeve inside the rucksack.
 
Does the Airborne Carry-on have a belly strap?
Because the C-Ruck Rucksack does not have a built in frame, therefore a belt strap would not help to balance the load.
 
Are there any interior pockets?
There is a notebook / laptop stitched-in sleeve located in the back of both the C-Ruck and the Mini Ruck.
 
Is there a way to securely lock the pockets on my rucksack?
Sure, you can use any TSA approved bag lock or try our Cable Lock for a simple, semi-secure solution. Watch this video where CEO Jim Markel demonstrates how you can use the cable that comes with the product Dog Tag price tag to secure your bag. Keep in mind, any determined thief can still cut open a soft sided bag with a sharp knife.
 
My zipper broke. The teeth have separated. Do I send it in for warranty repair?
No need for warranty repair, fix it yourself. Check out this video where CEO Jim Markel shows how easy it is to do it yourself.
 
Can you ship USPS?
Yes, Red Oxx will ship USPS upon request. Simply state, "Please ship USPS" in the cart comments during checkout and we will adjust your billing accordingly.